Replying To Mickod88: "Absolutely agree, Is there any precedent for the law getting involved with an incident that happened on a football pitch? That wasn't a footballing act or a result of physical play and roughness, that was a criminal act. Between him and that thug from kilkoo theres a worrying trend of players getting away with outright assault on the football pitch. I know the camera's are everywhere these days and its always been the way but surely now's the time to stamp it out when we actually have the technology. That yesterday could very easily have been a fatal strike, and even if he does get the book of law thrown at him that corduff lad can count himself very lucky he didnt seriously injure McCarron" I'm not sure how it can't be dealt with seriously - it's very clear on one of the video clips, absolutely no reason for his boot to be going there, a pure cowardly act. Something like that has to be a minimum 12 month ban to act as a deterrent.
Corduff can boast about making a semi-final (the most expensive semi-final in club history probably) but they've embarrassed and degraded their whole club getting there, especially their women's team.
sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 181 - 10/10/2023 09:57:55
What's our predictions for the intermediate semi finals. Give us your thoughts.
Farneyarmy123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 10/10/2023 11:02:19
Replying To Farneyarmy123: "What's our predictions for the intermediate semi finals. Give us your thoughts." Monaghan Harp. (---)v(---)Killanny Intermediate Football Championship Semi Final Inniskeen 2:00 PM Referee: Pat Mc Enaney Prediction: Monaghan Harps by 5
Carrickmacross. (---)v(---)Cremartin Intermediate Football Championship Semi Final Inniskeen 3:45 PM Referee: Andrew Mullen Prediction: Carrickmacross by 3
MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 660 - 10/10/2023 13:36:29
Replying To stefon: "Totally agree, Corduff should be ashamed, and to be fair I think a lot of there supporters were, but the reality is the Corduff Management know that the players have not got the footballing ability to win games so this is all they had to offer. Credit has to go to Scotstown for not getting overly involved in it and letting there footballing ability do the talking, could not have been easy, as I believe the verbal's on field were every bit as bad as the physical. Corduff simply have no filter.
Looking forward to a good Final, as I think its fair to say the 2 current best teams are in it, and no matter who wins it I'm just glad it wont be Corduff ." I would say shame on Corduff also but I think most of these players and management have no shame. Having seen the stamping incident again, it's a miracle Jack only sustained bleeding rather than a fractured skull or even worse. Sunday was a dark day for Monaghan club football and hopefully a watershed moment for the county board, it's time to stop turning a blind eye and take proper sanctions against players/clubs. The video gone viral of the incident with the Corduff players intimidating the Scotstown physio does the county no favours either, the county board can't allow Corduff to drag the entire county to the ground.
Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 10/10/2023 14:43:05
Replying To Monaghansclown: "I would say shame on Corduff also but I think most of these players and management have no shame. Having seen the stamping incident again, it's a miracle Jack only sustained bleeding rather than a fractured skull or even worse. Sunday was a dark day for Monaghan club football and hopefully a watershed moment for the county board, it's time to stop turning a blind eye and take proper sanctions against players/clubs. The video gone viral of the incident with the Corduff players intimidating the Scotstown physio does the county no favours either, the county board can't allow Corduff to drag the entire county to the ground." Can almost guarantee nothing will be done unfortunately or if they get anything some loophole in the process will be found, the whole disciplinary system in the GAA is too cumbersome.
Just an aside, if Corduff had won playing like that and acting like that, what's the point really would be my question? Everyone likes to win but that win at all costs mentality is stretched too far, how can anyone enjoy going out stamping on someone as a means to win a game of football.
sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 181 - 10/10/2023 15:55:16
Replying To sporto: "Can almost guarantee nothing will be done unfortunately or if they get anything some loophole in the process will be found, the whole disciplinary system in the GAA is too cumbersome.
Just an aside, if Corduff had won playing like that and acting like that, what's the point really would be my question? Everyone likes to win but that win at all costs mentality is stretched too far, how can anyone enjoy going out stamping on someone as a means to win a game of football." I remember seeing a video of Banty proudly proclaiming "we dont care!" while holding a cup last year. Sums it all up really, this fish rots from the head down and Corduff are absolutely the shame of Monaghan at this moment in time. That particular player offers nothing as a footballer as evidence by his performance. He was sent out to do a job, and took it way way too far. He can count himself lucky he was on the loosing team too - as, if Scotstown had have lost I'd imagine there'd be more appetite to report what was done to McCarron to the law.
Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 10/10/2023 16:50:18
Replying To latefortraining: "I know the Scotstown v Corduff clash on Sunday is getting all the air time for the wrong reasons . But on a positive note if anyone was in Inniskeen on Saturday night for the Blackhill v Drumhowan semi final they weren't disappointed . Two team went at it hammer and tongue , there were some savage hits in the first 15 minitues , credit to both teams who got on with it , No off the ball stuff , great batlles all over the pitch especailly between Donnolly and McElearney Hugh Byrne put in a serious shift. Should be a great final with Tyholland ." Meanwhile, Conor Leonard of Eire Óg sat out the last 4 Championship games with a broken jaw.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 482 - 10/10/2023 17:44:25
Replying To Mickod88: "I remember seeing a video of Banty proudly proclaiming "we dont care!" while holding a cup last year. Sums it all up really, this fish rots from the head down and Corduff are absolutely the shame of Monaghan at this moment in time. That particular player offers nothing as a footballer as evidence by his performance. He was sent out to do a job, and took it way way too far. He can count himself lucky he was on the loosing team too - as, if Scotstown had have lost I'd imagine there'd be more appetite to report what was done to McCarron to the law." Can't believe I'm saying this but the stamp on a Latton players head in their recent championship group game with corduff was actually worse in IMO and alas not a thing done.. the book needs to be thrown at the club but I won't hold my breath..ld loved to know was these actions rehearsed during their recent training sessions in darver…
mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 570 - 10/10/2023 18:13:15
Replying To Farneyarmy123: "What's our predictions for the intermediate semi finals. Give us your thoughts." Killanny to win by 5 points.
Cremarfin to win by 3 pts.
Looking forward to good games and no sideline shenanigans like last week end.. I hope County Board will take action and not hide behind referees report who did well in all the circumstances.
barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 101 - 10/10/2023 21:09:24
Replying To Mickod88: "Absolutely agree, Is there any precedent for the law getting involved with an incident that happened on a football pitch? That wasn't a footballing act or a result of physical play and roughness, that was a criminal act. Between him and that thug from kilkoo theres a worrying trend of players getting away with outright assault on the football pitch. I know the camera's are everywhere these days and its always been the way but surely now's the time to stamp it out when we actually have the technology. That yesterday could very easily have been a fatal strike, and even if he does get the book of law thrown at him that corduff lad can count himself very lucky he didnt seriously injure McCarron" A junior club manager in Wexford was given 6 months in jail for assaulting a referee.
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/news/courts/wexford-gaa-manager-jailed-for-assault-referees-need-to-be-protected-from-this-kind-of-thuggery/a609178779.html
I know it's soccer but a player who kicked a referee got a 5 year ban by the FAI.
https://m.independent.ie/news/fai-hand-sporting-bjd-player-five-year-football-ban-over-alleged-kung-fu-kick-assault-on-referee/42443641.html#:~:text=The%20incident%20happened%20during%20a,be%20abandoned%20after%2085%20minutes.
GAA need to start dishing out big bans for thuggery. I think the guards can only follow for assault if the person wants to press charges. Most people don't want to
leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 698 - 10/10/2023 21:50:08
Why no statement from County board about game?
Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 10/10/2023 23:03:53
Replying To sporto: "Can almost guarantee nothing will be done unfortunately or if they get anything some loophole in the process will be found, the whole disciplinary system in the GAA is too cumbersome.
Just an aside, if Corduff had won playing like that and acting like that, what's the point really would be my question? Everyone likes to win but that win at all costs mentality is stretched too far, how can anyone enjoy going out stamping on someone as a means to win a game of football." Nothing will be done in all probability, however the football pitch is not a safe sanctuary for violence as you might think I seem to remember an incident some time ago when a player took a civil case against an opposition neanderthal over act of on pitch violence. There is a precedent there you'll find.
If that happened a son of mine he would find himself up in court with the threat of a stiff fine and a criminal record, which is what it was, a criminal act. While the fine might be paid by tax payers money, (yes you are all happily funding this) having a criminal record sticks. Neanderthals beware
mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 11/10/2023 00:19:09
Replying To Mickod88: "I remember seeing a video of Banty proudly proclaiming "we dont care!" while holding a cup last year. Sums it all up really, this fish rots from the head down and Corduff are absolutely the shame of Monaghan at this moment in time. That particular player offers nothing as a footballer as evidence by his performance. He was sent out to do a job, and took it way way too far. He can count himself lucky he was on the loosing team too - as, if Scotstown had have lost I'd imagine there'd be more appetite to report what was done to McCarron to the law." Yes I remember that - "We don't care" statement. The structure was built on this mantra......win at all costs. Corduff as a collective team and parish have rowed in behind this. Even at shady times - game against Saval in the Ulster Club Championship, the management were treated like heroes. The welcoming of a excluded coach into their set up and training outside of the county to avoid sanction is another...ignoring genuine Corduff people when this was questioned.........the list could go on. Unfortunately Monaghan county are guilty by association.
The main thing is....this type of game plan will only get you so far and Sunday was a prime example. Fair play to Scotstown for not retaliating. It is now up to the county board to discipline this sort of behaviour!!!!!!
MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 660 - 11/10/2023 07:31:15
Replying To MuineachanAbu: "Yes I remember that - "We don't care" statement. The structure was built on this mantra......win at all costs. Corduff as a collective team and parish have rowed in behind this. Even at shady times - game against Saval in the Ulster Club Championship, the management were treated like heroes. The welcoming of a excluded coach into their set up and training outside of the county to avoid sanction is another...ignoring genuine Corduff people when this was questioned.........the list could go on. Unfortunately Monaghan county are guilty by association.
The main thing is....this type of game plan will only get you so far and Sunday was a prime example. Fair play to Scotstown for not retaliating. It is now up to the county board to discipline this sort of behaviour!!!!!!" Is there not one of them on the country board. You're right about the collective though
mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 11/10/2023 11:58:14
This won't be a popular post. Firstly, that was a 10/10 refereeing display from Diarmuid Boylan on Sunday. He didn't crumble under the pressure of having the two most high profile referees in Ulster on the sideline for Corduff. First time in a long time I've went home from a game thinking the ref was terrific. Yes the stamp was an act of thuggery (as a previous poster said, the one against Latton on Owen Duffy was actually worse in my opinion). If you take the stamp out of the game, there was nothing in that game from Corduff that I thought was 'dirty' to the point were Scotstown players were in danger. A bit of pulling off the ball, getting in lads faces after turning them over, pushing and shoving… squirting McCarron with water… All harmless stuff in my eyes (unless there was anything below the belt said in the verbals)… and it made for the most enjoyable game I've watched in the Monaghan SFC all year. The exact same people on this forum that told us Corduff would get hammered in every senior game this year are now the ones saying that nobody will remember them topping their group and reaching the first SFC semi final in their history. The parish of Corduff has approximately 1,000 people. Taking just the parish of Tydavnet, one of the four parishes that Scotstown pick from (excluding Currin), has approximately 3,800 people… That's the kind of David V Goliath task that was at hand. They had a huge goal chance in the 63rd minute, and only for a great Beggan save, it would have been a one point game. They stuck with one of the best teams in Ulster until the bitter end. As for people giving out about the money.. Wouldn't we all love to have a man with money like that, who is as passionate about his club as Banty is?
HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 11/10/2023 12:37:10
Replying To HB245: "This won't be a popular post. Firstly, that was a 10/10 refereeing display from Diarmuid Boylan on Sunday. He didn't crumble under the pressure of having the two most high profile referees in Ulster on the sideline for Corduff. First time in a long time I've went home from a game thinking the ref was terrific. Yes the stamp was an act of thuggery (as a previous poster said, the one against Latton on Owen Duffy was actually worse in my opinion). If you take the stamp out of the game, there was nothing in that game from Corduff that I thought was 'dirty' to the point were Scotstown players were in danger. A bit of pulling off the ball, getting in lads faces after turning them over, pushing and shoving… squirting McCarron with water… All harmless stuff in my eyes (unless there was anything below the belt said in the verbals)… and it made for the most enjoyable game I've watched in the Monaghan SFC all year. The exact same people on this forum that told us Corduff would get hammered in every senior game this year are now the ones saying that nobody will remember them topping their group and reaching the first SFC semi final in their history. The parish of Corduff has approximately 1,000 people. Taking just the parish of Tydavnet, one of the four parishes that Scotstown pick from (excluding Currin), has approximately 3,800 people… That's the kind of David V Goliath task that was at hand. They had a huge goal chance in the 63rd minute, and only for a great Beggan save, it would have been a one point game. They stuck with one of the best teams in Ulster until the bitter end. As for people giving out about the money.. Wouldn't we all love to have a man with money like that, who is as passionate about his club as Banty is?" Alright Banty , you have a funny way of saying sorry.... Only thing you are right about is the ref, other than that...you sir, are a clown.
stefon (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 11/10/2023 13:57:06
Replying To HB245: "This won't be a popular post. Firstly, that was a 10/10 refereeing display from Diarmuid Boylan on Sunday. He didn't crumble under the pressure of having the two most high profile referees in Ulster on the sideline for Corduff. First time in a long time I've went home from a game thinking the ref was terrific. Yes the stamp was an act of thuggery (as a previous poster said, the one against Latton on Owen Duffy was actually worse in my opinion). If you take the stamp out of the game, there was nothing in that game from Corduff that I thought was 'dirty' to the point were Scotstown players were in danger. A bit of pulling off the ball, getting in lads faces after turning them over, pushing and shoving… squirting McCarron with water… All harmless stuff in my eyes (unless there was anything below the belt said in the verbals)… and it made for the most enjoyable game I've watched in the Monaghan SFC all year. The exact same people on this forum that told us Corduff would get hammered in every senior game this year are now the ones saying that nobody will remember them topping their group and reaching the first SFC semi final in their history. The parish of Corduff has approximately 1,000 people. Taking just the parish of Tydavnet, one of the four parishes that Scotstown pick from (excluding Currin), has approximately 3,800 people… That's the kind of David V Goliath task that was at hand. They had a huge goal chance in the 63rd minute, and only for a great Beggan save, it would have been a one point game. They stuck with one of the best teams in Ulster until the bitter end. As for people giving out about the money.. Wouldn't we all love to have a man with money like that, who is as passionate about his club as Banty is?" When is the medals for semi finals handed out??as for Scotstown being one of the best teams in ulster total rubbish,they aren't anywhere near it as there record this last 10 or 11 years will tell you..
Monaghanlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 30 - 11/10/2023 14:44:56
Replying To Monaghanlad: "When is the medals for semi finals handed out??as for Scotstown being one of the best teams in ulster total rubbish,they aren't anywhere near it as there record this last 10 or 11 years will tell you.." Why on earth are we judging Corduff's season based on whether they won a championship or not? Everyone had them written off before the season started, wondering if they'd even win a game. They had an unbelievable season. Scotstown are undeniably one of the best teams in Ulster. Laughable if you think otherwise. Glen, Errigal Ciaran and Kilcoo are the only teams I'd have definitely have ahead of them. They have 7 players that got gametime in an All Ireland semi final this season. The bookies seem to agree with me that they are one of the best in Ulster also.
HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 11/10/2023 14:50:43
Replying To HB245: "This won't be a popular post. Firstly, that was a 10/10 refereeing display from Diarmuid Boylan on Sunday. He didn't crumble under the pressure of having the two most high profile referees in Ulster on the sideline for Corduff. First time in a long time I've went home from a game thinking the ref was terrific. Yes the stamp was an act of thuggery (as a previous poster said, the one against Latton on Owen Duffy was actually worse in my opinion). If you take the stamp out of the game, there was nothing in that game from Corduff that I thought was 'dirty' to the point were Scotstown players were in danger. A bit of pulling off the ball, getting in lads faces after turning them over, pushing and shoving… squirting McCarron with water… All harmless stuff in my eyes (unless there was anything below the belt said in the verbals)… and it made for the most enjoyable game I've watched in the Monaghan SFC all year. The exact same people on this forum that told us Corduff would get hammered in every senior game this year are now the ones saying that nobody will remember them topping their group and reaching the first SFC semi final in their history. The parish of Corduff has approximately 1,000 people. Taking just the parish of Tydavnet, one of the four parishes that Scotstown pick from (excluding Currin), has approximately 3,800 people… That's the kind of David V Goliath task that was at hand. They had a huge goal chance in the 63rd minute, and only for a great Beggan save, it would have been a one point game. They stuck with one of the best teams in Ulster until the bitter end. As for people giving out about the money.. Wouldn't we all love to have a man with money like that, who is as passionate about his club as Banty is?" Being from South Monaghan, not Corduff :) and being in attendance for both games on Sunday, it pains me to say it but I would have to agree with your post. Apart from the stamp, which was terrible and should be serverely punished, the rest was all handbags. There was a bigger melee in the Clontibret v Inniskeen game up against the wire on the Gerry Arthur stand. The biggest cheer I heard from the Scotstown fans all day was when Keenan got sent off for a second yellow, which a number of different people have said to me, which says a lot. Anyway, I would fancy Inniskeen against Scotstown based on Sundays displays, they are a very slick outfit who play good attacking football at pace.
SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 155 - 11/10/2023 15:26:17
If you don't mind me asking what is the controversy with Corduff this year
Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 326 - 11/10/2023 15:29:50