Westmeath Football thread

The crowd unfortunately was pretty sparse for a home game. Westmeath obliterated Antrim with John Heslin scoring approx 1-12, we looked sharp, Sam Duncan was immense all through, target practice for our forwards in second half, think two of our subs scored five points from play which sums it up. No idea what Antrim's mindset was beforehand because their display on the day was lamentable. Felt sorry for their supporters, not often in the four divisions of the entire football league that a team suffers a 32 point beating.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 05/03/2023 16:03:07    2461976

Disappointing crowd again.

What a performance for the full 70 minutes which we don't do too often. Sam Duncan was outstanding and he was my man of the match. Every game this year he has stood out.

Heslin had a super game alongside O'Toole also. A massive game in two weeks time now against Fermanagh. A similar performance to today and we will win!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 05/03/2023 16:37:43    2461999

Good win against poor opposition not much more to be said

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 05/03/2023 16:52:37    2462005

You can only beat whats out against you but for Westmeath to score 4-27 was huge today-excellant all over the park.You will hear the usual stuff -Antrim were awfully poor and they were but Westmeath did not relent and never stopped pressing and got their just rewards.Roll on Fermanagh in 2 weeks which could decide promotion for either side.Huge game

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 05/03/2023 17:02:39    2462010

Replying To Bruno@1:  "You can only beat whats out against you but for Westmeath to score 4-27 was huge today-excellant all over the park.You will hear the usual stuff -Antrim were awfully poor and they were but Westmeath did not relent and never stopped pressing and got their just rewards.Roll on Fermanagh in 2 weeks which could decide promotion for either side.Huge game"
No matter how bad the opposition 4-27 is a mega score.We have great ability.If we believe and dont panic we can win in Enniskillen.Lets go for it.Forget the fear in Newry and go for it for 70 minutes.If we win our last 2 games now with any luck we will go up.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 05/03/2023 17:55:58    2462040

Credit where it's due. People are quick to slate the team when it doesn't go our way so great result and performance to win that game today scoring 4-27. I don't know if I've ever been to a Westmeath game where we scored anything near that. I don't think we missed any shot we took on today and if we did it was very minimal. People can say how bad Antrim were today but they have beaten Tipperary, Fermanagh only beat them by a point scoring 1-2 in injury time to come from behind and Down only beat them by a point also. They aren't as bad as the scoreline suggests and I think that's why more credit should be shown to our lads. Don't get me wrong I'm not getting carried away and nothing more than two wins from our last two games will be enough. It's the least we should be aiming for and with our scoring difference massively better than others around us and the chance of a three way tie for second place we aren't in too bad of a position.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 05/03/2023 19:14:38    2462067

I made a quick comment earlier. On reflection i was highly impressed. All sections of the team stood up. Danny scahill is growing into his role. Maguire solid as ever and Nigel Harte excellent half backs dolan Wallace and mcartin in great form. Sam Duncan outstanding at midfield. Sean Baker is a class act and will only get better and the conducter of the whole team the imperial John heslin. Also Dessie a lot more vocal on the line. Well done to all

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 05/03/2023 19:30:31    2462074

Senan Baker of course

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 05/03/2023 20:02:47    2462092

Youd be happy with the lot. Well done to all the squad and management today. Is this a record win for us?

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 05/03/2023 21:08:18    2462138

Great performance yesterday. Everything fell together and we played great flowing football. Baker is a star in the making.

Still find it hard to see us get out of this division. We need results to go are way and we need two big results away to Fermanagh and at home to Tipp who will need to will to stay up.

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 383 - 06/03/2023 10:54:02    2462212

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Youd be happy with the lot. Well done to all the squad and management today. Is this a record win for us?"
Good question A_Chairde, I'd say it would be up there alright. Remember us dishing out hammerings to Limerick and Wicklow in early 00's but such is our county's website and social media profile there's no way of researching historical results, that I can see anyways.
If we win our last two are we not guaranteed promotion? We've a far superior scoring difference, or does it come down to head v head?

Interesting fact for yous, I noticed from Gaa_Statsman on Twitter that Westmeath have the second highest scoring record across the 4 divisions with 11-72, and also the second meanest defence in the country, conceding only 1-51.

Lakers.for.Sam (Westmeath) - Posts: 79 - 06/03/2023 12:40:19    2462251

Replying To Lakers.for.Sam:  "Good question A_Chairde, I'd say it would be up there alright. Remember us dishing out hammerings to Limerick and Wicklow in early 00's but such is our county's website and social media profile there's no way of researching historical results, that I can see anyways.
If we win our last two are we not guaranteed promotion? We've a far superior scoring difference, or does it come down to head v head?

Interesting fact for yous, I noticed from Gaa_Statsman on Twitter that Westmeath have the second highest scoring record across the 4 divisions with 11-72, and also the second meanest defence in the country, conceding only 1-51."
all very nice quoting stats but against down we gave away a big lead stats mean nothing . and if we dont perform against fermanagh the only stat will be that we stay in division 3

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 06/03/2023 13:18:20    2462265

Some result ok, would like to see footage of that game. See ye in the Leinster championship, will be interesting, well done

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 713 - 06/03/2023 13:45:18    2462280

Replying To mickcunningham:  "all very nice quoting stats but against down we gave away a big lead stats mean nothing . and if we dont perform against fermanagh the only stat will be that we stay in division 3"
Stats tell the real story of how the team are performing, important to point them out. Sounds like we threw it away against Down alright, Fermanagh a massive test Saturday week. It's a fair trek to Ederney, hats off to any loyal supporters that plan on making the journey! (has been changed to 3pm throw in)

Lakers.for.Sam (Westmeath) - Posts: 79 - 06/03/2023 14:09:51    2462301

Replying To Lakers.for.Sam:  "Stats tell the real story of how the team are performing, important to point them out. Sounds like we threw it away against Down alright, Fermanagh a massive test Saturday week. It's a fair trek to Ederney, hats off to any loyal supporters that plan on making the journey! (has been changed to 3pm throw in)"
2 hour trip but 3 0 clock is a good starting time

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 06/03/2023 14:16:12    2462304

Replying To Lakers.for.Sam:  "Stats tell the real story of how the team are performing, important to point them out. Sounds like we threw it away against Down alright, Fermanagh a massive test Saturday week. It's a fair trek to Ederney, hats off to any loyal supporters that plan on making the journey! (has been changed to 3pm throw in)"
I'll be at it as usual.. Where did you see that the Fermanagh match was moved to 3pm?

As regards the Down game; a very dubious penalty was given to Down and that changed the match. The players will have taken so many learnings from that defeat!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 06/03/2023 14:25:32    2462311

Replying To mickcunningham:  "all very nice quoting stats but against down we gave away a big lead stats mean nothing . and if we dont perform against fermanagh the only stat will be that we stay in division 3"
Thats the test.We must show that we are not just fancy dans who can be great to watch against inferior opposition.Oue hurlers were like this in 2a for a while but got over it and are now fighting for survival at the top level.The footballers can and must do the same as the talent is there.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 06/03/2023 14:29:25    2462312

Replying To Matthew:  "I'll be at it as usual.. Where did you see that the Fermanagh match was moved to 3pm?

As regards the Down game; a very dubious penalty was given to Down and that changed the match. The players will have taken so many learnings from that defeat!"
Reported by Will O Callahan in his post match interview with Dessie..Think Brewster is out of action it must be getting an upgrade...Heard Heslin missed a very kickable free by his standards to level things up towards the end too. Anyway, as you say, you'd hope a lot was learned, we'll find out in the last couple of rounds!

Lakers.for.Sam (Westmeath) - Posts: 79 - 06/03/2023 14:43:48    2462322

Replying To Matthew:  "I'll be at it as usual.. Where did you see that the Fermanagh match was moved to 3pm?

As regards the Down game; a very dubious penalty was given to Down and that changed the match. The players will have taken so many learnings from that defeat!"
dessie said the time in an interview yesterday

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 06/03/2023 14:49:14    2462324

Any fixtures I have seen still say 6pm in Enniskillen ? Ederney is another half hour the far side of Eniskillen.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 06/03/2023 15:20:29    2462342