Westmeath Football thread

WHAT a disaster for the minor board. Everything appeared to be going swimmingly with the fixtures schedule. To lose out in an appeal made against a football club regarding Rule 5 of the 2024 Competition Regulations. It means clubs with more than one team in the same grade have to play at the same time and leaves a pile up of postponements and replays in U16 and U14 competitions. The board say the fixture schedule will extend into December. With school games, a shortage of floodlit venues and the crossover of dual players, will they really get these competitions wrapped up for Christmas.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 30 - 25/09/2024 10:56:56    2571738

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "WHAT a disaster for the minor board. Everything appeared to be going swimmingly with the fixtures schedule. To lose out in an appeal made against a football club regarding Rule 5 of the 2024 Competition Regulations. It means clubs with more than one team in the same grade have to play at the same time and leaves a pile up of postponements and replays in U16 and U14 competitions. The board say the fixture schedule will extend into December. With school games, a shortage of floodlit venues and the crossover of dual players, will they really get these competitions wrapped up for Christmas."
Unless I am mistaken, is this not to ensure that there is no unfairness by Clubs in terms of players being used on both teams which shouldn't be happening. If a Club declares 2 teams in a Grade then they need to have the players to support 2 teams and by playing both teams on the same night ensures all is above board in that regard.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 644 - 25/09/2024 11:33:18    2571754

Kinnegad VS The Downs… Kinnegad by 2
Lomans VS TPass... Lomans by 5

Intermediate
Rosemount VS Miltown... Rosemount by 2
Garrycastle VS Multy… Garrycastle by 8

Junior
Lomans VS CFCW… Lomans by 4
Joseph's VS Bun… Bun by 1

Junior 2
Ballingore VS Caulry… Ballingore by 8
Garrycastle VS Delvin… Delvin by 3

westmeathman99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 114 - 25/09/2024 12:05:55    2571764

Replying To Meridian:  "Unless I am mistaken, is this not to ensure that there is no unfairness by Clubs in terms of players being used on both teams which shouldn't be happening. If a Club declares 2 teams in a Grade then they need to have the players to support 2 teams and by playing both teams on the same night ensures all is above board in that regard."
Exactly, that obviously hadn't been the case!!

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 30 - 25/09/2024 12:31:22    2571769

The Downs will have a skip in their step after the way they played in extra time against Athlone. Johnny Murray has them coming to the boil nicely, with everyone available they're a better team than they were two years ago and then having Jim Gavin down this week is a real statement of ambition. The Downs are strong in every department whereas St Loman's are not exactly. I don't expect any upsets against The Downs or St Loman's this weekend. That would be a great final to watch. Expect Garrycastle and Rosemount to get to the intermediate final.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 30 - 25/09/2024 12:58:22    2571774

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "WHAT a disaster for the minor board. Everything appeared to be going swimmingly with the fixtures schedule. To lose out in an appeal made against a football club regarding Rule 5 of the 2024 Competition Regulations. It means clubs with more than one team in the same grade have to play at the same time and leaves a pile up of postponements and replays in U16 and U14 competitions. The board say the fixture schedule will extend into December. With school games, a shortage of floodlit venues and the crossover of dual players, will they really get these competitions wrapped up for Christmas."
No issue with that. We played a team earlier this yr underage grade an even exciting game for the division. Met them a second time all the big guns were out a different team altogether we got walloped twas night and day to the teams we played.

2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 67 - 25/09/2024 13:32:52    2571784

Kinnegad VS The Downs… Kinnegad by 2
Lomans VS TPass... Lomans

Intermediate
Rosemount VS Miltown... Draw -Extra time/Pens
Garrycastle VS Multy… Multy by 2

Junior
Lomans VS CFCW… CFCW by 1
Joseph's VS Bun… Bun 3

Junior 2
Ballingore VS Caulry… Ballingore by 9+
Garrycastle VS Delvin… Garrycastle 3

Leftboothaey (Westmeath) - Posts: 35 - 25/09/2024 13:33:38    2571785

It was a clear case of Coiste na nÓg falling on their own sword… don't make the rules if you can't act or abide by them… no need to convolute the situation with opinions based on "duirt bean liom go nduirt bean lei"
The rules are the rules folks. It's a clear cut case.

NiallODallachair (Longford) - Posts: 1 - 25/09/2024 14:05:00    2571801

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "The Downs will have a skip in their step after the way they played in extra time against Athlone. Johnny Murray has them coming to the boil nicely, with everyone available they're a better team than they were two years ago and then having Jim Gavin down this week is a real statement of ambition. The Downs are strong in every department whereas St Loman's are not exactly. I don't expect any upsets against The Downs or St Loman's this weekend. That would be a great final to watch. Expect Garrycastle and Rosemount to get to the intermediate final."
Jim Gavin?

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 221 - 25/09/2024 15:16:36    2571821

A real david vs goliath story multy v garrycastle would be exceptional to see them win but hard to see it within 4 points.
Milltown and rosemount will be close if rsemount fly home andy mc it could swing it their way milltown a very good young side but possibly lacking that exceptional forward to get them over the line which was the case in there last few semi final meetings.

Dazzler30 (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 25/09/2024 16:34:48    2571831

Replying To Meridian:  "Unless I am mistaken, is this not to ensure that there is no unfairness by Clubs in terms of players being used on both teams which shouldn't be happening. If a Club declares 2 teams in a Grade then they need to have the players to support 2 teams and by playing both teams on the same night ensures all is above board in that regard."
Don't agree with this at all. All the clubs were trying to do was give players game time. Some teams have maybe 30 0dd players. Mostly meaning that 12 plus players get no competitive games. Two teams playing at same time will require minimum 6 mentors per club, again very hard. The bigger town clubs can do this (and fair play to them) but doubt smaller clubs can. Couple of options. Let the 1st team name 15 players. They can only play with 1st team, others can play with both. Maybe 2nd team can't get to final either. I really believe that the more competitive games players get rather than 13 lads sitting on a bench, is best option for westmeath going forward

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 94 - 25/09/2024 17:40:41    2571840

Replying To NiallODallachair:  "It was a clear case of Coiste na nÓg falling on their own sword… don't make the rules if you can't act or abide by them… no need to convolute the situation with opinions based on "duirt bean liom go nduirt bean lei"
The rules are the rules folks. It's a clear cut case."
Exactly. The appeal wouldn't have been successful if the appealing club didn't have a valid case. The offending club knew the rules and are the only ones to blame here.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 239 - 25/09/2024 18:43:16    2571849

https://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2571840

Exactly this. I believe the team who has caused the chaos for underage competitions in the county should not be in the division they are in. The complaint is in relation to two rural based amalgamation teams of similar stature to themselves who, through their hard work and efforts to include all their players (not just the stronger ones) have managed to get to u14 without the huge drop off in numbers seen in other teams. This should be encouraged, not scapegoated.

I believe a large reason for the drop off is based on players not getting games. These teams have named 15 players for their first team as required and the second teams are made up of un-named u14 and u12 players. They have not player ineligible players and there is no suggestion that they are. This has been a huge help in keeping youngsters playing football and is to be commended. These teams should not have to play in a division against another clubs first team.

I believe the issue is the team who has made the objection. In their two group matches against the teams they have the issue with, they have conceded only three scores in total (in two games). I believe another team in the division conceded their game due to the mismatch. They should never have been placed in this division as they are a first team in my opinion. I believe a number of clubs have indicated that if they need to win the Div 6 so badly, they should just be awarded it and let the other teams play out the championship and give their players games to look forward to.

Finally, maybe the Minor Board should look at a 13 a side competition for small clubs and town teams who happen to have 12-15 subs from time to time. No player should drop out of our games as a result of not getting matches, that is a poor reflection on the adults who administer the competitions and the coaches who don't speak up, not the players who just want matches and involvement in their local team. Anyone who has mentored juvenile teams will testify that playing games with 12-15 subs underage is a nightmare for players, mentors and parents and we should cater for this to help playing numbers at juvenile.

Just my 2c, not everyone will agree but I'm sure some will!!!! Best of luck to all clubs in their remaining games!!

Highball_Lowball (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 25/09/2024 19:31:25    2571855

Replying To Upforthegame23:  "Don't agree with this at all. All the clubs were trying to do was give players game time. Some teams have maybe 30 0dd players. Mostly meaning that 12 plus players get no competitive games. Two teams playing at same time will require minimum 6 mentors per club, again very hard. The bigger town clubs can do this (and fair play to them) but doubt smaller clubs can. Couple of options. Let the 1st team name 15 players. They can only play with 1st team, others can play with both. Maybe 2nd team can't get to final either. I really believe that the more competitive games players get rather than 13 lads sitting on a bench, is best option for westmeath going forward"
I think you have the wrong end of the stick. No club done anything wrong here.
A set of rules were passed for championship, and Westmeath Minor board appear to have broke a rule for some unknown reason.
Clubs do name a "first" 15.... but having the games on the same night avoids any temptation for Skulduggery!!!
Ie. Not naming your strongest 15 players for the higher grade and getting kids to play at both grades.
Simple stuff.

LoughLeneKing (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 25/09/2024 19:39:09    2571857

Kinnegad to beat The Downs by 2 pts and St.Lomans to beat Tyrellspass by 4 pts.
If Lomans do win then they are in their 10th successive final-love them or loathe them that will be some achievment

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 205 - 26/09/2024 15:15:47    2571977

A bit off topic but watching games this year one thing really stood out for me and i know people will be cribbing and crying about this, but the standard of refereeing is not up to scratch and i am not blaming the refs here, blaming the training and structure. We have about 2-3 good refs in the county, some dont know the rules, some arent strong enough to run a game, some have too much to say, some are unfit, League games lads are ended up in hospital on a weekly basis. When you go down the divisions you would wonder how the insurance covers it.
Seems like a referees report is unchangeable/unchallenged, are the refs being audited in the county? and are games been recorded and refs been pulled up on decisions?
Players are now training at a very high level 5 days a week 3 pitch sessions and 2-3 gym sessions from January until hopefully October and then on the biggest game of there year a ref is poor, doesnt seem fair. Managers and selectors also putting a lot of time into a team and trying to leave no stone unturned.
Were all allowed to make mistakes its only human and without refs we dont have a game but the county board should assist the refs in every means possible in training, Audits, video reviews, case studies ETC.
What is the current practice for refs in the county? I am sure they are sick of players and managers giving out.

PowellJohn3 (Westmeath) - Posts: 49 - 26/09/2024 16:29:37    2571991

Replying To PowellJohn3:  "A bit off topic but watching games this year one thing really stood out for me and i know people will be cribbing and crying about this, but the standard of refereeing is not up to scratch and i am not blaming the refs here, blaming the training and structure. We have about 2-3 good refs in the county, some dont know the rules, some arent strong enough to run a game, some have too much to say, some are unfit, League games lads are ended up in hospital on a weekly basis. When you go down the divisions you would wonder how the insurance covers it.
Seems like a referees report is unchangeable/unchallenged, are the refs being audited in the county? and are games been recorded and refs been pulled up on decisions?
Players are now training at a very high level 5 days a week 3 pitch sessions and 2-3 gym sessions from January until hopefully October and then on the biggest game of there year a ref is poor, doesnt seem fair. Managers and selectors also putting a lot of time into a team and trying to leave no stone unturned.
Were all allowed to make mistakes its only human and without refs we dont have a game but the county board should assist the refs in every means possible in training, Audits, video reviews, case studies ETC.
What is the current practice for refs in the county? I am sure they are sick of players and managers giving out."
I have to agree. You are spot on in regard to referees being poor and the level of fitness among them isn't hectic either and they trying to keep up with super fit athletes which doesn't work out well for them. The standard of refereeing and decision making is also very poor, but at a number of matches this year I am hearing "ah but he was poor for both teams" and we seem to be okay with that. It's not how it should be and I do hope the county board rectify this and provide the necessary training for them as it is a thankless job

Tailteannchamps (Westmeath) - Posts: 30 - 26/09/2024 17:31:53    2571998

Strange to see those opinions considering that Eddie Kinsella the Tyrrellspass manager has commented publicly that he's been very impressed with the standard of refereeing in Westmeath. He mentioned that their first five league matches were refereed by five different referees and that each ref had been excellent. Kevin Hickey of Shandonagh also commented in local newspapers that he felt refereeing standards in their matches had been high quality. Two managers of senior clubs commenting favourably surely indicates that there are more than 2-3 decent referees.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1831 - 26/09/2024 22:24:45    2572028

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Strange to see those opinions considering that Eddie Kinsella the Tyrrellspass manager has commented publicly that he's been very impressed with the standard of refereeing in Westmeath. He mentioned that their first five league matches were refereed by five different referees and that each ref had been excellent. Kevin Hickey of Shandonagh also commented in local newspapers that he felt refereeing standards in their matches had been high quality. Two managers of senior clubs commenting favourably surely indicates that there are more than 2-3 decent referees."
I agree refa not perfect but refs in westmeath generally good if they call them bad then come to Longford

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 456 - 26/09/2024 23:08:15    2572032

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Strange to see those opinions considering that Eddie Kinsella the Tyrrellspass manager has commented publicly that he's been very impressed with the standard of refereeing in Westmeath. He mentioned that their first five league matches were refereed by five different referees and that each ref had been excellent. Kevin Hickey of Shandonagh also commented in local newspapers that he felt refereeing standards in their matches had been high quality. Two managers of senior clubs commenting favourably surely indicates that there are more than 2-3 decent referees."
I think people will have agendas which is normal if they loose some blame ref

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 456 - 26/09/2024 23:08:50    2572033