Westmeath Football thread

Being beaten by Wicklow in the championship is no cause for concern??? Elimination from the Leinster championship to the 2nd worst team in the competition is of no concern? I've heard it all now.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1502 - 09/04/2024 12:28:47    2536865

The leinster championship is no longer "the championship". Its an inconvenience thats being kept alive because of provincial councils and old school traditionalists. Dublin use it as a training exercise to fight for a place in the actual championship which is now the all ireland series. Dean Rock admitted the other day in an interview he doesn't even know how many times he's won it! The facts are westmeath are promoted into division 2 and faced straight into a game with wicklow which they lost. Fair enough, they lost. But in the grand scheme of things its like losing an o byrne cup game in terms of relevance to the actual championship which will either be tailteann cup or the all ireland series. Whatever competition they're in more luck to them

AmberNBlack (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 09/04/2024 13:02:51    2536874

Replying To AmberNBlack:  "The leinster championship is no longer "the championship". Its an inconvenience thats being kept alive because of provincial councils and old school traditionalists. Dublin use it as a training exercise to fight for a place in the actual championship which is now the all ireland series. Dean Rock admitted the other day in an interview he doesn't even know how many times he's won it! The facts are westmeath are promoted into division 2 and faced straight into a game with wicklow which they lost. Fair enough, they lost. But in the grand scheme of things its like losing an o byrne cup game in terms of relevance to the actual championship which will either be tailteann cup or the all ireland series. Whatever competition they're in more luck to them"
Its very relevant to championship, if they won last weekend then their fate is still in their own hands. Now we're relying on other teams winning to avoid the Tailteann cup

martyW (Westmeath) - Posts: 319 - 09/04/2024 13:27:26    2536887

But does it matter? Tailteann cup is a great competition for teams of their, level lower end of division 2 higher end of division 3. What's the point doing another 3 weeks in leinster get hockeyed by dublin and go straight into a all ireland series.
My point is leinster championship is done. Nobody cares about it, you probably won't see any of the games on live TV because nobody wants to watch it. You'd get a bigger crowd in the well in moate for a Nathan Carter tribute act than what was at any of the leinster games at the weekend. Ye still go on about 04 like it was yesterday, the leinster championship has completely changed since then. Also the comments here calling out individual players is disgusting. You'd be the same lads to pat them on the back on the street but you'll hide here behind a username and call a lad out that's representing their county to the best of there ability

AmberNBlack (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 09/04/2024 13:49:46    2536899

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Being beaten by Wicklow in the championship is no cause for concern??? Elimination from the Leinster championship to the 2nd worst team in the competition is of no concern? I've heard it all now."
Are you trying to be the Roy Keane of this forum? All you seem to do is give out. These are amateur players doing their best. They are not machines. If you are looking for perfection both on the field and off it then go elsewhere.

We are a young team, a young new manager, mistakes have been made and will be made again.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 09/04/2024 14:05:04    2536905

Replying To AmberNBlack:  "The leinster championship is no longer "the championship". Its an inconvenience thats being kept alive because of provincial councils and old school traditionalists. Dublin use it as a training exercise to fight for a place in the actual championship which is now the all ireland series. Dean Rock admitted the other day in an interview he doesn't even know how many times he's won it! The facts are westmeath are promoted into division 2 and faced straight into a game with wicklow which they lost. Fair enough, they lost. But in the grand scheme of things its like losing an o byrne cup game in terms of relevance to the actual championship which will either be tailteann cup or the all ireland series. Whatever competition they're in more luck to them"
Agree completely. There are some right clowns on here who are too quick fire to vent their frustrations but know nothing about the game.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 09/04/2024 14:09:51    2536906

Replying To Meridian:  "Are you trying to be the Roy Keane of this forum? All you seem to do is give out. These are amateur players doing their best. They are not machines. If you are looking for perfection both on the field and off it then go elsewhere.

We are a young team, a young new manager, mistakes have been made and will be made again."
Please point out where I criticised a single player ever on this forum, it hasn't happened, save you scrolling back through pages, I have criticised the management and do not apologise for so doing, they're extremely well looked after for their efforts. At least try to get things right when taking aim at other posters, no one is forcing you to read these pages.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1502 - 09/04/2024 14:39:15    2536913

This I believe is our most competitive team with everyone fit for whatever competition we end up in.

1. Jason Daly
2. Daniel scahill
3. Charlie Drumm
4. Kevin Maguire
5. Ronan Wallace
6. Andy McCormack
7. Nigel Harte
8. Ray Connellan
9. Jonathan Lynam
10. Sam McCartan
11. Ronan O'Toole
12. Robbie Forde / Senan baker
13. Danny McCartan
14. John Heslin
15. Luke Loughlin

Lakecounty94 (Westmeath) - Posts: 58 - 09/04/2024 14:58:20    2536921

Replying To AmberNBlack:  "Well done Westmeath on getting promoted from division 3. Not overly concerned about the weekend result the leinster hasnt been a decent competition in years the provincials are a joke. Ulster the only decent championship. I know getting to a final is great for getting sam maguire status but its not a great system. Loads of gametime and experience given to the next crop of talent like charlie drum, Daniel scahill Matthew Whittaker, senan Baker Dan mccartan etc. Its just a pity for the players they couldn't enjoy the league win with a break. Gaa need to fix the system. I hope no players take notice of some of the comnents here by armchair experts here slating managers and players when theyve given so much to the county. Best of luck Westmeath in whatever championship lies ahead"
Dillusional stuff, labelling the leinster championship competition as being a joke so we shouldnt care if we lost to WIcklow because the competition is a joke, thats something a child would say. Nobody on here bashed any of the players personally i dont think maybe i am wrong, The system is the same for everyone. I think the point of a forum is to give your opinion right or wrong.
Division 3 promotion is great and i think was the miniumum a supporter would look for ? but we lost the first round of Leinster to Wicklow, who were the better team at the weekend and full credit to them but from a Westmeath perspective performance not good enough and way below par and not what the county expects hence the reception on this Forum. Dont think anyone expected for people to come on here and say aww hard luck guys you tried?
As Roy keane would say "Give me a Break".

PowellJohn3 (Westmeath) - Posts: 33 - 09/04/2024 15:00:02    2536922

All in all its been a good season for the lads -promotion gained and div 3 title in the bag.Ok not beating Wicklow was a bad blow but since Nov/Dec the squad and management have shown huge committment and effort with training etc-a hard long slog.Maybe this rest period will do them the world of good-cant see Down or Fermanagh getting to an Ulster final and Louth will take care of Wicklow or Kildare so we will have Sam Football to look forward to.Again well done lads on the huge effort so far.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 170 - 09/04/2024 15:16:08    2536926

Replying To Bruno@1:  "All in all its been a good season for the lads -promotion gained and div 3 title in the bag.Ok not beating Wicklow was a bad blow but since Nov/Dec the squad and management have shown huge committment and effort with training etc-a hard long slog.Maybe this rest period will do them the world of good-cant see Down or Fermanagh getting to an Ulster final and Louth will take care of Wicklow or Kildare so we will have Sam Football to look forward to.Again well done lads on the huge effort so far."
Totally agree some people on here are totally deluded.We are back in Division 2 and still in the championship.Dessie and his team have done a great job.Sure they make mistakes ,who doesnt.We have unearthed some new talent and hopefully some of the older servants unaccustomed to bit parts will see the bigger picture.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1458 - 09/04/2024 15:43:06    2536932

Replying To Lakecounty94:  "This I believe is our most competitive team with everyone fit for whatever competition we end up in.

1. Jason Daly
2. Daniel scahill
3. Charlie Drumm
4. Kevin Maguire
5. Ronan Wallace
6. Andy McCormack
7. Nigel Harte
8. Ray Connellan
9. Jonathan Lynam
10. Sam McCartan
11. Ronan O'Toole
13. Danny McCartan
14. John Heslin
15. Luke Loughlin"
Pretty good team lynch makes it to me. That's just my opinion

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 215 - 09/04/2024 16:32:41    2536942

Replying To Lakecounty94:  "This I believe is our most competitive team with everyone fit for whatever competition we end up in.

1. Jason Daly
2. Daniel scahill
3. Charlie Drumm
4. Kevin Maguire
5. Ronan Wallace
6. Andy McCormack
7. Nigel Harte
8. Ray Connellan
9. Jonathan Lynam
10. Sam McCartan
11. Ronan O'Toole
13. Danny McCartan
14. John Heslin
15. Luke Loughlin"
1 . Jason Daly
2 . Daniel Scahill
3 . Kevin Maguire
4 . Jack Smith
5 . Ronan Wallace
6 . David Lynch
7 . Jamie Gonoud
8 . Ray Connellan
9 . Andy McCormack
10 . Sam McCartan
11 . Ronan O'Toole
12 . Robbie Forde
13 . Luke Loughlin
14 . John Heslin
15 . Dan McCartan

GCCABU (Westmeath) - Posts: 10 - 09/04/2024 16:33:04    2536944

Shud just put a notice up here that no negative feedback or criticism is permitted. Only allowed be positive or you get banned . Like North Korea , your not allowed have an opinion unless its to say everything is rosey and we're all great according to a lot of people . I dont for a second condone going in personally on management or players . They've given us a lot of great days with league and tailteann Cup. But if it becomes a situation where you can't call out a poor performance for what it is then I think we're heading towards a putin esque regime of censorship . Credit has to be given for promotion and the reaction of players in league final in particular following sligo defeat, great resilience and got there just rewards. But losing to wicklow is so disappointing. Leinster championship is not doubt very flawed but I'm sure players and management wud love to have progressed as far as possible and build up momentum . Hopefully the panel can regroup , reset and set the record straight either in tailteann or all ireland series . Chance to clear up injuries and all going well have full fit panel when we take the field again .Tough pill to swallow on Sunday but all is not lost

philbrown (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 09/04/2024 16:43:40    2536945

Replying To philbrown:  "Shud just put a notice up here that no negative feedback or criticism is permitted. Only allowed be positive or you get banned . Like North Korea , your not allowed have an opinion unless its to say everything is rosey and we're all great according to a lot of people . I dont for a second condone going in personally on management or players . They've given us a lot of great days with league and tailteann Cup. But if it becomes a situation where you can't call out a poor performance for what it is then I think we're heading towards a putin esque regime of censorship . Credit has to be given for promotion and the reaction of players in league final in particular following sligo defeat, great resilience and got there just rewards. But losing to wicklow is so disappointing. Leinster championship is not doubt very flawed but I'm sure players and management wud love to have progressed as far as possible and build up momentum . Hopefully the panel can regroup , reset and set the record straight either in tailteann or all ireland series . Chance to clear up injuries and all going well have full fit panel when we take the field again .Tough pill to swallow on Sunday but all is not lost"
Nobody is disagreeing with a word you said.My reply was to those "abusing" thats the word a great Westmeath man and to those who told us we had won in Sligo and Wicklow before we played them and then disappear off into the sunset.A total disrespect to those counties both with bigger populations and less hurling and making no allowance for the effort the team had put in Sunday after Sunday.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1458 - 09/04/2024 18:38:37    2536971

A very disappointing result last Saturday. You'd have to question why the players had to go and celebrate the league win the previous weekend. Absolutely crazy stuff with a massive championship game the following week. So much for the players not celebrating the league win as Dessie alluded to on an interview post the league final.

Dessie got the team wrong. I'm not naming players. But a few players started who had zero minutes during the league. Also; absolutely bonkers not starting Heslin and holding him back.

The defending also for Wicklow's 2nd goal was criminal.

As someone who has intending every game this year; I'd have to agree with some of the posters above and say we have been very poor throughout the league. We were ultimately lucky to get promoted. Was brilliant to get promoted but they thought they just had to turn up last Sunday & Wicklow clearly didn't get the respect they deserved. This defeat was a massive set back for football in Westmeath; especially considering how the the underage teams have done the last 2 weeks!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1007 - 09/04/2024 22:28:13    2537015

Replying To Matthew:  "A very disappointing result last Saturday. You'd have to question why the players had to go and celebrate the league win the previous weekend. Absolutely crazy stuff with a massive championship game the following week. So much for the players not celebrating the league win as Dessie alluded to on an interview post the league final.

Dessie got the team wrong. I'm not naming players. But a few players started who had zero minutes during the league. Also; absolutely bonkers not starting Heslin and holding him back.

As someone who has intending every game this year; I'd have to agree with some of the posters above and say we have been very poor throughout the league. We were ultimately lucky to get promoted. Was brilliant to get promoted but they thought they just had to turn up last Sunday & Wicklow clearly didn't get the respect they deserved. This defeat was a massive set back for football in Westmeath; especially considering how the the underage teams have done the last 2 weeks!"
So now amatuar players who have played 8 competitive games in 9-10 weeks are not entitled to celebrate a huge achievement so the likes of you can wallow in self pity.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1458 - 10/04/2024 00:58:21    2537024

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Please point out where I criticised a single player ever on this forum, it hasn't happened, save you scrolling back through pages, I have criticised the management and do not apologise for so doing, they're extremely well looked after for their efforts. At least try to get things right when taking aim at other posters, no one is forcing you to read these pages."
It cannot be all down to the management which is what you are alluding to for weeks. Any poor or average performance its down to Dessie and his management team. This is wrong. Players are also culpable.
We get it, you are not a fan of his management but he has brought in a number of young players and we have secured Div 2 which was the main aim. Anything after that is in bonus territory. Would we have won Leinster? - No. Sam Maguire? No chance. I hope we end up in the only Championship competition we can actually win which is the Tailteann Cup.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 10/04/2024 08:42:38    2537045

Replying To Matthew:  "A very disappointing result last Saturday. You'd have to question why the players had to go and celebrate the league win the previous weekend. Absolutely crazy stuff with a massive championship game the following week. So much for the players not celebrating the league win as Dessie alluded to on an interview post the league final.

As someone who has intending every game this year; I'd have to agree with some of the posters above and say we have been very poor throughout the league. We were ultimately lucky to get promoted. Was brilliant to get promoted but they thought they just had to turn up last Sunday & Wicklow clearly didn't get the respect they deserved. This defeat was a massive set back for football in Westmeath; especially considering how the the underage teams have done the last 2 weeks!"
Having a bad day happens, deciding to play with/against the breeze and it backfires also happens.
However In this day and age and with the professionalism that exists with County set up's alluding to the fact that a player made the toss decision on his own , resting players for Kildare /team selection and in turn completely underestimating Wicklow should deservedly be questioned .
Regroup now and focus on the coming games .perhaps agree it was a bad day both on and off the pitch

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 10/04/2024 10:44:25    2537072

This point of view drives me mad.. basically saying 'the Leinster championship is pointless cause we have no chance of winning it'. News flash, we have no chance of winning the All-Ireland either so should we just throw that away too?

Of course not. We should go hell for leather at every championship game. The Leinster championship is still hugely important as it would have been a way to keep our faith in our own hands rather than having to rely on others to do us a favour.

westmeathman99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 10/04/2024 11:36:54    2537083