Dublin GAA thread

Great to get the win. Unexpected.
Can't remember Dublin scoring 3-18 against Kerry.
2-14 from play. 9 different scorers in a10pts win.

Especially v the pre game favourites who had the much acclaimed GOAT playing for them.
Keeping him to 2pts from play was an excellent defensive showing by the new Dublin defence.

Many excellent performances. Great to see Con played in his best position.

Some of the new Dublin players are bedding in nicely.
And we still have Jamesie, Mick Fitz, Mannion, Costello, Collie, Jack and Clucko to come back in. Nearly half the team.

A couple of the Kerry lads tried to be the hard men during the game with some cheap shots. Sign of their frustration on the night I guess. Happens to most teams of course.

Very early days of course, but this should give the new Dublin lads a lot of confidence going forward.

Delighted for King Con.

Hopefully the win keeps us in Div 1 now, after losing to Monaghan and Mayo in our first 2 games.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/02/2024 00:56:39    2528168

Replying To Fionn:  "Great to get the win. Unexpected.
Can't remember Dublin scoring 3-18 against Kerry.
2-14 from play. 9 different scorers in a10pts win.

Especially v the pre game favourites who had the much acclaimed GOAT playing for them.
Keeping him to 2pts from play was an excellent defensive showing by the new Dublin defence.

Many excellent performances. Great to see Con played in his best position.

Some of the new Dublin players are bedding in nicely.
And we still have Jamesie, Mick Fitz, Mannion, Costello, Collie, Jack and Clucko to come back in. Nearly half the team.

A couple of the Kerry lads tried to be the hard men during the game with some cheap shots. Sign of their frustration on the night I guess. Happens to most teams of course.

Very early days of course, but this should give the new Dublin lads a lot of confidence going forward.

Delighted for King Con.

Hopefully the win keeps us in Div 1 now, after losing to Monaghan and Mayo in our first 2 games."
Pretty much says it all. Bloody scary for the rest of us!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 26/02/2024 08:09:00    2528188

Replying To ahsure.:  "Terrible challenge by Clifford. That's a red imo."
But he doesn't get enough protection from referees apparently.????
;o)

Not the first time he has done it in games either.
Letting his frustrations get the better of him at times it seems. It was more than a silly tackle…!

But before the usual comes on here, DC is not the only excellent gaa player to let frustrations spill over in games. Every player needs a bit both sides to their game.

There are definitely other players on his team who would have a nasty streak. And yes…. All teams have them…!

The hit on Small goes by without comment again, mainly because Small is well able to dish it out also. The difference being, that when Small does it, there is uproar. But when he is only the receiving end it is ok.

Part and parcel I suppose.

Anyway roll on next game.

Championship will be a different thing altogether so wouldn't read too much into this big win at all.
Kerry will be much better in a few months.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/02/2024 10:39:18    2528244

Scary performance by the Dubs for rest of us - Con back in form, I thought Kilkenny was finished and was best game I saw him play in years, Fenton majestic, Paddy Small excellent and Mannion, Costello, McCarthy, Fitzsimons and Cluxton to come back (possibly). They are a joy to watch, play the game how its supposed to be played. Wouldn't write off Kerry just yet though, but I do think it's between Dublin and Kerry.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 26/02/2024 11:44:08    2528283

Replying To hopballref:  "Scary performance by the Dubs for rest of us - Con back in form, I thought Kilkenny was finished and was best game I saw him play in years, Fenton majestic, Paddy Small excellent and Mannion, Costello, McCarthy, Fitzsimons and Cluxton to come back (possibly). They are a joy to watch, play the game how its supposed to be played. Wouldn't write off Kerry just yet though, but I do think it's between Dublin and Kerry."
And McCaffrey and Basquel. The Dublin team is evolving big time and the real difference could be the strength of the bench giving Dessie lots of fixes if things go wrong and lots of competition. This panel is shaping up to be the strongest Dubs squad for a bit.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 26/02/2024 12:01:55    2528291

Terrific football from Dublin on Saturday. Fenton makes the whole thing tick and Con looking powerful . It's only February and Kerry won't panic either. Midfield still a huge issue for them though . Also with all the negative stuff online about football games like this and others don't get enough coverage. Some brilliant games every weekend that don't get half enough coverage. But when there is one bad game televised we never hear the end of it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 26/02/2024 12:23:09    2528299

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Terrific football from Dublin on Saturday. Fenton makes the whole thing tick and Con looking powerful . It's only February and Kerry won't panic either. Midfield still a huge issue for them though . Also with all the negative stuff online about football games like this and others don't get enough coverage. Some brilliant games every weekend that don't get half enough coverage. But when there is one bad game televised we never hear the end of it."
Very good point actually about good exciting games not getting enough plaudits. It is always the negative football that gets the publicity.

But hopefully we will get plenty of exciting open and fast flowing football during the Summer.
Plenty of excellent attacking footballers out there.

On a side note - it has to be time to scrap the offensive mark. Terrible rule. Never liked it.
But tbh I would also scrap the hand slapping the ball into the net for a goal rule. Hate it. Personal preference of course, but they are 2 rules I would scrap.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/02/2024 13:00:48    2528310

Replying To Fionn:  "Very good point actually about good exciting games not getting enough plaudits. It is always the negative football that gets the publicity.

But hopefully we will get plenty of exciting open and fast flowing football during the Summer.
Plenty of excellent attacking footballers out there.

On a side note - it has to be time to scrap the offensive mark. Terrible rule. Never liked it.
But tbh I would also scrap the hand slapping the ball into the net for a goal rule. Hate it. Personal preference of course, but they are 2 rules I would scrap."
Don't mind the hand slap. They are usually at the end of a hard worked move to break down a defensive set up so it doesn't bother me. Also as a coach of adult teams it is something I work on!

Totally agree with you on the offensive mark. It is dreadful and I think it will be scrapped under Jarlath Burns.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 26/02/2024 13:09:33    2528315

The biggest question in the league so far is how did Monaghan beat Dublin. Since then Monaghan have been awful with losses by 9 points, 13 points & 12 points. Dublin on the other hand have been very good, 1 point loss to Mayo but big wins over Roscommon & Kerry.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 26/02/2024 13:18:19    2528321

Replying To cluichethar:  "The biggest question in the league so far is how did Monaghan beat Dublin. Since then Monaghan have been awful with losses by 9 points, 13 points & 12 points. Dublin on the other hand have been very good, 1 point loss to Mayo but big wins over Roscommon & Kerry."
League always hard to predict at the start. Teams at different stages.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 26/02/2024 14:07:41    2528344

Replying To cluichethar:  "The biggest question in the league so far is how did Monaghan beat Dublin. Since then Monaghan have been awful with losses by 9 points, 13 points & 12 points. Dublin on the other hand have been very good, 1 point loss to Mayo but big wins over Roscommon & Kerry."
Monaghan almost always do well against Dublin. Won more than lost in league over ten years maybe?

That match might have gone either way but Monaghan were good value for it, They often do well against one of big guns then collapse against others.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 26/02/2024 14:49:14    2528364

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Don't mind the hand slap. They are usually at the end of a hard worked move to break down a defensive set up so it doesn't bother me. Also as a coach of adult teams it is something I work on!

Totally agree with you on the offensive mark. It is dreadful and I think it will be scrapped under Jarlath Burns."
Agreed re Mark awful rule.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 26/02/2024 19:56:25    2528476

Good result but that wasn't the 'complete ' Derry outfit. Saving themselves a little and in fairness, they're in a position to do so.

Enjoying the craic up here tonight, great people!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 02/03/2024 19:37:14    2529264

Replying To realdub:  "Good result but that wasn't the 'complete ' Derry outfit. Saving themselves a little and in fairness, they're in a position to do so.

Enjoying the craic up here tonight, great people!"
Good contest ,alot more open than i suspected it would be but good win for dublin . Kickouts a big plus last few ganes and moving the ball at a good pace . Fenton has to be up there with as good a player as has ever played the game . Lethal in the midfield but his point kicking is class

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 02/03/2024 19:47:58    2529270

Dublin seem to moved onto a different plane at the moment. NL results and performances can be very deceptive but given the personnel and the talent available to Dessie Farrell opne can only assume that they will be seriously difficult ot beat in the championship/ Hope Lee Gannon makes a speedy recovery- I thought McGarry was excellent. Great covering back -worked very hard. Fenton, Howard, KIlkenny excellent!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/03/2024 21:03:42    2529290

Replying To ctowers:  "Good contest ,alot more open than i suspected it would be but good win for dublin . Kickouts a big plus last few ganes and moving the ball at a good pace . Fenton has to be up there with as good a player as has ever played the game . Lethal in the midfield but his point kicking is class"
Fenton is the best midfielder I have seen. I'd have Anthony Tohill next.
He can do it all, high-fielding, lung-busting runs, kicks scores off both feet, rarely loses a ball and does a huge amount of defensive work too. I said he deserved player of the year last year, but knew he wasn't going to get it. His performances at crunch time in the big games last year were brilliant. He went up a few levels when Dublin needed him most. He looks to be in even better form in recent weeks.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 02/03/2024 22:41:36    2529328

Replying To realdub:  "Good result but that wasn't the 'complete ' Derry outfit. Saving themselves a little and in fairness, they're in a position to do so.

Enjoying the craic up here tonight, great people!"
Very impressed with Dublin last night, great control of the game but yes it wasn't the complete Derry by any stretch. Two All Stars missing in McKinless and Glass. Young player of the year missing in Ethan Doherty. Added to that no McEvoy, McGrogan, Conor Doherty, Cassidy and Lynch all didn't start either.

If there is one team I would really want to avoid on route to an all Ireland final it's the Dubs. I can't see us getting past them later in the year. Everyone else I would be confident enough against.

Glad you enjoyed your trip up. Derry is a great City and fair play to the Dublin supporters they were a credit to the team. Never any bother at all. Not like the soccer matches where nearly every other week something happens at the Brandywell. I live a stone throw from Celtic Park and the GAA fans are a different breed.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 03/03/2024 10:26:35    2529382

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Very impressed with Dublin last night, great control of the game but yes it wasn't the complete Derry by any stretch. Two All Stars missing in McKinless and Glass. Young player of the year missing in Ethan Doherty. Added to that no McEvoy, McGrogan, Conor Doherty, Cassidy and Lynch all didn't start either.

If there is one team I would really want to avoid on route to an all Ireland final it's the Dubs. I can't see us getting past them later in the year. Everyone else I would be confident enough against.

Glad you enjoyed your trip up. Derry is a great City and fair play to the Dublin supporters they were a credit to the team. Never any bother at all. Not like the soccer matches where nearly every other week something happens at the Brandywell. I live a stone throw from Celtic Park and the GAA fans are a different breed."
Thanks Jazzyjeff, head not good today but spirits are high.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2024 12:51:06    2529408

Super stuff from the lads. Our shooting accuracy was excellent. Some key players really ticking at this time of year and the young lads are beginning to really establish themselves. I expected a lot more from Derry but they were missing a hatful of players. I'd wonder if they're capably of a plan B if they drop 6-7 points down like Sat and getting back into a game. They sat very deep on Sat when needing to chase the game. We've still Clucko, Fitzy, Jack, James, Basquel and Mannion to come back but these games have been great for blooding the younger fellas. Shout out to O'Hanlon for his acrobatic save and great to see Brian Howard back.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/03/2024 23:20:36    2529599

Dublin obviously been working on re-creating the high press in possession that characterised their gameplan in last legs of the historic six in a row. Held possession for the entire of the three minutes added time on Saturday.

Derry below strength and probably resigned to their fate two furlongs out but it is good practice against a disciplined and efficient and physically strong defence.

Doubts over Dessie and the boys coaching nous have been well and truly put to bed I think.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 04/03/2024 10:09:36    2529633