Dublin GAA thread

Replying To Fionn:  "PP is definitely more of a Home for the Dublin Hurlers, and hopefully it will give a better chance of a result in each of those 2 games.

The double header will defo get a sizeable crowd going to it.

As you say, winning 3 games will be a tall order...."
They probably get a shot at the play off to decide the 7th team but everyone will be paying more attention than usual next year.

Looking forward to them playing Limerick. Last night was 2019 league semi final in Nowlan Park. We got a good start but although the score was close enough at end, Limerick had demolished us over 15/20 minutes either side of the break.

It was fascinating to watch how Limerick rejigged defence to close down the threat that had been posed by Danny and Hetherton early on. A pattern familiar to all by now!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 11/12/2023 12:11:51    2516336

Replying To sligo joe:  "Well North or North West, take yer pick, I'd say Malin defo North, Bundoran maybe North West"
What counties do you all deem acceptable to be called ''northern''? Derry, Antrim northern? What category does cavan and monaghan fall into? Also are all the other counties southern cause we are in the republic? In that case is Donegal a phenomenon of being both northern and southern at the same time. The most northern part on the island Malin head is southern?

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 13/12/2023 09:25:24    2516574

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I see that Dublin hurlers have opted to play two of their three home games in Parnell this year. The only exception is February 24 which is double header with hurlers playing Limerick - not played them since 2018 league semi final - and footballers v Kerry. Should get a big crowd in for that.

I imagine the new structure for 2025 will concentrate minds. Pretty important imho that hurlers take one of the seven spots in the new first division. Will need to win at least three of their five, and that will be a tall enough order. One of those being Tipp at home or Galway in Salthill."
Not sure Barney. Hopefully the rejig will mean everyone will take the League seriously this year and we supporters will get good competitive hurling to go and watch. If so I think its impossible to predict who will end up in 1a next year. Most teams will likely be missing some of the older or more injury prone championship starters to keep them fresh for April so I think any 7 of the 9 top counties could get on a roll and do well. I'm certain there will be newer lads being given a run out also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/12/2023 10:33:38    2516582

Replying To BlueBeret:  "Crokes played the semi-final "a few days" before the Leinster Final. They used the semi-final to give their extended panel runout. When they won that they knew when the league was fixed for. After Leinster they waited until the morning of the league final to announce they wouldn't play. Player welfare is a joke term being used by Crokes. They had plenty of players available but clearly wanted the tail to wag the dog. Great to see the CCC stand up to them and bow before them. Crokes have lost a huge amount of respect and friends arising out of their decision. No club is bigger than the Association."
Ya couldn't make it up, the arrogance is unreal....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 13/12/2023 18:57:01    2516654

Hearing Jamesie is staying on next year.
Super news....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/12/2023 22:40:42    2517434

Replying To Fionn:  "Hearing Jamesie is staying on next year.
Super news...."
A wonderful servant to Dublin football and should have won player of the year several times but I think his time is up…. You can stay on too long as well. He was dreadfully poor in this year's Final and it would be a pity if he ended his Dublin career on negative note….. He was Dublins best player ever in my view but others might not agree….!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 20/12/2023 09:34:02    2517452

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A wonderful servant to Dublin football and should have won player of the year several times but I think his time is up…. You can stay on too long as well. He was dreadfully poor in this year's Final and it would be a pity if he ended his Dublin career on negative note….. He was Dublins best player ever in my view but others might not agree….!"
In fairness to him I think injuries hampered him a good bit this year - I'd much rather have him in my panel than not!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 20/12/2023 09:40:57    2517454

Probably the best outfield Dublin footballer of the last 20 years imo.

Had a great season last year so still has a bit to contribute you'd imagine. Not the type of fella to start complaining if he's used less this coming season I don't think so makes sense to have him in the squad if he is fit and willing.

The most decorated Dublin footballer of all time as well I think. A Dublin legend forever more no matter what he does from now on.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/12/2023 10:04:47    2517457

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A wonderful servant to Dublin football and should have won player of the year several times but I think his time is up…. You can stay on too long as well. He was dreadfully poor in this year's Final and it would be a pity if he ended his Dublin career on negative note….. He was Dublins best player ever in my view but others might not agree….!"
Just seeing his name on the team sheet will be enough to make the kerry men shudder

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 20/12/2023 22:37:35    2517509

I thought he might have retired after Ballymun's tame exit from championship, which he missed. No reason he oughtn't stay on if fit.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 21/12/2023 07:43:06    2517517

There always seems to be a push or an urge to talk long serving players into tetirement by the media /public but a gaa career is short in the grand scheme of things so if players feel they have something to offer then they should stay on.Players will be retired long enough.In James McCarthy s case he has had one of the best gaa careers ever but he is still hungry for more and imo there is no reason why he cant stay on for another two years.He is still a top level player and wont be 34 until March.James will know himself when he loses the speed and feels he is on the downward slide.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 21/12/2023 16:56:03    2517577

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "There always seems to be a push or an urge to talk long serving players into tetirement by the media /public but a gaa career is short in the grand scheme of things so if players feel they have something to offer then they should stay on.Players will be retired long enough.In James McCarthy s case he has had one of the best gaa careers ever but he is still hungry for more and imo there is no reason why he cant stay on for another two years.He is still a top level player and wont be 34 until March.James will know himself when he loses the speed and feels he is on the downward slide.
."
I know you have a soft spot for Jamesie, but you are dead right...

If a player feels he is both physically and mentally sill up to it, then age or trophy haul, should not come into it.

James clearly has the hunger to go on, and I am delighted with that.

Look, isnt it super that players who have already won and achieved so much, still have the grá to continue and drive on.

I applaud it tbh.

I also think James has so much to offer the team - a real leader and has been for over a decade.

He is a Legend of Dublin football, and imo an all time GAA great also.

It will be interesting to see if the other older lads follow his lead...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/12/2023 09:20:21    2517619

Replying To Fionn:  "I know you have a soft spot for Jamesie, but you are dead right...

If a player feels he is both physically and mentally sill up to it, then age or trophy haul, should not come into it.

James clearly has the hunger to go on, and I am delighted with that.

Look, isnt it super that players who have already won and achieved so much, still have the grá to continue and drive on.

I applaud it tbh.

I also think James has so much to offer the team - a real leader and has been for over a decade.

He is a Legend of Dublin football, and imo an all time GAA great also.

It will be interesting to see if the other older lads follow his lead..."
Yes indeed I have a soft spot for Jamsie and total respect for him.Its great he still has the hunger after all he has won.I often told friends from other counties (when they asked me do I ever get sick of winning (when Kerry were going well)and I answered "Never" because my feelings are that the more one wins the more one hurts when they finally lose (I hope im not being condecending )and in a funny way after Dublins losses in 20 and 21it gave Dublin and Jamsie the real hunger back again and it was obviois the Dublin players enjoyed this All Ireland more than any since maybe 2011.Jamsie is a great example to younger kids and imo the best Dublin player Ive ever seen.Best of luck to him.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 22/12/2023 17:39:10    2517648

Bumped into a couple of the hurlers on their way to training earlier. I would wish it on no man!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 29/12/2023 15:50:59    2517831

Just went on to renew my Parnell Pass and the price has been increased again!!

€160 euro and you still have to pay for full whack for away games and all championship games.

If you don't pay in full by a deadline you lose it, in a cost of living crises with no added incentives to renew and/or an option to pay monthly/quarterly seems a bit unfair to say the least.

Someone will mention the benefits to the county board in terms of revenue it brings, I'm aware of that and I wouldn't be complaining paying the same amount of even a bit more if there was an option to pay in installments.

Anyways. Happy new year to all.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/01/2024 15:20:51    2518221

Replying To waynoI:  "Just went on to renew my Parnell Pass and the price has been increased again!!

€160 euro and you still have to pay for full whack for away games and all championship games.

If you don't pay in full by a deadline you lose it, in a cost of living crises with no added incentives to renew and/or an option to pay monthly/quarterly seems a bit unfair to say the least.

Someone will mention the benefits to the county board in terms of revenue it brings, I'm aware of that and I wouldn't be complaining paying the same amount of even a bit more if there was an option to pay in installments.

Anyways. Happy new year to all."
You must not go to many club championship games? Free admission to knockout stages alone would nearly cover the cost along with the free entry to league games. And the guarantee of championship tickets up to and including a final.

Great value.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 03/01/2024 15:40:56    2518227

Interesting team selection for tonight's game against Westmeath.

A few senior county debutants, Gibbons of Crokes in goals and Dara Perry of Vinnies the sub keeper. Mostly an experienced line out and bench. Glad to see Conor Donohoe of Isles getting a shot at centre half back although I reckon he's better on wing, and has ability to go forward and score.

Dara Purcell in the corner is one many have been calling for. I would imagine that the greater premium on getting a first division spot will see teams training and fielding stronger than most years. For teams like Dublin at least, given both the importance of retaining status, and their realistically modest ambitions for championship.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 04/01/2024 12:18:16    2518319

Big win for the hurlers.

Liam is coming home :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 04/01/2024 21:03:27    2518401

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Big win for the hurlers.

Liam is coming home :-)"
Any new players stand out Barney.?

2-31 to 1-12 is a good start to the season

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 04/01/2024 21:10:09    2518402

A much weaker Westmeath team than championship. Lots of younger lads and seems that a few of regulars have left by all accounts.

Having said all that, Dublin look like they've done lots of work and played to a plan. Some impressive shooting and Ronan was good in new position, created both goals.

Donohoe impressive at centre half and got a few points. Not sure if its just not having seen them for a while but physically they looked like a lot of work is being done on that aspect, which was evidently deficient against Clare when they looked both slow and easily pushed aside.

Only disappointment really was Dara Purcell who was subbed off. Don't think he scored. Antrim in two weeks, which will be a sterner test,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 04/01/2024 23:23:42    2518422