A big thank you to Dub Match Tracker jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/08/2023 09:35:50 2500718 Link 4 |
Well Mickey Ned got a few clips going through but it was Doherty met him with the final elbow that knocked him out. The sad thing for Mickey Ned O Sullivan was he was Kerry captain and never got to lift the cup as he was taken straight to the Mater hospital unconscious. He was never the same player again but never ever held any animosity towards anyone. He played the following year but was not the same and slipped away from the county scene at 24/25 years of age. A nice end though when years later the Dublin team and Kerry team met up for a golf outing and Sean Doherty and Mickey Ned golfed together with some of it televised for charity. At one stage Doherty stood on Mickey Neds ball (jokingly) to which Mickey Ned said "Seán we will play by the rules this time" to great laughter from Sean and everyone around. A great day and night was had and at the end Mickey Ó Sullivan was finally presented with the Sam Maguire cup (30 years later). The cup was presented by Sean Doherty! Alls well that ends well
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 16/08/2023 10:14:11 2500729 Link 1 |
It was a regrettable incident. The Doc can still be seen at the Bridge Tavern on match days having a few pints. Very affable chap. Would not fancy getting a belt from him even at this stage! He must be 75/6?
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 16/08/2023 10:50:44 2500738 Link 3 |
It surely was. Ah that time a speedy tricky player like Mickey Ned was always going to be a target for opposition. Sure Micko Dwyer told him as much telling him to pass more. I don't think Doherty realised the damage he had done to be totally honest but it's great they all friends now. Yeah Doherty was a big strong man. Have nt seen him lately but yeah I'd say he s still tough.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 16/08/2023 10:56:49 2500739 Link 0 |
I have often heard it said that you could hear the clatter from the impact on the Cusack stand. Don't know whether that was a myth but it was a shocking thing to happen - it would be a straight red nowadays. I'll never forget one incident in 1977 when Mullins almost saw red for a high tackle on Ger Power. It was a total clothesline job . The ref -Seamus Murray- was reaching for the book but I think he took pity on Mullins who pleaded with Murray and apparently told him hat if it happened again he'd walk himself. Had Mullins seen red it's doubtful the Dubs would have won that game. avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 16/08/2023 11:31:10 2500750 Link 4 |
He owned a pub up beyond Tallaght in the foothills of the Dublin Mountains.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 16/08/2023 11:54:32 2500758 Link 3 |
Story well told Mick. Delighted to hear and Mickey Ned and Sean have made up and can have a few pints and the craic together. The short YouTube video "Mickey Ned O'Sullivan Knockout - 1975" shows that Mickey Ned got a fair few hard clips from Alan Larkin, Paddy Reilly, George Wilson and Robbie Kelleher on that run before Sean Doherty finished the job. In fairness the Kerry team of that era also had a few lads (Paudie Lynch, Tim Kennelly, Jimmy Deenihan) who were also well able to look themselves and took no prisoners. The battle I enjoyed the most was between Paidi O Shea and David Hickey who often knocked lumps out of each other and came back for more without complaining. Both very fine players who gave it everything and could play it anyway. letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 728 - 16/08/2023 12:24:19 2500766 Link 1 |
I remember Avon. Twas different times too. I was at the 75 final as a young boy but can't remember the Mickey Ned incident only for youtube. The sad thing was Mickey was never the same player again but I'm sure Doherty did nt realise how bad the implications would be When Micko Dwyer was asked about the incident afterwards he said "sure Mickey should have passed the ball earlier". Not much sympathy there but Mickey went on to be a selector under Micko afterwards while still a very young man. Yeah I knew Sean Doherty had a pub up near the mountains but never drank in it. 77 semi was such an exciting game for a young fella. Mullins was a super midfielder back then and was only about 22 yrs old at the time. I'm sure Brian is up there now having a pint with Anton Ó Toole Mick Holden John Egan Tim Kennelly and Paidi Ó Sé. May they all rest in peace. Great times and great memories. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 16/08/2023 12:28:28 2500769 Link 0 |
Thank you Letsgetgoing. Oh indeed there were tough battles that time with players going in very hard on each other. Both sides had hard men but the gas thing is every September both teams would meet up in September for the Listowek races and have a session together. Both Tony Hanahoe and Bernard Brogan senior met their wives down in Kerry with Brogan being introduced to his wife by Jimmy Deenihan. One or two from each side were nt too fond of each other but the majority were great friends. Paddy Cullen and Mikey Sheehy became fab friends which leads me on to a different angle. I remember listening to Jimmy Kerrigan (former Cork player and Paul's father) a few years ago and he was asked how would he get on in today's game. His reply was "I would nt even play as its too serious" He said" my son Paul only knows how his own teammates and the only time you meet other county players is at all stars or compromise rules. In my time we had inter provincials etc and after a league game we would have pints with the opposition and a bit of banter". He said the players today don't know opposing players compared to years ago. Different times and sometimes things don't change for the best. I know that some of the Roscommon lads from 1980 are great buddies with a few of the Kerry lads from 1980 also. Bomber Liston John Ó Gara and Tony McManus etc.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 16/08/2023 13:12:43 2500778 Link 1 |
One of the reasons for the edge in the 70s was that there had been a perception that Kerry had softened up Heffo and Freaney and others in 1950s. Indeed, Ciarraí Mick might share some of the lore about that. Think there was even a song celebrating the Jackeens being thumped around in 1955 :-) Anyway, Heffo apparently was no mind to let that happen again, hence the tough battles of the 70s, I was at a lot of those games and there wasn't - to my eye at least - any real off the ball stuff. It mostly took place on the ball. I do remember seeing Keaveney and I think Deenihan having a stand up punching match at Hill goal in 1976 while play was elsewhere. Ref eventually told them to cop on, and that was the end of it. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 16/08/2023 13:31:02 2500786 Link 3 |
O'Neill's have lovely Dublin All Ireland Champions 2023 Jersey and Gift Box sets - one to commemorate the Men's and one for the Ladies All Ireland winning achievements this year. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 16/08/2023 13:51:30 2500790 Link 0 |
I am hearing some very exciting news on the new Dublin main Sponsorship front. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 16/08/2023 13:53:21 2500791 Link 1 |
Ah I'm afraid Barney i Was nt around in 55 but yeah I heard stories that Dubs were hot favourites and Kerry won in a shock. Now I do recall the 70s although very young but you are right Barney it was tough but not off the ball and a few stand up rows here and there and good entertainment. I recall a story in New York the match turned into an all out brawl with a few ending up in hospital from both sides with broken noses. Jimmy Deenihan was nursing a broken nose and got a message from Pat Ó Néill apologising saying he meant to hit Paidi Ó Sé instead ha ha.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 16/08/2023 14:15:49 2500794 Link 1 |
I'm hearing a Qatari backed consortium led by Elon Musk.. ;) It'll give them something to moan about on here during the long winter months.. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/08/2023 14:48:07 2500808 Link 4 |
Story I heard was that Joe Keohane had told the Kerry boys in New York that this was their chance to stop being "bullied" as he saw it by the Dubs. I think that was after a really nasty league semi final or final? Might have been 1976? I'd say the tension was building but the New York match allowed them to settle scores off the main stage, and they went happily on after that! Rivalry was over at half time anyway in the '78 final when Kerry had turned the tide and proceeded to hammer Dublin out the gate. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 16/08/2023 14:55:14 2500812 Link 3 |
Arnotts? The greatest comeback since Lazarus.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 16/08/2023 15:09:37 2500816 Link 4 |
Be interested to hear your views and the views of others on the quality of the football back then. Big aimless hoofs out from the backs in many cases was standard fare. Playing the percentages and patiently working the ball to the right man wasn't heard of in those days There were a lot of misses - even from the Kerry and Dublin forwards. As for goalkeepers picking out runners and landing the ball right into the breadbasket- forget it. It was 15 individuals on each team taking on their man. Now the football was of a different age but the games were still compelling and full of drama. Little or no lateral passing and keeping possession for 4-5 minute spells was not part of the game and I think that's why they were probably better as spectacles. Possession switched much more rapidly and you didn't see the kind of drubbings in IC football that you see nowadays. Except in '78 - from which `i still bear the scars. avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 16/08/2023 15:18:59 2500820 Link 4 |
Yeah I heard that fairy accurate as its in either Paidi or Micko s book.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 16/08/2023 15:27:32 2500822 Link 0 |
:) Since.. Cluxton jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/08/2023 15:42:43 2500828 Link 4 |
I heard from an insider that Dublin GAA had landed a huge sponsorship deal with The Cozy Cafe on the Malahide Road.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 16/08/2023 17:58:25 2500870 Link 3 |