Connacht FBD 2022

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/rosscommon-gaa-deliver-12m-surplus-thanks-mainly-to-success-of-draw-for-london-apartment-41151121.html"
Only after years of mismanagement when Croke Park finally had to take over managing the cheque book. Things were that bad. Helps to have a few sugar daddies to steady the ship I guess. Man City without the trophies.

Glad to report that Croke Park have finally handed ye back the cheque book but will be keeping an eye on ye for the next few years to ensure ye wont loose the run of yourselves again. Hilarious stuff.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 08/01/2022 16:18:43    2394108

Replying To Mayonman:  "U winding me up???

One camera, cameraman didn't seem to have a clue where the ball was most of the time, no replays, score was wrong for half the game, Commentators were MWR and doing it from Mayo perspective. Hadn't much of a clue about Galway players other than the established guys.

I'm isolating and bored out of my mind so was glad to have it steamed but no it was not good quality!"
The scoreboard fiasco was laughable stuff. How hard is it to keep track of a scoreboard when there's a point only being scored every few minutes? It's not basketball like.

Commentators were a joke too. Surely get at least one Galway man in for some balance. They spent the 2nd half swooning over Ryan O'Donoghue while Galway were in total control of the game. Head in clouds.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 08/01/2022 16:54:27    2394109

Replying To Square_B:  "So successful that ye had Croke Park managing your finances for the best part of 15 years. The laughing stock of the country."
Nay problems bud . Ye seem to get plenty of bucks from across the States yerselves . Sure with all the players and supporters we have on the good side of Carrick we could claim half of that centre of excellence of yers! We'll keep the flag flying for ye too .

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1076 - 08/01/2022 16:59:21    2394110

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The motorway will get people as far as Tuam if they travel it south of Tuam. Most of Connacht still would have to travel Primary or Secondary roads to get to East Galway or South Roscommon. COE besides I hope they restore Tuam stadium to former glory as the spiritual home of Connacht football. The centre of excellence is about 10 minutes or less from the N17, links a lot of secondary roads in Connacht. I'd like to see what you think good facilities are if you think Bekan is a hovel."
The area is a hovel, not the facility which is a lovely facility. A church built in honour of a few farmers who lost their minds is the only thing in the area.

You build to best serve the most amount of people, not a literal geographical center which ends up being a pain for most people to get to. The fastest growing games in the province player numbers wise are hurling and camogie, mostly in South and East Galway, which this facility is built way too far from. East Galway or south Roscommon would allow a huge amount of people quick access through a motorway and would be a similar distance down from Sligo town and Leitrim as Bekan. The main population base of the province is not anywhere near Bekan.

It was built in Prentys back yard to suit his own ends and to basically serve as a center of excellence for Mayo teams, funded by the rest of the province. Thats not right. Mayo county teams, who've been all but living in the facility recently by all accounts, should have their access strictly monitored and limited for starters.

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 08/01/2022 18:49:14    2394124

Replying To PressureKick:  "The area is a hovel, not the facility which is a lovely facility. A church built in honour of a few farmers who lost their minds is the only thing in the area.

You build to best serve the most amount of people, not a literal geographical center which ends up being a pain for most people to get to. The fastest growing games in the province player numbers wise are hurling and camogie, mostly in South and East Galway, which this facility is built way too far from. East Galway or south Roscommon would allow a huge amount of people quick access through a motorway and would be a similar distance down from Sligo town and Leitrim as Bekan. The main population base of the province is not anywhere near Bekan.

It was built in Prentys back yard to suit his own ends and to basically serve as a center of excellence for Mayo teams, funded by the rest of the province. Thats not right. Mayo county teams, who've been all but living in the facility recently by all accounts, should have their access strictly monitored and limited for starters."
The motorway goes to Tuam, in the south of the province. It's for the province, clubs and teams not the most densely populated area. Would you think, maybe, that besides being less accessible for clubs in Connacht for GAA purposes, not just hurling or camogie, that a site close to a stretch of motorway might be a bit more expensive than the hovel area known as Bekan? 10 mins from the N17 that links Sligo and Galway? It's not a hovel either, accessible from Ballyhaunis, Knock and Claremorris. Have you been to the COE? It's in the countryside, not an urban area. Good enough for the millions that have visited Knock just a few minutes away. Good enough for Eastern Gaels.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 08/01/2022 19:37:34    2394133

Galway were miles ahead of us last night. 4 points loss flattered us, if Galway scored them two goal chances near the end the scoreline would have been a better reflection of the game. Galway defence was very good, organised, aggressive, turned over ball and moved it quickly into attack. Our defence was poor, often marking space and not going out to win ball. I know we had some new faces but we should have changed tactics a bit on the Tyrone defeat. Run ball out of defence, handpass handpass handpass. Surely the majority of our handpasses went backwards whereas Galway were nearly always moving up the pitch with purposes and they gave some great kick passes. We're very reluctant to kick pass into the forward line and I think we're too predictable that any good defence will give us problems. I don't know what James Horan learned from last night but we've a lot of improving to do before Donegal. Longterm I don't think Horan can win Sam for us, maybe no manager can. Rochford made mistakes cos he wasn't afraid to try doing things different, I'd rather have him back in charge again.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 08/01/2022 19:56:37    2394138

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Galway were miles ahead of us last night. 4 points loss flattered us, if Galway scored them two goal chances near the end the scoreline would have been a better reflection of the game. Galway defence was very good, organised, aggressive, turned over ball and moved it quickly into attack. Our defence was poor, often marking space and not going out to win ball. I know we had some new faces but we should have changed tactics a bit on the Tyrone defeat. Run ball out of defence, handpass handpass handpass. Surely the majority of our handpasses went backwards whereas Galway were nearly always moving up the pitch with purposes and they gave some great kick passes. We're very reluctant to kick pass into the forward line and I think we're too predictable that any good defence will give us problems. I don't know what James Horan learned from last night but we've a lot of improving to do before Donegal. Longterm I don't think Horan can win Sam for us, maybe no manager can. Rochford made mistakes cos he wasn't afraid to try doing things different, I'd rather have him back in charge again."
Rochford didn't beat Galway once during his 3 years. Whatever he was trying to do it didn't work.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 08/01/2022 21:28:03    2394148

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The motorway goes to Tuam, in the south of the province. It's for the province, clubs and teams not the most densely populated area. Would you think, maybe, that besides being less accessible for clubs in Connacht for GAA purposes, not just hurling or camogie, that a site close to a stretch of motorway might be a bit more expensive than the hovel area known as Bekan? 10 mins from the N17 that links Sligo and Galway? It's not a hovel either, accessible from Ballyhaunis, Knock and Claremorris. Have you been to the COE? It's in the countryside, not an urban area. Good enough for the millions that have visited Knock just a few minutes away. Good enough for Eastern Gaels."
Great facility, wrong location and not sure if the demand.
Sligo, Leitrim have new centres of excellence that are well fit for purpose, Galway have an older one that still does the job.
This thing of it being the envy of other provinces, I'm not so sure. Munster office is in Limerick, can't see a dime their being of any use to Cork or Kerry. Same with the Leinster office in Portlaoise, won't benefit Dublin, Meath etc. The argument about the central location is ridiculous also, sure why not have a university, hospital, factory in Ballyhaunis with that logic.
The most successful group in Connacht are Galway Hurling, St Thomas' are closer to Limerick than Bekan. Galway have one 4 of the last 6 minor all Ireland's, had the Connacht COE played any part in that. Why don't they do an audit on all these teams that are supposedly using it, nice and transparent, would be interesting to see the numbers, can't imagine the Sligo, Leitrim senior footballers are down their too often or the Galway Senior hurlers.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 09/01/2022 13:03:40    2394183

Replying To MayoDan:  "Rochford didn't beat Galway once during his 3 years. Whatever he was trying to do it didn't work."
I think myself that whoever wins between Galway and Mayo does'nt really matter unless it is a full knock out game. Rochford wanted the All Ireland and prepared his team accordingly. We picked up two soft Connaught Cups but were not at the races in the overall context. If I were a Mayo person I would not be using this as a stick to beat Rochford with because when Dublin were at the very peak of their powers, Rochford's Mayo were the only team to lay a hand on them and were desperately unlucky not to go all the way.

seventyniner (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 09/01/2022 13:32:00    2394188

Replying To seventyniner:  "I think myself that whoever wins between Galway and Mayo does'nt really matter unless it is a full knock out game. Rochford wanted the All Ireland and prepared his team accordingly. We picked up two soft Connaught Cups but were not at the races in the overall context. If I were a Mayo person I would not be using this as a stick to beat Rochford with because when Dublin were at the very peak of their powers, Rochford's Mayo were the only team to lay a hand on them and were desperately unlucky not to go all the way."
Yes I think that's right. Stephen Rochford primed Mayo to peak for the All Ireland series so they were easier to beat in Connacht which is what happened. James Horan has won Connacht every year of his management bar 2019 .

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 09/01/2022 13:41:59    2394190

Replying To PressureKick:  "The area is a hovel, not the facility which is a lovely facility. A church built in honour of a few farmers who lost their minds is the only thing in the area.

It was built in Prentys back yard to suit his own ends and to basically serve as a center of excellence for Mayo teams, funded by the rest of the province. Thats not right. Mayo county teams, who've been all but living in the facility recently by all accounts, should have their access strictly monitored and limited for starters."
Definitely suits Mayo the most but had to get built somewhere in the province.
It's up to the other counties to arrange travel there or maybe build another one around carrick on Shannon which would suit Leitrim. Rossies and Sligo
Anyway it's a great achievement for Connacht. No more "To hell or to Connacht "

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 09/01/2022 13:43:01    2394191

Replying To smallfrank:  "Great facility, wrong location and not sure if the demand.
Sligo, Leitrim have new centres of excellence that are well fit for purpose, Galway have an older one that still does the job.
This thing of it being the envy of other provinces, I'm not so sure. Munster office is in Limerick, can't see a dime their being of any use to Cork or Kerry. Same with the Leinster office in Portlaoise, won't benefit Dublin, Meath etc. The argument about the central location is ridiculous also, sure why not have a university, hospital, factory in Ballyhaunis with that logic.
The most successful group in Connacht are Galway Hurling, St Thomas' are closer to Limerick than Bekan. Galway have one 4 of the last 6 minor all Ireland's, had the Connacht COE played any part in that. Why don't they do an audit on all these teams that are supposedly using it, nice and transparent, would be interesting to see the numbers, can't imagine the Sligo, Leitrim senior footballers are down their too often or the Galway Senior hurlers."
I've been reading the posts above and there certainly a case of Galway posters mocking the location just because it's in Mayo…"bog, middle of nowhere" etc. Galway is hardly New York lads get over yourselves. Arrogance.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 09/01/2022 13:45:19    2394192

Replying To yew_tree:  "I've been reading the posts above and there certainly a case of Galway posters mocking the location just because it's in Mayo…"bog, middle of nowhere" etc. Galway is hardly New York lads get over yourselves. Arrogance."
It sums up the narrow minded arrogance of our support. These fellas will wax lyrical about being third on the football roll of honour and laugh at our neighbours misfortune but ignore the fact that only two football All-Irelands have come our way in the last 50 years.

If we managed our finances better, we'd have our own CoE to use. Never mind the blatant fact that Mayo teams PAY to use the facilities in Bekan.

If we spent less time crying about issues like this, we might stand a chance of getting our own house in order.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 413 - 09/01/2022 14:18:45    2394198

Replying To yew_tree:  "I've been reading the posts above and there certainly a case of Galway posters mocking the location just because it's in Mayo…"bog, middle of nowhere" etc. Galway is hardly New York lads get over yourselves. Arrogance."
Never said that. Questioned the location and need for it their, will be very surprised if any other province does this in the centre of their provinces, in fact they won't.
It would have made more sense to me in Castlebar, Roscommon town or on campus or a third level institute.
You obviously think it's needed that's fine.
Do you think there is a need in Munster for one in Tipperary(centre of the province) do Kerry need that.
Do Leinster need one in Naas, do Louth need that.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 09/01/2022 14:30:51    2394203

Replying To moros:  "Nay problems bud . Ye seem to get plenty of bucks from across the States yerselves . Sure with all the players and supporters we have on the good side of Carrick we could claim half of that centre of excellence of yers! We'll keep the flag flying for ye too ."
I think you're confusing sponsorship with bailouts there lad. Once you have to come across the river to spend some money keep coming. It is pretty drab the far side after all

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 09/01/2022 15:05:34    2394207

There's plenty bog in Galway too. Especially out our way in Conamara. Some people wouldn't be happy if they didn't have something to complain about.
No matter where it was, somebody wouldn't be happy. Looking at how it was funded, I think a lot of credit has to the Connacht Council for getting it done.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 09/01/2022 15:10:19    2394208

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "I think you're confusing sponsorship with bailouts there lad. Once you have to come across the river to spend some money keep coming. It is pretty drab the far side after all"
Either way bud we know how to land a trophy . Club Connacht champs today . We're in a grand financial position now. We'll keep trucking along . Any sign of shergar up there ?

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1076 - 09/01/2022 15:46:12    2394214

Replying To WanPintWin:  "There's plenty bog in Galway too. Especially out our way in Conamara. Some people wouldn't be happy if they didn't have something to complain about.
No matter where it was, somebody wouldn't be happy. Looking at how it was funded, I think a lot of credit has to the Connacht Council for getting it done."
The same people giving out about this project would have been the same types mocking, laughing and giving out about Knock Airport back in the 80s….

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 09/01/2022 16:01:39    2394222

Replying To smallfrank:  "Never said that. Questioned the location and need for it their, will be very surprised if any other province does this in the centre of their provinces, in fact they won't.
It would have made more sense to me in Castlebar, Roscommon town or on campus or a third level institute.
You obviously think it's needed that's fine.
Do you think there is a need in Munster for one in Tipperary(centre of the province) do Kerry need that.
Do Leinster need one in Naas, do Louth need that."
How would Castlebar or Roscommon town have been better locations? For accessibility Bekan ain't too far off the mark….only 6mins off the N17 in Knock and another 6 mins east to Ballyhaunis. You'd reach the vast majority of clubs in Connacht within 90mins.

The GAA is a community, largely rural organisation. It's also not a Mayo centre. Teams have to pay to use it and no county has a right over the other to use it. I think a former Roscommon player is actually practically running the facility.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 09/01/2022 16:04:51    2394223

Replying To seventyniner:  "I think myself that whoever wins between Galway and Mayo does'nt really matter unless it is a full knock out game. Rochford wanted the All Ireland and prepared his team accordingly. We picked up two soft Connaught Cups but were not at the races in the overall context. If I were a Mayo person I would not be using this as a stick to beat Rochford with because when Dublin were at the very peak of their powers, Rochford's Mayo were the only team to lay a hand on them and were desperately unlucky not to go all the way."
That's fair enough but we had several close escapes in the qualifiers under rochford. Derry had a free kick to knock us out in 2017. We eventually did get caught by Kildare in 2018. Rochford also inherited a ready made team, didn't bring any new players through.

I just think there's huge disrespect shown to James Horan inside Mayo especially.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 09/01/2022 16:40:22    2394239