Greatest Midfielder

Replying To mickcunningham:  "nothing to do with the topic"
Out the wrong side of the bed again, ye didn't pull it out from the wall.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 24/11/2021 12:00:01    2390573

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It's very hard to pick out the greatest midfielder as there were so many. Also it's hard to compare eras as it's a different game now. Players are fitter now but a midfielder nowadays gets picked out by his keeper alot with kickouts whereas years ago the Goalie kicked the ball out as far as possible and the midfielders battled against each other in the air a d it was brilliant to watch. Also the all ireland winners get more acclaim but I've seen some brilliant midfielders that never one all Irelands like Gary Brennan (Clare) John Galvin (Limerick) Brendan Murphy (Carlow) Séamus Ó Hanlon (Louth) Liam Austin (Down) Plunkett Donaghy (Tyrone) Dermot Earley snr and jnr. All ireland winners then for me the tops were Jacko Shea Brian Mullins Brian Fenton Anthony Tohill Gerry McEntee Joe Cassells John McDermott Daragh Ó Sé Kevin Walsh Seán Cavanagh."
No to be getting pedantic or anything, but Liam Austin did win an AI medal in 1991. Otherwise your post is spot on. Colm McAlarney was a great Down midfielder though, who never did win one.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 24/11/2021 12:26:16    2390577

Replying To Saynothing:  "Agree there KingdomBoy1, Conor Mc Kenna spoke on a Podcast about club matches in Tyrone not over until week before Christmas. He said himself unless something changes he might walk earlier than you'd think. No enjoyment in that. Armagh club putting forward motion for All club matches to be played on Friday or Saturday night, good idea , to me it gives the players a chance to go out Saturday. Seasons long enough. Getting to players in 80s/90s only difference is training."
That's understandable Saynothing, it's a full year of football now, years ago it was grand because you could live a little at least.

When you think of it professional sports give their players an off season but amateur sports people are expected to work and juggle full time football or hurling.

That's a good idea by Armagh, at least if they have their games on a Friday or Sat night at least they can go enjoy themselves after, if it's allowed of course :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2021 12:58:26    2390584

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Maybe kingdombhoy might tell you what became of Tommy Murphy :-)"
I have no clue what happened him Barney I looked him up and it said he died in 85 god rest him, but I was only a young snipe back then.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2021 13:02:58    2390587

Yeah that's it lads pick any county midfielder except a Diublin despite some of them winning many All_irelands. Blinkered culchies.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/11/2021 13:10:33    2390588

Replying To foreveryoung:  "No to be getting pedantic or anything, but Liam Austin did win an AI medal in 1991. Otherwise your post is spot on. Colm McAlarney was a great Down midfielder though, who never did win one."
McAlarney was centre field for Down in the 1968 final, and yes, he was very good.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 543 - 24/11/2021 13:10:59    2390589

oh im wide awake

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 24/11/2021 13:21:47    2390590

Out the wrong side of the bed again, ye didn't pull it out from the wall.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 24/11/2021 14:13:25    2390607

Replying To foreveryoung:  "No to be getting pedantic or anything, but Liam Austin did win an AI medal in 1991. Otherwise your post is spot on. Colm McAlarney was a great Down midfielder though, who never did win one."
Ah you have me again Forever. True Austin was a sub in 91 for Down. I forgot that and yes Colm McAlarney was superb too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 24/11/2021 14:29:56    2390610

Replying To avonali:  "Yeah that's it lads pick any county midfielder except a Diublin despite some of them winning many All_irelands. Blinkered culchies."
Calm down Avon. If you check my post you will see I mentioned Brian Mullins and Brian Fenton. Anyone that knows gaa football and has seen Mullins or Fenton play will agree that they are two of the greatest midfielders to grace our game. Ciarán Whelan was nt too bad either.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 24/11/2021 14:35:54    2390611

Fenton and Mullins
v
Jack O'Shea and Dara O'Se

Any thoughts on that?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 24/11/2021 14:42:00    2390614

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Fenton and Mullins
v

Any thoughts on that?"
jacko and darragh

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 24/11/2021 14:53:28    2390617

Replying To Saynothing:  "Out the wrong side of the bed again, ye didn't pull it out from the wall."
your own county produced the great plunkett donaghy

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 24/11/2021 14:54:23    2390619

Replying To midlands:  "McAlarney was centre field for Down in the 1968 final, and yes, he was very good."
Thanks for correcting me!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 24/11/2021 14:57:47    2390621

v

Any thoughts on that?"
Mullins a nephew of the great Bill Casey from Dingle and Fenton a son of a Spa killarney man, Jacko Darragh Mick O'Connell we do produce some great midfielders in Kerry :-)

The saddest thing for Kerry folk is probably the best midfielder of all Mark O'Connor is over in Oz playing Aussie rules at the moment.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2021 15:01:32    2390623

v

Any thoughts on that?"
Wow that's some duel. Jacko seemed to get the better of Mullins bar 77 semi which was Jacko s first big game. Jacko won the duel between them in 78 79 84 and 85 btf in 84 and 85 Mullins had lost pace due to car accident. However slight advantage to Kerry. Fenton v Darragh.2 great fielders although Darragh maybe a bit better although smaller. Fenton better scorer and covers more ground. Slight advantage Dublin. Overall a very hard duel so I'll sit on the fence. Brilliant question though Eddie.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 24/11/2021 15:31:55    2390630

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mullins a nephew of the great Bill Casey from Dingle and Fenton a son of a Spa killarney man, Jacko Darragh Mick O'Connell we do produce some great midfielders in Kerry :-)

The saddest thing for Kerry folk is probably the best midfielder of all Mark O'Connor is over in Oz playing Aussie rules at the moment."
Well, maybe we can repay that debt now.

It would not be good for football to have Kerry languish in the doldrums for much longer.

Maybe there ought to be some scheme to assist second tiers counties?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 24/11/2021 15:37:18    2390634

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Wow that's some duel. Jacko seemed to get the better of Mullins bar 77 semi which was Jacko s first big game. Jacko won the duel between them in 78 79 84 and 85 btf in 84 and 85 Mullins had lost pace due to car accident. However slight advantage to Kerry. Fenton v Darragh.2 great fielders although Darragh maybe a bit better although smaller. Fenton better scorer and covers more ground. Slight advantage Dublin. Overall a very hard duel so I'll sit on the fence. Brilliant question though Eddie."
Midfield is all about the partnership.
A draught horse paired with a thoroughbred always seemed work best. Tohill and McGilligan a classic example

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 24/11/2021 16:13:01    2390645

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Well, maybe we can repay that debt now.

It would not be good for football to have Kerry languish in the doldrums for much longer.

Maybe there ought to be some scheme to assist second tiers counties?"
We have done a lot more for dublin than dublin have done for Kerry or any other county Barney.

If it wasn't for Kerry and kildare the gaa wouldn't have been able to afford the plot of land on Jones Rd for crokepark.

If it wasn't for Kerry and other country folk playing for ye yed only have about 15 allirelands.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/11/2021 16:16:35    2390646

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Well, maybe we can repay that debt now.

Maybe there ought to be some scheme to assist second tiers counties?"
Ah thanks Barney but I don't consider Kerry second tier. We are always there or thereabouts but sure we all have opinions and if course sometimes we wrong.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 24/11/2021 16:18:35    2390648