Fenton On The Training Ban.

I just read where Brian Fenton couldn't understand the back lash he and his dublin team mates got for breaking the training ban.

What did he think was going to happen? Did he/they think dublin didn't have enough advantages over every 1 else as it was so they decided they needed more?

The good news though is that he can now see it was wrong to break the nation wide training ban, it took a while but fair play he finally got it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2021 15:21:31    2390007

He makes the only valid point in comparing it to other situations in which he was in closer contact with other people.

Being outdoors and training is not going to kill anyone and never has,

About time people copped onto all this nonsense that becomes more apparent with each passing day. Boosters for vaccines that clearly don't work. Nothing to do with people being outdoors. but they'll probably stop people doing that normally again soon too now that the miracle doesn't work and Covid has joined all the other things like flu that are not going away anytime soon.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 19/11/2021 16:05:31    2390014

I thought he came across poorly.
It was like I better make an apology but I'm not sure why I have to do it.
The comparison of the training in the morning in relative isolation and then going and standing in a guard of honour for a funeral where there was a lot more people was totally irrelevant.
Lockdown rules were for everyone irrespective of you as a role model or a Joe bloggs going about your work.
Lots of people didn't agree with them.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 19/11/2021 16:21:26    2390018

Its Friday! Think happy thoughts..

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/11/2021 16:22:27    2390019

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I just read where Brian Fenton couldn't understand the back lash he and his dublin team mates got for breaking the training ban.

What did he think was going to happen? Did he/they think dublin didn't have enough advantages over every 1 else as it was so they decided they needed more?

The good news though is that he can now see it was wrong to break the nation wide training ban, it took a while but fair play he finally got it."
He is dead right. The country has gone mad over the past eighteen months. Crime journalists writing about fifteen lads training out doors, that's all you need to know. Mark my words the way things are going now, get ready for more teams training when they shouldn't be, seeing as a lot are back is some capacity now.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 19/11/2021 16:37:37    2390022

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I just read where Brian Fenton couldn't understand the back lash he and his dublin team mates got for breaking the training ban.

The good news though is that he can now see it was wrong to break the nation wide training ban, it took a while but fair play he finally got it."
Its an Irish opinion but when most other teams were breaking it, to any degree, I wouldnt single teams out for it. What advantage did they gain, none. Lads just wanted to play football with their team mates, let them at it.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 19/11/2021 16:51:48    2390026

They are history making all ireland winners obviously they were going to get more attention than any of the other teams. If he had an issue with that then he can hand over his medals

I don't think it would have happened under Jim Gavin

I do however think that them being front page news of a newspaper when our taoiseach broke the rules at a cork boxing event and it didn't get as much attention was absolute b*ll**ks . They are not making the rules and we are not paying their wages yet were held to a higher standard than head of state

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/11/2021 17:09:50    2390029

His father who is a good Kerry man must have explained to him that they were wrong. Dubs wouldn't know right from wrong sure, whereas Kerry men are pure as the driven snow. Kerry have never had any advantages either having to battle their way past Waterford and Limerick most years to get to business end of the championship.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 19/11/2021 18:19:56    2390034

His father who is a good Kerry man must have explained to him that they were wrong. Dubs wouldn't know right from wrong sure, whereas Kerry men are pure as the driven snow. Kerry have never had any advantages either having to battle their way past Waterford and Limerick most years to get to business end of the championship.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 19/11/2021 18:20:04    2390035

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "His father who is a good Kerry man must have explained to him that they were wrong. Dubs wouldn't know right from wrong sure, whereas Kerry men are pure as the driven snow. Kerry have never had any advantages either having to battle their way past Waterford and Limerick most years to get to business end of the championship."
He's a grown man I doubt he ran it past his Kerry father.

As for the other stuff, we can't move Kerry to Ulster can we?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2021 21:28:25    2390051

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Its an Irish opinion but when most other teams were breaking it, to any degree, I wouldnt single teams out for it. What advantage did they gain, none. Lads just wanted to play football with their team mates, let them at it."
We're most teams breaking it though? I know of 3. Cork dublin Down.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2021 21:30:18    2390052

Defo should have done a thorough internet search first. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/11/2021 07:24:41    2390055

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We're most teams breaking it though? I know of 3. Cork dublin Down."
So you know of 3 that were caught. Good man. I don't think many counties would have reporters hiding in bushes and coming under the same scrutiny as the Dubs. Demonising a few lads for having a kick around in the great wide open. That's a new low for ye Kerry man :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/11/2021 08:59:52    2390059

This nonsense again. 15 lads met up on a pitch in the open air and played a bit of football. Who really cares at this stage, move on.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 20/11/2021 09:05:12    2390061

That clandestine training session back-fired on the Dubs, imho. The camp was never properly settled afterwards. Cluxton, refused to play, unless the Dublin county board removed Dessie. They didn't, so he didn't.

It's why Cluxton could never say that he had retired, because he hadn't and had/has no intention of retiring. Lots of those outside-the-camp, gave Cluxo grief for not revealing his position to his teammates. All those team-mates and management knew the situ: Farrell goes, I play; Farrell stays; I don't.

I admire Stephen Cluxton for sticking to his principles. He was abhorred when he found out that certain Dublin players (with Farrell's awareness) broke the laws of the land that applied to each and every person living in the Republic.

Cluxton didn't put a chance of winning an unprecedented 9th AI medal before what he believed in; before doing the right thing.

Fair play Cluxton!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 20/11/2021 09:24:50    2390062

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We're most teams breaking it though? I know of 3. Cork dublin Down."
Monaghan did too, from what I remember.
As was mentioned, I'd highly doubt it would have happened under Gavin.
There have been stories that this incident upset a few in the dressing room, especially a very senior player. This could of course all be rumour, but the aftermath didn't help their preparation.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 20/11/2021 10:36:09    2390066

Replying To foreveryoung:  "That clandestine training session back-fired on the Dubs, imho. The camp was never properly settled afterwards. Cluxton, refused to play, unless the Dublin county board removed Dessie. They didn't, so he didn't.

It's why Cluxton could never say that he had retired, because he hadn't and had/has no intention of retiring. Lots of those outside-the-camp, gave Cluxo grief for not revealing his position to his teammates. All those team-mates and management knew the situ: Farrell goes, I play; Farrell stays; I don't.

I admire Stephen Cluxton for sticking to his principles. He was abhorred when he found out that certain Dublin players (with Farrell's awareness) broke the laws of the land that applied to each and every person living in the Republic.

Cluxton didn't put a chance of winning an unprecedented 9th AI medal before what he believed in; before doing the right thing.

Fair play Cluxton!"
McCaffrey also left the panel so as to not endanger his teammates or their families.

So while some of you don't think it's a big deal McCaffrey will have and I'd be shocked if he would ever play under Dessie. One of the best players (possibly the best) in the country is a loss to any team

The fact that some players were OK with it and others took issue with it will have caused friction in camp . Regardless of what side of the argument you fall on that's not good for any team.

Jim Gavin wouldnt have done it. Even the ones who thinks what they did was grand I'd be willing to bet most of you are fairly certain Gavin would not have had his team do this

I don't think Fenton should have mentioned it to be honest. It's in the past and I found him comparing kicking a ball on a pitch to being in a guard of honour at a funeral massively disrespectful.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 20/11/2021 13:50:08    2390083

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Monaghan did too, from what I remember.
As was mentioned, I'd highly doubt it would have happened under Gavin.
There have been stories that this incident upset a few in the dressing room, especially a very senior player. This could of course all be rumour, but the aftermath didn't help their preparation."
That sounds familiar now, wasn't banty in the stand for a few games if I remember correctly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/11/2021 16:21:49    2390100

Replying To galwayfball:  "McCaffrey also left the panel so as to not endanger his teammates or their families.

So while some of you don't think it's a big deal McCaffrey will have and I'd be shocked if he would ever play under Dessie. One of the best players (possibly the best) in the country is a loss to any team

The fact that some players were OK with it and others took issue with it will have caused friction in camp . Regardless of what side of the argument you fall on that's not good for any team.

Jim Gavin wouldnt have done it. Even the ones who thinks what they did was grand I'd be willing to bet most of you are fairly certain Gavin would not have had his team do this

I don't think Fenton should have mentioned it to be honest. It's in the past and I found him comparing kicking a ball on a pitch to being in a guard of honour at a funeral massively disrespectful."
Jack and Dessie are really close as it goes, if anything would bring him back i think it would be a want to play for Dessie while he's in the senior job. It's why we saw him in the league in 2020, despite him loosing the gra.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/11/2021 20:22:53    2390121

"Caffrey left the panel so as not to endanger his team mates and their families."

Seriously. If your - not Caffrey's whose opinion your are assuming - fear of life is such, you should stay in bed all day.

Thousands of sportspeople at all levels have defied the ludicrous bans that were in place. Some like the Dublin and other inter county players were caught. Some were not despite being informed upon by various people with little to be doing than hiding in bushes and trees.

If you or the state are really anxious to trace endangerment and loss of life, perhaps demand an inquiry into private and state homes for the elderly where the biggest proportion of Covid deaths have taken place. Not on a GAA or soccer pitch or running track.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 21/11/2021 09:42:34    2390140