Connacht Club Football Championship

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Unsavoury scenes only came from one side - they also kicked a door in in the hyde and broke a number of chairs"
He's a Leitrim wum that's best ignored

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 13/12/2021 16:13:09    2392712

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You obviously weren't watching it. A score from the mark would have won the game. The sides were level, just as they reached the end of injury time. From the non-awarded mark, he blew against M/M and gave a free to Pearse's. They went down the pitch and kicked the winner, well over the added time, but the time-keeping isn't the biggest mistake in that instance.
These comparisons of players making mistakes also don't make any sense. When a player kicks a wide, he and his team suffer the consequences. Players are also under pressure from opposition players when making decisions.
The mistake the ref made was a very poor one and was critical in the context of the game. It wasn't a grey area or something which would be disputed on tv analysis. It was clear and obvious and a something I'm sure he won't be pleased with.
It's ok to say the ref made an awful blunder. It's ok for M/M to feel very aggrieved immediately after the game concludes.
It's not ok for anyone to lay a finger on the ref."
just to pick you up on the time you mention, there were 4 minutes of added time called out at game (mentioned on stream 29.45), the non mark was around 32 and a half minutes (game time), the refs/sideline officials clocks & the one on the stream were stopped for water breaks on refs signal & restarted on refs signal, this was mentioned before the game, the winner was kicked into the 33rd minute (watch the stream), Pearses won the resultant kick out, kicked straight down Niall Daly's throat, not for the first time that day & held possession until ref blew it up after a stupid foul on 34.30.

GAA-NUT-ish (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 13/12/2021 16:33:26    2392718

Replying To The_analyser:  "He's a Leitrim wum that's best ignored"
I'm not sure what you mean by that but if it means someone making a point on a forum then it's valid. I want knlckmore to win, not sure why that would warrant being ignored. Grow up

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 13/12/2021 17:08:46    2392723

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Hopefully Knockmore can do the business in the final after all the unsavoury scenes witnessed at the weekend. The game demands it."
Pearses were very disciplined and thus statement makes no sense

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 13/12/2021 17:09:53    2392724

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "I'm not sure what you mean by that but if it means someone making a point on a forum then it's valid. I want knlckmore to win, not sure why that would warrant being ignored. Grow up"
Making a point "unsavoury scenes witnessed at the weekend" you said which had zero to do with Pearses. You are playing the wum and it's you not me that needs to grow up.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 13/12/2021 18:21:29    2392732

Replying To Belclare:  "Knockmore and Ballina right beside each other, All the knockmore lads would have schooled in Muredachs Ballina. Devvanney from Ballina the linesman the last day in Pearses Mountbellew game..."
You've reached Trump levels of delusion there. Knockmore and Ballina would not be regarded as friends when it comes to football. I'd say there will be a fair few in Ballina more than happy to see Pearces beat Knockmore.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 13/12/2021 20:21:34    2392745

Replying To browncows:  "Every Ref makes mistakes even the ones doing AI finals-it happens every match and every year. The players make the most mistakes. If the Ref had allowed the mark and if a score resulted, who was then to say if the result would have been any different in extra time. A lot of if's there. How may if's does it take to win a match. Look at matches on telly with reviews being carried out and they still get it wrong. How may balls were kicked wide during the match? Sometimes it good to accept the result and move on."
thing is there wouldnt have been extra time? there was 90 seconds left when the non mark incident occured. i doublt there would have been time for pearses to get it kicked out and score..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 14/12/2021 08:28:09    2392762

Replying To The_analyser:  "Making a point "unsavoury scenes witnessed at the weekend" you said which had zero to do with Pearses. You are playing the wum and it's you not me that needs to grow up."
But I never said that it had anything to do with that football team. Point out where I said it did please? I'm not sure what a wum is but fair play to you for keeping using it, it must be the latest buzzword or something thank you

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 14/12/2021 08:28:33    2392763

Referee's make mistakes. It happens in all sports. When it happens in the last few minutes the mistake is highlighted on a greater scale. There have been loads of mistakes that have cost teams down through the years and I am not talking about GAA solely in this regard. Thierre Henry is one. I was at an Ireland v Scotland rugby match a few years ago when a bad call over the use of a lineball by the referee caused a try for Scotland and these are professional games. Has soccer improved with the use of var? Every team that loses by a point or 2 is going to feel aggrieved. They rarely look at the mistakes they made themselves eg wides, fouls committed, poor passing, silly fouls. They prefer to hone in on mistakes by officials and use the same line." We have been training x amount of time and we deserve better" There is no silver bullet. Val Daly diplomatically turning the knife by saying the referee will have to live with the mistake for the rest of his life is not very smart. He could just as easily have said Our team will have to live with the mistakes we made during the game. How many cards were dished out. I rest my case

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 14/12/2021 08:47:34    2392766

Replying To yew_tree:  "You've reached Trump levels of delusion there. Knockmore and Ballina would not be regarded as friends when it comes to football. I'd say there will be a fair few in Ballina more than happy to see Pearces beat Knockmore."
Agreed that there is no conspiracy theory. Although in my experience local /neighbouring parish rivalry gets superceded by county loyalty , so that as much as you dont like your neighbours to win a county title they will still support them outside the county. Example : Huge Mtbellew support in Croker for Caltra AI win. Of course there is always a die hard small group of begrudgers who cant stand near neighbours winning under any circumstances , but in general the sentiment outlined above prevails.
I have no doubt that the referee on Saturday did not set out to be biased... but the subconscious is a funny thing.
Also I think that the Mtbellew crowds response to a number of the marginal calls in the last 15 minutes may have riled the ref a little and influenced the brutal bad calls at the end.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 14/12/2021 08:55:44    2392767

Replying To eoinog:  "Referee's make mistakes. It happens in all sports. When it happens in the last few minutes the mistake is highlighted on a greater scale. There have been loads of mistakes that have cost teams down through the years and I am not talking about GAA solely in this regard. Thierre Henry is one. I was at an Ireland v Scotland rugby match a few years ago when a bad call over the use of a lineball by the referee caused a try for Scotland and these are professional games. Has soccer improved with the use of var? Every team that loses by a point or 2 is going to feel aggrieved. They rarely look at the mistakes they made themselves eg wides, fouls committed, poor passing, silly fouls. They prefer to hone in on mistakes by officials and use the same line." We have been training x amount of time and we deserve better" There is no silver bullet. Val Daly diplomatically turning the knife by saying the referee will have to live with the mistake for the rest of his life is not very smart. He could just as easily have said Our team will have to live with the mistakes we made during the game. How many cards were dished out. I rest my case"
Val did a great interview. Very composed given the circumstances. He has every right to mention these calls it could be the biggest game his club ever plays and the ref got it wrong.

He's a class act, always has been . Even if a small number of his team are not. I don't see how anyone could watch the game and listen to his interview which was taken shortly after the final whistle and think Val was out of line or "twisting the knife".

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 14/12/2021 10:05:50    2392779

Replying To eoinog:  "Referee's make mistakes. It happens in all sports. When it happens in the last few minutes the mistake is highlighted on a greater scale. There have been loads of mistakes that have cost teams down through the years and I am not talking about GAA solely in this regard. Thierre Henry is one. I was at an Ireland v Scotland rugby match a few years ago when a bad call over the use of a lineball by the referee caused a try for Scotland and these are professional games. Has soccer improved with the use of var? Every team that loses by a point or 2 is going to feel aggrieved. They rarely look at the mistakes they made themselves eg wides, fouls committed, poor passing, silly fouls. They prefer to hone in on mistakes by officials and use the same line." We have been training x amount of time and we deserve better" There is no silver bullet. Val Daly diplomatically turning the knife by saying the referee will have to live with the mistake for the rest of his life is not very smart. He could just as easily have said Our team will have to live with the mistakes we made during the game. How many cards were dished out. I rest my case"
One of the most ill disciplined performance I've seen from a team and that cost Mountbellew the most. It all started off with McHugh getting one of the most stupid black cards after he scored the goal and a finished the game with a red and two more blacks.

If they are to return to the Connacht championship again in the years ahead will they learn from those mistakes?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 14/12/2021 13:28:05    2392807

Replying To galwayfball:  "Val did a great interview. Very composed given the circumstances. He has every right to mention these calls it could be the biggest game his club ever plays and the ref got it wrong.

He's a class act, always has been . Even if a small number of his team are not. I don't see how anyone could watch the game and listen to his interview which was taken shortly after the final whistle and think Val was out of line or "twisting the knife"."
On the contrary. He was far more restrained than I probably would have been in all honesty.
I agree totally there is no excuse for making physical contact with a referee.
But I also know having played the game for the guts of 40 years - that if something as blatantly wrong as that happens to your team in a Connacht club game - emotions are going to be extremely high at the final whistle.
You put so much into it and you might never get back to that level again. It could be the only chance you ever get.
And lets call a spade a spade - that decision was the difference between M-M winning and Pearses winning the game (not Pearses fault obviously).
McHugh was never going to miss that mark if it was given.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 14/12/2021 13:35:47    2392808

Replying To galwayman2:  "On the contrary. He was far more restrained than I probably would have been in all honesty.
But I also know having played the game for the guts of 40 years - that if something as blatantly wrong as that happens to your team in a Connacht club game - emotions are going to be extremely high at the final whistle.
You put so much into it and you might never get back to that level again. It could be the only chance you ever get.
And lets call a spade a spade - that decision was the difference between M-M winning and Pearses winning the game (not Pearses fault obviously).
McHugh was never going to miss that mark if it was given."
I don't care how high emotions were it's inexcusable. Damaging the dressing room too absolutely pathetic.

I know it was just a select few of the team but I hope they are properly punished

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 14/12/2021 13:54:25    2392810

Replying To galwayman2:  "On the contrary. He was far more restrained than I probably would have been in all honesty.
You have no way of knowing whether he would or not.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 14/12/2021 14:13:54    2392811

Never going to miss? I'm not so sure about that. It was a pressure kick against the wind, the Pearses forward with the wind advantage missed a tap over free moments before that.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/12/2021 14:16:14    2392813

Some fantastic players on that MM team who deserve better from some of their team mates who have serious discipline issues. While you get away with it in Galway, when you go outside that bubble refs, umpires & linesmen get sick of the rubbish & you will pay the price. If it's true about doing damage to the dressing room, it only highlights that there is an issue that needs to be addressed.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 14/12/2021 14:42:45    2392816

Replying To anotheralias:  "Agreed that there is no conspiracy theory. Although in my experience local /neighbouring parish rivalry gets superceded by county loyalty , so that as much as you dont like your neighbours to win a county title they will still support them outside the county. Example : Huge Mtbellew support in Croker for Caltra AI win. Of course there is always a die hard small group of begrudgers who cant stand near neighbours winning under any circumstances , but in general the sentiment outlined above prevails.
I have no doubt that the referee on Saturday did not set out to be biased... but the subconscious is a funny thing.
Also I think that the Mtbellew crowds response to a number of the marginal calls in the last 15 minutes may have riled the ref a little and influenced the brutal bad calls at the end."
What he is making accusations though it's that the lineman's deliberately set out to make sure Pearces won so Knockmore would face them instead of MM…on what basis would MM is a harder tie than Peace's for Knockmore? Two evenly matched teams IMO.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 14/12/2021 18:24:37    2392838

There is so much on this thread that I agree and disagree with, but I had to come on just to say this …. There was absolutely no damage caused to any dressing room by MM, that is an absolute lie. Firstly they weren't in the dressing rooms in the pitch and secondly there were a number of Roscommon GAA officials in the area they were changing and if there was anything happening out of order they would have been in there straight away. So whatever your views about the game, the Ref, the aftermath, it is not fair to try to blacken a teams name with complete untruths - get your facts right before posting

gaaformysins (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 14/12/2021 21:36:11    2392852

Replying To galwayfball:  "Val did a great interview. Very composed given the circumstances. He has every right to mention these calls it could be the biggest game his club ever plays and the ref got it wrong.

He's a class act, always has been . Even if a small number of his team are not. I don't see how anyone could watch the game and listen to his interview which was taken shortly after the final whistle and think Val was out of line or "twisting the knife"."
Have to agree with you there Val came across very well pitty about a minority of his team

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 15/12/2021 09:06:08    2392857