Ulster Club Football Championship

Replying To LetterkennyMan:  "....and a Glenties team that got destroyed by St. Eunans in the final........."
And a Eunans team that yet again can do nothing in Ulster. Embarrassment when it comes to ulster considering the amount of attempts that ye have had down the years. Little clubs dream of a county final big clubs dream of provincial finals. Thats why Kilcar, NC and especially Gweedore are currently the bigger clubs in Donegal.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 22/11/2021 11:38:18    2390288

Replying To AudiMan:  "You need to have a re-think. From County Final day, Mc Geehin was dropped and Parke came in. He then came on as a sub which doesn't tie up at all with your excuses."
No excuses. he wasn't "dropped", he was unfit to start as he was ill all week.

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 22/11/2021 11:44:11    2390289

Replying To latefortraining:  "Big win for Sean McDermotts over Cookstown Fr. Rocks on Saturday in the Ulster Junior. They now play Belleek from Armagh. There's usually a gulf in class between junior in Monaghan compared to Armagh , so i expect another comfortable win for The Sean's . I wouldn't be surprised if the following in the footsteps of the 14 other monaghan clubs that have reached 14 out of last 19 ulster junior finals. It a pity Aughnamullen didn't get their chance last year.
Scotstown and Donaghmoye should have enough to get over Derry boys also."
How Cookstown are down at junior I'd don't know but that's a separate point. Monaghan and Tyrone junior clubs historically are the strongest teams in this competition. Monaghan seem to keep their grades fairly tight with smaller number of clubs at the higher grades. Think that is a good thing as it leads to better championships. Might be a little tough though in smaller junior clubs. Donegal have one representative left in Ulster which is downings and they should be very competitive. Plenty good footballers and decent forwards. In the last 3 years Donegal have done well at junior winning 2 and being in getting to the other final.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 690 - 22/11/2021 11:47:18    2390291

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "And a Eunans team that yet again can do nothing in Ulster. Embarrassment when it comes to ulster considering the amount of attempts that ye have had down the years. Little clubs dream of a county final big clubs dream of provincial finals. Thats why Kilcar, NC and especially Gweedore are currently the bigger clubs in Donegal."
How many ulster titles have n Conal win.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 22/11/2021 12:13:27    2390298

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "And a Eunans team that yet again can do nothing in Ulster. Embarrassment when it comes to ulster considering the amount of attempts that ye have had down the years. Little clubs dream of a county final big clubs dream of provincial finals. Thats why Kilcar, NC and especially Gweedore are currently the bigger clubs in Donegal."
Still sore from the hammering we gave NC 2 weeks ago I see.............. how many county titles have the mighty Glenties got?

Haha...... you are trying to hitch the NC wagon now to Gweedore's Ulster success are you? What titles have you lot won in Ulster?!?!

Answers on the back of a stamp please.

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 22/11/2021 14:35:28    2390331

Replying To LetterkennyMan:  "No excuses. he wasn't "dropped", he was unfit to start as he was ill all week."
Your story keeps changing. 7 defenders and 5 forwards no matter what way you want to try and dress it up. Au revoir.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 22/11/2021 14:42:13    2390332

As a neutral at the match yesterday I thought the referee did a very good job. Both black cards were deserved and neither management could be upset at the decisions. I watched the match again afterwards and it was a clear penalty. The decision that seems to be causing the most grief was with the Niall O'Donnell decision near the end. The tacke was crisp and well timed and the referee had a good view of it. Although Niall went down theatrically it wasn't a foul.
It was a game with nothing in it and with two teams setting up very defensively then there was never going to be much in it. In a game of small margins it takes little to tilt the balance. I thought that maybe Glen just went for it that wee bit more and it got them over the line. But watching club games from around the country all over the weekend the ultra defensive displays were a tough watch. In these high stake games all teams are adopting the same approach. Something is going to have to be done to make teams come out and play. Surely even the players are not enjoying it.

fionmaccumhaill (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 22/11/2021 15:01:40    2390338

Replying To fionmaccumhaill:  "As a neutral at the match yesterday I thought the referee did a very good job. Both black cards were deserved and neither management could be upset at the decisions. I watched the match again afterwards and it was a clear penalty. The decision that seems to be causing the most grief was with the Niall O'Donnell decision near the end. The tacke was crisp and well timed and the referee had a good view of it. Although Niall went down theatrically it wasn't a foul.
It was a game with nothing in it and with two teams setting up very defensively then there was never going to be much in it. In a game of small margins it takes little to tilt the balance. I thought that maybe Glen just went for it that wee bit more and it got them over the line. But watching club games from around the country all over the weekend the ultra defensive displays were a tough watch. In these high stake games all teams are adopting the same approach. Something is going to have to be done to make teams come out and play. Surely even the players are not enjoying it."
That's a fair summary from what I saw watching the game online. Although a few bits were missed from the poor coverage. I cannot understand how clubs don't go and just have a good cut at it when they really are in bonus territory after winning a county title. The period when Glen went a man down seemed to be the time St Eunan's could have pushed on a bit. Instead they played the ball about the back and lost possession that Glen got a score from. Overall Glen probably just about deserved it as they showed a bit more ambition in the second half. It's hard to know what the answer is to the defensive set up. It's hard to watch. Forwards spend hours practising taking scores and yet never see the ball in game like that.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 22/11/2021 16:59:53    2390366

Replying To LetterkennyMan:  "Still sore from the hammering we gave NC 2 weeks ago I see.............. how many county titles have the mighty Glenties got?

Haha...... you are trying to hitch the NC wagon now to Gweedore's Ulster success are you? What titles have you lot won in Ulster?!?!

Answers on the back of a stamp please."
Im not trying to hitch any wagon as I said especially Gweedore because they have brought the biggest trophy in ulster back to Donegal unlike any other team but at least NC have shown up in ulster on two occasions losing out to the eventual all Ireland winners and runners ups. I also never said we won any titles im just stating the fact we have contested an ulster final.

Lets call a spade a spade Eunans have never shown a good account of themselves in ulster. NC, Kilcar, Glenswilly and Gweedore all have and this is were ye lack behind the rest.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 23/11/2021 09:57:28    2390404

When will Donegal teams learn that you cannot win a game of Gaelic Football in your own half of the field, at least McGuinness attacked for one quarter in each game and scored a few points before he parked the bus.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 23/11/2021 14:20:12    2390455

Replying To jacktheboy:  "When will Donegal teams learn that you cannot win a game of Gaelic Football in your own half of the field, at least McGuinness attacked for one quarter in each game and scored a few points before he parked the bus."
Jacktheboy, our own club team play about with the ball, passing back to goalie and basically effin about and that's them when they're 4 or 5 points down. The opposition would be laughing all the way to a win.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 23/11/2021 15:04:42    2390464

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Im not trying to hitch any wagon as I said especially Gweedore because they have brought the biggest trophy in ulster back to Donegal unlike any other team but at least NC have shown up in ulster on two occasions losing out to the eventual all Ireland winners and runners ups. I also never said we won any titles im just stating the fact we have contested an ulster final.

Lets call a spade a spade Eunans have never shown a good account of themselves in ulster. NC, Kilcar, Glenswilly and Gweedore all have and this is were ye lack behind the rest."
Well done on getting to an Ulster club final by the way, did ye get a cup for losing that?

The roll of honour tells anyone with half an ounce of common sense who the dominant clubs in Donegal have been since the championship's foundation in 1920 and Glenties certainly aren't in that group.

St. Eunan's have 15 (some would argue 16 titles). Ghaoth Dobhair also sit on 15 titles. Neither club are either new to the table with Dr. Maguire or living off past successes from a bygone era, with our club having won titles in every decade since the 1940's……. that's dominance.

I could also strongly argue for Aodh Ruadh's inclusion in there too, but they have fallen off badly over the past 20 years. So, when you try to assert that Glenties are a" bigger club" or that we "lack behind the rest" (whatever that means, presumably you meant to say "lag"), you need a reality check.

Finally, if our title in 1997 doesn't count on a technicality then neither should NC's in 2020. So I'd have your club on the grand total of 4 titles and not 5….. but let's not pre-empt anything, maybe your club will do the decent and honourable thing and give Kilcar the re-match (at a minimum) they should have got?!?!

I've said my bit on this topic and you're not worth the effort of further debate on it. So, Adios.

Apologies to other Ulster Gaels for the hijacking of this thread. Jealousy and envy are terrible things. As I said previously, best of luck to Glen going forward, we didn't get the rub of the green on Sunday at all, with some dubious decisions going against us and some errors on our own behalf that proved fatal (both tactically and in our execution).

The Ulster championship is some minefield and if someone comes through (especially) from our side of the draw to win it, by God they will have earned it. A fantastic competition for us all to enjoy.

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 23/11/2021 15:38:57    2390468

I noticed posts from Kerry and Galway forumers giving their penny's worth opinion on our Ulster championship which prompts me to ask what business is it of these southerners to be poking their nose into our provincial debate? What has Galway to offer and when did they last take the Sam home, if ever? As for Kerry they are a team of the past and are just hanging on against the odds. Then we have Tyrone who are acting a bit too cocky as they currently are sitting on the throne but I bet de-throning is on the cards as their back-to-back winning history isn't good. Let's see how things pan out in the Ulsters and that will be a guidance as to their sustainability but only a guidance as the All Ireland is a totally different story.

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 02/12/2021 08:32:26    2391363

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "I noticed posts from Kerry and Galway forumers giving their penny's worth opinion on our Ulster championship which prompts me to ask what business is it of these southerners to be poking their nose into our provincial debate? What has Galway to offer and when did they last take the Sam home, if ever? As for Kerry they are a team of the past and are just hanging on against the odds. Then we have Tyrone who are acting a bit too cocky as they currently are sitting on the throne but I bet de-throning is on the cards as their back-to-back winning history isn't good. Let's see how things pan out in the Ulsters and that will be a guidance as to their sustainability but only a guidance as the All Ireland is a totally different story."
Get a grip of yourself, everyone has the right, I like to hear everyone's view wether I agree or not. The other 23 counties have won Ulster as many times as Fermanagh, Zero.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/12/2021 09:45:30    2391369

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "I noticed posts from Kerry and Galway forumers giving their penny's worth opinion on our Ulster championship which prompts me to ask what business is it of these southerners to be poking their nose into our provincial debate? What has Galway to offer and when did they last take the Sam home, if ever? As for Kerry they are a team of the past and are just hanging on against the odds. Then we have Tyrone who are acting a bit too cocky as they currently are sitting on the throne but I bet de-throning is on the cards as their back-to-back winning history isn't good. Let's see how things pan out in the Ulsters and that will be a guidance as to their sustainability but only a guidance as the All Ireland is a totally different story."
BigToeJoe, this thread is about the club championship. Galway last won Sam 20 years ago and 1 of their clubs are reigning All Ireland champs, so it's obvious why they take interest in who emerges from Ulster.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 02/12/2021 10:17:21    2391376

Think you'll find Galway have the third most Football all Irelands with the last in 2001. There's only about 6 counties who've done back to back so Tyrone don't have to feel too bad about that. The fact anyone other than Dublin has finally won is a victory for football not just Tyrone

ML89 (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 02/12/2021 10:17:46    2391377

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

MacAtack (Cavan)
03/12/2021
17:30

Ramor Vs Kilcoo

Good to see the game is on rte. Hw do people think the game will go? Ramor have a good squad to go far in this competition if they are taking it seriously. I hope all of cavan are behind them.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/12/2021 09:37:54    2391599

This was posted in reply to the above.

keeper7 (Longford)
03/12/2021
20:04

Kilcoo are favourites, I'd imagine.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/12/2021 09:39:13    2391600

Kilcoo were not overly impressive in down championship and are also missing their main man Daryl brannigan so Ramor will fancy their chances.

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 04/12/2021 10:18:39    2391606

Replying To Administrator:  "This was posted in reply to the above.

keeper7 (Longford)
03/12/2021
20:04

Kilcoo are favourites, I'd imagine."
I fancy Kilcoo, Simply because they are seriously hard to beat ,and they are the current champions, on the other Ulster SFC, Creggan,Derrygonnelly,, to progress, And on the game of the weekend, Scotstown,for me, the 4 or 5 county men should get them over the line, As i said in a previous post , no handy games at this stage

germac (Down) - Posts: 533 - 04/12/2021 10:29:06    2391609