Go look at our most recent panel
Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 971 - 15/01/2022 19:05:34 2395091 Link 0 |
Jack Smith was a senior panellist with Dublin in 2017 for the league. He was dropped from the panel. Jack Cooney approached Smith about coming to Westmeath as Smith worked with Pascal Kelleaghan. Westmeath footballers pursued Jack Smith. Stop spreading misinformation to suit your agenda. dakid (Australia) - Posts: 285 - 16/01/2022 12:21:46 2395139 Link 1 |
Won today, anyone any idea of scorers or subs??? JohnyDuncan (UK) - Posts: 112 - 16/01/2022 19:16:05 2395198 Link 0 |
Westmeath scorers: J Gillen 1-6 (0-4f); C Doyle 0-5; N O'Brien 0-3; K Regan and S Williams 0-2 (1f) each; E Cunneen, J Galvin 0-1 and E McCabe 0-1 each.
Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 971 - 16/01/2022 19:40:15 2395204 Link 0 |
Scorers - Westmeath: J Gillen 1-6 (0-5f), C Doyle 0-5, N O'Brien 0-3, S Williams (1f) and K Regan (1f) 0-2 each, J Galvin, E Cunneen and O McCabe 0-1 each. Meath: P O'Hanrahan 0-10 (8f, 1s/l), M Burke and N Potterton 0-2 each, J Coyne and P Potterton 0-1 each. BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1176 - 17/01/2022 11:46:19 2395258 Link 0 |
Is Davy Glennon involved this year?
Matthew (None) - Posts: 1042 - 17/01/2022 13:15:56 2395288 Link 0 |
Only five of the Mcdonagh final team started so a positive start. I dont know the reason for the missing eight Joey Boyle and Niall Mitchell came on but I think Shaw and Glennon were both having operations.
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1618 - 17/01/2022 18:37:43 2395368 Link 0 |
Regan taking a free is odd.Good win JohnyDuncan (UK) - Posts: 112 - 17/01/2022 18:52:44 2395372 Link 0 |
Yeah a positive start, some good performances from new lads, Gillen impressed at full forward. A lot to come back in as you mentioned, I'd say about 12 players. Meath had a strong team out, so an 8 pt win is decent. Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 971 - 18/01/2022 09:57:00 2395392 Link 0 |
Looks pretty much to give more new lads a chance plus a couple of previously fringe players. McGovern for example left the panel under previous management as he wasn't being given a run. Great to see so many young lads involved, can only bode well for competition and the future.
gedupoutofit (Westmeath) - Posts: 172 - 18/01/2022 12:15:37 2395428 Link 0 |
Its encourageing to see the likes of Cuneen,Williams,Regan,Gillen,Mulkearns,Kane etc getting game time next Sunday in Carlow a bigger test awaits.Any word on Aonghus,Kilian,Shaw Robbie Greville Clinton or Glennon are they training?injured?
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1618 - 24/01/2022 09:51:08 2396151 Link 0 |
All the young lads impressed, Gillen, Williams and Mulkearns from the start and then Cunneen, Moore, Cunningham, McCormack and McCabe did very well off the bench. That's 8 lads from u20, fair play to Joe Fortune for giving them their chance. Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 971 - 24/01/2022 10:39:13 2396161 Link 0 |
I see Adrian Moran who is managing Longford has brought a few Westmeath players with him - Patrick Lynam of St Oliver Plunketts plus Emmet Corrigan and Niall Moran of Ringtown. I take it these 3 are deemed surplus to requirements for Westmeath senior hurlers ? BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1176 - 24/01/2022 11:46:27 2396181 Link 0 |
thats worrying , every small county needs support and help to develop their county teams but you cant open the flood gates either
preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 763 - 24/01/2022 15:16:43 2396237 Link 0 |
Isn't that the same as the Limerick lads currently hurling with Kerry?
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/01/2022 16:38:21 2396264 Link 0 |
It is.. I don't agree with it on a large scale,maybe counties like Longford it might be more acceptable but kerry I think have enough of their own
preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 763 - 24/01/2022 20:47:18 2396291 Link 0 |
Kerry used the defence that Westmeath had used Galway and Dublin players last year so they are doing the same thing this year with the three Limerick players. Looks like this could become the norm for the next few years which is disappointing. carlovia (None) - Posts: 1525 - 25/01/2022 09:45:20 2396314 Link 0 |
The difference is Westmeath have only one player from Galway who came to Westmeath looking to play and not visa versa like Kerry. I agree its disappointing to see, hopefully it doesn't become the norm. I was glad to see we had played with 8 u20 players in the comprehensive win over Kildare at the weekend. Clearly prioritising our own players coming through as we should be. Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 971 - 25/01/2022 10:49:12 2396327 Link 0 |
The rule for counties like my own is maximum of 3 outside players. It used to be 5. keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/01/2022 13:30:50 2396371 Link 0 |
No mention of the Dublin goalie that played with Westmeath last year ? Westmeath hardly need these outside players but if they are doing it theres no point in giving out about Kerry doing the same. carlovia (None) - Posts: 1525 - 26/01/2022 10:21:28 2396502 Link 0 |