Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To Claretandblue:  "It was a tough match to watch. Kilkenny could have scored 4-5 goals had they desired and Noel Conaty made an outstanding save from TJ's penalty. The reality is that the gap in hurling between the top 7-8 counties and those ranked 9-14 is enormous. The likes of ourselves, Laois and Offaly are operating at a similar level. We're lucky that the standard in Leinster is considerably worse than in Munster, based on today's results Wexford, Dublin and Antrim are closer to our standard than they are to the top five in Munster and Kilkenny and Galway. The year will be judged on the Antrim game provided they don't get two more points before then. That's a worry as Antrim will fancy beating Wexford even in Wexford Park. Parnell Park next Saturday evening will be a tough game for us with the Dubs sure to react in some way to today's disappointing display. Killian Doyle's absence is a major loss and a hamstring injury can be notoriously slow to heal."
We haven't lost a championship game in normal time to Kilkenny since we lost by 1 point in Nowlan Park 5 years ago.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 22/04/2023 23:49:39    2472601

Replying To ear2ground:  "But that is the reailty of it. Westmeath are not a top tier side simple as that. 7 points in an intercounty senior hurling championship game is a shocker. I was totally dejected driving home from kilkenny this evening. If I was killian Doyle id be looking to get out of westmeath hurling asap."
Woeful attitude. No wonder we have such bad support at games.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 23/04/2023 00:00:04    2472609

No doubt about it the performance was very poor.7 points is a terrible return.But when Westmeath are without Niall Mitchell,Killian Doyle,Niall O Brien and all our promising under 20 forwards there are still reasons to have hope.As big a problem is midfield the return of Cormac Boyle will help but its an area that has to be improved on.Anyone that thinks there would only be days of glory on this path are delusional.Westmeath have been slowly improving over a long period and have the potential to continue that hard road but nobody said it was going to be easy.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1443 - 23/04/2023 08:06:49    2472623

Viking, anyone who thinks Wexford are remotely close to the top 7 teams in the country is delusional. Galway beat ye comfortably despite Wexford getting a two goal start, knowledgeable Wexford supporters will be nervous about Antrim's visit next weekend. That's the reality of your current status. I reckon our under 20s will also emphasise the current state of Wexford hurling in Mullingar next Saturday.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1477 - 23/04/2023 09:19:30    2472632

Replying To preddan:  "you do seem to pop up whenever theres bad news and negativity as regards your county hurlers, you never seem to be there when anything positive happens.
That kilkenny team were at home today, they were playing under a new management and trying to lay down a new marker with a big statement after an average league to move on from the previous management, there was probably a certain pressure on them to perform and they had to.
The standard at the top has never been as high, physical and fitness wise, bridging that gap will always be a battle but progress is being made slowly but surely, Last year galway gave westmeath an awful hammering in galway in the second game but a huge improvement after that, against dublin could have got a result, draw with wexford and big win over laois. i still think postive results can be got against Dublin, wex and Antrim in this if all injury free and keeping the belief"
Exactly you only seem him when there's a negative result, nothing worse than those type of keyboard warriors.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 23/04/2023 09:59:18    2472644

Replying To jobber:  "No doubt about it the performance was very poor.7 points is a terrible return.But when Westmeath are without Niall Mitchell,Killian Doyle,Niall O Brien and all our promising under 20 forwards there are still reasons to have hope.As big a problem is midfield the return of Cormac Boyle will help but its an area that has to be improved on.Anyone that thinks there would only be days of glory on this path are delusional.Westmeath have been slowly improving over a long period and have the potential to continue that hard road but nobody said it was going to be easy."
Davy Williams, Peter Murphy, David O'Reilly, Darragh McCormack and Peter Clarke are all serious attacking prospects from that u20 panel, but they are all underage next year for u20 again and I'd be nearly inclined to leave them be with that age group next season and let them continue to develop.
Darragh McCormack is on the panel of course but not playing this year due to the severity of the injury he received vs Castletown last year. He is a loss to the u20s but will be a big boost to them next season.
They can definitely give Wexford a good rattle in Mullingar next weekend and hopefully a good crowd goes in to support them but that's a rarity here in Westmeath unfortunately..
Its great for their development that they will have a 5th competitive championship game under their belt also.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 23/04/2023 13:29:19    2472711

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Viking, anyone who thinks Wexford are remotely close to the top 7 teams in the country is delusional. Galway beat ye comfortably despite Wexford getting a two goal start, knowledgeable Wexford supporters will be nervous about Antrim's visit next weekend. That's the reality of your current status. I reckon our under 20s will also emphasise the current state of Wexford hurling in Mullingar next Saturday."
I am nervous enough about Antrim. Less so about Kilkenny. And you have a very good u20 group. While I can't make it up as I'll be going to the Antrim game I'm sure it will be a good game. We are missing some important players with injury, form and Senior commitments, probably 3 of our best defenders, and 2 of our best forwards. This will be you best chance to beat us at underage since the 2 minor wins around 10 years ago. If we lose hopefully it will provide a springboard for growing the game in your county. Your board kind of wasted the promotion/development of the game opportunities of those minor wins and the u21 win over Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 23/04/2023 13:48:03    2472714

Replying To Dheen:  "Exactly you only seem him when there's a negative result, nothing worse than those type of keyboard warriors."
You should check out our thread if you think he is bad!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 23/04/2023 13:50:26    2472716

Replying To Dheen:  "Davy Williams, Peter Murphy, David O'Reilly, Darragh McCormack and Peter Clarke are all serious attacking prospects from that u20 panel, but they are all underage next year for u20 again and I'd be nearly inclined to leave them be with that age group next season and let them continue to develop.
Darragh McCormack is on the panel of course but not playing this year due to the severity of the injury he received vs Castletown last year. He is a loss to the u20s but will be a big boost to them next season.
They can definitely give Wexford a good rattle in Mullingar next weekend and hopefully a good crowd goes in to support them but that's a rarity here in Westmeath unfortunately..
Its great for their development that they will have a 5th competitive championship game under their belt also."
Shame there's no messaging service on HS. Id've sent you my ticket to get in to Mullingar as I can't make it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 23/04/2023 13:52:41    2472718

Replying To Viking66:  "Shame there's no messaging service on HS. Id've sent you my ticket to get in to Mullingar as I can't make it."
Viking all I can say is you are a true Hurling man and i take my hat off to your interest in Westmeath hurling.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1443 - 23/04/2023 17:40:12    2472807

Replying To jobber:  "Viking all I can say is you are a true Hurling man and i take my hat off to your interest in Westmeath hurling."
Absolutely agree with that, fair play Viking!

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 23/04/2023 18:12:17    2472839

Replying To jobber:  "Viking all I can say is you are a true Hurling man and i take my hat off to your interest in Westmeath hurling."
Thanks Jobber. I know from looking at this thread there are plenty of hurling mad people in Westmeath too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 23/04/2023 18:14:37    2472840

Ask any Westmeath senior player if they would would prefer to move to an even competition instead of this Division 1 and Leinster championship and they would say outside of making division 1a & B make sense they are happy where they are playing. They are at their level, they are above Kildare , Offaly and them but below the rest.

They play their whole careers to get a chance at the top table. They've earned it and if you're gauging how good they are off a loss in Nowlan park, under a new manager, with players trying to stake a claim for the jersey then you will never understand how much work they've done to get above the Joe McDonagh and division 2.

A bit of positivity and be realistic, this is a good squad.

Gaawestmeath (Westmeath) - Posts: 73 - 23/04/2023 19:59:36    2472907

Replying To Gaawestmeath:  "Ask any Westmeath senior player if they would would prefer to move to an even competition instead of this Division 1 and Leinster championship and they would say outside of making division 1a & B make sense they are happy where they are playing. They are at their level, they are above Kildare , Offaly and them but below the rest.

They play their whole careers to get a chance at the top table. They've earned it and if you're gauging how good they are off a loss in Nowlan park, under a new manager, with players trying to stake a claim for the jersey then you will never understand how much work they've done to get above the Joe McDonagh and division 2.

A bit of positivity and be realistic, this is a good squad."
Great post Gaawestmeath!
We are trying to become a tier 1 County, looking at the u20s progress as an example. I even think Andrew Dermody said that in an interview after the game!

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 23/04/2023 20:35:58    2472937

Replying To Dheen:  "Great post Gaawestmeath!
We are trying to become a tier 1 County, looking at the u20s progress as an example. I even think Andrew Dermody said that in an interview after the game!"
And doing so with a lot less numbers than Offaly,Laois,Meath or Kildare so we dont need to slaughter ourselves.The big question now is will some or all of our injured forwards return against Dublin and what can Fortune do to get midfield right.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1443 - 24/04/2023 15:48:57    2473326

The reality is that the same faces are generally at the coalface in the hurling clubs year in year out and we badly need an influx of freshness. Small group of lads who do fantastic work and have done for years but they need assistance.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1477 - 24/04/2023 16:35:56    2473363

Replying To Dheen:  "Absolutely agree with that, fair play Viking!"
Thanks Dheen

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 24/04/2023 17:01:53    2473385

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The reality is that the same faces are generally at the coalface in the hurling clubs year in year out and we badly need an influx of freshness. Small group of lads who do fantastic work and have done for years but they need assistance."
This is where your County Board and/or GAA headquarters should be doing what it says on the tin. Promoting both hurling and football equally.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 24/04/2023 17:03:37    2473387

We have a small playing pool and need our best on the pitch. Injuries have severally limited us and we can afford to lose talents like Doyle, Mitchell, O'Brien etc.

We have some excellent hurlers not involved be it commitment or non selection. Two that jump out are Josh Coll and David Hickey. Does anyone know what the story is there? Hickey would be a huge addition to the defence

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 24/04/2023 18:00:08    2473417

Replying To Claretandblue:  "The reality is that the same faces are generally at the coalface in the hurling clubs year in year out and we badly need an influx of freshness. Small group of lads who do fantastic work and have done for years but they need assistance."
100% right its our biggest problem.There are incredible mad hurling people out there doing fantastic work but who is going to replace them.It has to be said thought and its great to see the people involved with our current underage teams right now gives great hope.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1443 - 24/04/2023 19:37:27    2473454