Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To valley84:  "Westmeath teams always seem to need a bit of luck.
Its a poor mentality to have in the county"
Its a euphenism.We need to really believe is probably our biggest issue.Our 21s had that bit of luck when they beat Kk who hit a penalty wide.The year before it was the other way aroubd v Dublin.What we really need now is an excellent management group making sure all these promising players are well looked after and we simply MUST beat Laois.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 14/05/2022 10:16:56    2416947

Massive result tonight and great for morale leading upto the Laois game. Listening on the radio delighted for all westmeath hurling people and the great potential in the county. is it westmeaths best championship result since 06 when they bet dublin, id actually rate it higher

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 14/05/2022 20:29:51    2417088

Replying To preddan:  "Massive result tonight and great for morale leading upto the Laois game. Listening on the radio delighted for all westmeath hurling people and the great potential in the county. is it westmeaths best championship result since 06 when they bet dublin, id actually rate it higher"
Thank you Preddan its a great performance especially after the start.But it will be largely useless unless we at least draw with Laois.They will have all fit for that just like they did v Antrim in league. But our lads are learning quickly.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 14/05/2022 20:34:26    2417090

Well done to my friends in Westmeath.

Shows the gap isn't as big as some make out.

Good luck next week against Leix.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 14/05/2022 20:36:58    2417091

Replying To carlovia:  "Well done to my friends in Westmeath.

Shows the gap isn't as big as some make out.

Good luck next week against Leix."
thanks Carlovia another battle in Portlaoise

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 14/05/2022 20:41:09    2417094

Fair play to Westmeath tonight, wanted it more and possibly could have nicked the game.

Well done, well deserved.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1327 - 14/05/2022 20:42:38    2417098

Replying To jobber:  "thanks Carlovia another battle in Portlaoise"
You lads have the momentum.

Just keep an eye on Paddy Purcell running from midfield.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 14/05/2022 20:51:37    2417103

Replying To jobber:  "thanks Carlovia another battle in Portlaoise"
Westmeath always seem to play them in Portlaoise

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 14/05/2022 20:52:15    2417104

Well done lads, big result.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 14/05/2022 21:13:03    2417112

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Wexford by 15-20 points on Saturday evening, a few pictures with the Joe Dolan statue afterwards."
How'd that work out for ya !

puglerdaly (Westmeath) - Posts: 125 - 15/05/2022 07:45:01    2417142

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Wexford by 15-20 points on Saturday evening, a few pictures with the Joe Dolan statue afterwards."
Did ya get the few pictures after ?

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 15/05/2022 10:11:49    2417164

Excellent performance yesterday, could have possibly won it at the end as well. We will take the draw though of course!
Important we carry this momentum into the Laois game next weekend, if we play with the same intensity as we did yesterday I can see us getting the result in Portlaoise. All we need is a draw to stay up, Laois need the win, in saying that we should go all guns blazing for the victory. Vital we keep 15 on the pitch this time around vs Laois.
Well done to all, and the progress can be seen. Two good performances against Kilkenny and Dublin for 50 odd minutes, and then a very good performance for the 70 minutes yesterday.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 15/05/2022 11:31:05    2417191

Congratulations on a super result for you.

You worked extremely hard and got what ye deserved.

Best of luck against laois.

A County needs a day like that to keep hurling going and ye were unlucky against Dublin.

The more of these days you have the better.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2627 - 15/05/2022 11:51:14    2417197

Congratulations on that famous draw last night. Your team were super and i would expect you to improve no end over the next few years. Joe Fortune ( a Wexford man ) has done a great job with the team and its important that you hold on to him.
A lot of head scratching in Wexford this morning but we simply were not good enough to win. Good luck in your next game against Laois. If you bring last nights form into that game then i have no doubt that you will win.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 15/05/2022 12:23:32    2417211

Replying To jobber:  "Its a euphenism.We need to really believe is probably our biggest issue.Our 21s had that bit of luck when they beat Kk who hit a penalty wide.The year before it was the other way aroubd v Dublin.What we really need now is an excellent management group making sure all these promising players are well looked after and we simply MUST beat Laois."
You have a good management team

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 15/05/2022 12:40:02    2417223

Did you stop for the photos after all or did you give it a miss?

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 15/05/2022 15:02:48    2417245

Replying To Viking66:  "You have a good management team"
What i am referring to is making sure we have good structures over the underage teams.I dont think anyone in Westmeath has any problem with Joe Fortune and his team but judgeing from the shenanigans in the tunnel at half time some Wexford officials do.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 15/05/2022 19:34:48    2417364

Replying To jobber:  "What i am referring to is making sure we have good structures over the underage teams.I dont think anyone in Westmeath has any problem with Joe Fortune and his team but judgeing from the shenanigans in the tunnel at half time some Wexford officials do."
Poor carry on if what I heard is true.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 16/05/2022 10:08:44    2417530

Good result for Westmeath on Saturday evening. Well done.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 16/05/2022 11:18:02    2417591

Replying To thelongridge:  "Good result for Westmeath on Saturday evening. Well done."
and to yourselves as well.Westmeath Offaly and Laois maybe rivals but we are three midland GAA counties unlike others.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 16/05/2022 12:08:18    2417625