Wicklow GAA thread

the managers to be known within the next 2 weeks acording to the bray people . people on here seem to have no latest news

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 24/08/2022 16:53:56    2438588

I'd imagine the incoming manager is currently managing a senior side that's left in the championship and they don't want it to be announced yet. More than likely Kevin O'Brien or Jonathon Daniels.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 29/08/2022 15:28:05    2439051

Replying To Victorious87:  "I'd imagine the incoming manager is currently managing a senior side that's left in the championship and they don't want it to be announced yet. More than likely Kevin O'Brien or Jonathon Daniels."
Victorious87. I hope you are right. Either would be a great choice and I would lean towards Kevin if I was pushed, but Jonathon has proved himself more than capable. . But, to me, it would all depend on the terms and conditions. My preference would be for an extended term. This 2/3 year thing with having to explain yourself every year hasn't worked. A term of up to 5 yrs with an overview presented at a county board meeting every year without any interference from the miracle expecters sniping from the wings would be my idea of how the thing might. work. Plus whatever extra resources the manager felt was necessary year on year should be given. If the team improves, funding will follow. I believe from what I have seen of the quality of younger players in different clubs that, given proper preparation, we should be able to mix it with the big boys in 3 to 5 yrs at most. Perhaps I am being too optimistic.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 29/08/2022 16:19:36    2439062

Replying To Freethinker:  "Victorious87. I hope you are right. Either would be a great choice and I would lean towards Kevin if I was pushed, but Jonathon has proved himself more than capable. . But, to me, it would all depend on the terms and conditions. My preference would be for an extended term. This 2/3 year thing with having to explain yourself every year hasn't worked. A term of up to 5 yrs with an overview presented at a county board meeting every year without any interference from the miracle expecters sniping from the wings would be my idea of how the thing might. work. Plus whatever extra resources the manager felt was necessary year on year should be given. If the team improves, funding will follow. I believe from what I have seen of the quality of younger players in different clubs that, given proper preparation, we should be able to mix it with the big boys in 3 to 5 yrs at most. Perhaps I am being too optimistic."
I would lean towards Kevin aswell...he has plenty of experience with the younger lads on the team so it would seem to make a lot of sense to me plus Balto look like a different team this year under his management. I have been at a lot of the matches this year and agree that we do have a good few young players who could well bring the county team forward in the next few years...as most of us say on here almost ever year we badly need to get out of Divison 4!!....here's hoping

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 29/08/2022 17:44:33    2439082

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "I would lean towards Kevin aswell...he has plenty of experience with the younger lads on the team so it would seem to make a lot of sense to me plus Balto look like a different team this year under his management. I have been at a lot of the matches this year and agree that we do have a good few young players who could well bring the county team forward in the next few years...as most of us say on here almost ever year we badly need to get out of Divison 4!!....here's hoping"
I'm surprised to hear Kevin's name being linked with the post. Not that i don't think he is not suitable for the job as i think he is. More that i thought he would have been given the job ahead of Colin Kelly last time. If it does transpire, better late than never i say. If we as a county are plumming for an internal appointment then Kevin is the prime candidate - greatest player from the county, proven himself ay underage and knows these young guys coming through and they will respond well to his management style. Based upon the players i've seen and if we can get the right appointment then we can get out of division 4 and remain in division 3 at least. This should our minimum aim as a footballing county. I also agree that a term of 2-3 years should be given and do away with this meaningless update at yhe end of each year unless progress is being made and the county board are willing and able to increase investment in the setup. After all we are bottom of the heap, it can only get better but it will take time.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 30/08/2022 16:51:31    2439185

I'm finding it hard to get too invested in who a new manager might be. There's too much of 'moving the deck chairs on the titanic' vibe to the whole thing. On the one hand, if somehow we managed to entice a big fish in, we might get a short term bounce but it'll invariably only a matter of time before he gets frustrated dealing with the ineptitude of the County Board with their lack of ambition, support etc and heads for the gate.
If we get in a 'yes' man then it'll be just more of the same old story we have become accustom to. Kevin O'Brien is an interesting one in that he certainly knows the lay of the land and what he'd be dealing with off the pitch.
Hard to see what would motivate him to take it on with Baltinglass looking in decent shape to possibly get back to where they were in 90s as kingpins in Wicklow.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 120 - 30/08/2022 17:03:17    2439187

Replying To Hawkeye2:  "I'm finding it hard to get too invested in who a new manager might be. There's too much of 'moving the deck chairs on the titanic' vibe to the whole thing. On the one hand, if somehow we managed to entice a big fish in, we might get a short term bounce but it'll invariably only a matter of time before he gets frustrated dealing with the ineptitude of the County Board with their lack of ambition, support etc and heads for the gate.
If we get in a 'yes' man then it'll be just more of the same old story we have become accustom to. Kevin O'Brien is an interesting one in that he certainly knows the lay of the land and what he'd be dealing with off the pitch.
Hard to see what would motivate him to take it on with Baltinglass looking in decent shape to possibly get back to where they were in 90s as kingpins in Wicklow."
It is hard to see what has changed in relation to Kevin. When the county board appointed Colin Kelly, Kevin was available as he had finished with the u20 whom he'd taken through from minor. The natural step was to appointed him to the senior setup. Now he's involved with his own club who seem to be going in the right direction. So why would he leave Baltinglass to take the Wicklow job now? Time will tell i suppose. When is it that we can expect white smoke in Aughrim?

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 30/08/2022 18:13:58    2439190

Replying To Hawkeye2:  "I'm finding it hard to get too invested in who a new manager might be. There's too much of 'moving the deck chairs on the titanic' vibe to the whole thing. On the one hand, if somehow we managed to entice a big fish in, we might get a short term bounce but it'll invariably only a matter of time before he gets frustrated dealing with the ineptitude of the County Board with their lack of ambition, support etc and heads for the gate.
Hard to see what would motivate him to take it on with Baltinglass looking in decent shape to possibly get back to where they were in 90s as kingpins in Wicklow."
Hawkeye, I'm inclined to agree with your view of the situation re managers. Without a major change of attitude, direction and drive from our administration nothing will really change in the overall scheme of things. Whoever the new man / men might be, they will get no criticism from me only a hearty congratulations and best wishes on taking on what has been a thankless job for decades now. Sliding up and down occasionally from Div4 to 3 and back and the occasional win in qualifiers, alas seems to be the sum total of our ambitions.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 31/08/2022 08:30:51    2439212

Hearing whispers of Oisin McConville

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 01/09/2022 10:02:45    2439276

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Hearing whispers of Oisin McConville"
I'm hoping to make it to Aughrim tomorrow for those two Q/Fs. I'll keep an eye out for Mr McC. If he is in the frame, you would imagine he would want to look at 4 of our senior quarter finalists, and catch the other 4 on Sunday. That's not to dismiss intermediate or junior A players. But you would imagine that the bulk of the squad would come from the senior teams - and from seniors who didn't make the Q/Fs.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 02/09/2022 13:28:01    2439422

Does anyone know when an announcement is expected around the senior managers positions? It would be in everyones best interest if an announcement was made sooner rather than later especially consider how long the posts are vacant.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 02/09/2022 13:43:59    2439424

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Hearing whispers of Oisin McConville"
Looks like those rumours are true!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 02/09/2022 16:22:06    2439443

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Does anyone know when an announcement is expected around the senior managers positions? It would be in everyones best interest if an announcement was made sooner rather than later especially consider how long the posts are vacant."
Last weeks Wicklow People had it that there would be an announcements in around two weeks. That means that we may be enlightened during this coming week. Those dogs in the street haven't managed to get the word across the "Gap" yet.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 02/09/2022 17:17:20    2439457

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Does anyone know when an announcement is expected around the senior managers positions? It would be in everyones best interest if an announcement was made sooner rather than later especially consider how long the posts are vacant."
Seems like Mr McConville speculation is pretty accurate.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 02/09/2022 17:36:19    2439459

Well best of luck to Oisin. I'm sure he will generate some enthusiasm within the playing group. Hopefully our best players will join the panel and we can get going....onwards and upwards!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 02/09/2022 19:45:20    2439478

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "Well best of luck to Oisin. I'm sure he will generate some enthusiasm within the playing group. Hopefully our best players will join the panel and we can get going....onwards and upwards!"
Everything will hinge on the "terms and conditions". His back room team, the length of his contract, availability of funding and resources etc. I have said on here several times that in my opinion, it is a 3 to 5 yr project to get us anywhere near to where we want to be. So, Sundays announcement should be interesting. I agree with you on the need for ALL players to make themselves available. But that will only happen if Oisin presents them with something they can buy into. I have every confidence that he can do that, but will he be given the support ? Every player wants to be as good as he can be and these days with college football, progressive clubs etc, all players know what training methods need to be in place in order for them to reach their full potential and they won't settle for anything less.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 03/09/2022 10:22:10    2439508

Best wishes to Oisin and whoever becomes his backroom team. This is another chance for all the promising players in the county to stand up and be counted. All the clubs must support them as we have the players to get out of division 4 but can Oisin instill the belief to succeed. It is a promising appointment as he knows what it takes to get to the top level and he is experienced at analysing tactics and game plans. The county board will now need to give him every backing possible and to put in place clear structures at juvenile level to make sure that we have a continuous supply of young players coming through..

Optimisticobserver (Wicklow) - Posts: 125 - 03/09/2022 11:31:13    2439514

I am looking forward to this afternoons trip to Aughrim. I would expect Blessington to be too experienced at this level for a young and promising An Tochair. Rathnew - you write them off at your peril. For 20 /30 yrs or more, year in year out they put everything into championship games, particularly at knockout stages, but, on form this year I would just lean towards Pats but won't be surprised if I am wrong tonight. Tomorrow I would expect AGB and Balto to progress. Baltinglass are still my favs to win out overall and I can't see Avondale troubling them. I can't really figure out this Bray side. They can be great and then perform poorly. On this basis and on recent years performances I think that AGB should win. Will it be a Laragh Ashford Jun A final ? Or will the meet at semi stage. Eire Og are not putting teams away like you would expect them to but I am still tipping them for the Inter, although I am not as confident in them as I was before the championships started.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 992 - 03/09/2022 12:19:40    2439519

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "Well best of luck to Oisin. I'm sure he will generate some enthusiasm within the playing group. Hopefully our best players will join the panel and we can get going....onwards and upwards!"
An excellent appointment and has lots of management experience worthy of a county job. Surprised he didn't go for a job closer to home like Monaghan given the caliber of candidate talked about for that job... (which was poor IMO). He will bring ye on if he gets a good team around him.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/09/2022 13:45:24    2439528

well done to oisin . the club matches are important in wicklow if you were to choose a panel of players at the moment based on matches so far this is a exersise pick the best 15 so far . based on scoring stats and what we see at matches . we also need a supporters club more people have to go through the turnstiles . i get a season ticket everyyear i would invest in a supporters club

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 03/09/2022 15:16:25    2439539