Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "Sorry I'm not blaming the teachers. I'm bemoaning the fact that we don't have a strong tradition of schools competing at the top level. The point raised was that in Kildare for some reason they are doing things differently at juvenile county level. I think we don't do things that much differently but I was saying maybe due to the fact that we aren't competing at a high schools level that maybe this explained the so called difference in quality of players coming through the ranks. I also think that we have two to three years of high quality young players brought through the ranks. For this reason I pointed out that the only two quality mangers stroke coaches are Paul Garrigan and Kevin O Brien who I think have the respect and expertise to guide these young players."
No I agree with you! I think Jonathon Daniels with Blessington could be an outside shout as well, has won a championship at every level from Junior A to Senior now and seems to have fixed whatever was broken in that Blessington team.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/03/2022 12:09:35    2403765

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Were you at the game between Naas and Blessington this year? Wicklow club teams were better than their Kildare counterparts back in the 90s and 00s, now there is a massive gulf. I was shocked this year when i went to see club matches in Wicklow. There was no intensity in the game, play was slow and ponderous, ball play was slow, tackling was poor. Some players weren't fit or well conditioned. I don't know who directs coaching in the county but they should be replaced. No school in Wicklow competes at a high level. Maybe you should ask any Blessington player who attend Naas CBS who are in the all ireland A school final what is different. If they were attending a school in Wicklow, what compeition would they be playing in? There seems to be people in Wicklow who think nothing needs to change. Our senior team has won 1 game (against Cavan) in 2021 and so far in 2022, they are heading for division 4 - how will that help young players to develop? Davy Burke is managing Sarsfields."
I was at the game, what level are you expecting Wicklow club teams to be at? Naas weren't far off Kilmacud Crokes in a Leinster final until the last 15 minutes, they're probably in the top 5 club teams in Leinster and they-re one of the biggest towns in Leinster with only one GAA club. The same Blessington team went and beat a team who had won a Leinster championship just a few years ago away from home. St Pat's brought Portlaoise, traditionally a powerhouse of Leinster Club, to penalties 2 years previous to that. I suppose that doesn't suit your narrative though.

Naas CBS probably has double the students of Blessington CC and St Kevin's Dunlavin combined. Again, all you're doing is making vague statements, "ball play was slow". Did you watch Kilmacud Crokes or Judes play this year in Dublin, the two of them were unbelievably slow and lateral in their passing, took no risks at all. That's the type of football that is succeeding in club football around the country. Austin Stacks won a Kerry championship playing that brand of football as well.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/03/2022 12:20:09    2403769

My son (21) and niece (18) have played in Kildare all their lives.

The young lad has played either Div 1 or 2 with his club, plus 5 years of underage with the county.
The niece has played in Div 1 with her club.

What is said about the schools on here by other posters is true. My niece has won multiple Kildare championships with hers. Why ? Because of the people in charge.

I have seen the county scene here close up. Nothing is found wanting.

Sponsorship for both club and county here is plentiful. They know how to attract it here.

Why is the playing standard higher in Kildare ? You must train hard and commit. There can be no other sports. If there is you will not make it. Does Wicklow GAA understand this ?

I think it is all about having the correct people in place at both county and club level. Does it mean needing to bring in outside people to help run things ? Very possibly. Kildare required outside assistance at one point to get things in order. Did it help ? It certainly did.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 04/03/2022 12:42:40    2403777

Replying To Victorious87:  "I was at the game, what level are you expecting Wicklow club teams to be at? Naas weren't far off Kilmacud Crokes in a Leinster final until the last 15 minutes, they're probably in the top 5 club teams in Leinster and they-re one of the biggest towns in Leinster with only one GAA club. The same Blessington team went and beat a team who had won a Leinster championship just a few years ago away from home. St Pat's brought Portlaoise, traditionally a powerhouse of Leinster Club, to penalties 2 years previous to that. I suppose that doesn't suit your narrative though.

Naas CBS probably has double the students of Blessington CC and St Kevin's Dunlavin combined. Again, all you're doing is making vague statements, "ball play was slow". Did you watch Kilmacud Crokes or Judes play this year in Dublin, the two of them were unbelievably slow and lateral in their passing, took no risks at all. That's the type of football that is succeeding in club football around the country. Austin Stacks won a Kerry championship playing that brand of football as well."
You are obviously satisfied with how the county teams at all levels and in both codes are performing currently and that is your choice and your entitlement. I disagree with what are saying. I think clubs in Wicklow have and continue to regress and as a result the county teams, both hurling and football are falling further and further behind. Maybe alot of people in the county agree with what you say. I know people i speak to agree with what i am saying and think that there has to be changes. At this stage i think the powers that be in the county including the clubs probably agree with your take but the outcome will mean that both county teams will be in the basement divisions in both code plus i can't see young players wanting to sign up to such a setup when there are more attractive options for them. Why would you opt to play a sport that offers you little hope of progressing in that sport or competing at a decent level and an organisation that stuck in the past.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 04/03/2022 13:46:49    2403797

Replying To sponger:  "My son (21) and niece (18) have played in Kildare all their lives.

The young lad has played either Div 1 or 2 with his club, plus 5 years of underage with the county.
The niece has played in Div 1 with her club.

What is said about the schools on here by other posters is true. My niece has won multiple Kildare championships with hers. Why ? Because of the people in charge.

I have seen the county scene here close up. Nothing is found wanting.

Sponsorship for both club and county here is plentiful. They know how to attract it here.

Why is the playing standard higher in Kildare ? You must train hard and commit. There can be no other sports. If there is you will not make it. Does Wicklow GAA understand this ?

I think it is all about having the correct people in place at both county and club level. Does it mean needing to bring in outside people to help run things ? Very possibly. Kildare required outside assistance at one point to get things in order. Did it help ? It certainly did."
I coach my young lad's underage team and I would never tell a child they can only play GAA. I thought everyone had come to the realisation that this is a terrible idea. You'll find so many top intercounty footballers with backgrounds in soccer, basketball and athletics. It's absolute BS if you ask me.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/03/2022 14:28:19    2403802

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "You are obviously satisfied with how the county teams at all levels and in both codes are performing currently and that is your choice and your entitlement. I disagree with what are saying. I think clubs in Wicklow have and continue to regress and as a result the county teams, both hurling and football are falling further and further behind. Maybe alot of people in the county agree with what you say. I know people i speak to agree with what i am saying and think that there has to be changes. At this stage i think the powers that be in the county including the clubs probably agree with your take but the outcome will mean that both county teams will be in the basement divisions in both code plus i can't see young players wanting to sign up to such a setup when there are more attractive options for them. Why would you opt to play a sport that offers you little hope of progressing in that sport or competing at a decent level and an organisation that stuck in the past."
Of course I'd like our county teams to be doing better, but there's a difference between the two of us. I'm actively giving up my time to try and improve things at a grassroots level and you offer up half-cooked theories and anecdotal evidence as though you have some sort of step by step masterplan while you actually do nothing to contribute.

Anyway, I don't think this little conversation is going anywhere productive so have a nice weekend.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/03/2022 14:34:26    2403803

Replying To Victorious87:  "Of course I'd like our county teams to be doing better, but there's a difference between the two of us. I'm actively giving up my time to try and improve things at a grassroots level and you offer up half-cooked theories and anecdotal evidence as though you have some sort of step by step masterplan while you actually do nothing to contribute.

Anyway, I don't think this little conversation is going anywhere productive so have a nice weekend."
You too have a nice weekend and fair play to you for working at grassroots level. I comnend you. With regards to me having the answers i don't claim or never will claim to have all the answers but i am realistic enough to know that things need to change in how gaelic games are structured and run in the county but in that last six months i have come to realise that the chance of that happening is very slim. I commend everyone in the county who are contributing to gaelic games in whatever they are doing and i hope that i am proven wrong and that the county teams and clubs can progress and be competitive. I'm not sure that i can make any meaningful contribution on the like of this forum so maybe i will do what other posters have done in recent years and stop.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 04/03/2022 16:00:37    2403815

It is a very valid point about the lack of juvenile games on a continuous basis . This means that there are long spells without any juvenile activity with the inevitable result that players are lost to other sports because they are guaranteed fixtures on a weekly basis. The powers that be who govern juvenile games should examine the structures and timetabling of games in other counties to see where the improvements can be made . This I think would be a step in the right direction.
Also all clubs should be accommodated by either amalgamating or running 11 or 13 a side especially for the small rural clubs that are struggling for numbers. There should be as many competitions and tournaments as possible to provide a constant stream of games for these players and organised in tiers to ensure that competitions are fair and even.
I still wonder were the old district boards more productive in producing more games and different competitions that had players out in some competition almost every weekend.

Optimisticobserver (Wicklow) - Posts: 125 - 05/03/2022 13:11:44    2403873

Fair play to the u20s another win today

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 05/03/2022 18:31:08    2403945

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "Fair play to the u20s another win today"
Hang in there Wicklowsupport. There are many on here who enjoy your comments., which are usually well thought out and articulated. Some are unable to accept the opinions of others in their perceived certainty of their own convictions and it has become the scourge of the social media age be dismissive of everything but their own beliefs regardless of how others might see them. Apparently I'm only on here to moan, which, even if it is only to point out how far behind the curve we are, I shall continue to do. So, feck the begrudgers and carry on.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 990 - 06/03/2022 10:40:27    2404035

Maybe there is a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel after all. A good win by the under 20s which gain them a final place. The under 20s last year were only beaten in challenge matches by 4 points by Offaly who then went on to win the all ireland.
The under 17s beat Laois yesterday in Aughrim while up in Ballinakill there were up to 60 under 14s been put through the drills. I see also a fair number of coaches now taking part in the coaching courses.
So maybe the Wicklow football scene is slowly evolving to generate a supply of footballers who will be competitive. We all knew that it would take a considerable time for the academies to show progress. Maybe that is beginning to happen now.
I see 30 coaches were appointed to a number of Leinster counties last week but I didn't see Wicklow mentioned in that list. What's going on there and why?
We certainly need full time coaches appointed to the high populated areas along the East Coast to generate a substantial base for gaelic games. This would push the progress even further.

Optimisticobserver (Wicklow) - Posts: 125 - 06/03/2022 11:40:59    2404041

Replying To Victorious87:  "I coach my young lad's underage team and I would never tell a child they can only play GAA. I thought everyone had come to the realisation that this is a terrible idea. You'll find so many top intercounty footballers with backgrounds in soccer, basketball and athletics. It's absolute BS if you ask me."
Pick one sport and commit to it.

Concentrate on that sport ( ie GAA )

Then the county will have a good supply of quality players.

And we will not be down in the lower reaches, players will not be leaving panels, we will most be the joke of the week.

It works in Kildare.

Too much " We are doing our best in Wicklow". If we were doing our best we would not be going down to Div 4 and 3a in hurling.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 06/03/2022 17:54:26    2404102

Thats the problem with Wicklow GAA, when things go wrong nobody cares.

Any ould excuse will do.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 06/03/2022 18:57:12    2404123

Replying To Victorious87:  "I was at the game, what level are you expecting Wicklow club teams to be at? Naas weren't far off Kilmacud Crokes in a Leinster final until the last 15 minutes, they're probably in the top 5 club teams in Leinster and they-re one of the biggest towns in Leinster with only one GAA club. The same Blessington team went and beat a team who had won a Leinster championship just a few years ago away from home. St Pat's brought Portlaoise, traditionally a powerhouse of Leinster Club, to penalties 2 years previous to that. I suppose that doesn't suit your narrative though.

Naas CBS probably has double the students of Blessington CC and St Kevin's Dunlavin combined. Again, all you're doing is making vague statements, "ball play was slow". Did you watch Kilmacud Crokes or Judes play this year in Dublin, the two of them were unbelievably slow and lateral in their passing, took no risks at all. That's the type of football that is succeeding in club football around the country. Austin Stacks won a Kerry championship playing that brand of football as well."
I've heard it all now ,so you reckon slow lateral play is a recipe for success it's no wonder we can't win games if that's the attitude of coaches in the County.You also bring up population and numbers as an excuse if this the case in Wicklow how come Bray with a population of over 30,000 people can't win a senior football championship in Wicklow. Greystones and Arklow also have a large population and have never won a championship .And when someone questions the level of coaching in the county you spin every excuse you can think of and question their right to give an opinion on this form.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 06/03/2022 19:10:52    2404125

Can I ask a question here. Most posters are complaining about the level of coaching our children are getting. Are we referring to club coaches or the coaches at development squad level ?

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 06/03/2022 19:31:26    2404128

Replying To dubarra:  "I've heard it all now ,so you reckon slow lateral play is a recipe for success it's no wonder we can't win games if that's the attitude of coaches in the County.You also bring up population and numbers as an excuse if this the case in Wicklow how come Bray with a population of over 30,000 people can't win a senior football championship in Wicklow. Greystones and Arklow also have a large population and have never won a championship .And when someone questions the level of coaching in the county you spin every excuse you can think of and question their right to give an opinion on this form."
You talk sense.

As I said before, its about people in charge.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 06/03/2022 20:12:10    2404136

What a deplorable year so far in Wicklow gaa. Where is the leadership? We have a paid full time administrator who does what exactly? We have a non existent county board it seems. Have we ever been as low?

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 06/03/2022 21:37:10    2404157

Replying To sponger:  "Pick one sport and commit to it.

Concentrate on that sport ( ie GAA )

Then the county will have a good supply of quality players.

And we will not be down in the lower reaches, players will not be leaving panels, we will most be the joke of the week.

It works in Kildare.

Too much " We are doing our best in Wicklow". If we were doing our best we would not be going down to Div 4 and 3a in hurling."
At what age are you suggesting this happens? I played soccer, football and basketball up to the age of 18 when I was playing with the Kildare minors and genuinely hadn't the time, but never felt the pressure from anyone to drop the other sports I played in my childhood..

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 06/03/2022 21:52:25    2404158

Any manger announced? There is a match this weekend, whoever takes over needs a couple of sessions at least surely.

TopDrawer (Wicklow) - Posts: 51 - 07/03/2022 08:51:29    2404170

I don't see the benefit of forcing young people to play one sport to the exclusion of other sports. They may reach a stage where they need to decide for themselves especially after 18 and if they are on an elite pathway at intercounty level.

Best of luck to the new management team. In order to avoid relegation, i reckon we need to win two of our remaining three league. We have two home games against Laois and Louth with one away game against Longford. The results over the weekend did us no favours with both Fermanagh and Longford pulling off big wins. Both of these sides have had a good league campaign as i had them marked down as likely relegation candidates along with ourselves but they are starting to play well and get results at the right time.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 07/03/2022 09:45:27    2404178