Limerick GAA thread

Very underwhelming team. I like that O Donoghue and Hayes are able to start but for Reidy to start again. Like what's the point. He ll be taken off before half time. Why not leave him do what he's good at, coming on as a sub. Id be disappointed for O Neill because I feel he deserves a start but I wouldnt drop Morrissey and O Neill isn't a corner forward. Best case scenario still sees Mulcahy having to come off in the 50th or 55th Minute and the subs bench is bare. Cork by 2 or 3 points for me. The changes that should have been made today will have to be made next week.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 16/04/2022 08:44:25    2411058

Admittedly a bit disappointed with the team named.
I wasn't necessarily one for firing Kyle Hayes up as I think he has been bombing on from the half back well.
But I did like the option of Richie english who had a great league campaign and giving a potential option of nash going forward too. Whatever about manoeuvres at the back One thing I was certain would happen is O'Neil would start somewhere up top. He was one of the few players who showed decent league form throughout for me and he pulled the under 20 win out of the fire the last day. Half forward would always be his preferred spot but sticking a young lad full of energy into the corner would give the cork corner back something to thing about. I would have him there ahead of Riedy. If anything I think the experience alone would bring him on leaps and bounds.
Maybe they are thinking more of strong bench options.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 16/04/2022 09:30:20    2411065

Not disappointed one bit by that team. Shrewd management out of Kiely et al. actually! 15 men who won AI medals on the field of play, about 8-9 months ago. It's not that long ago, is it?

First, who knows what going down in training. Second, it won't be the ending of either Reidy's or Mulcahy's career, should either get the phone-call from the sideline before the 70 minutes are up. They're both battle-hardened customers; and could knock a few corners off the Cork defence before the bench is emptied. And they'll both have totally emptied the tank by then. They always do.

That's the best team that they could pick, imho. Good luck to ye, Limerick.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 16/04/2022 11:41:52    2411083

Replying To bloodyban:  "Very underwhelming team. I like that O Donoghue and Hayes are able to start but for Reidy to start again. Like what's the point. He ll be taken off before half time. Why not leave him do what he's good at, coming on as a sub. Id be disappointed for O Neill because I feel he deserves a start but I wouldnt drop Morrissey and O Neill isn't a corner forward. Best case scenario still sees Mulcahy having to come off in the 50th or 55th Minute and the subs bench is bare. Cork by 2 or 3 points for me. The changes that should have been made today will have to be made next week."
King Billy is at it again. Spoken with all the wisdom
and knowledge only a true croquet or perhaps polo pundit can offer. This "bloke" is a bot designed to plant doubt. Does it repeatedly.

Na Bach leis. Onseach, amadan, a ta anso.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 16/04/2022 12:43:54    2411089

that limerick team wont play as selected wait and see.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 16/04/2022 13:43:46    2411101

It ll be interesting to see if the team lines out as named. I think they will going on past evidence. A quick start is essential today I feel ,just to test Corks confidence . Much easier to start fast then reign a team in aswell. Iv nailed my colours to the mast in predicting a Cork win but I hope to God I'm wrong and I'm left with egg on my face for doubting K&K

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 17/04/2022 12:26:08    2411289

Replying To bloodyban:  "It ll be interesting to see if the team lines out as named. I think they will going on past evidence. A quick start is essential today I feel ,just to test Corks confidence . Much easier to start fast then reign a team in aswell. Iv nailed my colours to the mast in predicting a Cork win but I hope to God I'm wrong and I'm left with egg on my face for doubting K&K"
Not sure where the logic of a Cork win comes from. Ya we had a bad league etc but if our lads turn up, hard to see past them

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/04/2022 14:40:23    2411313

Fantastic display. I genuinely thought there were signs of decline in Limerick. I'm absolutely delighted with that result . They finished so.strong aswell. Mike Casey, Diarmuid Byrnes,Hegarty...outstanding. Kyle Hayes set the tone with that goal. I hope his hamstring is OK..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 17/04/2022 17:52:26    2411369

Replying To bloodyban:  "Fantastic display. I genuinely thought there were signs of decline in Limerick. I'm absolutely delighted with that result . They finished so.strong aswell. Mike Casey, Diarmuid Byrnes,Hegarty...outstanding. Kyle Hayes set the tone with that goal. I hope his hamstring is OK.."
Discipline was very good too. Hegarty was outstanding. If he took an extra second to look up, he might get 7 or 8 points a game. Gillane, Tom Morrissey and Graeme Mulcahy were middling, which is good because they will improve the next day.

Pat Horgan took two points when they needed goals. He is only 11 points off Joe Canning after today for all time scoring. He still should have gone for the goal.

stpats1886 (Limerick) - Posts: 39 - 17/04/2022 19:19:37    2411396

Replying To stpats1886:  "Discipline was very good too. Hegarty was outstanding. If he took an extra second to look up, he might get 7 or 8 points a game. Gillane, Tom Morrissey and Graeme Mulcahy were middling, which is good because they will improve the next day.

Pat Horgan took two points when they needed goals. He is only 11 points off Joe Canning after today for all time scoring. He still should have gone for the goal."
If Gillane scores 1-2 from play and is middling, i hate to see what he'd score if on fire.
Horgan should have been subbed- tapping over irrelevant scores instead of trying to go for goals made no sense

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/04/2022 20:37:42    2411416

Which terrace will be the Limerick terrace for the Waterford match on Saturday night?

TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 108 - 17/04/2022 20:44:21    2411419

I've to admit I was worried before today,I should learn really,never have doubts about this limerick team and management..gave up a few goal chances which better forwards would take..some players have huge room for improvement which is great..2-20 from play..think also we could probably have got 2 more goals..Nicky once again showed his class as a keeper,super save but puck outs were brilliant..half back line and midfield immense,and god bless the work rate and fitness of this group..may we continue to enjoy these great days..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 17/04/2022 21:06:28    2411423

I was worried before yesterday's game. I think that was obvious. What ever about kiely making positional switch I did not forsee him omitt a player to allow casey in and shove Hayes right up to that full forward line.

Positives
1. Mike casey. 2 years out and puts in a display like that. I hope this is the year of years for him.
2. Work rate. After everything they have done, to work like dogs all over the pitch was unreal. They are a credit to themselves.
3. 2 points. I would have dreamed of 2 points before the game now we have 2 points to go along with a big points difference.
4. Moments of brilliance. I absolutely love a player that sticks up his hand when things are going against us. That of course was Diarmuid Byrnes. The points off the knees by lynch and that pick up by hegarty. Superb stuff

Negatives
1. Oh lads the injuries. A big decision will have to be made to let Hayes have a bit of time to work on that hamstring.
2. Tom wasn't himself at all. Love him as a target man when on form hopefully he'll rekindle that soon

A word on cork. A couple of occasions they gave us food for thought with their runs up the middle. Went away from markers. Thinking of waterford next week.
If our workrate was unreal, their's was the complete opposite. If they do that against any other team against munster they will struggle to be in the top 3.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 18/04/2022 09:07:22    2411452

Replying To TreatyBoy:  "Which terrace will be the Limerick terrace for the Waterford match on Saturday night?"
Limerick fans will be on the City End terrace next Saturday night. Decent group of Limerick city supporters today on Cork Terrace but more needed next Saturday night on City end for Waterford coming to town.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 671 - 18/04/2022 09:08:19    2411454

Looking forward to this Saturday evening game. It could be a fantastic battle. That the performances have improved so much since the league is such a relief . I really doubted them. I won't do it again.
Has anybody any news on Kyle Hayes hamstring? He's a player we could do without for 1 or 2 games but no more.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 19/04/2022 08:55:39    2411473

Replying To OpenStand:  "Limerick fans will be on the City End terrace next Saturday night. Decent group of Limerick city supporters today on Cork Terrace but more needed next Saturday night on City end for Waterford coming to town."
Brilliant, thanks very much.

TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 108 - 19/04/2022 09:32:05    2411479

It's something else but I've gone in my lifetime as a Limerick supporter, from fearing Cork and the sight of the red Jersey to feeling slightly sorry for them.. We were brilliant but they were so bad on Sunday it was ridiculous.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 19/04/2022 10:43:42    2411495

Replying To Mads:  "I was worried before yesterday's game. I think that was obvious. What ever about kiely making positional switch I did not forsee him omitt a player to allow casey in and shove Hayes right up to that full forward line.

Positives
1. Mike casey. 2 years out and puts in a display like that. I hope this is the year of years for him.
2. Work rate. After everything they have done, to work like dogs all over the pitch was unreal. They are a credit to themselves.
3. 2 points. I would have dreamed of 2 points before the game now we have 2 points to go along with a big points difference.
4. Moments of brilliance. I absolutely love a player that sticks up his hand when things are going against us. That of course was Diarmuid Byrnes. The points off the knees by lynch and that pick up by hegarty. Superb stuff

Negatives
1. Oh lads the injuries. A big decision will have to be made to let Hayes have a bit of time to work on that hamstring.
2. Tom wasn't himself at all. Love him as a target man when on form hopefully he'll rekindle that soon

A word on cork. A couple of occasions they gave us food for thought with their runs up the middle. Went away from markers. Thinking of waterford next week.
If our workrate was unreal, their's was the complete opposite. If they do that against any other team against munster they will struggle to be in the top 3."
Mads. Have to agree with your post. We are facing a titanic battle with Waterford. However, the last 4 championship outings v Waterford tell us the following;
Tadhg DeBurca is the "best" Center back in the country - except against Cian Lynch
Ozzy is one of the best hurlers in the country - except when playing Limerick.
Jamie Baron almost always plays an All Star game - unless he's got WOD for company!
Dessie is the best inside forward in the country- when he's not marking Sean Finn.

I think we we will improve in our wides count and our touch was a small bit off. So unless Waterford have preformed miracles over the winter I'm confident we will handle them.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 19/04/2022 11:01:01    2411502

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Mads. Have to agree with your post. We are facing a titanic battle with Waterford. However, the last 4 championship outings v Waterford tell us the following;
Tadhg DeBurca is the "best" Center back in the country - except against Cian Lynch
Jamie Baron almost always plays an All Star game - unless he's got WOD for company!
Dessie is the best inside forward in the country- when he's not marking Sean Finn.

I think we we will improve in our wides count and our touch was a small bit off. So unless Waterford have preformed miracles over the winter I'm confident we will handle them."
Dessie Hutchinsons confidence and hurling have been improving month on month never mind since last year. I think Finn is the best cornerback in the country so it will be a great battle to watch. Its years since de Burca played against Lynch. Ozzy has got more consistent this year he tended to drift out of some games up until last year. Barron is just a great player and 1 of the Waterford lads who consistently play well. As is WOD. I think Waterford are somewhere between ye and the rest of us. We will find out more about where exactly on Sunday. Love your confidence though!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 19/04/2022 11:34:32    2411521

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Mads. Have to agree with your post. We are facing a titanic battle with Waterford. However, the last 4 championship outings v Waterford tell us the following;

I think we we will improve in our wides count and our touch was a small bit off. So unless Waterford have preformed miracles over the winter I'm confident we will handle them."
Yep All of that is 100% true.
I suppose have waterford closed the gap is the big question and until the 2 teams play each other in a championship match we won't be able to say.

On the face of it Waterford certainly have a very very deep squad. A credit to the players and management group. They are without doubt in superb form. In lots of ways their match with tipp was a way better battle than our one with cork. A cork team in PUC with such little work rate when the heat came on was a serious surprise. But our lads deserve a lot of plaudits, after everything they have done to work as hard as they do is unbelievable. What a group. No matter what happens this year and indeed beyond they deserve nothing but respect.

As for Saturday's game as if I couldn't be more thrilled after the result on Sunday, hearing John Kiely saying he wants a better performance in the Gaelic Grounds than those league displays was an absolute joy. The tone had been set already.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 19/04/2022 12:34:52    2411542