Louth GAA thread

Good luck to Louth today.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 30/01/2022 10:20:11    2397101

Missed a few goals chances which cost them in the end, they getting a goal against the run of play and another poor one in the 2nd half but they will improve and some other faces back next week. I would think we can take longford.

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 30/01/2022 19:13:13    2397277

Weird game, conditions were terrible, was a good first half performance with good possession but 4 goal chances, their keeper was very good if not a little lucky. Should have been seven points up at least at half time but only 1. Against the storng wind and driving rain in the second half suited Laois better with 2 early goal. They took their chances we didn't. It was a game that got away from us but the lads tried hard. Good crowd at it and good banter with Laois fans. Best of luck to them. We need to step up.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 714 - 30/01/2022 19:45:25    2397285

Ardee is an awful place for a game, no parking unless you want to walk for 2 miles and get run down on the N2, no toilets on the far side of the stand side, no path way around pitch, all grass from the minute you get in. When you get inside the ground you have to weave in and out if the cars to get to the pitch, not good enough in 2022 for league football. Very poor facilities.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 31/01/2022 13:58:09    2397480

Replying To joej:  "Ardee is an awful place for a game, no parking unless you want to walk for 2 miles and get run down on the N2, no toilets on the far side of the stand side, no path way around pitch, all grass from the minute you get in. When you get inside the ground you have to weave in and out if the cars to get to the pitch, not good enough in 2022 for league football. Very poor facilities."
Where would you recommend? Cooley , Clogher, blues? Incase you have been absent for the last 60 odd years we arent entirely blessed with "county" grounds

cameroosh (Louth) - Posts: 72 - 31/01/2022 16:10:47    2397540

Replying To cameroosh:  "Where would you recommend? Cooley , Clogher, blues? Incase you have been absent for the last 60 odd years we arent entirely blessed with "county" grounds"
Back to the super Rats the home of GAA in Louth.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 31/01/2022 17:43:50    2397564

Replying To cameroosh:  "Where would you recommend? Cooley , Clogher, blues? Incase you have been absent for the last 60 odd years we arent entirely blessed with "county" grounds"
Cooley, Blues, Clogher, they are as about as suitable as a Hockey pitch would be for National league games!
Bring the games back to Drogheda, better facilities, parking toilets, bigger stand and yes you will probably have to park along the old M1 but at least there is a footpath and you don't have to walk along the road. Ardee is not suitable for crowds of over 250 people.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 01/02/2022 13:41:15    2397704

Replying To joej:  "Cooley, Blues, Clogher, they are as about as suitable as a Hockey pitch would be for National league games!
Bring the games back to Drogheda, better facilities, parking toilets, bigger stand and yes you will probably have to park along the old M1 but at least there is a footpath and you don't have to walk along the road. Ardee is not suitable for crowds of over 250 people."
Exactly my point, Ardee is probably the best club ground in the county its built as a club ground, theres parking the same as drogheda if you park the town side and footpaths the whole way to the ground. Toilets in drogheda are far from ideal as i remember its poor on the bank side and portaloos on the stand side. its up to the county board to invest a bit of money in ardee if they want to use it as a county grounds, portaloos the same as drogheda and a simple footpath half way around the field doesnt cost an arm and a leg. Also notify fans to park the town side as theres footpaths. Drogheda is not fit for purpose ask any county player who has played in it in the last 20 years, they all hated playing in it hence our poor home record every year, poor dressing rooms and the cooley mountains has less humps and bumps.

cameroosh (Louth) - Posts: 72 - 01/02/2022 15:06:53    2397743

Replying To cameroosh:  "Exactly my point, Ardee is probably the best club ground in the county its built as a club ground, theres parking the same as drogheda if you park the town side and footpaths the whole way to the ground. Toilets in drogheda are far from ideal as i remember its poor on the bank side and portaloos on the stand side. its up to the county board to invest a bit of money in ardee if they want to use it as a county grounds, portaloos the same as drogheda and a simple footpath half way around the field doesnt cost an arm and a leg. Also notify fans to park the town side as theres footpaths. Drogheda is not fit for purpose ask any county player who has played in it in the last 20 years, they all hated playing in it hence our poor home record every year, poor dressing rooms and the cooley mountains has less humps and bumps."
Ask the CB to notify fans to park on the town side, what f..... planet are you on? And what do we do with travelling fans, let me guess, we will get a few of the lads with placards on the day of the match and get them to stand at the side of the road in Hunterstown holding up the placards saying" IF YE DONT MIND COULD YOU POSSIBLY PARK DOWN THE TOWN PLEASE" Will ye be off now there's a good boy and finish your homework. The facts are the facts, read my thread. A footpath around the pitch doesn't cost that much?? For the love of God.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 01/02/2022 21:04:27    2397830

Replying To Ollie2:  "Back to the super Rats the home of GAA in Louth."
Kip of a place and horrible pitch

bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 01/02/2022 21:50:22    2397837

Replying To joej:  "Ask the CB to notify fans to park on the town side, what f..... planet are you on? And what do we do with travelling fans, let me guess, we will get a few of the lads with placards on the day of the match and get them to stand at the side of the road in Hunterstown holding up the placards saying" IF YE DONT MIND COULD YOU POSSIBLY PARK DOWN THE TOWN PLEASE" Will ye be off now there's a good boy and finish your homework. The facts are the facts, read my thread. A footpath around the pitch doesn't cost that much?? For the love of God."
This planet, how do other counties do it?? navan, portlaoise, blayney, clones all have traffic management systems in place, albeit might not be great but at least they have them, its not hard putting cones out where you cant park and have a steward directing people, a simple social media post also helps to notify people. At least one of us done the homework easy knowing you didnt, ardees stand holds more than 250 alone so how can it not be fit to hold more than that? half of ardees grounds already has a footpath so how much do you think it would cost to put one in for the other half? im sure there is plenty of football mad construction companies who would do it for a decent price. Also where do you think people are going to park on game day in the new stadium? on the side of the main road i would think like most other ptiches in the country. if county games arent in Drogheda or Ardee where do you recmommend we play them?

cameroosh (Louth) - Posts: 72 - 02/02/2022 12:32:47    2397923

Replying To bennypoor:  "Kip of a place and horrible pitch"
Benny thats the Blues pitch that you are thinking of. The super Rats is a lovely place and has a grand pitch.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 02/02/2022 12:56:48    2397930

Replying To bennypoor:  "Kip of a place and horrible pitch"
Ah Beeny, agreed the pitch could be better but it's far from a kip.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 02/02/2022 14:16:22    2397960

Lads are there any changes to the team against Longford, going to make my way over to Pearse Park. We are definitely capable of winning this one imo. What do you think. Few mistakes cost us the last day. Need to get the show on the road as Ardee is no fortress. Think we will get the job done this time.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 714 - 02/02/2022 18:15:09    2398018

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Lads are there any changes to the team against Longford, going to make my way over to Pearse Park. We are definitely capable of winning this one imo. What do you think. Few mistakes cost us the last day. Need to get the show on the road as Ardee is no fortress. Think we will get the job done this time."
Yes, did we create 7 goals chances, I never seen so many missed though! I think some of the other guys will be fit and we can take Longford, Louth by 4.

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 03/02/2022 14:21:39    2398135

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Lads are there any changes to the team against Longford, going to make my way over to Pearse Park. We are definitely capable of winning this one imo. What do you think. Few mistakes cost us the last day. Need to get the show on the road as Ardee is no fortress. Think we will get the job done this time."
Could be won and lost on the sideline, Longford with a novice manager at this level while Louth have one at the other end of the scale, if Gallagher is out for Longford we could struggle

keepitlit (Longford) - Posts: 33 - 03/02/2022 15:36:26    2398160

Replying To Ollie2:  "Benny thats the Blues pitch that you are thinking of. The super Rats is a lovely place and has a grand pitch."
Sorry ollie I always get them to mixed up I purpose we move all the intercounty league games to stonetown reopen the swinging Diddy

bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 03/02/2022 22:04:29    2398243

Replying To bennypoor:  "Sorry ollie I always get them to mixed up I purpose we move all the intercounty league games to stonetown reopen the swinging Diddy"
Dont worry Benny. All is forgiven. The next time that you are in Drawda, pop into the Bull and say hello to me.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 04/02/2022 17:47:28    2398340

Replying To bennypoor:  "Sorry ollie I always get them to mixed up I purpose we move all the intercounty league games to stonetown reopen the swinging Diddy"
Look what it did for Maheracloone

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 04/02/2022 21:46:45    2398361

Played the positive football today. Longford living off our mistakes. Same as last week. If we can cut that out and just pass the ball in front of our players we would have been in for a few more goals. Really are better than this in my opinion, but it's just not happening yet. Longford almost stole it in the end and we would then be on Zero poit.... hard to watch and ref spoiled it.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 714 - 06/02/2022 19:49:31    2398676