Louth GAA thread

Huge gulf in physical conditioning of Kildare versus Louth. We were being knocked off the ball too easily and running into tackles and coming out without the ball. Disappointed our defence never laid a hand on a Kildare forward all day. Anyway, at least we know what the standard is now that we need to reach over the next 5 years. Mulroy is the only player from the Louth team that would make the Kildare team. Kildare have a great chance of going the whole way in Leinster this year. Best of luck to them.

Headtheball1 (Louth) - Posts: 66 - 01/05/2022 19:47:00    2414469

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Is Kildare that good? I didn't expect Louth to win but didn't expect Louth to beaten this badly? After all ye will both be in Division 2 in 2023. Maybe just an off day for Louth. Thought it would be competitive."
Kildare were very unlucky to be relegated. Drew with Kerry, beat Dublin and Monaghan. Today simply highlighted the gulf between Division 1 and 3

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 01/05/2022 20:27:57    2414481

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Kildare were very unlucky to be relegated. Drew with Kerry, beat Dublin and Monaghan. Today simply highlighted the gulf between Division 1 and 3"
Agree with Headtheball
Too many times we carried the ball into tackles, only to get shouldered off the it, a bit of nerves on shoe too, also we won very little of the breaking ball. We lacked a bit of belief on Sunday, I thought we would give them a better game than we did. The weather did play a big part and we defo prefer the hard dry ground. I was thinking a 4 or 5 pt defeat but boy was I wrong. Its a massive step up in class but to be fair its been a long season for this group of lads and I cannot have any real complaints. We rarely do anything in the qualifiers so I'm not expecting too much there either except a trip away to Kerry in Tralee hopefully.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 03/05/2022 11:20:46    2414507

Louth are not physical enough or fast enough to match a Division 1 team. The breaking from defense is fine against opposition of a lower quality, but the way Kildare were set-up, meant that Louth were not going to break through tackles, out-run them, or kick long... so the outcome was pretty inevitable. The slight revival at the start of the second half was encouraging, but the soft penalty ended that. Although Kildare were a lot better than Louth, I thought Gough gave harsh decisions against Louth, the penalty was soft, the square-ball didn't look like a square ball, both yellows for Grimes were harsh, and the throw-ball for the kick-out when a Louth player was running out of the circle in the opposite direction of the ball was likely to placate the referee assessors in the stand.

Setanta11 (Louth) - Posts: 42 - 03/05/2022 11:57:24    2414526

We met a very decent Kildare team there better than I expected anyway, it was an eye opener for us and shows were we need to get to. First 15 minutes game was lost really with the pace and accuracy of Kildare. On the positive side the lads didn't give up and with a bit of luck could have been within 2 of them with a good comeback. Didn't think that was a square ball at all for the disallowed goal. Wasn't sure about the soft penalty either, but that was a six points swing there that really ended it. Lads will be sore after that one and Tommy was really targeted after his acting debut. No protection from the ref there either. Anyway it was a great year for us considering and we were always going to meet a really good team eventually, Well done to the lads for a fun year with league final and Fermanagh game as highlights for me. Up the Wee County.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 03/05/2022 12:58:35    2414569

The ref was poor and we missed two goals and a few frees in the first half which did not help, they are about 6 pts a better team.

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 04/05/2022 10:54:51    2414810

Replying To MR2:  "The ref was poor and we missed two goals and a few frees in the first half which did not help, they are about 6 pts a better team."
The umpires were poor as well. Some of your wides were actually points!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 04/05/2022 11:26:53    2414814

Replying To St.Conleth:  "The umpires were poor as well. Some of your wides were actually points!"
One of ours was too!
True to say Gough can be an erratic ref.. in my opinion, can't predict him and he's so inconsistent with other inter county refs. Don't think a Meath ref in general was right for this clash

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 04/05/2022 13:28:51    2414849

Replying To MR2:  "The ref was poor and we missed two goals and a few frees in the first half which did not help, they are about 6 pts a better team."
Louth were light years behind Kildare and were actually flattered by the half time scoreline

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 04/05/2022 17:02:45    2414903

Men against boys. That was a real wake up call. Fair play to Kildare. I hope they win Leinster this year. Wee will probably draw Tyrone in the qualifiers.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 04/05/2022 19:40:20    2414935

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Louth were light years behind Kildare and were actually flattered by the half time scoreline"
That may be true, but the Dubs will bring your inflated ego back to earth with a bang!

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 05/05/2022 13:46:24    2415054

Replying To joej:  "That may be true, but the Dubs will bring your inflated ego back to earth with a bang!"
Possibly! For Leinsters sake let's hope not

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 05/05/2022 16:10:01    2415098

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Possibly! For Leinsters sake let's hope not"
That reply was for Lilywhite Gael, not a big fan of lads trying to rub salt in the wounds. Meath are no good so it will be Kildare v Dublin final. I think the dubs will just shade it tbh.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 05/05/2022 17:39:02    2415118

Replying To joej:  "That may be true, but the Dubs will bring your inflated ego back to earth with a bang!"
Whatever about Dublin, we'll find out later but my original point regarding Louth stands

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 05/05/2022 18:58:58    2415134

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Louth were light years behind Kildare and were actually flattered by the half time scoreline"
How, when we missed 2-3? Did see you missing goals or points?

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 06/05/2022 15:14:39    2415295

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Whatever about Dublin, we'll find out later but my original point regarding Louth stands"
What have you won?

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 06/05/2022 16:12:43    2415310

I think Louth will always be a poor GAA County unfortunately.

The standard of football is just not there, grand beating Limerick (who are a huge hurling county) and Carlow but any sort of step-up and get hammered.

It's a pity because they have 1 or 2 decent footballers every few years.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 06/05/2022 20:57:11    2415352

Replying To MR2:  "What have you won?"
A place in the Leinster semi-final. Doesn't take from the gulf between Kildare and Louth as evidenced last Sunday. With the underage development work of the last 10+ years within the county really begining to pay off on a consistent basis at minor and importantly at U20 the gulf between Kildare and Dublin with the rest in Leinster is only going to grow in the coming years unless those counties put similar work in. I have many critiques woth our county board but this is one area they have got right. With a serious management team in place at senior level the fruits of that underage work will soon pay dividends at senior level. Hawkfield centre of excellence where our Seniors are preparing for a Leinster SFC semi final, Minors for a Leinster MFC and U20s for an All-Ireland Final is an exciting place to be with three dynamic management teams in place

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 08/05/2022 07:37:00    2415487

Replying To MR2:  "How, when we missed 2-3? Did see you missing goals or points?"
Couda, wuda, shuda doesn't cut the mustard in championship

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 08/05/2022 09:56:24    2415498

Any update on the new ground ? It seems to have gone very quiet all of a sudden.
A friend of mine drove past the site the other day and he said " little or nothing " done so far.

Is this right ?

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 292 - 09/05/2022 15:50:49    2416019