Carlow GAA thread

Replying To carlowman:  "I presume you had a second look at what you typed before you pressed the POST button !
A lot of points made - the key point being the necessity for skill attainment at an early stage and the promotion of the games at local school and club level by coaches intent on maintaining the integrity of the game. That is the main thrust of your post as far as I can see.
Little doubt that skill attainment for hurling must start at a very early age and be fostered at club and school level for success later at late adolescent and adult level.
As for school involvement- it seems to.me that primary level involvement in hurling is quite small in comparison to Kilkenny and Laois. In Carlow a.young person will play about 10% of what they play in kilkenny and about 40% of what is played in Laois.
At second level the same is the case with a handful of schools putting any effort into training and the playing of school hurling games.
But many teachers will say- it's not their job and their job is to complete the curriculum and not to promote hurling ! So a.massive.challenge there.

As for the messers and current coaching styles, well that is the way the game has evolved unfortunately !"
I haven't posted here in a very long time so, the same old rhetoric is put out there every year about the state of hurling in Carlow, hurling in the county is above average considering there is only a handful of clubs carrying the can, to raise the profile of Carlow county hurling is a big ask, through time and bit by bit it can be done. There's not a lot between Carlow, Westmeath and Laois, and a puck of a ball further back is Kildare and Wicklow.
I wouldn't be inclined to bring percentages into school involvement, at that age it's all a bit scattered and we don't have the base that Kilkenny have to perform on, along with that hurling in most counties is secondary so we are not alone there. As for teachers saying their job is to complete the curriculum and not to promote hurling, ok they could go that extra mile but I think once they complete the curriculum that in itself is promoting the game somewhat.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 23/08/2022 20:21:57    2438485

Replying To Scallioneater:  "I haven't posted here in a very long time so, the same old rhetoric is put out there every year about the state of hurling in Carlow, hurling in the county is above average considering there is only a handful of clubs carrying the can, to raise the profile of Carlow county hurling is a big ask, through time and bit by bit it can be done. There's not a lot between Carlow, Westmeath and Laois, and a puck of a ball further back is Kildare and Wicklow.
I wouldn't be inclined to bring percentages into school involvement, at that age it's all a bit scattered and we don't have the base that Kilkenny have to perform on, along with that hurling in most counties is secondary so we are not alone there. As for teachers saying their job is to complete the curriculum and not to promote hurling, ok they could go that extra mile but I think once they complete the curriculum that in itself is promoting the game somewhat."
I'd fully agree that hurling is above average in the county for the amount of clubs. I think it's a real pity that a town the size of tullow are no longer putting out teams. Someone told me that a lot of the players have gone to Burrin Rangers but considering the size of the town I find that a bit ridiculous. In relation to another poster I'm not sure about a carlow combined team at secondary level anymore but don't think it's happening. I know Borris VC usually field strong teams and other schools in the county are putting in a great effort. I'm probably a dreamer but I really feel if we as a county can push slightly more big things can happen for the game here.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 78 - 24/08/2022 15:19:08    2438572

Replying To Unusedsub:  "I'd fully agree that hurling is above average in the county for the amount of clubs. I think it's a real pity that a town the size of tullow are no longer putting out teams. Someone told me that a lot of the players have gone to Burrin Rangers but considering the size of the town I find that a bit ridiculous. In relation to another poster I'm not sure about a carlow combined team at secondary level anymore but don't think it's happening. I know Borris VC usually field strong teams and other schools in the county are putting in a great effort. I'm probably a dreamer but I really feel if we as a county can push slightly more big things can happen for the game here."
These last 2 years hurling has taken precedence in the calendar with football played after the hurling. This means that hurlers get the better sod on which to play .
Thus has NOT been popular with footballers but for hurling to continue its slow improvement at county level and improve the numbers playing I think that all clubs need to bite the bullet and make hurling first on the calendar every year- accept it and move on m from there.
Hurling has played second fiddle to football for far too long and its about time that hurling got its due reward and is given the prime.months fir the foreseeable future.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 24/08/2022 16:06:13    2438582

Who are the standout footballers so far that should be brought into the county panel?

CW88 (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 13/09/2022 17:36:07    2440577

Replying To CW88:  "Who are the standout footballers so far that should be brought into the county panel?"
Haven't seen all the games but Ciaran Moran is back and playing well. Donaghy Murphy MLR excellent young player

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 14/09/2022 18:34:14    2440696

Replying To CW88:  "Who are the standout footballers so far that should be brought into the county panel?"
Jonah Dunne and John Murphy have been very good for Tinryland, Niall Lowry and Conor Brennan also worth a mention. Brandon Kelly for Rathvilly. As mentioned, Ciaran Moran for Pal has made a big difference.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 16/09/2022 13:17:47    2440888

Senior football is down to the last 4 now, it's anyone's really ,brendan Murphy is in terrific form for rathvilly and might be the difference, very interesting semi final pairings, both games should attract big crowds.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 18/09/2022 20:41:22    2441087

Could go anyway really.

Pal hammered Rathvilly only a few weeks back, but thing will be very different on Saturday. Find this one very hard to call.

MLR and Tinryland both have great opportunities to reach a SFC final/ Tinryland will need to limit MLR's goal threat, as they have been banging them in lately and teams have struggled to defend the long ball into Eddie Byrne and Chirs Nolan. MLR won't want Tinryland keeping the ball for long phases and will need to pressure and foce turnovers.

Eire Og were a a disaster it has to be said. Major regression since Joe Murphy left. Lads are missing, but they have depth some clubs could only dream of. The play of their forwards yesterday was staggeringly bad.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 19/09/2022 08:14:24    2441114

Interesting and exciting prospects for clubs involved this weekend... all 4 will believe they can win the final and get through their respective opponents this weekend. Should be 2 very good matches this weekend.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 20/09/2022 18:30:34    2441352

Replying To carlowman:  "Interesting and exciting prospects for clubs involved this weekend... all 4 will believe they can win the final and get through their respective opponents this weekend. Should be 2 very good matches this weekend."
Hey,let's not lose the run of ourselves, give a guy and pair of runners you can play gaelic football, most teams are playing these systems which make for pure dross.Most forwards cant kick a point , win their own ball not to mention think outside of the system,so don't be surprised if no more than 15 points is score between the 2 games,rather watch paint dry.

scubydu (Carlow) - Posts: 16 - 24/09/2022 16:55:48    2441726

Replying To scubydu:  "Hey,let's not lose the run of ourselves, give a guy and pair of runners you can play gaelic football, most teams are playing these systems which make for pure dross.Most forwards cant kick a point , win their own ball not to mention think outside of the system,so don't be surprised if no more than 15 points is score between the 2 games,rather watch paint dry."
There were 25 points scored last night… in the first game… you're welcome.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 591 - 25/09/2022 09:04:01    2441759

Tinryland vs Pal in the SFC final this weekend. Would have got great odds on that at the start of the year! Both teams deserving to be there. Pal beating Rathvilly twice, Tinryland EO in the group stage.

Think it's going to be very tight. 12/13 points will probably be enough. Both teams like to maintain possession and get bodies back. It'll come down to the quality of forwards for me, and Pal I feel have more lads that can take a score from around the 40.

How much Tinryland can get out of Broderick the big question. Was excellent against MLR, changed the game for them. Can he go the full 60? Or is bringing him in at half time and finishing stronger the way to go?

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 28/09/2022 08:42:03    2442098

Replying To TaosHum:  "Tinryland vs Pal in the SFC final this weekend. Would have got great odds on that at the start of the year! Both teams deserving to be there. Pal beating Rathvilly twice, Tinryland EO in the group stage.

Think it's going to be very tight. 12/13 points will probably be enough. Both teams like to maintain possession and get bodies back. It'll come down to the quality of forwards for me, and Pal I feel have more lads that can take a score from around the 40.

How much Tinryland can get out of Broderick the big question. Was excellent against MLR, changed the game for them. Can he go the full 60? Or is bringing him in at half time and finishing stronger the way to go?"
No doubt that both teams deserve top billing on Sunday. Both have proved that they deserve to be there.
Who will win ? Hard to say. Yes Paul B made a big difference when introduced and he was man of the match and totally changed the outcome with greT scores and distribution. Was interesting to see where he actually played.
Pal have good forwards and have pace aplenty coming from defence.
Tinryland must attack with confidence and a lot will depend on what team is picked and what players are.left.out.
Will John Murphy be left on the bench again ? He was a vital cog against Rangers.
If Tinryland sit back I think Pal will.punish them.
Tinryland have good players and have the ability but will a final spook them ?
Plenty to ponder!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 29/09/2022 17:15:08    2442259

Co senior final.tomorrow but a novel pairing with St Mullins and Asca as well tomorrow... and for today Fenagh and Myshall and Leighlinbridge versus favourites Clonmore. Hard to.pick the intermediate and Jun C but Clonmore look favourite to reach intermediate status.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 01/10/2022 12:34:21    2442403

Congrats to Pal. Better team on the day. Fair play to Tinryland for coming back and putting them under real pressure at the end. They had Pal rattled, especially after the sending off, but Pal steadied the ship and were able to see it through.

Pal's ability to break at pace from the back was the difference. Had the finishers in O'Neill, Kenny and Crowley. I don't mind Tinryland's slow build up play and it got them this far, but they just don't have the same quality in the forwards as Pal.

I wouldn't expect Pal to have much success in Leinster, they concede too many goals for me, but hoping I'm wrong.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 03/10/2022 08:56:10    2442580

Was at the Senior relegation match saturday evening with my girlfriend. Im not a local so we went to support her brother. Very negative match. Oldleighlin had two sweepers at one stage. Was side to side from both teams. Unfortunately came out on the wrong side of it. If ballinabrannagh got a good lad in incharge with a good style of play, there are footballers there to make a decent team !!

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 03/10/2022 11:31:07    2442611

I was at all the finals over the weekend, clonmore lucky to get a draw at the end, some very wayward shooting and leighlin were set up very well too, replay should be interesting, fenagh demolished naomh eoin in the intermediate, the display of the weekend, a very young side that won't be far off a senior title over the next few years. The senior game was a bit disappointing pal were the better team by some distance even if the final score didn't reflect that, asca beaten in junior b but ascas best years are ahead of them, some great young talent coming through there, they won 1b in the minor last night which is a serious achievement for a small club. Ballinabranna gone back to intermediate and might stay there for a while, whilst o'hanrahans are now junior,

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 04/10/2022 11:11:19    2442750

Replying To Barrowsider:  "I was at all the finals over the weekend, clonmore lucky to get a draw at the end, some very wayward shooting and leighlin were set up very well too, replay should be interesting, fenagh demolished naomh eoin in the intermediate, the display of the weekend, a very young side that won't be far off a senior title over the next few years. The senior game was a bit disappointing pal were the better team by some distance even if the final score didn't reflect that, asca beaten in junior b but ascas best years are ahead of them, some great young talent coming through there, they won 1b in the minor last night which is a serious achievement for a small club. Ballinabranna gone back to intermediate and might stay there for a while, whilst o'hanrahans are now junior,"
Clonmore will be very disappointed with their display . They never got going and were most people's cert for the weekend. I thought Askea never really threatened Mullins. They had loads of possession but never capitalised on same. Senior final was a huge disappointment. Pal at least showed they wanted to play football and had forwards who had an eye and capacity to score. Tinryland got to a certain part of their attack and had no idea what yo do then. This continual passing of the ball in an arch shape might be alright for one or two plays but the the continual strategy of this meant the 1st half was a bore tbh. Only for the sending off Pal should have won by a lot more. It will be a close game between them and Balto/St pats.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 04/10/2022 14:29:59    2442786

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "Clonmore will be very disappointed with their display . They never got going and were most people's cert for the weekend. I thought Askea never really threatened Mullins. They had loads of possession but never capitalised on same. Senior final was a huge disappointment. Pal at least showed they wanted to play football and had forwards who had an eye and capacity to score. Tinryland got to a certain part of their attack and had no idea what yo do then. This continual passing of the ball in an arch shape might be alright for one or two plays but the the continual strategy of this meant the 1st half was a bore tbh. Only for the sending off Pal should have won by a lot more. It will be a close game between them and Balto/St pats."
It's often the case that teams that set up so defensively have no clue how to break it down on the other side, tinryland moved the ball far to slowly which had worked in other games but conceding the early goals wasn't part of the plan.

Yeah I think clonmore will be very disappointed with their performance, it will be interesting to see was it a blip or can leighlinbridge push on Saturday

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 04/10/2022 21:34:08    2442828

Replying To Barrowsider:  "It's often the case that teams that set up so defensively have no clue how to break it down on the other side, tinryland moved the ball far to slowly which had worked in other games but conceding the early goals wasn't part of the plan.

Yeah I think clonmore will be very disappointed with their performance, it will be interesting to see was it a blip or can leighlinbridge push on Saturday"
Tinryland certainly aren't a team for the purists, but this is a team that two years ago would have been relegated had it not been for Covid, so there's been huge improvement since then and that's ultimately down to the management and how they are setup.

Won 4 games this year, which is more than Rathvilly and Eire Og combined. I think the level of criticism is way over the top for what they accomplished this year.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 05/10/2022 17:04:47    2442911