Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Interesting to read Jim's column in the Irish Times over the weekend about Galway. More interesting was a comment underneath the link to the article which appeared to suggest that Jim has been helping Galway out at times this year in their preparations! I don't know how true that is. I know he definitely took a few sessions with them in the past though and himself and Joyce have their I.T Tralee history.

I would put Galway on a similar level to ourselves in terms of talent, but like us too often flatter to deceive. It looks like they've discovered a winning formula this year. Lets be honest they were a five point better team than Armagh the other day only to almost inexplicably lose it. If they do beat Derry it wouldn't be a shock and who knows what can happen in a final.

It would be cruel irony for Mayo fans, after a decade of disappointment in Croke Park, if their great Western rivals suddenyl rocked up out of nowhere and won Sam. That's sport I guess.

For ourselves I do think a fresh voice and new ideas is needed. It's unlikely to be Jim. I know that. But we are doomed to repeated failure if we just carry on as we are. This isn't intended as a criticism of Declan either per se. I just think management cycles last 4 years max in general before things turn stale. There are exceptions of course like Cody in Kilkenny, Gavin in Dublin. There is a long time until county pre-season and McKenna Cup. An ideal timeframe for new management to get plans together and evryone on board."
A big problem is that we don't have many internal options in terms of management, there hasn't been successful underage teams since Declan Bonner won the Ulster U21.

Looking at the Club scene, who really stands out with sustained success?
Rory Kavanagh is looking like a potential future manager, worked with County underage at Buncrana Cup level and has done well with St Eunans so far. Is he ready for the Donegal Seniors? Possibly, but he probably needs more time in charge of Eunans to develop as a manager.

Martin Regan has done well with Naomh Conaill, consistently challenging, but is that down to him or the Club structures put in place 10-15 years ago?

Regardless of who the manager is, I think Michael Boyle should be part of the County backroom team.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 04/07/2022 13:46:29    2429635

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "This issue is not just confined to Donegal, it is prevalent in a lot of counties. The conclusion alot of supporters reach is that it is the manager's fault. It's as though the problem can't be attributed to the players, maybe this is due to the fact it is easier to get rid of the manager more readily than the players. The GAA world is following soccer in firing manager when success continously eludes a county or isn't forthcoming quick enough. But greater examination needs to be carried before sacking a manager as to: are the players somewhat at fault or maybe even more at fault than the manager."
Totally agree. It's always the manager. It's bout time people realise that when players cross the white line that they should not be exempt from criticism. In fairness most of the criticism towards managers are coming from fools on line, who wudnt know how to kick a ball..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 04/07/2022 14:44:28    2429661

Yes internally there is no real standout candidate. Has Martin McHugh's time passed? He's still active on the scene and there's no doubt he knows Donegal football inside out. I wonder would a management ticket consisting of himself and a young, modern, well regarded coach like Michael Boyle be a runner?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 04/07/2022 15:00:58    2429669

Replying To rorysboys:  "How come you don't get, that we're not good enough. Your ranting and raving about how good we are. As I said we have a lot of players of the one level but we don't have a Karl lacey. The Mc gees or Murphy..I see a few posters outside Donegal are agreeing with me:. I feel if bonner doesn't remain that we could be on a slippy road.. my opinion is he'll probably go but hopefully I'm wrong. Donegal need him."
We are already on the way down this past 3 years with our current management team.
One or two posters agree with you, and its like someone followed you on Instagram, you really are a child.
Thankfully most donegal posters understand the game and believe we are much better that what we have achieved under our current management team.
And in any job, should it be soccer or gaa, the buck stops with the management. Especially when he has had 5 years and we are actually going backwards.
Do the right thing management, walk away and give the players a new voice to follow next season.
Leave egos at the door and think about Donegal football and hand in your resignation.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 04/07/2022 17:25:11    2429715

A lot of questions on here around the quality of players and whether good enough or not. I see it a bit of it coming back to team set up and way we playing. I think our attacking game and defensive game don't compliment each other. A lot of our attack is running the ball with a lot of incision coming from half back line and most defenders get very high up field in attack and it doesn't lend itself easy to recover to defend when we lose the ball.
I think in a lot of games ( bar Armagh qualifier game) teams were happy to let Patton kick to corner back and we worked it up slowly to midfield (4-5 handpasses) which gave teams time to defend against us. They seem happy to let certain of our backs have ball and to double up on our better (3-4) players that can do damage. When teams pressed our corner backs on kick out ( like Mayo in league second half, Armagh) we found it had very hard to run it out of a physical press and got hemmed. I think our attacking plan we have been to reliant on patiently running it up to allow defenders up field to create overloads and get ball into hands of long shooters eventually to get shot away. If it goes wide, we have a decent offensive press and could win kick out. In many cases the defenders like Ward/ McMenamin/ McFadden Ferry would get ahead of the ball which leaves space to attack into if we lose it. I recall being on stand side in Ballybofey in league game v Tyrone, Paddy McB giving out on few occasions for a few defenders running into his space and bringing their man tracking them into his area for added congestion.
We end up going across midfield/halfback line lateral handpassing with main threat Eoin Ban or Mogan coming of shoulder at pace to create something. This also affects Ryan as teams know we looking to get him on ball to break line or win free but best man marker literally holds him up as we go over and back knowing that if he doesn't allow him touch ball then good chance of turnover. Its very predictable. Against good teams or teams that mirror us, the longer we in that stalemate pattern of laterally going across looking for opening the less likely we seem to get a score and risk of turnover increases ( like Mourinho let other team have it until they make mistake) and after having the ball for 5 -6 minutes crowd impatient and if don't score it's a bigger psychological advantage to hit a score off us within 1- 2minutes then. In Ulster final, the longer those periods of possession it was more shovel the ball on to avoid a mistake rather than backing ourselves to take player on. I think that's where mental toughness questions comes in, we give those small wins to teams in puts us on backfoot. We have small number of players with physical power to break line, some with pace but that running game wont always get you through.

When we lose the ball, I see the way we get back to recover more chaotic players sprint back to own 45 or tag closest man. There is a lot of communication needed and a lot of things need to go right to make sure that works all the time, if someone switches off or error, it's a certain score, we certainly give up more clear cut goal chances than before. This saps confidence. That's were id like cover and bit more edge bit of dark arts to slow play down to allow recover shape. Listening to many coaches its harder to defend running back to goal as players find to harder to see danger behind them. With defenders out of position they have big yardage to make up to get back to face the ball up and good kicking teams will have that ball in FF line before we can set up. It also creates scenarios where you have maybe Murphy as last player back ( Dublin goal v us in league this year) as he sprinting back from midfield to provide cover but in chaos he ends up being first man back to pick up nearest man to goal as good forwards vacate area when man running in, when top teams their 3 and 6 generally will have that area covered at all costs. If you look at Kerry, Morley gives them the shape and cover and really engage teams now when they enter Kerry half. We need a vocal defensive leader that allows other half backs go when time is right and sit in at times and demand players cover back. Derry seem comfortable in what they doing defensively and then teams builds on that. I rate Patton as a keeper excellent kick out but would like him to be more commanding under high ball and demanding of defenders and feel he'll develop that instinct for seeing where danger will come from the more he plays at that level. He could do with a strong FB in front as well.

We also very passive in defence, tracking runners but don't seek contact or create 2-3 v 1s ( this used to energise crowd) to turnover opportunities as we like to track runner at all costs. Ive seen players run past man on ball to track assigned runner. Again communication would have to be nailed on in all times not to allow a player away. We seem to be content to zonally clog up around the 45 and have team kick low percentage shot ( hopefully for a wide). We also lack an Eamon McGee type taller defender for aerial threat. I watched the first Armagh game last week again and noticed the goal Rian O Neill had disallowed at start of second half in first game was almost carbon copy of Grugan drilled high ball with different players. Teams manipulating us by taking McCole's man outfield and try to create mismatches inside.
This also takes away from attacking game as we more risk averse as a result in not wanting that turn over as feeling is well be hit on break for goals and focus is not give it away at all costs rather than having confidence to kick it in knowing there would be cover if it goes wrong. I think if we have the defensive structure right we could take more risks in right side of field and its not end of world if kick 2-3 into Murphy if we have players back. Id like to see us give young McColgan, Morrison, Grant and Tobin a try with maybe McFaddenFerry ( if can tighten up on frees he gives away as a man marker rather than as half back) or in form McMenamin in other corner. I know McCole did well at 3 in most games this year but I think he would be a better 6 longer term with athleticism that would allow Eoin Ban to go to 5 freedom up wing if we had a better option at 3 ( I think this still an area of worry). I'd like to see with Ryan, Aaron Doherty and Paeder Mogan where we see them playing, as temptation is just to place a wing back to accommodate as have plenty of other forwards when we may need to balance team to have more confidence at back to build from. It could be a case of having a very attacking bench as the trade off for team with 1-2 more players that will mind the house or add physicality.
On the Ulster final defeat and recovering from it, I used to hear from an old neighbour man that any year you get to an ulster final is a good year, if you win ulster it's a very good year. I always smile at it but think there is something in it, we place a lot of weight on winning it and if we don't its glossed over that we been in 10-12 Ulster finals so we happy enough to get day out in Clones and fall back on Ulster being hard to win. When AI series comes around unless we Ulster champions we don't seem to challenge. Its back to setting the bar, we set it at Ulster Champions or burst not AI level and we wonder why we cannot make inroads to AI semi final. With new structure, we will have to be able to move on to AI series without that baggage if beat in Ulster.
A few adjustments to approach and set up could unlock this team. I think its needs fresh voice could help but there is a meeting this week on it so we should know more. Id like to see maybe Lacey /Michael Boyle back involved with seniors in some capacity with maybe Kavanagh get the u20s.

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 04/07/2022 19:23:03    2429733

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yes internally there is no real standout candidate. Has Martin McHugh's time passed? He's still active on the scene and there's no doubt he knows Donegal football inside out. I wonder would a management ticket consisting of himself and a young, modern, well regarded coach like Michael Boyle be a runner?"
Nah I don't think Martin McHugh at this point has it, maybe if he took on the Minors and U20's and won silverware at each age group, we could say he is back in the swing of things. But I don't think at this point he could walk in cold and manage the County Seniors, perhaps with a serious backroom team he could, but I'm not so sure.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 05/07/2022 09:31:30    2429778

I think it's clear to everyone we need new management and it's a rebuilding project at this stage that will take a few years to accomplish after the way we have regressed since 2020, Bonner really should never have been reappointed I think that's clear to everyone now, again nothing personal against him but his race is run, time to try something else.
Who are the candidates? do we look outside the county? maybe Martin McHugh along with a younger manager could work out well, he certainly knows football inside out,
This has been dragged out for no good reason I can see other than Bonner was hoping everyone would move on, nothing to see here, he hasn't been seen or heard from in weeks, no comment after limping out against Armagh, it's simply not good enough, the man has to go this week. I'd say 90%+ of Donegal supporters want him gone at this stage. The players and supporters deserve better.
Other counties get on with things, what's wrong in Donegal that it has to be dragged out this long?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 05/07/2022 10:03:46    2429784

Replying To DonegalDanny92:  "A lot of questions on here around the quality of players and whether good enough or not. I see it a bit of it coming back to team set up and way we playing. I think our attacking game and defensive game don't compliment each other. A lot of our attack is running the ball with a lot of incision coming from half back line and most defenders get very high up field in attack and it doesn't lend itself easy to recover to defend when we lose the ball.
I think in a lot of games ( bar Armagh qualifier game) teams were happy to let Patton kick to corner back and we worked it up slowly to midfield (4-5 handpasses) which gave teams time to defend against us. They seem happy to let certain of our backs have ball and to double up on our better (3-4) players that can do damage. When teams pressed our corner backs on kick out ( like Mayo in league second half, Armagh) we found it had very hard to run it out of a physical press and got hemmed. I think our attacking plan we have been to reliant on patiently running it up to allow defenders up field to create overloads and get ball into hands of long shooters eventually to get shot away. If it goes wide, we have a decent offensive press and could win kick out. In many cases the defenders like Ward/ McMenamin/ McFadden Ferry would get ahead of the ball which leaves space to attack into if we lose it. I recall being on stand side in Ballybofey in league game v Tyrone, Paddy McB giving out on few occasions for a few defenders running into his space and bringing their man tracking them into his area for added congestion.
We end up going across midfield/halfback line lateral handpassing with main threat Eoin Ban or Mogan coming of shoulder at pace to create something. This also affects Ryan as teams know we looking to get him on ball to break line or win free but best man marker literally holds him up as we go over and back knowing that if he doesn't allow him touch ball then good chance of turnover. Its very predictable. Against good teams or teams that mirror us, the longer we in that stalemate pattern of laterally going across looking for opening the less likely we seem to get a score and risk of turnover increases ( like Mourinho let other team have it until they make mistake) and after having the ball for 5 -6 minutes crowd impatient and if don't score it's a bigger psychological advantage to hit a score off us within 1- 2minutes then. In Ulster final, the longer those periods of possession it was more shovel the ball on to avoid a mistake rather than backing ourselves to take player on. I think that's where mental toughness questions comes in, we give those small wins to teams in puts us on backfoot. We have small number of players with physical power to break line, some with pace but that running game wont always get you through.

When we lose the ball, I see the way we get back to recover more chaotic players sprint back to own 45 or tag closest man. There is a lot of communication needed and a lot of things need to go right to make sure that works all the time, if someone switches off or error, it's a certain score, we certainly give up more clear cut goal chances than before. This saps confidence. That's were id like cover and bit more edge bit of dark arts to slow play down to allow recover shape. Listening to many coaches its harder to defend running back to goal as players find to harder to see danger behind them. With defenders out of position they have big yardage to make up to get back to face the ball up and good kicking teams will have that ball in FF line before we can set up. It also creates scenarios where you have maybe Murphy as last player back ( Dublin goal v us in league this year) as he sprinting back from midfield to provide cover but in chaos he ends up being first man back to pick up nearest man to goal as good forwards vacate area when man running in, when top teams their 3 and 6 generally will have that area covered at all costs. If you look at Kerry, Morley gives them the shape and cover and really engage teams now when they enter Kerry half. We need a vocal defensive leader that allows other half backs go when time is right and sit in at times and demand players cover back. Derry seem comfortable in what they doing defensively and then teams builds on that. I rate Patton as a keeper excellent kick out but would like him to be more commanding under high ball and demanding of defenders and feel he'll develop that instinct for seeing where danger will come from the more he plays at that level. He could do with a strong FB in front as well.

We also very passive in defence, tracking runners but don't seek contact or create 2-3 v 1s ( this used to energise crowd) to turnover opportunities as we like to track runner at all costs. Ive seen players run past man on ball to track assigned runner. Again communication would have to be nailed on in all times not to allow a player away. We seem to be content to zonally clog up around the 45 and have team kick low percentage shot ( hopefully for a wide). We also lack an Eamon McGee type taller defender for aerial threat. I watched the first Armagh game last week again and noticed the goal Rian O Neill had disallowed at start of second half in first game was almost carbon copy of Grugan drilled high ball with different players. Teams manipulating us by taking McCole's man outfield and try to create mismatches inside.
This also takes away from attacking game as we more risk averse as a result in not wanting that turn over as feeling is well be hit on break for goals and focus is not give it away at all costs rather than having confidence to kick it in knowing there would be cover if it goes wrong. I think if we have the defensive structure right we could take more risks in right side of field and its not end of world if kick 2-3 into Murphy if we have players back. Id like to see us give young McColgan, Morrison, Grant and Tobin a try with maybe McFaddenFerry ( if can tighten up on frees he gives away as a man marker rather than as half back) or in form McMenamin in other corner. I know McCole did well at 3 in most games this year but I think he would be a better 6 longer term with athleticism that would allow Eoin Ban to go to 5 freedom up wing if we had a better option at 3 ( I think this still an area of worry). I'd like to see with Ryan, Aaron Doherty and Paeder Mogan where we see them playing, as temptation is just to place a wing back to accommodate as have plenty of other forwards when we may need to balance team to have more confidence at back to build from. It could be a case of having a very attacking bench as the trade off for team with 1-2 more players that will mind the house or add physicality.
On the Ulster final defeat and recovering from it, I used to hear from an old neighbour man that any year you get to an ulster final is a good year, if you win ulster it's a very good year. I always smile at it but think there is something in it, we place a lot of weight on winning it and if we don't its glossed over that we been in 10-12 Ulster finals so we happy enough to get day out in Clones and fall back on Ulster being hard to win. When AI series comes around unless we Ulster champions we don't seem to challenge. Its back to setting the bar, we set it at Ulster Champions or burst not AI level and we wonder why we cannot make inroads to AI semi final. With new structure, we will have to be able to move on to AI series without that baggage if beat in Ulster.
A few adjustments to approach and set up could unlock this team. I think its needs fresh voice could help but there is a meeting this week on it so we should know more. Id like to see maybe Lacey /Michael Boyle back involved with seniors in some capacity with maybe Kavanagh get the u20s."
Great post and the idea of McCole out at 6 is interesting, I would say he doesn't give you much going forward but from what you're saying (and I agree with you) we really need someone to just marshall that centre of defence there and he's mobile enough in my view to do a good job at 6. So then the question becomes the full back line again.

It's hard to chop and change though and hard to justify it, when McCole has done pretty well at full back this year and his first full year at it, it can be hard to justify moving him out the field and leaving that question mark in the FB line again. But it's an idea I'd like to see explored in McKenna Cup or some league games to be honest.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 05/07/2022 10:47:22    2429798

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Great post and the idea of McCole out at 6 is interesting, I would say he doesn't give you much going forward but from what you're saying (and I agree with you) we really need someone to just marshall that centre of defence there and he's mobile enough in my view to do a good job at 6. So then the question becomes the full back line again.

It's hard to chop and change though and hard to justify it, when McCole has done pretty well at full back this year and his first full year at it, it can be hard to justify moving him out the field and leaving that question mark in the FB line again. But it's an idea I'd like to see explored in McKenna Cup or some league games to be honest."
I think McCole will play at 3 for foreseeable due to lack of options and he does a good job there and will get better.

The experience is a good point if you look at our defensive spine its fairly new to that level and will develop with experience. That's probably why id like more structure on defensive side to help.

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 05/07/2022 11:59:07    2429822

Replying To DonegalDanny92:  "I think McCole will play at 3 for foreseeable due to lack of options and he does a good job there and will get better.

The experience is a good point if you look at our defensive spine its fairly new to that level and will develop with experience. That's probably why id like more structure on defensive side to help."
Nowadays as well as being able to do the basic defensive duties backs need to be able to knock the ball over the bar.If they all could do that the opposition would not be able to double mark the so called dangermen.With the exception of Mogan and McHugh we are very poor in that department.I was a bit surprised at Ward this year not getting on the scoreboard because I think he is capable of that.As regards new talent I would say Tobin will be a shoo in for a place next year.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 05/07/2022 12:21:54    2429832

Replying To gunman:  "Nowadays as well as being able to do the basic defensive duties backs need to be able to knock the ball over the bar.If they all could do that the opposition would not be able to double mark the so called dangermen.With the exception of Mogan and McHugh we are very poor in that department.I was a bit surprised at Ward this year not getting on the scoreboard because I think he is capable of that.As regards new talent I would say Tobin will be a shoo in for a place next year."
I 100% agree that any player who makes the Donegal Senior starting line up should have a bit of football in him and should be able to take a score, even if it means fisting a point over. Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Caolan Ward are both capable at scoring points, but not really from distance.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 05/07/2022 14:14:36    2429880

Replying To The keeper:  "We are already on the way down this past 3 years with our current management team.
One or two posters agree with you, and its like someone followed you on Instagram, you really are a child.
Thankfully most donegal posters understand the game and believe we are much better that what we have achieved under our current management team.
And in any job, should it be soccer or gaa, the buck stops with the management. Especially when he has had 5 years and we are actually going backwards.
Do the right thing management, walk away and give the players a new voice to follow next season.
Leave egos at the door and think about Donegal football and hand in your resignation."
I'm glad you said posters and not supporters, your getting sense at last. I think it's the real supporters that should care about Donegal football. People like your self are irrelevant all real supporters all over the country are giving out about people like yourself.. why don't you answer my question on who you want to manage us. There's football outside glenties lad. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 05/07/2022 14:38:52    2429897

I see John Gildea has expressed similar sentiments to a lot of those expressed already here. That we have a more fundamental problem than simply whomever is occupying the managerial hotseat. Namely that our style of play is yesterday's news and has been found out. You could argue that Derry use the same style. But they have the novelty factor, success starved and are fanatically fit. I don't think their style is sustainable longer term.

Gildea reasons that if the county adopt a newer fresh approach, then it will filter down to the club game. We simply have to find a better formula which allows our talented players to flourish. Whether it's Declan Bonner who finds it or someone else it doens't matter. No name should be bigger than what's best for Donegal football.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 05/07/2022 14:40:03    2429898

Our biggest problem is that we have too many similar players who are all good footballers,and this I feel is coming down to the way club football is played in Donegal. The ingredient of any successful team is to have at least 2 or 3 good man markers, a big strong mobile centre half back, two mobile midfielders and at least 3 to 4 scoring forwards.. do we have all of them, no we fall away short. And until we have were going nowhere. I feel the best players bar Stephen Mc brearty and odhran Mac Niallas are on the squad.. doesn't matter what manager comes in he's going to find it difficult. People on here wanting Donegal to play attacking football that's fine but what happens when we play the big teams, we're capable of conceding big score's because we can't have the best of both worlds because we don't have that type of defender at the moment.. the keeper comes on here talking as if we have the most talented team in Ireland I go to games and I've yet to see it, maybe he sees differently watching it on the tv. I'm not running the players down I admire and respect every one of them , I go to games and all I'm saying it's about we lessened the expectations because it's putting pressure on players. Whatever bonner decides tomorrow night will be for the good of Donegal. If he decides he can do no more he'll go. Do we go for an outside manager I hope not, who's in Donegal. Very few spring to mind. Mc Hugh I hope not. The Barrett's I don't think so. Maxi no, Rory kav won't go same as regan. Any body know anybody else.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 05/07/2022 15:12:45    2429908

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I see John Gildea has expressed similar sentiments to a lot of those expressed already here. That we have a more fundamental problem than simply whomever is occupying the managerial hotseat. Namely that our style of play is yesterday's news and has been found out. You could argue that Derry use the same style. But they have the novelty factor, success starved and are fanatically fit. I don't think their style is sustainable longer term.

Gildea reasons that if the county adopt a newer fresh approach, then it will filter down to the club game. We simply have to find a better formula which allows our talented players to flourish. Whether it's Declan Bonner who finds it or someone else it doens't matter. No name should be bigger than what's best for Donegal football."
The problem for Declan Bonner now is can he bring the players with him? I think the players do really like him, but I don't think he inspires them enough to go and win an All Ireland, I think we lost that momentum 2019-2020.

Lot of big decisions in the year ahead, like does Murphy come from the bench or start every game, he has a big personality to drop.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 05/07/2022 17:01:54    2429947

Replying To rorysboys:  "Our biggest problem is that we have too many similar players who are all good footballers,and this I feel is coming down to the way club football is played in Donegal. The ingredient of any successful team is to have at least 2 or 3 good man markers, a big strong mobile centre half back, two mobile midfielders and at least 3 to 4 scoring forwards.. do we have all of them, no we fall away short. And until we have were going nowhere. I feel the best players bar Stephen Mc brearty and odhran Mac Niallas are on the squad.. doesn't matter what manager comes in he's going to find it difficult. People on here wanting Donegal to play attacking football that's fine but what happens when we play the big teams, we're capable of conceding big score's because we can't have the best of both worlds because we don't have that type of defender at the moment.. the keeper comes on here talking as if we have the most talented team in Ireland I go to games and I've yet to see it, maybe he sees differently watching it on the tv. I'm not running the players down I admire and respect every one of them , I go to games and all I'm saying it's about we lessened the expectations because it's putting pressure on players. Whatever bonner decides tomorrow night will be for the good of Donegal. If he decides he can do no more he'll go. Do we go for an outside manager I hope not, who's in Donegal. Very few spring to mind. Mc Hugh I hope not. The Barrett's I don't think so. Maxi no, Rory kav won't go same as regan. Any body know anybody else."
Gary Mc Daid

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 05/07/2022 19:19:11    2429968

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm glad you said posters and not supporters, your getting sense at last. I think it's the real supporters that should care about Donegal football. People like your self are irrelevant all real supporters all over the country are giving out about people like yourself.. why don't you answer my question on who you want to manage us. There's football outside glenties lad. Lol"
I followed club football and County football my entire life, and played the game.
You haven't even played the game, so i can't really respect anything you say.
Surely he has to go now, people from one end of the county to the other agree its time for change.

I agree with other posters that something needs to be done with club football, its horrible to watch and follow, and my own club are as guilty as anyone.
But only a rule change will change the way the game is being played.
But i would not use club football as an excuse for this management setup failing to get the best out of Donegal football. As it was the same problem in his first spell in charge.
As regards a new manager, i dont believe there is anyone in the county with the quality to improve us, other than Mcguinness, but i cant see him taking it ( i hope i am wrong).
So therefore we have to look outside the county, in tryone club football or somewhere else.
The next management dont necessary need to have previous inter county experience.
But anything is better that doing nothing and settling for what we have at the moment.
I thank Bonner for his commitment over the years, but will never change my mind that his appointment was a step back.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 05/07/2022 19:45:57    2429979

I would approach Tony McEntee even if he is already in a job with sligo. Had them playing great football and should have beat cavan in croke park with a nice brand of football.
I am sure the lure of management of a Div 1 side could lure him away from sligo.
No stone should be unturned to find the best candidate for the job, and not settle for the handy option like we did last year.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 05/07/2022 20:20:52    2429981

Today's the day of the big meeting. I believe we elect managers like we elect politicians in Donegal. We elect personalities rather than electing based on the quality of work someone has produced with the materials they had.
Based on the materials Bonner had, he has made a complete mess of things. It looks like the Kilcar boys won't play for the them. McBrearty and McHugh being automatic starters with this season's showing shows us he is afraid to make big calls. Murphy looks unmanaged under him. Ciaran Thompson has greatly regressed under his reign. Jamie Brennan isn't as effective anymore. We have no intensity in the tackle, no effective man markers. We might not have a squad capable of winning an all ireland but a better hand on the tiller will get us much better results than the years we've wasted back in the wilderness.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 06/07/2022 10:55:05    2430033

Question now is who'll be gone first? Boris or Bonner?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 06/07/2022 11:42:10    2430052