Donegal GAA thread

This team needs new leadership, a really top manager, the whole thing is stale and predictable, I'm sick of all the wasted potential we have.
We have talent in abundance, if we didn't have it would be easier to take, I suppose we'll end up plodding on with Bonner again, sick of the whole thing tbh same as most other Donegal fans.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 27/06/2022 15:59:11    2428072

Replying To rorysboys:  "You say our defence was ripped apart against Armagh and woeful against Cavan. I'm saying that all along and I'm being slated. Campbell can't be blamed for players fumbling balls. It showed one of the fumbles yesterday before the game, from watching it patton hit a perfect ball. Goalkeepers are hitting these balls all year county defenders should not be dropping them, full stop."
Does Bonner not deserve criticism for hiring Campbell? Not exactly a coach with a great inter County experience. Our attack has been poor too. Look at the Derry game. 3 outrageous Mogan points kept us in it, not exactly "easy, well worked scores". Only so many backroom teams can be changed, you get so many shots as manager and 5 years is enough. We've changed coaches, S and C etc 5 or 6 times over.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 27/06/2022 16:28:33    2428083

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Does Bonner not deserve criticism for hiring Campbell? Not exactly a coach with a great inter County experience. Our attack has been poor too. Look at the Derry game. 3 outrageous Mogan points kept us in it, not exactly "easy, well worked scores". Only so many backroom teams can be changed, you get so many shots as manager and 5 years is enough. We've changed coaches, S and C etc 5 or 6 times over."
Yea just comes down to we're not good enough. Surely yous must see that by now. Take off the blinkers.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 27/06/2022 17:00:28    2428098

I see James Horan just resigned; I wish Declan Bonner would follow suit. Maybe Rochford will go back to Mayo again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 27/06/2022 18:14:38    2428140

Replying To Commodore:  "Watched QF teams over the weekend have the exact same problems as Donegal with the short kick-out being put under immediate pressure, which made me wonder if this swarming of short kick-outs wasn't really anticipated in pre-season or National League etc or if it is just down to individual mistakes. Even Kerry struggled repeatedly, it made me wonder if the intensity of the swarm on the short kick-out was simply catching players out, they were maybe too pedestrian in their approach?

In fairness to Donegal in the Qualifier against Armagh, the goal from the throw in and the black card/Penalty before half time really put us on the back foot and allowed Armagh to turn the tide. Patton getting the black card double hurt us, as we had to take McBrearty off and temporarily put Lynch on for the 10 minutes.

However at this point most Donegal fans are frustrated with the team/bench management and some decisions being made, like we should have beaten Derry on any given day have the ability to beat any team in the Championship."
Indeed you're correct but some of the teams playing at the weekend wouldn't have the same kickout advantage that Patton offers. The short kickouts that caused the chaos in the two games were poorly executed and imo the hallmarks of a team not playing with the confidence you get from the training ground, in other words poorly drilled. Its the usual whataboutery and excuses that continuously follow this team and management since 2014. James Horan resigned today after reaching 2 All Ireland finals today. Peter Keane was out the door despite coming close too. In contrast Donegal have regressed since the Kerry game in Croke Park. There are no more excuses but it seems we linger on.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 27/06/2022 20:12:39    2428186

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "This team needs new leadership, a really top manager, the whole thing is stale and predictable, I'm sick of all the wasted potential we have.
We have talent in abundance, if we didn't have it would be easier to take, I suppose we'll end up plodding on with Bonner again, sick of the whole thing tbh same as most other Donegal fans."
I agree about the talent we have within the County, not ready made players for every position, but with a slight rejigging, we the potential is there.

Tactically we were that much different to most other top sides, granted our tackling was poorer and I thought we ran the ball too much and our inside players lacked energy or movement, making it too easy for the opposition to setup defensively.

However for me the key missing ingredient was motivation, the players had a lethargic look, we have half forwards who should be shooting out the lights in big games and the majority of them struggled to score or look lively. Maybe a fresh voice is needed or maybe a fresh approach is needed, but either way the current approach is no longer working.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 28/06/2022 08:21:56    2428216

Replying To panamasam:  "Indeed you're correct but some of the teams playing at the weekend wouldn't have the same kickout advantage that Patton offers. The short kickouts that caused the chaos in the two games were poorly executed and imo the hallmarks of a team not playing with the confidence you get from the training ground, in other words poorly drilled. Its the usual whataboutery and excuses that continuously follow this team and management since 2014. James Horan resigned today after reaching 2 All Ireland finals today. Peter Keane was out the door despite coming close too. In contrast Donegal have regressed since the Kerry game in Croke Park. There are no more excuses but it seems we linger on."
I'm not sure we seen the full benefit of Pattons kick-outs this year.

I believe we have the players to challenge Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Derry, Galway, Armagh, Monaghan etc, with Jason McGee and Caolan McGonigle both coming of age in midfield, I can finally see the spine of this team looking strong, I felt our half forward line let us down this year, with the exception of maybe Shane O'Donnell who stepped up.

Questions for 2023
1. Should Michael Murphy be transitioned to an impact player or used in such a way?
2. Where does Ryan McHugh fit into the team?
3. Who will be number 6?

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 28/06/2022 12:01:09    2428280

Replying To Commodore:  "I agree about the talent we have within the County, not ready made players for every position, but with a slight rejigging, we the potential is there.

Tactically we were that much different to most other top sides, granted our tackling was poorer and I thought we ran the ball too much and our inside players lacked energy or movement, making it too easy for the opposition to setup defensively.

However for me the key missing ingredient was motivation, the players had a lethargic look, we have half forwards who should be shooting out the lights in big games and the majority of them struggled to score or look lively. Maybe a fresh voice is needed or maybe a fresh approach is needed, but either way the current approach is no longer working."
The lethargy of the team in most games is definitely something that was very noticeable. Seemed to start games slowly and then struggle to build momentum, looked very flat in the championship games.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 28/06/2022 13:15:10    2428302

Replying To Commodore:  "I'm not sure we seen the full benefit of Pattons kick-outs this year.

I believe we have the players to challenge Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Derry, Galway, Armagh, Monaghan etc, with Jason McGee and Caolan McGonigle both coming of age in midfield, I can finally see the spine of this team looking strong, I felt our half forward line let us down this year, with the exception of maybe Shane O'Donnell who stepped up.

Questions for 2023
1. Should Michael Murphy be transitioned to an impact player or used in such a way?
3. Who will be number 6?"
I personally believe Ciaran Thompson is a better Midfielder than Jason McGee and should be played there. He has been MOTM so many times and contributes so much more from the position with the club and thats the ideal position for him for county.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 28/06/2022 14:41:05    2428352

Replying To panamasam:  "Indeed you're correct but some of the teams playing at the weekend wouldn't have the same kickout advantage that Patton offers. The short kickouts that caused the chaos in the two games were poorly executed and imo the hallmarks of a team not playing with the confidence you get from the training ground, in other words poorly drilled. Its the usual whataboutery and excuses that continuously follow this team and management since 2014. James Horan resigned today after reaching 2 All Ireland finals today. Peter Keane was out the door despite coming close too. In contrast Donegal have regressed since the Kerry game in Croke Park. There are no more excuses but it seems we linger on."
Mayo and Kerry clearly are ambitious and I don't think we really are anymore. We pretend to be but the lingering nature of Bonner's continuation in the role says otherwise. I really like Bonner as a man and have full respect for what he has done both at minor and senior level as manager and formerly as a terrific player, but having followed Donegal all my life up and down the country I can say hand on heart I know now that the current setup are going no further. So the question becomes, why would we persist with that?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/06/2022 15:47:26    2428407

Can't believe Bonner hasn't stepped down yet.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 28/06/2022 17:12:09    2428429

I think it is clear at this point that Bonner intends to stay on. There was a lot of anger and frustration following the Armagh result, and for me the continuing silence since that match is with the intention of letting the storm blow over. It has been two weeks now since the game, if he was for stepping down it would be done by now so that the process of appointing a successor could begin in good time. Realistically any candidate that would advance us would have to come externally. I'd love to see what Malachy O Rourke could do for us, but that could be wishful thinking.

I don't care who manages the Donegal senior team, the only things that matter are performances and results. If Bonner stays, I'm at peace with that so long as we aren't subjected to the style of football from this past two years. I have some hope, as in Bonners first two years we played a positive brand of football. Rochford, while he's an absolutely dead on fella, isn't cut out for coaching at this level and I'd be glad to see that particular experiment draw to a close.

I disagree with any assessment that we don't have the players. We have quality players in every line of the field. McCole captained DCU in his Sigerson time, and is now growing into his position within our team. Eoghan Bán would walk into any team in Ireland. McColgan and McGee aren't the flashiest of players but they're a big and technically competent modern midfield pair. The sky is the limit for Langan and St Eunan's O'Donnell brothers, Gallen has all the raw materials and Murphy is the best to ever lace boots. We have no worse a panel than Derry or Galway, and I don't think Dublin or Kerry are as far ahead of us as people think.

All of this waffle will only get us so far. We need to look at how we can improve. McMenamin will give his all, but I think he's short of intercounty level. I think we'd be safer starting McFadden Ferry at corner back, assigning him a man to take out of the game and say no more. Others I'd like to see more of would be Mark Curran, and it would bring great joy if we could see Conor Morrison put his injury horrors behind him.

What would ye think of Ciarán Thompson at 6? I agree that he puts in excellent shifts in midfield, but it's hard to justify a change there when McGee and McGonagle have been two of our finer players in recent times. He has a knack for the dirty work, and he's an intelligent, athletic player who could bring a lot to that position.

My final point would be around Patton. He's a fine shot stopper and an accurate kickout taker. With that said, increasingly we are bringing him out the field as a 15th man in the build-up. This is well and good, but he has a tendency to make a mistake when pressed out the field, and is a prime candidate for either a hospital pass or a turnover. If we are going to pursue this Morgan/Beggan/Rafferty approach, would there be anything to be said for giving Farmer a run? He's been a goalkeeper all his life in soccer, and plied his trade for Naomh Colmcille out the field. I suppose the main question mark would be kickouts, but I'd like to see him get a run in the national league.

We have no shortage of quality half forwards, and while this wasn't to be Gallens year, I'm looking forward to seeing him add further competency to our attack next year. I'm also interested to see how his clubmate Bradley-Walsh gets on, and if he can get himself into the fold next year.

For what it's worth, i think we'd be in good stead with a 15 something like this next year:

Lynch
Ward McCole Ferry
EBG Thompson Mogan
McGee McGonagle
McHugh Langan SOD
McBrearty Murphy Gallen

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 28/06/2022 18:50:31    2428453

Replying To Commodore:  "I'm not sure we seen the full benefit of Pattons kick-outs this year.

Questions for 2023
Commodore you know yourself there's a few on the half forward line this Yr that were carrying injurys to try and keep the show on the Rd. Think Martin coming out with a statement that'd he'd love to manage donegal the week before championship didn't help either he should of had more respect for the county and one of his fellow comrades. Paul Brennan if fit should of got a run of it if he was right he deserved it. Looking from the outside I'd say younger fellas are a nightmare to get into the right frame of mind anymore for county football. They couldn't care less unless everything is going there way and won't put the shoulder to the wheel like years gone by.
Probably get slated for saying this but a managers job now isn't simple like it use to be even in mcguiness's time things have moved on for the better or worse whose to know.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 28/06/2022 20:52:07    2428484

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "

Questions for 2023
I personally believe Ciaran Thompson is a better Midfielder than Jason McGee and should be played there. He has been MOTM so many times and contributes so much more from the position with the club and thats the ideal position for him for county."
Yeah I know he is more of a midfielder for Naomh Conaill, he is a player with huge potential, but just hasn't really followed through from the class he showed in 2018 and 2019. He needs to step up and be more of key player at this point, him and Michael Langan, Caolan McGonigle etc. I have never really seen him that role with Donegal, but perhaps its something that needs to be looked at.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 28/06/2022 21:43:40    2428493

Replying To greenfan:  "The lethargy of the team in most games is definitely something that was very noticeable. Seemed to start games slowly and then struggle to build momentum, looked very flat in the championship games."
Yeah I expected us to step the tempo up a notch at Championship, but didn't really see that, like the wins over Armagh and Cavan were very patchy performances and while I thought we did step it up a notch against a very fit and energised Derry team, we lacked that killer instinct that a Jim McGuinness era team had.

My concern for next season is that more young players will opt out before Championship if there is potentially big money from the US on offer, which is a major issue.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 28/06/2022 21:47:27    2428494

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I expected us to step the tempo up a notch at Championship, but didn't really see that, like the wins over Armagh and Cavan were very patchy performances and while I thought we did step it up a notch against a very fit and energised Derry team, we lacked that killer instinct that a Jim McGuinness era team had.

My concern for next season is that more young players will opt out before Championship if there is potentially big money from the US on offer, which is a major issue."
Indeed. Post Covid there is a serious appetite for travel again and if a young fella is getting a few dollars to play a bit of football in the sun it's very difficult to match that. Unless there is a serious chance of game time and silverware at home. Some big decisions required in terms of management and how we plan to operate in 2023.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/06/2022 10:43:43    2428547

Replying To papa_pump:  "I think it is clear at this point that Bonner intends to stay on. There was a lot of anger and frustration following the Armagh result, and for me the continuing silence since that match is with the intention of letting the storm blow over. It has been two weeks now since the game, if he was for stepping down it would be done by now so that the process of appointing a successor could begin in good time. Realistically any candidate that would advance us would have to come externally. I'd love to see what Malachy O Rourke could do for us, but that could be wishful thinking.

I don't care who manages the Donegal senior team, the only things that matter are performances and results. If Bonner stays, I'm at peace with that so long as we aren't subjected to the style of football from this past two years. I have some hope, as in Bonners first two years we played a positive brand of football. Rochford, while he's an absolutely dead on fella, isn't cut out for coaching at this level and I'd be glad to see that particular experiment draw to a close.

I disagree with any assessment that we don't have the players. We have quality players in every line of the field. McCole captained DCU in his Sigerson time, and is now growing into his position within our team. Eoghan Bán would walk into any team in Ireland. McColgan and McGee aren't the flashiest of players but they're a big and technically competent modern midfield pair. The sky is the limit for Langan and St Eunan's O'Donnell brothers, Gallen has all the raw materials and Murphy is the best to ever lace boots. We have no worse a panel than Derry or Galway, and I don't think Dublin or Kerry are as far ahead of us as people think.

All of this waffle will only get us so far. We need to look at how we can improve. McMenamin will give his all, but I think he's short of intercounty level. I think we'd be safer starting McFadden Ferry at corner back, assigning him a man to take out of the game and say no more. Others I'd like to see more of would be Mark Curran, and it would bring great joy if we could see Conor Morrison put his injury horrors behind him.

What would ye think of Ciarán Thompson at 6? I agree that he puts in excellent shifts in midfield, but it's hard to justify a change there when McGee and McGonagle have been two of our finer players in recent times. He has a knack for the dirty work, and he's an intelligent, athletic player who could bring a lot to that position.

My final point would be around Patton. He's a fine shot stopper and an accurate kickout taker. With that said, increasingly we are bringing him out the field as a 15th man in the build-up. This is well and good, but he has a tendency to make a mistake when pressed out the field, and is a prime candidate for either a hospital pass or a turnover. If we are going to pursue this Morgan/Beggan/Rafferty approach, would there be anything to be said for giving Farmer a run? He's been a goalkeeper all his life in soccer, and plied his trade for Naomh Colmcille out the field. I suppose the main question mark would be kickouts, but I'd like to see him get a run in the national league.

We have no shortage of quality half forwards, and while this wasn't to be Gallens year, I'm looking forward to seeing him add further competency to our attack next year. I'm also interested to see how his clubmate Bradley-Walsh gets on, and if he can get himself into the fold next year.

For what it's worth, i think we'd be in good stead with a 15 something like this next year:

Lynch
Ward McCole Ferry
EBG Thompson Mogan
McGee McGonagle
McHugh Langan SOD
McBrearty Murphy Gallen"
Patton is our number one keeper and will remain so in my opinion despite the odd wobble. Kickouts are the most important facet of GAA goalkeeping these days and in that regard I think Patton is up there with the best in the country. I don't think Framer is near his level at all.

Caolan Ward is a great lad who battled extremely hard to earn a starting spot. But he is very limited on the ball. You only had to see that against Derry. Look at Derry (McCloskey), Kerry (O'Sullivan) and Dublin (Gannon) the other day. They bombed forward and kicked lovely points. I think Jeaic MacCealbhuí needs more league time next spring with the view to him starting Championship.

What about Murphy at CHB with pace around him? Everyone is hysterical about wanting to see him at FF. But at this stage how likely is that to happen short of an outside manager coming in and demanding he do so? He'd have his usual time on the ball, be able to direct operations from deep and deliver quality early ball to inside forwards.

I think if we get Niall O'Donnell fully motoring again it would be a huge boost. He is one of the most intelligent footballers in the county.

Look it's miles away from 2023 yet but a team like below is worth consideration IMO.

1. Patton
2. MacCeallbhuí
3. McCole
4. McFadden-Ferry
5. Gallagher
6. Murphy
7. Mogan/McHugh
8. McGee
9. McGonigle
10. S O'Donnell
11. Langan
12. Thompson
13. McBrearty
14. N O'Donnell (Roaming)
15. Gallen

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/06/2022 10:57:09    2428557

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Patton is our number one keeper and will remain so in my opinion despite the odd wobble. Kickouts are the most important facet of GAA goalkeeping these days and in that regard I think Patton is up there with the best in the country. I don't think Framer is near his level at all.

Caolan Ward is a great lad who battled extremely hard to earn a starting spot. But he is very limited on the ball. You only had to see that against Derry. Look at Derry (McCloskey), Kerry (O'Sullivan) and Dublin (Gannon) the other day. They bombed forward and kicked lovely points. I think Jeaic MacCealbhuí needs more league time next spring with the view to him starting Championship.

What about Murphy at CHB with pace around him? Everyone is hysterical about wanting to see him at FF. But at this stage how likely is that to happen short of an outside manager coming in and demanding he do so? He'd have his usual time on the ball, be able to direct operations from deep and deliver quality early ball to inside forwards.

I think if we get Niall O'Donnell fully motoring again it would be a huge boost. He is one of the most intelligent footballers in the county.

Look it's miles away from 2023 yet but a team like below is worth consideration IMO.

1. Patton
2. MacCeallbhuí
3. McCole
4. McFadden-Ferry
5. Gallagher
6. Murphy
7. Mogan/McHugh
8. McGee
9. McGonigle
10. S O'Donnell
11. Langan
12. Thompson
13. McBrearty
15. Gallen"
Good team but when 2023 happens this won't happen . One or two of them won't be here, plus injuries ,gallen on every best team but very seldom plays.. thats when a strong panel comes in. This will always be our downfall. You need these days about 25 players who are as good as each other. Do we have that I don't think so..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/06/2022 13:38:43    2428615

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Indeed. Post Covid there is a serious appetite for travel again and if a young fella is getting a few dollars to play a bit of football in the sun it's very difficult to match that. Unless there is a serious chance of game time and silverware at home. Some big decisions required in terms of management and how we plan to operate in 2023."
A few years back top Intercounty players were getting offered $10k - $18k to travel stateside.
I heard recently that one Ulster player got offered ~$32k to skip Ulster Championship and go play in the States.

While its nice chance to make money on a one off if your County is out of Championship, its not good if County players a purposely missing playing for the County because they know there is a financial windfall awaiting them over in the US.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 29/06/2022 14:05:42    2428632

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Patton is our number one keeper and will remain so in my opinion despite the odd wobble. Kickouts are the most important facet of GAA goalkeeping these days and in that regard I think Patton is up there with the best in the country. I don't think Framer is near his level at all.

1. Patton
2. MacCeallbhuí
3. McCole
4. McFadden-Ferry
5. Gallagher
6. Murphy
7. Mogan/McHugh
8. McGee
9. McGonigle
10. S O'Donnell
11. Langan
12. Thompson
13. McBrearty
15. Gallen"
My changes for 2023 might shock a few people, but

1. Shaun Patton

2. Caolan Ward
3. Brendan McCole
4. Stephen McMenamin or Conor Morrison (If fully fit)

5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher
6. Jack MacCeallbhuí
7. Odhran McFadden-Ferry or Tony McClenaghan

8. Ciaran Thompson (As suggested by Naomh Conaill)
9. Caolan McGonigle

10. Shane O'Donnell
11. Michael Langan
12. Jason McGee

13. Oisin Gallen
14. Eoin McGeehin (St Eunans)
15. Jamie Brennan

IMPACT SUBS
Michael Murphy
Paddy McBrearty
Ryan McHugh
Peadar Mogan