Donegal GAA thread

Been a while since I posted largely due to a combination of work, not coming on here as much and feeling really disheartened about how the last couple of years have gone especially this where I feel Donegal have really regressed. Before I put down some thoughts I would like to thank the team and management for their undoubted efforts throughout the year.

The Armagh game showed all the hallmarks of this team and management over the last couple of years. Some brilliance in the first half before returning to type thereafter followed by a complete collapse both mentally and in how we played. While I have nothing but great respect for Declan and what he's done I really feel like there is no comeback after the second half in what appeared to these eyes as a rudderless downing of the tools from the players. I'm not sure what training they are doing in the background but Donegal are a pretty poorly drilled side. While Patton was central in some fairly monumental brain fart moments in the last couple of games a well drilled side wouldn't have coughed up what happened with what were fairly straightforward catches.

There seems to be noises about Rochford going so is he the scapegoat? Is he the one setting up all our teams to play in such a systematic laborious manner? Or is Declan for that matter? I would say probably not on both counts but they do have influence at senior level. The Rochford situation is completely bizzare as doesn't have his hallmarks at all. I just cannot figure out what really has gone on with him. Regardless the nice footballers but loser weak reputation is back in Donegal. I live down the country and believe me its what people are saying here too. In regards to poor attendance for the Armagh game do you really blame people. I was wearing a training top about a couple of days after the Ulster final and I had complete strangers approaching me disgusted with how we played.

In my mind there is no question that the management need to go at all levels. Donegal need leaders and strong management on the sideline rather than facilitators with a history and legacy built on excuses. Will this happen? I have my doubts especially given the cosy nature the board have with some set ups which is not a good look something I alluded to months ago. Donegal certainly have the players to be reaching at least the last 4 every couple of years. Good strong management makes a big difference and those suggesting otherwise really are clueless about sport in general. Donegal need a full cold hard review and evaluation of where they're at and to act on it. In an ideal world McGrath and Declan would go now and bring in fresh people at board level to make these decisions. I doubt Jim will be back as I know he is very happy at where he is at in Derry City but couldn't he be used in a consultancy role and part of the review process? If Declan stays I expect more of the same. For those saying maybe a backroom shuffle will work didn't we have that last year in what was underwhelming to say the least bar Rochford staying whom it appears really isn't having any influence at all? Is Michael Murphy too influential? It appears he might be which really isn't a good sign and another point towards weak management. Murphy has plenty left to give but needs to be managed correctly rather than him doing for himself. This is why strong leadership is essential to whoever might come in. My feeling is it might take till McGrath goes for this to happen which might not even happen if its a passing on the somebody already there. Donegal are still producing quality talent no question. I think this will always be the case but harnessing it is another matter. A final point and another bugbear for me. Unless a defender is being picked to man mark a player then they should be more than capable of taking a score. If not should they really be starting? Donegal seem to be carrying a few of that ilk and to me its just not good enough.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 26/06/2022 12:18:51    2427556

Replying To panamasam:  "Been a while since I posted largely due to a combination of work, not coming on here as much and feeling really disheartened about how the last couple of years have gone especially this where I feel Donegal have really regressed. Before I put down some thoughts I would like to thank the team and management for their undoubted efforts throughout the year.

The Armagh game showed all the hallmarks of this team and management over the last couple of years. Some brilliance in the first half before returning to type thereafter followed by a complete collapse both mentally and in how we played. While I have nothing but great respect for Declan and what he's done I really feel like there is no comeback after the second half in what appeared to these eyes as a rudderless downing of the tools from the players. I'm not sure what training they are doing in the background but Donegal are a pretty poorly drilled side. While Patton was central in some fairly monumental brain fart moments in the last couple of games a well drilled side wouldn't have coughed up what happened with what were fairly straightforward catches.

There seems to be noises about Rochford going so is he the scapegoat? Is he the one setting up all our teams to play in such a systematic laborious manner? Or is Declan for that matter? I would say probably not on both counts but they do have influence at senior level. The Rochford situation is completely bizzare as doesn't have his hallmarks at all. I just cannot figure out what really has gone on with him. Regardless the nice footballers but loser weak reputation is back in Donegal. I live down the country and believe me its what people are saying here too. In regards to poor attendance for the Armagh game do you really blame people. I was wearing a training top about a couple of days after the Ulster final and I had complete strangers approaching me disgusted with how we played.

In my mind there is no question that the management need to go at all levels. Donegal need leaders and strong management on the sideline rather than facilitators with a history and legacy built on excuses. Will this happen? I have my doubts especially given the cosy nature the board have with some set ups which is not a good look something I alluded to months ago. Donegal certainly have the players to be reaching at least the last 4 every couple of years. Good strong management makes a big difference and those suggesting otherwise really are clueless about sport in general. Donegal need a full cold hard review and evaluation of where they're at and to act on it. In an ideal world McGrath and Declan would go now and bring in fresh people at board level to make these decisions. I doubt Jim will be back as I know he is very happy at where he is at in Derry City but couldn't he be used in a consultancy role and part of the review process? If Declan stays I expect more of the same. For those saying maybe a backroom shuffle will work didn't we have that last year in what was underwhelming to say the least bar Rochford staying whom it appears really isn't having any influence at all? Is Michael Murphy too influential? It appears he might be which really isn't a good sign and another point towards weak management. Murphy has plenty left to give but needs to be managed correctly rather than him doing for himself. This is why strong leadership is essential to whoever might come in. My feeling is it might take till McGrath goes for this to happen which might not even happen if its a passing on the somebody already there. Donegal are still producing quality talent no question. I think this will always be the case but harnessing it is another matter. A final point and another bugbear for me. Unless a defender is being picked to man mark a player then they should be more than capable of taking a score. If not should they really be starting? Donegal seem to be carrying a few of that ilk and to me its just not good enough."
Well said Panamasam, you were able to articulate some of my points over the last few weeks, but you were able to get them passed the moderator.

I am of a similar opinion to you regarding the leadership from the top. I believe that Declan is an honourable man, with the best interests of Donegal football at heart, and that when he was appointed he was the right candidate.

But I feel he has been undermined from the very start. I tried to post examples to support this, but can't get them through.

We need a new voice, and I think you summed it up correctly when you said it will take McGrath going for that to happen.

Hopefully this might open up the debate.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 26/06/2022 13:00:36    2427560

Replying To panamasam:  "Been a while since I posted largely due to a combination of work, not coming on here as much and feeling really disheartened about how the last couple of years have gone especially this where I feel Donegal have really regressed. Before I put down some thoughts I would like to thank the team and management for their undoubted efforts throughout the year.

In my mind there is no question that the management need to go at all levels. Donegal need leaders and strong management on the sideline rather than facilitators with a history and legacy built on excuses. Will this happen? I have my doubts especially given the cosy nature the board have with some set ups which is not a good look something I alluded to months ago. Donegal certainly have the players to be reaching at least the last 4 every couple of years. Good strong management makes a big difference and those suggesting otherwise really are clueless about sport in general. Donegal need a full cold hard review and evaluation of where they're at and to act on it. In an ideal world McGrath and Declan would go now and bring in fresh people at board level to make these decisions. I doubt Jim will be back as I know he is very happy at where he is at in Derry City but couldn't he be used in a consultancy role and part of the review process? If Declan stays I expect more of the same. For those saying maybe a backroom shuffle will work didn't we have that last year in what was underwhelming to say the least bar Rochford staying whom it appears really isn't having any influence at all? Is Michael Murphy too influential? It appears he might be which really isn't a good sign and another point towards weak management. Murphy has plenty left to give but needs to be managed correctly rather than him doing for himself. This is why strong leadership is essential to whoever might come in. My feeling is it might take till McGrath goes for this to happen which might not even happen if its a passing on the somebody already there. Donegal are still producing quality talent no question. I think this will always be the case but harnessing it is another matter. A final point and another bugbear for me. Unless a defender is being picked to man mark a player then they should be more than capable of taking a score. If not should they really be starting? Donegal seem to be carrying a few of that ilk and to me its just not good enough."
One of the things that is very obvious from nearly all the posters, is that players are immune from any blame. Must be great to be a county player in Donegal. You say that we should be playing semi finals every few years, on what basis do you think that. Are we successful at under age no. Are we producing a conveyor belt of talent no. Have we defenders who can go toe to toe with the best players in croke park no. And have we marquee forwards no. Sure where is all this optimism coming from. At two points up in the Ulster final did management shout instructions to defend the lead no they didn't. In Armagh game do you not think players mistakes cost us dearly. Il ruffle a few feathers now with me being honest,, I think we don't have the players to compete at the highest level maybe we'll win a few ulsters but that's our limit. No need to attack me for this I'm being realistic.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 26/06/2022 13:00:50    2427561

Last year, Declan rolled out the 'that's how close we were' when Tyrone won the All Ireland. I thought, this guy is either completely deluded or he is really trying to convince people of something that wasn't true to further his own ambitions.
I hope to counter this that Derry and Armagh get tanked in their next matches.
I believe that organising a boycott of games, merchandise and sponsors until the board and management team stepped away would be great, even if it isn't in line with reality as the culture that exists will remain. Cronyism. Jobs for the unqualified. The good is oftentimes the enemy of the best and we've good too much that is good on our books. Somebody needs to head that board that has proven experience of successfully driving a large commercial operation from the top.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 26/06/2022 13:06:38    2427562

You made some good points, but I would disagree with the point of us being a poorly drilled side. I would say we are one of the most drilled teams in the country. The fact that we resorted to type v armagh when the heat was on showed how institutionalised we are as a team when it comes to drilled formations.

I think that the reasons the players downed tools v armagh was more to do with the ulster final defeat and the lack of appetite for games thereafter. The players simply hadn't any vision for a long road after the ulster final if they happened to lose it.

The short kick out fiasco v armagh has more to do with Donaghy's involvement in Armagh training than it has to do with our ball handling skills. it was 2014 all over again. He is the common denominator there.

We lost 2 long kick outs in a row before we started going short, but before that, we were showing really well at midfield for the Kick outs.

In short, where I see us atm is a tired team. Many players have been around for a while now, and the same players have had ulster final disappointments that can't be corrected after the event. Couple this with the appetite required to win, combined with the improvement in quality of the field, and I see a very tricky situation facing any donegal manager.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/06/2022 13:19:23    2427563

Replying To rorysboys:  "One of the things that is very obvious from nearly all the posters, is that players are immune from any blame. Must be great to be a county player in Donegal. You say that we should be playing semi finals every few years, on what basis do you think that. Are we successful at under age no. Are we producing a conveyor belt of talent no. Have we defenders who can go toe to toe with the best players in croke park no. And have we marquee forwards no. Sure where is all this optimism coming from. At two points up in the Ulster final did management shout instructions to defend the lead no they didn't. In Armagh game do you not think players mistakes cost us dearly. Il ruffle a few feathers now with me being honest,, I think we don't have the players to compete at the highest level maybe we'll win a few ulsters but that's our limit. No need to attack me for this I'm being realistic."
No, the players aren't immune to critisim, and there has been plenty of mistakes where the players got critisim.. Patton being an obvious example of when his mistakes were under the magnifying glass.. It seems like the manager is immune to critism from you though?

You have the opinion that the players aren't good enough to compete at the top, and that's fair enough. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. But there are plenty more people who believe that they are good enough to compete, myself being one. A team who have dominated the strongest province over the last 12 years, are well capable to put it up to any county in the country in a one off game for sure.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 223 - 26/06/2022 14:27:53    2427572

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Well said Panamasam, you were able to articulate some of my points over the last few weeks, but you were able to get them passed the moderator.

I am of a similar opinion to you regarding the leadership from the top. I believe that Declan is an honourable man, with the best interests of Donegal football at heart, and that when he was appointed he was the right candidate.

But I feel he has been undermined from the very start. I tried to post examples to support this, but can't get them through.

We need a new voice, and I think you summed it up correctly when you said it will take McGrath going for that to happen.

Hopefully this might open up the debate."
How was he undermined?

Firstly, when Declan was appointed, there was a delay for a week, as his backroom team hadn't been finalised. When it was ratified, whose son was on it?

Secondly, when the first backroom team was replaced, when Stephen Rochford was brought in, i believe that this was foist upon Declan, and the narrative was along the lines of 'Fair play to Declan' for being the big enough character to accept it, because many others would have seen it as being a challenge to their authority.

I believe that when it comes to team management there needs to be a single voice. I think we have had too many. In leadership you need 'Una voce, una duce'. Would Jim McGuinness have accepted this erosion of his leadership?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 26/06/2022 14:49:24    2427574

I knew Armaghs lack of discipline would mean they would not get much further.

What could have been for Donegal..

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 26/06/2022 15:16:39    2427578

We push Derry closer than anyone so far this year and at the same time we don't have the players to get to a semi-final… Rory logic

There's plenty of blame to go around the county and the biggest problem is EVERYONE'S mindset once we lose Ulster. Look at Armagh today. True colours once again. If we're "nice footballers but weak" what are they? And Rory you on here telling me we don't have anyone as good as their panel. At least they refocussed after a sickening loss in Ulster to make a run for Sam.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 26/06/2022 15:17:33    2427580

Haha jaysus Galway, making a fool of me with this last few mins! Armagh more bottle than us that's for sure

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 26/06/2022 15:24:02    2427583

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "How was he undermined?

Firstly, when Declan was appointed, there was a delay for a week, as his backroom team hadn't been finalised. When it was ratified, whose son was on it?

Secondly, when the first backroom team was replaced, when Stephen Rochford was brought in, i believe that this was foist upon Declan, and the narrative was along the lines of 'Fair play to Declan' for being the big enough character to accept it, because many others would have seen it as being a challenge to their authority.

I believe that when it comes to team management there needs to be a single voice. I think we have had too many. In leadership you need 'Una voce, una duce'. Would Jim McGuinness have accepted this erosion of his leadership?"
What do you mean who's son was on it. Who's son was it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 26/06/2022 15:32:27    2427590

Replying To JoeSoap:  "We push Derry closer than anyone so far this year and at the same time we don't have the players to get to a semi-final… Rory logic

There's plenty of blame to go around the county and the biggest problem is EVERYONE'S mindset once we lose Ulster. Look at Armagh today. True colours once again. If we're "nice footballers but weak" what are they? And Rory you on here telling me we don't have anyone as good as their panel. At least they refocussed after a sickening loss in Ulster to make a run for Sam."
I explained my reasons for us being not good enough. How many times have I to explain it. That's my opinion if you have a different opinion that's fine I respect it. Every time I gave an opinion I'm shot down. I'm as big a Donegal fan as anybody on here , I hope to be proven wrong but I doubt it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 26/06/2022 16:46:21    2427636

Replying To rorysboys:  "What do you mean who's son was on it. Who's son was it."
It appears that I'm not allowed answer the question by the moderator.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 26/06/2022 17:30:45    2427654

Replying To rorysboys:  "What do you mean who's son was on it. Who's son was it."
https://www.hoganstand.com/article/index/276322

This answers your question.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 26/06/2022 17:36:24    2427657

Replying To Donegalman:  "You made some good points, but I would disagree with the point of us being a poorly drilled side. I would say we are one of the most drilled teams in the country. The fact that we resorted to type v armagh when the heat was on showed how institutionalised we are as a team when it comes to drilled formations.

I think that the reasons the players downed tools v armagh was more to do with the ulster final defeat and the lack of appetite for games thereafter. The players simply hadn't any vision for a long road after the ulster final if they happened to lose it.

The short kick out fiasco v armagh has more to do with Donaghy's involvement in Armagh training than it has to do with our ball handling skills. it was 2014 all over again. He is the common denominator there.

We lost 2 long kick outs in a row before we started going short, but before that, we were showing really well at midfield for the Kick outs.

In short, where I see us atm is a tired team. Many players have been around for a while now, and the same players have had ulster final disappointments that can't be corrected after the event. Couple this with the appetite required to win, combined with the improvement in quality of the field, and I see a very tricky situation facing any donegal manager."
Indeed we will DL man despite I always have great respect for your insights. Those knockouts where we fumbled weren't necessarily bad ones. Lads should be catching them with their eyes closed after practicing on the training ground. Plus if we were one of the best drilled sides why are we sitting at home watching semi finals or have the nous to go for a winning score in injury time in an Ulster final. I really don't buy the persistent don't fancy the long road line. Mayo for all their flaws were in a similar position in their qualifier and came back where Donegal done the opposite. I agree it won't be easy for whoever comes from in (if even). A culture reset is required as is strong leadership and innovative thinking to get the best out of what we have. Plus a couple of players need the proverbial rocket treatment.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 26/06/2022 19:18:00    2427722

Replying To panamasam:  "Indeed we will DL man despite I always have great respect for your insights. Those knockouts where we fumbled weren't necessarily bad ones. Lads should be catching them with their eyes closed after practicing on the training ground. Plus if we were one of the best drilled sides why are we sitting at home watching semi finals or have the nous to go for a winning score in injury time in an Ulster final. I really don't buy the persistent don't fancy the long road line. Mayo for all their flaws were in a similar position in their qualifier and came back where Donegal done the opposite. I agree it won't be easy for whoever comes from in (if even). A culture reset is required as is strong leadership and innovative thinking to get the best out of what we have. Plus a couple of players need the proverbial rocket treatment."
Watched QF teams over the weekend have the exact same problems as Donegal with the short kick-out being put under immediate pressure, which made me wonder if this swarming of short kick-outs wasn't really anticipated in pre-season or National League etc or if it is just down to individual mistakes. Even Kerry struggled repeatedly, it made me wonder if the intensity of the swarm on the short kick-out was simply catching players out, they were maybe too pedestrian in their approach?

In fairness to Donegal in the Qualifier against Armagh, the goal from the throw in and the black card/Penalty before half time really put us on the back foot and allowed Armagh to turn the tide. Patton getting the black card double hurt us, as we had to take McBrearty off and temporarily put Lynch on for the 10 minutes.

However at this point most Donegal fans are frustrated with the team/bench management and some decisions being made, like we should have beaten Derry on any given day have the ability to beat any team in the Championship.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 27/06/2022 08:39:48    2427827

If Declan is to stay on I think his role should be dealing with the media, organisation between games, and the county board. He needs to step away tactically (picking the 15, subs and to a certain degree the style of play). We can't blame him for our style of play really, that would be Rochford and Campbell. We looked extremely poor in attack (Rochford) bar the second half of Tyrone and first half of Mayo league games and the first 20 mins vs Armagh. Our defence was ripped apart vs Armagh and looked woeful vs Cavan. (Campbell)
The worrying thing about Declan for me, who is a great Donegal GAA servant, is his inability to make changes, or the correct changes, on the sideline.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 27/06/2022 13:11:51    2427972

Replying To TheRock2121:  "If Declan is to stay on I think his role should be dealing with the media, organisation between games, and the county board. He needs to step away tactically (picking the 15, subs and to a certain degree the style of play). We can't blame him for our style of play really, that would be Rochford and Campbell. We looked extremely poor in attack (Rochford) bar the second half of Tyrone and first half of Mayo league games and the first 20 mins vs Armagh. Our defence was ripped apart vs Armagh and looked woeful vs Cavan. (Campbell)
The worrying thing about Declan for me, who is a great Donegal GAA servant, is his inability to make changes, or the correct changes, on the sideline."
Our attack felt a bit stale tbh, particularly our half forwards with the exception of maybe Shane O'Donnell, like I know Michael Langan, Ciaran Thompson, Niall O'Donnell etc all have had injury issues throughout the National League, but all seemed to be well off the boil in the Championship.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 27/06/2022 14:02:44    2428006

Replying To TheRock2121:  "If Declan is to stay on I think his role should be dealing with the media, organisation between games, and the county board. He needs to step away tactically (picking the 15, subs and to a certain degree the style of play). We can't blame him for our style of play really, that would be Rochford and Campbell. We looked extremely poor in attack (Rochford) bar the second half of Tyrone and first half of Mayo league games and the first 20 mins vs Armagh. Our defence was ripped apart vs Armagh and looked woeful vs Cavan. (Campbell)
The worrying thing about Declan for me, who is a great Donegal GAA servant, is his inability to make changes, or the correct changes, on the sideline."
You say our defence was ripped apart against Armagh and woeful against Cavan. I'm saying that all along and I'm being slated. Campbell can't be blamed for players fumbling balls. It showed one of the fumbles yesterday before the game, from watching it patton hit a perfect ball. Goalkeepers are hitting these balls all year county defenders should not be dropping them, full stop.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 27/06/2022 14:03:04    2428007

i guess with the lack of announcement that Bonnar is staying !! Same rubbish again next year so ..
awful pity because the standard is so poor in teh country at the moment what a pity we dont have top class mgtement team

red.hugh (Donegal) - Posts: 175 - 27/06/2022 15:36:39    2428061