Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah Oisín Gallen is a super talent. Such a pity he's been so unlucky with injuries. I'm not sure where he's at currently, but wouldn't it be great to see him play in Croke Park again. The two times (that I can remember anyway) that he did play there he took to it like a duck to water.

Div 2 league final against Meath
Super 8 game against Kerry."
Yeah he is, but he is seriously prone to Injuries, like he has barely seen much action for Donegal now in the last 3 years, I think he came on as a sub against Tyrone during the league this year and looked phenomenal with pace and athleticism.
His presence creates a different dimension to our attack, It would be great to get him playing.

Conor Morrison is another player we badly miss, he was due to make a return to club training back in January/March this year, but I haven't heard anymore about how he is progressing, will take another year before he is back in the fold, if he makes it back to County Level at all.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/06/2022 07:56:46    2421882

Replying To The keeper:  "Your picking bits out that suits your argument. But forget where we were before mcguinness took charge. Remember that hammering by armagh. We had good defenders then also, lacey, mcgee's, mcglynn.
But it took a manager to improve them as a team.
Mcguinness is gone, i get that.
My point but stands, and this is where i completely disagree with you.
I believe the talent is there, you dont
I believe we are as good as any other county, you dont
I believe a top quality manager will improve us, you dont.
And finally, i dont believe rory is a genius, i actually believe derry are not even that good and will get found out in croke park against the better sides.
So that will surly show us where bonner has brought us.
The history is there for all to see, bonner is just not at or anywhere near Mcguinness's level.
We may not get Mcguinness back, but we can try find someone close to that level.
One that believes we are as good as anyone"
You don't want to hear about the 2014 all Ireland or the 2013 quarter final against mayo. For you it's all about coming on this forum every time Donegal lose under bonner. You won't mention Corey either . No doubting what Mc Guinness done fabulous manager but we had a lot of bad days too. We're you on here giving out about the tactics in the 2011 semi final, no you wernt. That says enough. Finally do you agree with me saying only for Murphy we wudnt have win the 2012 all Ireland.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 03/06/2022 09:42:22    2421893

A couple of things jump out at me regarding the playing panel:-
Daire O'Baoill and Jeac McKelvey were the only ones of the 26 who were not used on Sunday.
Conor O'Donnell was very good during the league but Shane O'Donnell and Aaron Doherty seem to have moved ahead of him.
Niall O'donnell's form must have dipped a lot. as he has been back from injury for a while now.
We don't know how boys are showing in training but if everybody is fully fit I think Daire and Niall on their ability should be on the team.
One other thing surely Hugh McFadden would start if fully fit.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1062 - 03/06/2022 10:51:12    2421922

Replying To rorysboys:  "Nice to see manus Boyle talking sense in todays democrat. Manus has done it all and is as honest as the day is long. He's easily the best gaa columnist in our local papers. Makes out that if Murphy was fit that he would have been on the edge of the square but if he wasn't fit that it was understandable why he didn't play full forward. He's right there if your not fit full forward is no position for you especially with an injured ankle, but unless you played football you wudnt know that. He mentions Thompson not being fit either and that with the safety of an extra game it was probably the reason he was late in coming on. Nice to read people talking sensible about last Sunday for a change."
I read Manus' article and as always he was honest and fair. I don't really get his point that if Murphy was fit he'd definitely have played full forward though? Murphy has been fully fit plenty of times playing for Donegal and hasn't operated at full forward. How is playing out around the middle and horsing himself better for an injured ankle than playing around the dangerzone? Was chasing Brendan Rogers around part of the rehab plan for the ankle?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 03/06/2022 12:01:55    2421949

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I read Manus' article and as always he was honest and fair. I don't really get his point that if Murphy was fit he'd definitely have played full forward though? Murphy has been fully fit plenty of times playing for Donegal and hasn't operated at full forward. How is playing out around the middle and horsing himself better for an injured ankle than playing around the dangerzone? Was chasing Brendan Rogers around part of the rehab plan for the ankle?"
That makes no sense at all, if Murphy wasn't moving well (which was obvious) then he should have stayed in at the edge of the square and gave us the option to kick it in to him, he should be playing in there now anyway.
Bonner should be setting us up to take that option if he has any football sense at all, endless running into cul de sacs and then back out again, pass the parcel as Mickey Harte said, nobody breaking lines and cutting through the Derry defence,
Lots of fellas had below par performances but that seems to be happening to us in recent years.
I don't believe Derry are a better team than us, they got the win on the day by their own good play and our lack of sense and some below par performances,
fellas having an off day can happen, but not having the brains to put Murphy if FF?
as I commented earlier was it Murphy's own decision to play out there or did Bonner tell him to stay out at Midfield and even paly weeper at times?

how can you hope to win anything when this is brainless way we play? we got what we deserved on the day.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2760 - 03/06/2022 13:17:10    2421983

Replying To rorysboys:  "You don't want to hear about the 2014 all Ireland or the 2013 quarter final against mayo. For you it's all about coming on this forum every time Donegal lose under bonner. You won't mention Corey either . No doubting what Mc Guinness done fabulous manager but we had a lot of bad days too. We're you on here giving out about the tactics in the 2011 semi final, no you wernt. That says enough. Finally do you agree with me saying only for Murphy we wudnt have win the 2012 all Ireland."
I agree about 2014, he made one mistake, and that was not playing mcbrearty, and it probably cost us the all Ireland. Who knows.
But wasn't it great to be competing in these all irelands.
2011 was mcguinness first year with the team, its bonners 5th.
2013 was a bad year against mayo, but the reality is has there been many teams the last two decades that has been able to do back to back, the answer is only dublin.
The fact is under mcguinness we were competing and no team wanted to play us, as we were mentality strong, and tough because of mcguinness.
With bonner in 5 years, we are mentality weak, every big game we have had under bonner, we came up short.
And to say only we had murphy in 12 we wouldn't have won the all Ireland, is doing a great disservice to all the other great players we had. Mcfadden was actually our best forward in 12.
In 5 years, we have not beat a top team and came up short under bonners management. Supporter's want him gone, and think he should do the right thing and step away at end of season.
Its no surprise all his former teams mates have come out in bonners defence.
But the reality is, the pundits that have no agenda, have all said Donegal have under achieved the last few years under bonners management.
Will we get a better management team in to replace him, i dont know. But we cant continue the way we are going, with zero chance of winning the all Ireland.
I believe we are good enough, you dont.
I would rather think big and look kerry and dublin in the eye and say we are as good as you, whereas you would be happy to just play kerry.
I just hope we are not going back to the days of thinking small like you.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 03/06/2022 14:17:11    2422007

Replying To gunman:  "O'Rourke was the only one I heard that said the Derry goal should have been disallowed because McMenamin was taken out off the ball preventing him getting a tackle on the goal scorer.I think this anti RTE thing is part of this isolationist mentality we have in Donegal,thinking everyone is against us.Very often what outsiders see is the reality and we get all defensive.Sometimes you don't see the wood for the trees."
I don't think it's simply Isolationist thinking here in Donegal gunman, the problem is that the likes of Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourke rarely focus on the job at hand and simply analyze a match, they revert to their default which is to compare any given match to the football style from their heyday or make dirt of team or individual players.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/06/2022 14:44:51    2422013

Replying To gunman:  "A couple of things jump out at me regarding the playing panel:-
Daire O'Baoill and Jeac McKelvey were the only ones of the 26 who were not used on Sunday.
Conor O'Donnell was very good during the league but Shane O'Donnell and Aaron Doherty seem to have moved ahead of him.
Niall O'donnell's form must have dipped a lot. as he has been back from injury for a while now.
We don't know how boys are showing in training but if everybody is fully fit I think Daire and Niall on their ability should be on the team.
One other thing surely Hugh McFadden would start if fully fit."
I don't think Daire O'Baoill is good enough for this level, he is a great athlete with good straight line pace, but not a good footballer, especially not in the full back line.
I would have expected Niall O'Donnell to start if fit, not sure about Hugh McFadden though, Hugh seems off the boil a little and hasn't really settled into the team.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/06/2022 14:49:58    2422015

Replying To The keeper:  "I agree about 2014, he made one mistake, and that was not playing mcbrearty, and it probably cost us the all Ireland. Who knows.
But wasn't it great to be competing in these all irelands.
2011 was mcguinness first year with the team, its bonners 5th.
2013 was a bad year against mayo, but the reality is has there been many teams the last two decades that has been able to do back to back, the answer is only dublin.
The fact is under mcguinness we were competing and no team wanted to play us, as we were mentality strong, and tough because of mcguinness.
With bonner in 5 years, we are mentality weak, every big game we have had under bonner, we came up short.
And to say only we had murphy in 12 we wouldn't have won the all Ireland, is doing a great disservice to all the other great players we had. Mcfadden was actually our best forward in 12.
In 5 years, we have not beat a top team and came up short under bonners management. Supporter's want him gone, and think he should do the right thing and step away at end of season.
Its no surprise all his former teams mates have come out in bonners defence.
But the reality is, the pundits that have no agenda, have all said Donegal have under achieved the last few years under bonners management.
Will we get a better management team in to replace him, i dont know. But we cant continue the way we are going, with zero chance of winning the all Ireland.
I believe we are good enough, you dont.
I would rather think big and look kerry and dublin in the eye and say we are as good as you, whereas you would be happy to just play kerry.
I just hope we are not going back to the days of thinking small like you."
I'm asking you a simple question, why do you only come on here after a defeat to slate bonner. You avoid every question. Donegal would not have win a all Ireland without Murphy simple fact. I'm not being arrogant just stating fact. Another man who helped Mc Guinness to win an all Ireland was Rory Gallagher. Any opinion on that. As I said before Jim was and is a great man but would you go onto a forum like this and slate him ,you wudnt fact

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 03/06/2022 15:20:08    2422021

Replying To rorysboys:  "Nice to see manus Boyle talking sense in todays democrat. Manus has done it all and is as honest as the day is long. He's easily the best gaa columnist in our local papers. Makes out that if Murphy was fit that he would have been on the edge of the square but if he wasn't fit that it was understandable why he didn't play full forward. He's right there if your not fit full forward is no position for you especially with an injured ankle, but unless you played football you wudnt know that. He mentions Thompson not being fit either and that with the safety of an extra game it was probably the reason he was late in coming on. Nice to read people talking sensible about last Sunday for a change."
U don't want people responding to your asinine posts. Your latest summation of the Murphy situation is the most bizarre yet! For those of us on here that know there has to be only one outcome for any success to be achieved, Murphy , if carrying an injury should have been sent to the edge of the square. Now if oRourke knows something like the rest of us don't and that is Murphy is managing he might be on to something. Murphy sofar not good as a manager,but the man the gaelic footballer, 2nd to none! Hope ur not too confused,Rory and when your buddy is takin the long walk he can take O' Rourke with him.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 03/06/2022 15:22:20    2422022

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "That makes no sense at all, if Murphy wasn't moving well (which was obvious) then he should have stayed in at the edge of the square and gave us the option to kick it in to him, he should be playing in there now anyway.
Bonner should be setting us up to take that option if he has any football sense at all, endless running into cul de sacs and then back out again, pass the parcel as Mickey Harte said, nobody breaking lines and cutting through the Derry defence,
Lots of fellas had below par performances but that seems to be happening to us in recent years.
I don't believe Derry are a better team than us, they got the win on the day by their own good play and our lack of sense and some below par performances,
fellas having an off day can happen, but not having the brains to put Murphy if FF?
as I commented earlier was it Murphy's own decision to play out there or did Bonner tell him to stay out at Midfield and even paly weeper at times?

how can you hope to win anything when this is brainless way we play? we got what we deserved on the day."
Listening to you you would think playing Murphy at full forward would solve all the problems if only if it was that easy. Especially against a defensive team like Derry. What manus was saying was with the injury he had full forward was not the place for him.too much twisting and turning involved in there. Manus seems to be pretty sure he was goin to stay in full forward for this game if injury free, and I think that was the plan.. bonner and rochford know more about football that fools like us. Your a bit jumpy so don't take it as an insult it's not meant to be my friend.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 03/06/2022 15:28:46    2422025

Replying To thelowball:  "U don't want people responding to your asinine posts. Your latest summation of the Murphy situation is the most bizarre yet! For those of us on here that know there has to be only one outcome for any success to be achieved, Murphy , if carrying an injury should have been sent to the edge of the square. Now if oRourke knows something like the rest of us don't and that is Murphy is managing he might be on to something. Murphy sofar not good as a manager,but the man the gaelic footballer, 2nd to none! Hope ur not too confused,Rory and when your buddy is takin the long walk he can take O' Rourke with him."
What has o rourke to do with this. Are you a bit confused lad. Why do you and a few others keep responding to my posts. Save your energy lad I don't rate yous. Have a nice day.see you Saturday week hopefully we'll get a turn out to support bonner and the boys.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 03/06/2022 16:05:59    2422031

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm asking you a simple question, why do you only come on here after a defeat to slate bonner. You avoid every question. Donegal would not have win a all Ireland without Murphy simple fact. I'm not being arrogant just stating fact. Another man who helped Mc Guinness to win an all Ireland was Rory Gallagher. Any opinion on that. As I said before Jim was and is a great man but would you go onto a forum like this and slate him ,you wudnt fact"
First of all i dont slate or get personal against management. I am sure they are doing there best, but history has shown there best is not good enough. Facts and results tell you that.
Any management team in the world that has got 5 years, and hasn't really gotten us any closer to sam, usually has to go.
Look what tryone achieved last year when getting rid of mickey harte, and mickey had 3 all irelands to his name.
And yes rory Gallagher helped mcguinness in coaching, but mcguinness was the man in charge with authority.
Thats what a great manager does, he leads with authority and brings in the right people onto his team.
Thats the main difference, Bonner looks weak and does not lead with authority.
Let him have this year, but i believe its complete madness if he decides to continue next year.
The team needs a new voice with new ideas, and i believe the majority of supporters want that also.
Thats all i am going to say on the matter.
Good luck to the players this year for the rest of the season.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 03/06/2022 16:42:30    2422037

If Murphy or anybody else for that matter was injured they don't start and they don't come on. You don't play injured players.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 651 - 03/06/2022 16:48:18    2422038

Replying To The keeper:  "First of all i dont slate or get personal against management. I am sure they are doing there best, but history has shown there best is not good enough. Facts and results tell you that.
Any management team in the world that has got 5 years, and hasn't really gotten us any closer to sam, usually has to go.
Look what tryone achieved last year when getting rid of mickey harte, and mickey had 3 all irelands to his name.
And yes rory Gallagher helped mcguinness in coaching, but mcguinness was the man in charge with authority.
Thats what a great manager does, he leads with authority and brings in the right people onto his team.
Thats the main difference, Bonner looks weak and does not lead with authority.
Let him have this year, but i believe its complete madness if he decides to continue next year.
The team needs a new voice with new ideas, and i believe the majority of supporters want that also.
Thats all i am going to say on the matter.
Good luck to the players this year for the rest of the season."
You don't slate do you not. Who are you trying to fool. Why do you hide when we win games. And another thing you don't have much to say about my Murphy comment.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 04/06/2022 11:03:49    2422075

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm asking you a simple question, why do you only come on here after a defeat to slate bonner. You avoid every question. Donegal would not have win a all Ireland without Murphy simple fact. I'm not being arrogant just stating fact. Another man who helped Mc Guinness to win an all Ireland was Rory Gallagher. Any opinion on that. As I said before Jim was and is a great man but would you go onto a forum like this and slate him ,you wudnt fact"
Donegal would have probably won an all Ireland without Murphy. Murphy is the greatest we ever produced in my opinion but the mgt of him mcguinness won us the all Ireland. We had murphy before 2011 and after 2014 and we havent managed to even get to a semi. You are slating all the other great talents in that team of 2012 by saying Murphy was main reason we won all Ireland.just like you are downgrading our players at the minute. I'm actually tired of ppl like you saying the players aren't good enough at the minute. They all said that before 2011 and were proven badly wrong. It's an easy way of defending your friend. If bonner stays another year I think roryboy will be only 1 at the games.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 04/06/2022 11:19:35    2422082

Murphy was the difference in 2012 . Mc Guinness great manager yea Lacey big neill the Mc gees frank mc Glynn and toye and Mc fadden all great players but Murphy was the spark that brought it all together. I wudnt leave Rory Gallagher out either another great coach.. wee question Marty if Murphy and Co wernt happy with bonner and rochford would they be there this long. I await your reply.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 04/06/2022 12:02:38    2422097

Can't wait for the draw mon till we see the end of this tread. Normally I'd watch the recordings the day after a game good or bad but for different reasons only got to it last night. Different feel of a game than it was on the hill in clones, actually ive seen worse but we missed some chances especially in the first half on another day we'd be converting but I suppose alot of it was down to derrys pressure. All the best to derry a nice crowd of supporters and hope yous can go a long way this Yr. We'll meet again I'm sure.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 04/06/2022 12:36:22    2422103

Replying To marty234:  "Donegal would have probably won an all Ireland without Murphy. Murphy is the greatest we ever produced in my opinion but the mgt of him mcguinness won us the all Ireland. We had murphy before 2011 and after 2014 and we havent managed to even get to a semi. You are slating all the other great talents in that team of 2012 by saying Murphy was main reason we won all Ireland.just like you are downgrading our players at the minute. I'm actually tired of ppl like you saying the players aren't good enough at the minute. They all said that before 2011 and were proven badly wrong. It's an easy way of defending your friend. If bonner stays another year I think roryboy will be only 1 at the games."
It suits rorysboys to down grade all the talent we have to help defend Bonner. But as you said, we have great players before 2011 and after 2014 and what have we done. Its an easy answer, the difference is the management of our very talented players. This manager has had two spells in charge, and it has proven one thing, he has not got the authority or charisma to lead a team. Not to mention some of his decisions on the sideline.
Would we have won the all Ireland without mcguinness taking over, the answer is definitely NO.
Mcguinness from 2010 to 2014, took teams to 3 all finals.
Bonner has had 5 years and not even a semi, i rest my case.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 04/06/2022 14:18:17    2422126

Replying To The keeper:  "It suits rorysboys to down grade all the talent we have to help defend Bonner. But as you said, we have great players before 2011 and after 2014 and what have we done. Its an easy answer, the difference is the management of our very talented players. This manager has had two spells in charge, and it has proven one thing, he has not got the authority or charisma to lead a team. Not to mention some of his decisions on the sideline.
Would we have won the all Ireland without mcguinness taking over, the answer is definitely NO.
Mcguinness from 2010 to 2014, took teams to 3 all finals.
Bonner has had 5 years and not even a semi, i rest my case."
Never asked you would we win all Ireland without Mc Guinness. Stop making up your own questions to answer. Your previous post at the finish you wished the players well for the rest of the year but no word of management, sums u up all right.. it's people like you who don't go to games who are the biggest mouths.. lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2415 - 04/06/2022 14:33:57    2422128