there's a lot of weird nonsense online alright yew_tree, I find it hard to understand myself and doesn't tally with a lot of conversations I have in person to be honest I personally don't like leaving the parade early but it doesn't have any impact on how they play for the next 70 minutes you're right on that question for next year, being honest if Kerry play to that level consistently it is hard to see how you stop them but that's the fun of it now for 2026 CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 262 - 29/07/2025 20:13:57 2629110 Link 0 |
So leaving a parade early is shocking behaviour but going out of your way to tell donegal supporters you're delighted they were hammered is the action of a true gael. OK then. Wonderful that you're upholding the principles of our great association. Such a bit of pearl clutching over something that's been done many times before, by Dublin and Armagh for example off the top of my head. WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 29/07/2025 20:15:46 2629111 Link 0 |
Jim needs to do a few things to get back to an All Ireland final next year. shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 29/07/2025 20:21:09 2629113 Link 0 |
It wasn't so much the breaking away early as the slowness to join the parade at the start that got the crowd on their backs. I would think it's a great honour to march behind the band on All Ireland final day particularly for lads that never done it before with their family and friends there to watch them, anyway all it done was unsettle us I thought but Kerry were in top from anyway, even if we had played our A game it was still going to be hard won but I thought we didn't help our own cause, that's all I'm saying. On another point someone mentioned about our underage teams doing so well but getting edged out in finals etc, what is it about us in finals? I know they are nervy occasions and not like regular games but it's something we'll have to sort out and get the winning habit, we don't want to end up another Mayo losing final after final. But the reality is without Jim McGuinness we'd still be plodding on and nowhere near challenging for All Irelands, none of us are perfect so I'm sure Jim and the team will take big learnings from this season, maybe some new blood in the squad next year and with a final appearance already in the tank hopefully we'll do better the next time we get a crack at it. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3399 - 29/07/2025 20:21:59 2629114 Link 0 |
The Dubs pulled out of the parade that day in protest at the amount of Mayo fans in the Hill. A big bunch of babies. Mayo dominated the first half that day and but for a poxy goalkeepinf mistake would have been well ahead at half time. Dublin weren't tuned in on the start of that game either. It's an all Ireland final, there is a parade, enjoy it, use it to gee you up and get on with it. Messing around in and out of warm ups before the match is a distraction. It was part of the reason they weren't ready for Kerry at the start. With the way Donegal play (low block with a counter attack), being off the pace for 10min cost them the game. Kerry never had to chase the game, so could kick it around and pick Donegal off at teir leisure. Donegal needed a a good start and messing around before hand wastes mental energy, when you should be tuning in to getting stuck in from the first ball. tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1530 - 29/07/2025 20:27:53 2629116 Link 1 |
Jesus wept, sure didn't Gallen cancel out that opening point about a minute later?!? Some amount of spoofers on here... Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9946 - 29/07/2025 20:34:34 2629121 Link 0 |
A contract is worthless. I imagine Jim will remain on because he won't like to go out after a bad beating and getting totally outfoxed on the sidelines on All Ireland Final day. However if he doesn't believe that Donegal are good enough to win the All Ireland next year he might decide to leave. He is rightly regarded as God in Donegal but outside of that county he has lost a lot of the goodwill from other counties. He spoke about respect and the lack of respect that Donegal were getting and then his team totally disrespects the meeting of our president and the marching behind the band. eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2188 - 29/07/2025 20:43:50 2629124 Link 0 |
I can't see why he would leave. Regarding the parade nobody mentioned Srmagh keaving early last year, so yeah its a big nothing.
joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 29/07/2025 20:54:02 2629126 Link 0 |
Because when he first took the job again he said something along the lines of "we'll see how the next couple years go". I'm paraphrasing it badly probably. Plus the way he coaches and the intensity he brings, maybe he thinks it can only be sustained for 3-4 years. Look I want him to stay longterm. Hes our greatest ever manager and I always think what could have been had he stayed on longer or if we got him back before Declan came in since unfortunately he didn't enough with that good side. I think with the offseason he will look for a few new lads. Maybe young Luke McGlynn will have a good championship for Glenfin and he can be given a chance. I'm sure he will try and keep the likes of paddy and Ryan around until at least he's done. They're 31 and 32 but they definitely can play for another couple years with the new rules, paddy especially. Murphy will be harder to get to stay on though. Think he will wait till later in the year to decide. People have mentioned Murphy and Lacey working alongside Jim in coaching. I'd love that. I think some one of those two will be our next manager after Jim. I've said here I'm not much a club man so does anyone have names of anyone to watch out for in the club championship? Players who could realistically make the senior side next year? With regards to the noise. It's expected. Fans of other counties think they would have done better but sure that's only speculative. Monaghan and Meath fans seem to be the ones saying this the most even though they were handily beat by us. I've no interest in Brolly anymore. Same as in 2014, he loved us and after we lose suddenly our players aren't great. We were second best on the day but second best in the country overall. Jim will spend the offseason looking at ways to improve on the new rules and I believe he will have a plan B in store for next year. If we are allowed to play to our strengths at our plan A, I don't think anyone can stop us apart from this Kerry side. We just need to tweak a few things for when we do come up against the likes of them. Call me naive or delusional but I'm not afraid of any other county if we played them tomorrow in a final. We probably should have beaten Galway last year and I think we would have beaten Armagh again in the final. Wasn't to be. You need to beat the best to be the best as Ric Flair says. So hopefully next year we do well in ulster again, at this stage we don't need to go hell for leather for it as it no longer holds as much weight in terms of championship. But of course we should be trying our best in it. New format will be interesting and likely will throw up a lot of surprises here and there. eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 222 - 29/07/2025 20:54:44 2629127 Link 0 |
Just getting around to post my 2 pence. Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 29/07/2025 21:25:30 2629135 Link 3 |
I think Paddy will stay for sure. He lives and breaths football probably more than anyone in the county. I just think Murphy won't be able to commit again at 36-37 come championship and he might be happy to go out with a great year and an all star. Hope I'm wrong. Do we have many big young lads around the county that aren't already in the panel? Yeah if murphy is gone and paddy isn't starting next year we do need someone else to step up. Jamie isn't the answer unfortunately but a good sub to have (although I'm confused why he and NOD played so little this year) I think if we don't get a preliminary game in ulster and we are on a favorable side, Jim will be targeting a 3peat of Ulster as I don't think it's been done in my lifetime anyway. I agree though if we did get a tough game before the final that we shouldn't be going hell for leather and we should focus on the all Ireland series. We probably played too much football this season and allowed Kerry to figure us out. It will be an achievement in itself if gets us to a final next year with all things considering. I'm sure he has a plan. I just don't know if we have any gems not in the county team yet. Perhaps someone with more club knowledge can fill me in on who's the next up. I hear about Muldoon but I've only seen the odd u20 game so can't really say eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 222 - 29/07/2025 21:39:16 2629137 Link 0 |
Ah here. In 2014 a bad mistake from Durcan was the difference.
eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 222 - 29/07/2025 21:46:25 2629138 Link 1 |
Thank you Scenic.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4056 - 29/07/2025 21:59:21 2629144 Link 0 |
Thanks for the lovely comments.Yes tbis win was extra special for us as we beat 3 huge teams the last 3 games but have such great respect for Donegal and tbeir people after Sunday.It was hard for you all nut showed true sportsmanship and class.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4056 - 29/07/2025 22:05:15 2629147 Link 0 |
I'd like to see some serious coaching on mixing in the use of the advantage mark. It's a ridiculously advantageous rule that is just begging to be abused. I'm not talking about lumping balls in but practicing hitting runners towards the sideline. It's not a hard pass with the amount of space being afforded to players just outside the 45. Remember this is a rule that allows you to play and go for point or goal and if you miss, you get to come back for the mark and have another free shot at it. I'm amazed teams aren't using it more. benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1442 - 29/07/2025 22:41:35 2629156 Link 0 |
No doubt Jim is a brilliant manager, if he was from a different county with more talented resources at his disposal he would have racked up multiple ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1744 - 30/07/2025 00:05:31 2629166 Link 0 |
Yeah I believe Jim will stay on for the final year of his agreed 3 year term. After that he will likely still want to pursue a soccer challenge now that he has his Full UEFA license, but I believe he will see out his full agreed term hopefully.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1441 - 30/07/2025 08:07:23 2629182 Link 0 |
Yeah, same with Pauric Joyce.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1441 - 30/07/2025 10:20:43 2629206 Link 2 |
Wasn't the only mistake made on the day lad. Kerry win in 2014 simple as. A lot of finals are win by simple mistakes. Kerry had there homework done in 14 they completely nullified murphy. On Sunday they saw a weakness in our defence and they exploited it by running strong at us. I believe jim will stay on hopefully he does. He'll not want to go after last Sunday. Kerry will be on his radar for next year .
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2656 - 30/07/2025 10:22:24 2629209 Link 0 |