Yeah Ciaran Caufield has serious gears, and I noticed that Meath's half back line is very like the Donegal 2012 half back line, in that those runners are powerful and paceyt and their link play is excellent. Having the experience of Donal Keogan is a real asset, like he seemed to steady the ship when the pressure was on. Caufield was saying that a lot of these younger Meath players have been playing together now for 5 years or so, which might explain how they gel so well. Jordan Morris is unmarkable when he turns it on, he covers a lot of ground and also noted his workrate off the ball, like forcing turnovers against Galway, he is a brilliant forward, arguably one of the best in the Country now. I assume Brendan McCole will be picking him up, but sometimes Jim McGuinness can switch it around and have players like Peadar Mogan etc pick up a forward who is difficult to handle. Regarding Kinsella and Costello, if the opposition kickout short or to the middle, these guys apply serious intensity and pressure onto the opposition backs and they double up in midfield too, which helps win a lot of breaking ball. Whereas the Meath half back line comes to the fore if they force a turnover from an opposition attack, but interestingly they don't run the full length of the pitch usually, they cross the half way line and kick long to the corner forwards, either straight or diagonal ball. And you have the forwards who can win ball and take scores if space is available. A lot of GAA pundits have tried to simplify Meath into "Big players around the middle, good defence and good a 2 pointers", but there is a lot more to this Meath team than that, they have top class players in every position and a number of effective systems for different scenarios and a top class manager in place who the players believe in. This will be a massive challenge for Donegal, Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2025 10:33:21 2624565 Link 0 |
The GAA have a strange way of sorting things at times, the colour clash in that 2014 final was clearly evident, in 2012 both sides wore their alternative strips. Surely one or the other should wore their green and gold. As for Armagh, no idea, Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2025 11:49:42 2624579 Link 0 |
Are you saying that 1000 club members across Donegal who had their membership paid before March 2025 are currently unable to get tickets for Sunday's match?
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2025 12:00:14 2624582 Link 0 |
Always enjoyed watching him. Must be one of the most underrated nationally too
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12446 - 09/07/2025 12:13:22 2624588 Link 0 |
Meath beat Galway but they are underdogs against us according to the bookies, if Galway had beaten Meath ourselves and Galway would likely have been around evens, Galway maybe slight favs, it's funny how bookies work these odds out. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3326 - 09/07/2025 12:20:41 2624592 Link 0 |
I see Dick Clerkin on Independent podcast, I think that's his name anyway but not sure he played much high level football thinks Donegal are going to rout Meath and Meath just caught Dublin and Kerry on off days and he's in no doubt they would beat Meath easily if they played again today. These are the experts that probably help make up the bookies minds. Who knows maybe he is right! winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 09/07/2025 12:56:37 2624600 Link 0 |
yeah thats what it looks like. I know of one club that sent a message to everyone who ordered tickets at 10pm Tuesday night saying that they still hadn't received any tickets and had no idea how many they would receive, and at the same time other clubs were organising ticket collections. Now today we have the PRO putting up a facebook post for clubs to advertise spare tickets, whilst at the same time some clubs haven't received any tickets. Glad I went to ticketmaster for mine. GAA must be the only organization in the world that put tickets on general sale before members have received their tickets.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 710 - 09/07/2025 13:36:22 2624613 Link 1 |
I think a lot of pundits haven't done thorough analysis on this Meath team, they would have reviewed them, but perhaps underestimated their quality all over the field. In GAA inter county circles, its rare for a team to come out of the woodwork and go from a poor or very mediocre 2024 season to All Ireland SF in 2025, merely 12 months later. It happened with Donegal in 2011 after a very poor 2010, and they were very close in 2011. I think when the dust settles on 2025, a lot of pundits and so called experts will realize they never accurately understood the quality Meath had in their ranks and the potential that a great management team was going to see them realize in 2025. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2025 13:53:01 2624624 Link 0 |
In fairness to Colm Parkinson, I believe he tipped Meath as dark horses back in the spring. I understand that Meath are without 3 or 4 other lads who are either injured or travelling, so they definitely are a team on the rise. I just hope this year is a wee bit too soon for them.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9878 - 09/07/2025 14:08:43 2624628 Link 0 |
Highly rated in Donegal though, a great club player. He transferred to a junior club up here about 2 years ago but only played a couple of games for them and hasn't togged since. Went back to manage his home club then last year.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1264 - 09/07/2025 14:17:25 2624632 Link 0 |
Found that very odd myself? Surely she shouldn't be putting up a post of that until all clubs get sorted first?
dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 09/07/2025 14:19:59 2624634 Link 0 |
That's the same Dick that done the Independent Podcast last week from the South of France, missing his own counties game against Donegal. Therefore he missed the Meath v Galway game as well. So I wouldn't put much weight on his opinion. He has been wrong in his analysis of Donegal all year, absolutely hates us, and is now trying to pile more pressure on us with that rubbish. He doesn't even believe it himself. SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 835 - 09/07/2025 14:28:25 2624635 Link 1 |
Agreed. I've noticed alot of very lazy analysis. The game has changed quite dramatically since last year so really should be honing in more on recent performances especially since championship started. I believe best four teams are left in championship on merit. Donegal are an excellent team and extremely well conditioned with good shooters. Meath have similarly athletic players but are perhaps a little less systematic. People will argue Donegal have been here before and have alot of medals in the bank and the doubt with Meath is their experience at this stage. Perhaps that will count but Meath have shown considerable potential.
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 09/07/2025 14:50:07 2624640 Link 0 |
They might not be members though. I'm a club member but bought my tickets on Ticketmaster as sitting with non club members. So a lot of those tickets might be ordered through clubs but not for club members. Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 310 - 09/07/2025 14:57:46 2624643 Link 0 |
You claim to have never heard of Dick Clerkin, I'm not sure your analysis should be considered reliable
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12446 - 09/07/2025 15:09:07 2624647 Link 0 |
Think Donegal would have been favs versus Galway, 8/11 to 11/10 sort of thing. But get your point, you wouldn't really be able to split them and could make a case for either one.
Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 09/07/2025 15:11:20 2624648 Link 0 |
Most clubs were only taking orders from club members.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 710 - 09/07/2025 15:14:32 2624649 Link 0 |
One ticket per member?
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1417 - 09/07/2025 15:18:24 2624651 Link 0 |
I have a vague memory of a burly player around the middle of the field on a very average Monaghan team. Never competed for major honours. As a Cavan man you were likely more familiar or perhaps a neighbour. I see Cavan on lookout for a new manager. Any thoughts? What's the potential within Cavan? winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 09/07/2025 15:45:54 2624653 Link 0 |
Ah you're bluffing I see
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12446 - 09/07/2025 15:53:19 2624654 Link 0 |