Donegal GAA thread

Honestly, I thought we were gone at half time. Monaghan were playing brilliant and we looked out of ideas. We had a meltdown on kickouts in the first half and most Monaghan scores came from that. What a performance in the second half, as good as I can remember. One thing we can be sure of is that these group of players will give everything for the jersey, we can ask no more than that.

Thompson kept us in the game first half with those two pointers. I thought Ryan had a fine game, much improved. Hard to pick out players in the second half as everyone was excellent. The subs made a serious impact. It was great to see Paddy back on form. Langan had a brilliant second half. Shane O'Donnell must run a marathon each match, would love to know his stats, great player.

Our full forward line of Gallen, Murphy and Conor O'Donnell are flying. When you add in Paddy from the bench we are stacked in that department. Conor O'Donnell has been sensational, really coming of age. I wasn't sure he could play corner forward but how wrong could I be.

I thought Monaghan were brilliant in the first half. They probably took some poor shooting options in the second half and tired. They are a team on the rise, no doubt about that.

Finally call out to the Donegal supporters yesterday, really got behind the team when they needed it. We travelled in big numbers and it's great to see the support the team are getting.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1915 - 29/06/2025 11:26:20    2622000

Have to pay credit to Paddy McBrearty. It can't be easy for him as captain not to be starting. He's a proud, competitive lad & you only have to see that picture of him celebrating doing the rounds to see what it means to him.

His trademark lofted points yesterday on the trust citeog were greeted with huge guttural roars and for me, it was like the knife went fully into Monaghan there, and their day was more or less done.

Bulaí fir Paddy!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9850 - 29/06/2025 11:30:40    2622003

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "7 down at halftime. This one is over. Another summer of wondering what if. Oh well. Hopefully Jim and Murphy stick around another year."
You are the most negative nancy going, anytime we're in bother you're spouting crap on here. These lads are an absolute credit to this county whether we win or lose. Straight onto a forum to give out about them, go and support them instead of posting nonsense on here.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 106 - 29/06/2025 11:30:59    2622004

Starting to develop a ruthless streak long may it continue.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 29/06/2025 11:32:33    2622005

Replying To brayballer:  "Donegal and money.AS mean as misers. Donegal for money and whinging."
Bad Dublin can't make it past a QF despite playing at home two years in a row...

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1258 - 29/06/2025 11:39:49    2622013

Replying To HeadButter:  "Monaghan are an Ulster team as well...Did you go to school at all?"
Yeah. But where is monaghan today?

TalkToFahy (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 29/06/2025 11:52:21    2622022

What a game, first half we weren't at the races at all, second half we played as we all know we can, great to see Oisín hitting top form, what a goal from Langan, goal of the season contender, semi final draw is tonight so at least we'll know tonight, no matter who we get there is no game easier than other, not sure who I'd prefer.
One good thing now is we have an extra days rest!
Well done to the team and supporters, as was said previously, these boys are giving their all for Donegal and that's all we can ask, fantastic team we are so lucky to have them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3300 - 29/06/2025 11:59:25    2622023

What a second half. Like Lockjaw the adrenaline was still pumping long after leaving Croke Park. The first half was a funny one as we started pretty well then a couple of cheap turnovers and the next thing Beggan bangs over a two pointer after the hooter and I'm scratching my head thinking how did that happen. The biggest issue was clearly the lockouts and in my mind Patton is still nursing that injury. He was uncharacteristically apprehensive at times getting them away before hitting them straight into the arms of a Monaghan man. You gotta credit Monaghan for that as well as their 2 point shooting. There was a definite advantage kicking it into that end which is why the Dubs will be kicking themselves this morning but that's for them to contemplate. I really thought we were as good as done at half time but how wrong was I. I've said it in previous posts that we've shown both great character and an astute ability to make the in game changes which is down to Jim and his backroom team. They brought McCole out to man the arc and Daire done a great job when he came on assisting in manning the middle area. The subs made a huge impact. Jason had his best cameo this year. I was watching Paddy in the warm ups and he was nailing everything so I had a feeling he'd make an impact. The two Michael's again really brought it and when that goal went in the tide had turned. The little shoulder drop and body swerve combined with the finish was something else from Langan. A few great scores from Conor O'Donnell added to a dominant second half......some buzz. Delighted to be into another semi final. I feel there is still more to come from this team as we haven't put in a full 70 minute display. Much of the Ulster campaign was built on good first half performances and dropping off in the second while it's been the opposite in the second half. When we've clicked I don't think any other team left has looked as impressive. Still plenty work on. Hopefully Patton heals up more as we need him. I don't care who we play but would love another shot at Tyrone after Ballybofey and the twenties final. Congrats to them on winning yesterday. Plus commiserations to all those from Monaghan who travelled down in great numbers and brought a good energy to CP.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2881 - 29/06/2025 12:15:23    2622029

Strange attack from Jammy on the communications officer in his post match debrief. He didn't want that statement released seemingly

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 274 - 29/06/2025 12:16:58    2622030

Well done yesterday. Great 2nd half performance.

Ye have been wailing and crying over the quick turnaround and the venue of the Mayo game.

The theory of the quick turnaround should be under the carpet now.

The wailing and crying over the officials off the GAA selecting Hyde Park for the Mayo match was wrong as Hyde Park was the correct venue
Any other venue would show unfair favoritism to Donegal.

Where else should that game of been played.

Celtic Park. Longer distance from Keem in Achill than from Malin to the Hyde.
Healy Park. Longer distance from Keem Achill than from Malin to the Hyde.
Brewster Park UNAVAILABLE
Breffni Park UNAVAILABLE
Pairc Sean Wouldn't have the capacity for it.
Pearce Park Woouldn't have the capacity for it.
Markievicz Park is closed. .

Going forward ye will be the least popular team in the semi's after all this inaccurate wailing and crying about the quick turnaround and the venue been the Hyde.

The rule of the semifinals draw is keep teams that have played each other in this year's championship.

This is now impossible.
Will it br the 4 names put into a drum and a random draw.

I'm open to correction if there's another way to avoid the random draw.
Please tell me if there is. .

I wish ye well going forward. I've a gut feeling Sam will be in Donegal this year.

Good luck to ye.

Any suggestions on where else it could of been played.

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 29/06/2025 12:32:33    2622036

Replying To CCFabu:  "What a second half performance, so proud

Shane was great but how did Michael Langan not win MOTM? He was incredible

Just so so proud. Can't wait for 2 weeks time"
Langan is a very stylish operator for such a big man. That side step for his goal left poor defender Byrne chasing shadows and what about his two pointer from a standing position.
A lot of play including your goal went through Murphy , sure he left a few behind him but made a big contribution overall. In reality you had men stepping up all over the place .
Every team would love a Shane O'Donnell for his tireless selfless running. Good to see him backing himself and coming away with 0.3 , loved how the defence opened up for him with that 'dropping the shoulder dummy' for one of his second half points.
Oisin Gallen kicked 3 smart points during his purple patch and what a sub P McBrearty is to bring on when play has opened up, two trademark boomers from him.
Conor O Donnell continues to improve with every game , good close control at pace and doesn't hesitate to shoot when he gets space. Looking back Thompson (with Tulsk DNA, love to have him in the Primrose and Blue) double two pointers in the first half were massive . . kept you in touch until Woods and Beggan landed 2 pointers late on. Considering both teams scored 1.15 with the wind ..your 0.11 to their 0.05 against the wind was a telling factor.
As always score takers get most of the kudos but very impressed with McCole at full back and where on earth have you sprung young Roarty from ? What pace, power and skill at 19 , great tackler and so comfortable in possession..best young player I've seen in a while.
Yes M Langan was one of many in with a shout for MOTM but delighted Shane O Donnell got it for his work rate and contribution alone, qualities which aren't always acknowledged or rewarded.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 621 - 29/06/2025 12:36:02    2622037

Replying To farneygael3:  "Strange attack from Jammy on the communications officer in his post match debrief. He didn't want that statement released seemingly"
Nearly as strange as Monaghan's attack in the 2nd half yesterday.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 705 - 29/06/2025 12:42:38    2622038

Replying To Shannonview:  "Well done yesterday. Great 2nd half performance.

Ye have been wailing and crying over the quick turnaround and the venue of the Mayo game.

The wailing and crying over the officials off the GAA selecting Hyde Park for the Mayo match was wrong as Hyde Park was the correct venue

Breffni Park UNAVAILABLE

Going forward ye will be the least popular team in the semi's after all this inaccurate wailing and crying about the quick turnaround and the venue been the Hyde.

The rule of the semifinals draw is keep teams that have played each other in this year's championship.

This is now impossible.

I wish ye well going forward. I've a gut feeling Sam will be in Donegal this year.

Good luck to ye.

Any suggestions on where else it could of been played."
Croke Park

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3172 - 29/06/2025 12:47:44    2622039

Breffni Park UNAVAILABLE

This is now impossible.

Good luck to ye.

That's all history now and all grievances have been well and truly answered on the pitch so don't get left behind trying to stir it up again. Donegal were the first team in 3 years of this new structure to have a 6 day turnaround (that's just one from 12 teams) and probably the last as the issue is up for discussion at congress…GPA pushing it too. Least popular/most popular etc… ah from my travels, work etc every county in Ireland is brimming with the best of people , I love spending time in Leitrim, Donegal, Tipp, Galway etc… we all need to avoid forming an opinion on any county based on a tiny minority of anonymous posters on here.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 621 - 29/06/2025 12:53:05    2622040

Breffni Park UNAVAILABLE

This is now impossible.

Good luck to ye.

Only thing in keem is a few holiday homes.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 29/06/2025 12:58:55    2622042

Replying To panamasam:  "What a second half. Like Lockjaw the adrenaline was still pumping long after leaving Croke Park. The first half was a funny one as we started pretty well then a couple of cheap turnovers and the next thing Beggan bangs over a two pointer after the hooter and I'm scratching my head thinking how did that happen. The biggest issue was clearly the lockouts and in my mind Patton is still nursing that injury. He was uncharacteristically apprehensive at times getting them away before hitting them straight into the arms of a Monaghan man. You gotta credit Monaghan for that as well as their 2 point shooting. There was a definite advantage kicking it into that end which is why the Dubs will be kicking themselves this morning but that's for them to contemplate. I really thought we were as good as done at half time but how wrong was I. I've said it in previous posts that we've shown both great character and an astute ability to make the in game changes which is down to Jim and his backroom team. They brought McCole out to man the arc and Daire done a great job when he came on assisting in manning the middle area. The subs made a huge impact. Jason had his best cameo this year. I was watching Paddy in the warm ups and he was nailing everything so I had a feeling he'd make an impact. The two Michael's again really brought it and when that goal went in the tide had turned. The little shoulder drop and body swerve combined with the finish was something else from Langan. A few great scores from Conor O'Donnell added to a dominant second half......some buzz. Delighted to be into another semi final. I feel there is still more to come from this team as we haven't put in a full 70 minute display. Much of the Ulster campaign was built on good first half performances and dropping off in the second while it's been the opposite in the second half. When we've clicked I don't think any other team left has looked as impressive. Still plenty work on. Hopefully Patton heals up more as we need him. I don't care who we play but would love another shot at Tyrone after Ballybofey and the twenties final. Congrats to them on winning yesterday. Plus commiserations to all those from Monaghan who travelled down in great numbers and brought a good energy to CP."
*it's been the opposite post Ulster in strong second halves that should've read

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2881 - 29/06/2025 13:03:40    2622044

Great to be looking to forward to a semi final against non ulster opposition, don't have a preference for meath or Galway, if we're good enough it shouldn't matter. Think kerry might upset the odds against Armagh today

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1103 - 29/06/2025 13:28:03    2622049

Breffni Park UNAVAILABLE

This is now impossible.

Good luck to ye.

Semi final keeping teams apart won't be impossible if Galway and Kerry win.

Donegal and Tyrone be kept apart that's it.

If Armagh win an equal draw will be needed.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 297 - 29/06/2025 13:44:09    2622054

Replying To Curlew66:  "That's all history now and all grievances have been well and truly answered on the pitch so don't get left behind trying to stir it up again. Donegal were the first team in 3 years of this new structure to have a 6 day turnaround (that's just one from 12 teams) and probably the last as the issue is up for discussion at congress…GPA pushing it too. Least popular/most popular etc… ah from my travels, work etc every county in Ireland is brimming with the best of people , I love spending time in Leitrim, Donegal, Tipp, Galway etc… we all need to avoid forming an opinion on any county based on a tiny minority of anonymous posters on here."
Anonymous posters.
I'll give you some partial anonymity.
I'm from the part of Leitrim that touches Bundoran

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 29/06/2025 13:53:07    2622057

Replying To Shannonview:  "Anonymous posters.
I'll give you some partial anonymity.
I'm from the part of Leitrim that touches Bundoran"
So no Shannon view from where you live then. An indicator you may be also prone to exaggeration.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 297 - 29/06/2025 14:25:58    2622063