Donegal GAA thread

Replying To gunman:  "When you see what coming third meant to Galway I think it is a great system and I am sorry to see it being replaced.Would yous rather have seen us packing our bags after the Tyrone game."
Not really the point. Of course coming third means something, because that's what's required to stay in contention for the big prize.

Just because it means something doesn't mean that it's as it should be. As stated, this format meant that the third best team from a 5-team province still had the chance to remain in the comp despite failing to win any of their opening three fixtures in championship. The team they had to beat were the third-best team in a 7-team province who had managed one win from 4 games (against London, over two months ago).

It's not the lack of jeopardy that bothers me, it's that the teams who win Ulster and Leinster play more matches, pick up more injuries and suspensions, and their reward is a slightly better seeding in a stage that whittles 16 teams down to 12.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 465 - 15/06/2025 12:32:39    2617687

Replying To S1234:  "Still a ridiculous statement. If you can't beat Mayo you can forget about sam how arrogant.
We are not as good as the team who put it up to the Dubs 6 in a row. Obviously not as we are a team in transition one of the youngest teams in the country .

Yet we are still in division 1 so can hardly be as bad you make us out to be . Came within a grasp of beating Galway in connacht final who are also favourites for sam to .
Write us off at your peril love the arrogance from you lot for Sunday and the dismissal of our young guys hope it spurs them on and it will !"
Within a grasp of beating Donegal... lol .

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 671 - 15/06/2025 18:05:36    2617791

Congratulations to Donegal. Best of luck in the rest of the Championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8085 - 15/06/2025 18:17:04    2617798

What a tight game. Not at our best. Hard luck on Mayo especially as draw kept them in it.

The draw tomorrow will go long way to deciding championship. If Galway avoid Donegal and Kerry, then Donegal may end up in the best position of all the teams remaining.

Why? In that scenario, you'd expect Donegal, Galway, Kerry & Dublin to win their preliminaries (i know that's a bit foolish this seadon but....)

Then for quarter finals in that scenario Kerry would have to play Armagh meaning big two face each other, we get Meath or Monaghan and another big gun runs into Tyrone.

I'd expect Armagh would beat Kerry in that scenario and we would probably end up playing a Dublin or Galway potentially in semi finals.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 367 - 15/06/2025 19:24:51    2617820

Well done lads! We had to head to practically a home venue for Mayo and we won when the game was in the mixer. Fair dues to Ciaran Moore, that takes courage. Mayo battled for their lives and we found a way. We missed too many goal chances, again. Could have won that by 4/5 if we were more clinical. Hopefully a decent draw tomorrow and hopefully no new injuries. Great to see Jason McGee back on the field. Murphy again so effective. Need more from Gallen. Shane O'Donnell is a machine. Caolan McColgan has really announced himself the last two games. Langan quiet. Conor O'Donnell had a big two games now the past few. Plenty to work on but we are alive and kicking.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1442 - 15/06/2025 20:01:31    2617855

Replying To greenfan:  "Within a grasp of beating Donegal... lol ."
The nearly men - story of their lives!

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1228 - 15/06/2025 20:02:01    2617856

Why is the draw on Monday morning? They could have done it straight after the game , live on RTE 2.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 671 - 15/06/2025 20:26:07    2617869

Replying To greenfan:  "Why is the draw on Monday morning? They could have done it straight after the game , live on RTE 2."
The idea is to create more media coverage the following day so you have more exposure the following day.

The biggest drawback is the lack of time for planning. Day and time won't get announced til afternoon and tickets probably not on sale til Wednesday.

That has to affect attendance potential.
Even the mighty Leinster have been struggling to sell tickets for European games because of short turnaround between games.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 367 - 15/06/2025 20:48:20    2617885

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Well done lads! We had to head to practically a home venue for Mayo and we won when the game was in the mixer. Fair dues to Ciaran Moore, that takes courage. Mayo battled for their lives and we found a way. We missed too many goal chances, again. Could have won that by 4/5 if we were more clinical. Hopefully a decent draw tomorrow and hopefully no new injuries. Great to see Jason McGee back on the field. Murphy again so effective. Need more from Gallen. Shane O'Donnell is a machine. Caolan McColgan has really announced himself the last two games. Langan quiet. Conor O'Donnell had a big two games now the past few. Plenty to work on but we are alive and kicking."
Murphy's the man. Don't know how Donegal got to a semi final last year without him. They certainly wouldn't have won today without him.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2467 - 15/06/2025 20:57:04    2617887

A great win in the end.

- Murphy was Murphy again, just simply outstanding - we'll forgive the turnover which led to the Mayo goal ;)
- Our defence was very good, kept Mayo at bay pretty well
- We need to more clinical against the better teams. I know Mayo defended pretty well, but some of our wides were poor enough, and we could have made things easier on ourselves by being more ruthless with the goal chances
- Ciaran Moore - what a player! I saw some online commentary saying that Mayo were naive by not pulling him down. The only problem with that is that you'd have to catch him first!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9805 - 15/06/2025 21:15:21    2617897

Home game next week and donegal rally on. Traffic be crazy.

Bingobus (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 15/06/2025 21:28:04    2617903

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Congratulations to Donegal. Best of luck in the rest of the Championship."
Cheers G&R, very small margins in these games, reality is Mayo getting beat at home by Cavan and ourselves slipping up against Tyrone at home put us both on the back foot.
I had the draw backed and was sure it was money in the bag once Mayo equalised but young Moore had other ideas. At least we have a home prelim QF now all depends who we get in the morning.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3256 - 15/06/2025 21:33:39    2617906

Replying To greenfan:  "Why is the draw on Monday morning? They could have done it straight after the game , live on RTE 2."
Think they need time to freeze the balls lol.
Great to see Jason back, hopefully Gallen finds form on his home pitch next weekend, if we get McGonagle back now and we get the rub of the green we can go a long way despite having played so many hard games already.
Thought that ref was very poor today.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3256 - 15/06/2025 21:42:19    2617908

Thank you Ciarán Moore. That will put the Mayo headers (S1234 and JimB1991) into hibernation for a week anyways. Work will be quiet tomorrow.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 835 - 15/06/2025 21:54:42    2617919

Congrats Donegal..better team but we probably should have got the draw. I do think ur need to improve a lot to win Sam but it's an unpredictable year so who knows. As for us we are in the doldrums but we will be back. See ye next next year

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11645 - 15/06/2025 21:57:59    2617921

Replying To Bingobus:  "Home game next week and donegal rally on. Traffic be crazy."
Something else for Jim to cry about.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 205 - 15/06/2025 22:19:09    2617933

Replying To yew_tree:  "Will be interesting to see what happens if the game is close or even level going down the home straight…if news comes through that Tyrone are winning well….im
Not suggesting either team will play for a draw but the drive or intensity might just drop a notch or two and it may be a case of sure a draw will do us both…?"
I don't think the drive or intensity dropped?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 15/06/2025 22:22:08    2617934

I thought we were not great today but just did enough to get over Mayo. We butchered 3 great goal chances and Paddy's miss was criminal. Delighted to put Mayo out of the championship as I can still remember the abuse we got from Mayo fans leaving Castlebar when they beat us and put us out of the Championship in 2019 so was sweeter putting them out after the hooter had sounded.

Donegalabroad (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 15/06/2025 22:23:50    2617935

Replying To S1234:  "Still a ridiculous statement. If you can't beat Mayo you can forget about sam how arrogant.
We are not as good as the team who put it up to the Dubs 6 in a row. Obviously not as we are a team in transition one of the youngest teams in the country .

Yet we are still in division 1 so can hardly be as bad you make us out to be . Came within a grasp of beating Galway in connacht final who are also favourites for sam to .
Write us off at your peril love the arrogance from you lot for Sunday and the dismissal of our young guys hope it spurs them on and it will !"
Enjoy the rest of your Summer. Good beaches in Mayo....

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 15/06/2025 22:24:32    2617938

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Why are you writing players off? On the 18th of May you posted Eoin Ban wouldn't see any game time. The medical team sort players and they play when available, nobody plays 100% injury free. Sure, we all had niggles going into any game, some mornings I couldn't get out of the bed and then the car with pain and stiffness after a heavy training or physical match. Keep the faith, Jason will be driving us in the middle of the pitch in a few weeks."
Told you all on the 31st of May that Jason would be back. More game time today, hopefully he increases it over the next few weeks. I watched the game back tonight and Shaun Patton said on the after match interviews that McGonigle would add more to the middle sector soon. It will be great to get nearly everyone back. I hope we get a decent draw tomorrow.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 132 - 15/06/2025 22:36:38    2617945