Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "It is a big deal to the people of Fintown
The club is not called "Glenties"
It offends people from Fintown since their club and the original Glenties one amalgamated decades ago to form the Naomh Conaill one.
5 or 6 from their start every week in the current team."
I never said it was - I have been calling ye by your proper name for years as glenties/fintown.

Stop looking to be upset for no reason.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1662 - 15/08/2024 13:44:38    2565263

Replying To tickets:  "I would love to know the turnover of players glenties have had in the last 10 years. It wouldn't be much compared to Eunans/Gweedore?"
U run the risk here of attracting the offended brigade..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1662 - 15/08/2024 13:45:18    2565264

Replying To veterngaa:  "Glenties it is … if you don't like it … I suggest hoganstand is not the place for people like you"
+1

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1662 - 15/08/2024 13:45:43    2565265

Replying To AudiMan:  "On the club name issue their Facebook page states "this is the official Naomh Conaill Facebook Page. Glenties/Fintown". Eunans4ever you have been vindicated."
Was wondering how long it would take………………….

Well done son

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1662 - 15/08/2024 13:46:15    2565267

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Was wondering how long it would take………………….

Well done son"
Where did yous get this Boyle lad from, seems a good letterkenny name ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2537 - 15/08/2024 14:21:12    2565275

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I don't think it's dominance really.

Since glenties/Fintown first arrived on the scene in 2005 to compete properly - they have won 7 championships I think and we have won 6.

We have met in 6 county finals and it's 3 each. Most of the county finals from memory were only 1 score in it apart from 2009 and 2021 which we won in very one sided games.

Nothing between the 2 teams."
Since 2015 it's been dominance from Naomh Conall. They've been in every final except for 2016 and winning 5 of them. Eunans, Kilcar Glenswilly and GD have only 1 title each in that time. So they have been dominant this last decade.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 250 - 15/08/2024 14:46:56    2565278

Replying To veterngaa:  "Glenties it is … if you don't like it … I suggest hoganstand is not the place for people like you"
That's rich coming from the fella from Tedavnet/Scotstown/Knockatallan/Bellanode.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 15/08/2024 16:01:15    2565295

Replying To eunans4ever:  "There is nothing between both teams - I'd say we have better quality players in total but they are much better tactically and have a brilliant structure.

Ultimately the main diff I see between the 2 teams is on the line where they are a good bit ahead."
Better quality players, your having a laugh. How many County Titles have those better quality players have?
To be considered a better quality player you have to prove it on the big day.
After Eunans beat Naomh Conaill in the 2021 County Final they were expected to dominate for the next 10 years for such a young team.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 15/08/2024 21:33:31    2565338

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Absolute nonsense - none of the glenties/Fintown players are anywhere near over the hill.

Quite the opposite in fact - have more faith in your lads who give it everything.

Might b a case here of getting the excuses in really early…."
I don't need to make excuses for the best Club Team in Donegal for the past 10 years. I'm just giving you a reason why the bookies have Eunans as Championship favourites.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 15/08/2024 21:36:01    2565339

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Since 2015 it's been dominance from Naomh Conall. They've been in every final except for 2016 and winning 5 of them. Eunans, Kilcar Glenswilly and GD have only 1 title each in that time. So they have been dominant this last decade."
100%

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 15/08/2024 21:37:11    2565340

Been a while since I was on here and it seems to have got very childish from certain posters, new and old posters.
As regards our name, it's Naomh Conaill. But I am sure everyone knows that with the success we have had the past 20 years, I know it hurts some posters.
As regards favourites, With losing two or three experienced players it could tip the scale towards St Eunans. I hear Ultan Doherty is out for 3 months and Eunan Doherty is overseas, two very experienced players.
But we will put our best foot forward and make no excuses, the players with 7 county medals, all Ireland medals and Ulster medals will and never make excuses, there winners.
And they owe us supporters nothing.

Proud of everyone of them

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 707 - 15/08/2024 22:03:27    2565346

Replying To The keeper:  "Been a while since I was on here and it seems to have got very childish from certain posters, new and old posters.
As regards our name, it's Naomh Conaill. But I am sure everyone knows that with the success we have had the past 20 years, I know it hurts some posters.
As regards favourites, With losing two or three experienced players it could tip the scale towards St Eunans. I hear Ultan Doherty is out for 3 months and Eunan Doherty is overseas, two very experienced players.
But we will put our best foot forward and make no excuses, the players with 7 county medals, all Ireland medals and Ulster medals will and never make excuses, there winners.
And they owe us supporters nothing.

Proud of everyone of them"
100%

With the population and all the poaching Eunans do and try, they should have be dominating the same way Cross did in Armagh
Anyone can in truth win it this year out of a few teams but player by player and depth, Naomh Conaill is the best.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 16/08/2024 00:55:27    2565371

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I'm out of the loop on that one - who is the big money signing in question ?"
Pulling a similar stunt to the one they did with McManus in 2010, who I believe was actually living in Letterkenny at the time.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 16/08/2024 12:24:14    2565437

Any word on the training camp? Haran not sparing this season after players got rid of Kavanagh last season.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 745 - 16/08/2024 12:46:25    2565446

Rumour has it that Eunans and Glenties pulled out of being streamed on Donegal TV because they don't want other clubs having video footage of them? Surely that can't be right haha

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 16/08/2024 14:27:00    2565461

Replying To dgcrusader:  "Rumour has it that Eunans and Glenties pulled out of being streamed on Donegal TV because they don't want other clubs having video footage of them? Surely that can't be right haha"
Yes, Eunans wouldn't let there game against Kilcar be streamed last week also.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 745 - 16/08/2024 15:42:39    2565475

The clubs should have no say whether the game is streamed or not. The Dr Maguire is the county competition and the rights to its broadcasting belong to the Co Board. And if they receive an offer from someone and deem it good enough, the clubs should not hold a veto, as long as they get their cut.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 16/08/2024 16:11:07    2565481

Replying To ryan:  "Yes, Eunans wouldn't let there game against Kilcar be streamed last week also."
Find that quite strange, both teams wont be showing their full hands this weekend so it wouldn't make much of a difference being filmed or not.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 16/08/2024 16:12:46    2565482

Might be old news but hearing McFadden-Ferry and McGettigan will both be back in the county fold next year.

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 16/08/2024 18:01:31    2565492

Replying To NPadraigAbu:  "Might be old news but hearing McFadden-Ferry and McGettigan will both be back in the county fold next year."
If McGettigan is back next year you'll have an uncle and nephew in the same county squad. Has that ever happened before?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 16/08/2024 21:28:03    2565504