Donegal GAA thread

Club championship will probably take a little time to get going when they do starts. For the big boys the first few games will allow county players to get back and integrate. Ultimately it's hard to look beyond the old dog for the hard road, which is naomh conaill. They have some new blood this year with the likes of roarty.
St eunans too though their underage looks to have fallen quite a bit and are there any new players coming through there and don't think there is. It will be interesting to see gweedore too.

Mccumhaills you have to think will push on some more this year. Farrah was a joy to watch last year and it's well worth going to watch him play. It conversely highlights the jump to county football. Gavigan is also back which should help.
Also four masters should start to see some traction this year but I guess it will be a few years before we see the full fruits of their underage work. They might have actually benefitted being intermediate. They would undoubtedly win at some point and could have pushed on in Ulster and maybe all Ireland and used it as a stepping stone

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 16/07/2024 13:32:35    2559514

Hi folks,

First post here. Been keeping an eye on this thread for a while now. Avid follower from afar. The grandmother would have been from Burtonport before I was born and moved to Scotland.

I flew over for both the quarter final and the semi final. My in laws live in Antrim so it's handy enough to get to games. The issue I have os for ulster games and league games there doesn't tend to be a ticketmaster sale. So if I'm future any of you fine fellas would like to help me out that would be massively appreciated.

I'd hope going forward jim can unearth a few gems similar to the way in which Ciaran Moore featured for us this year.

Over and out troops!

Rmiller92 (Donegal) - Posts: 5 - 16/07/2024 13:32:55    2559515

Folks..just thinking for next year what will our full forward line be?...Paddy will probably be gone(will he) but not 100% sure but what a servant what ever his decision..so I wondering if anybody can claim a starting position in the full forward line of I presuming of Oisin Gallen, Co Donnell and any potential lads out there..?

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 184 - 16/07/2024 13:47:14    2559520

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't know easy saying in hindsight. Curran started year well but cudnt have been doing it in the in house matches. That's the only reason I can think of why he wasn't getting game time. . The lad will feel disappointed but he's only young. Finnerty is a top player who if he gets quality ball is hard to handle one example is the first half point from play he got off mc Colgan. Wasn't a whole lot mc Colgan could have done. It probably was one of the reasons mc Guinness took him off."
This issue was identified on this thread long before we even played Louth, so we can't put it down to hindsight. Obviously what is show in training can be part of it it, but I think TheRock is closer to the truth in his estimation. McGuinness unveiled his preferred set-up in the second half against Armagh, with dynamic wing forwards at 2, 4, 5, 7, the mantra being " attack is the best form of defence". Curran had to sink or swim after the Ulster final even though he was amongst our stand-out players in Ulster.

Even though McCole could be in contention for an All-Star, don't be surprised if this summer is a catalyst for Curran to take that number 3 jersey.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 420 - 16/07/2024 15:02:46    2559535

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "This issue was identified on this thread long before we even played Louth, so we can't put it down to hindsight. Obviously what is show in training can be part of it it, but I think TheRock is closer to the truth in his estimation. McGuinness unveiled his preferred set-up in the second half against Armagh, with dynamic wing forwards at 2, 4, 5, 7, the mantra being " attack is the best form of defence". Curran had to sink or swim after the Ulster final even though he was amongst our stand-out players in Ulster.

Even though McCole could be in contention for an All-Star, don't be surprised if this summer is a catalyst for Curran to take that number 3 jersey."
nobody is taking the number 3 jersey from McCole any time soon.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 16/07/2024 15:34:33    2559548

Replying To greenfan:  "nobody is taking the number 3 jersey from McCole any time soon."
Mc Cole will be full back for as long as he wants too, unless he has a sudden dip in form. The lad is a credit I remember him getting the run around in the league final in croker against Meath. But ever since that he has been fantastic great lad great attitude..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2536 - 16/07/2024 16:10:59    2559558

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Folks..just thinking for next year what will our full forward line be?...Paddy will probably be gone(will he) but not 100% sure but what a servant what ever his decision..so I wondering if anybody can claim a starting position in the full forward line of I presuming of Oisin Gallen, Co Donnell and any potential lads out there..?"
Unless like Murphy he wants to go why would Patrick not be there next year. He has had a rough go with injuries but he has a good game of Sunday. He scored an absolute screamer after the Galway goal. He also brought plenty people into the game as well.

He will still either second or third in the scoring charts in the club championship last year.

In more general terms I think it's Conor O'Donnell you are talking about and I don't see him as an inside forward. He's a half forward.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 16/07/2024 16:47:09    2559566

Replying To TheRock2121:  "1. Patton not at fault for that goal. A Galway player gets away from our defender and runs across his vision. Patton did ok with the few high balls in and had a good year..
2. Mc Cole and Ban did two fine man marking jobs with the help of Ryan Mc Hugh doubling up. Thought Ryan did well doing that but was quiet on the attacking front. If you told Jim that Comer and Walsh would only score what they did you would really fancy us to win.
3. Langan was superb in attack and defence scoring 4 and winning key turnovers. Showed great leadership throughout.
4. When we pushed up on their kickouts in the first half they got a lot of success. They kept 3 forwards in our 45. Mc Colgan only back from injury struggled on Finnerty with direct ball in. On Galway slow attack, when Donegal were set up, it was Mogan who ended up tagging him at times. Shows us what a quality player Mogan is. Can do both. We need him freed up from that role however next year.
5. The game came down to small margins. We lost a lot of 50/50 ball that went long. Thompson free in was harsh. I know Galway were missing Kelly but I think Conor O Donnell and Niall O Donnell fit would have made huge difference. Niall doesn't look right. Was our best player In Ulster.

Next Year.
1. We can't afford any injuries or lads leaving the panel!
2. We need some height in the team, Hughie is not the answer. Not mobile. But I don't know what club players suit the requirement.
3. Hopefully Roarty can come into the team and it could free Mogan up to attack. Maybe Jamie Grant , Mc Fadden Ferry. Don't think there's any attackers who will make an impact apart from Conor O Donnell.
4. We need to sort our kickout press. Surely, you aren't going to win every long kickout, but if you are pressing high to stop the short kickout and teams can still win it short and cause you damage from it, it's not good. We would have won that game by a good few points if our kickouts was sorted.

Don't want to sound critical, an excellent year with pride restored. Next year a lot will come down to the luck of the draw. So many evenly matched teams now.

Armagh
Galway
Donegal
Derry
Kerry
Dublin"
Patton was at fault
A top tier keeper catches it or punches it away, he didnt
He also made a balls of another one which lead to another score for Galway

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 16/07/2024 17:11:01    2559573

Replying To Rmiller92:  "Hi folks,

First post here. Been keeping an eye on this thread for a while now. Avid follower from afar. The grandmother would have been from Burtonport before I was born and moved to Scotland.

I flew over for both the quarter final and the semi final. My in laws live in Antrim so it's handy enough to get to games. The issue I have os for ulster games and league games there doesn't tend to be a ticketmaster sale. So if I'm future any of you fine fellas would like to help me out that would be massively appreciated.

I'd hope going forward jim can unearth a few gems similar to the way in which Ciaran Moore featured for us this year.

Over and out troops!"
It was unusual this year that all the Ulster games were all ticket through the club. It makes things tricky for people like yourself who are not directly involved in a club and live afar. League games though would never sell out and should to on Ticketmaster.

If you go to a lot/all of the matches then you could look to the season ticket next year. You can do that online. It would be expensive if you only go to the odd match.

Or also maybe consider becoming a member of a gaa club and work through them for all ticket games. I think it would dungloe for a burtonport resident.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 16/07/2024 17:11:41    2559574

Does anyone think Paddy might step away?
There were rumors he would before Jim came back
He was subbed in most games and didnt start them all and by jesus he looked fairly upset coming off at the weekend
He's going to be 31 now in a few weeks, still has plenty to give but i would not be surprised if he calls it a day.

Ryan is around the same age too but I personally think he will stick around at least until Jim is here.
So probably 2 more years after this.

Rest of the squad is fairly young but I do think we need a few bigger men in there somewhere and the bench needs improved.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 16/07/2024 17:17:43    2559579

Replying To greenfan:  "nobody is taking the number 3 jersey from McCole any time soon."
I agree..I was right behind goals in the canel end and had full view of him and Comer..and I would say Comer is only coming out of his back pocket. It's only when your that close that you appreciate how good a player is and McCole was class..

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 184 - 16/07/2024 17:34:35    2559582

Replying To rorysboys:  "Mc Cole will be full back for as long as he wants too, unless he has a sudden dip in form. The lad is a credit I remember him getting the run around in the league final in croker against Meath. But ever since that he has been fantastic great lad great attitude.."
He is a credit to his family who have suffered tragedy in the past. I remember that Meath game as well. Was it Mickey Newman who roasted him? Lesser men would have shrunk away after that but McCole has gone on to establish himself as one of the best full backs in the game. A great character, exactly the kind you want in the dressing room.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 16/07/2024 18:03:09    2559589

Replying To Lockjaw:  "He is a credit to his family who have suffered tragedy in the past. I remember that Meath game as well. Was it Mickey Newman who roasted him? Lesser men would have shrunk away after that but McCole has gone on to establish himself as one of the best full backs in the game. A great character, exactly the kind you want in the dressing room."
It was Micky Newman yes, I felt for him that night but I would rate him now as possibly the best full back in the country. Credit to st nauls for having three players on the squad, they wudnt be the biggest club.. if we get a another few mc Cole's I feel Sam will soon be coming.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2536 - 16/07/2024 19:25:11    2559603

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "It was unusual this year that all the Ulster games were all ticket through the club. It makes things tricky for people like yourself who are not directly involved in a club and live afar. League games though would never sell out and should to on Ticketmaster.

If you go to a lot/all of the matches then you could look to the season ticket next year. You can do that online. It would be expensive if you only go to the odd match.

Or also maybe consider becoming a member of a gaa club and work through them for all ticket games. I think it would dungloe for a burtonport resident."
Thanks for replying. There's no family or contacts left in Burtonport so wouldn't know where to start for becoming a member of the club. I'd be happy to do so, absolutely.

I do try and get over for games when I can but I'd love to make more.

Rmiller92 (Donegal) - Posts: 5 - 16/07/2024 20:06:24    2559609

Just finished watching a replay of the game after an enjoyable but ultimately disappointing day at Croke Park. Firstly a big thank you and congratulations to Jim, the players and all the management on an excellent season. We could easily be looking forward to an AI in a couple of weeks but those small margins didn't go our way. Like someone described earlier it felt like we were constantly swimming against the tide and I couldn't describe it better myself. Both teams were very equally matched, both showed up and the quality and structure of the defending was absolute top drawer.....who said we don't have any defenders? What was also excellent was the quality of forced turnovers from Donegal which made that call at the end a tough one to take. It looks like Thompson gets his hand under the ball just as it touched the ground. Similarly Maher looked to touch a ball on the ground before that before getting his foot under the ball but wasn't called. In a game of small margins those are big calls. It wasn't the only one either but in such a big game you'd like parity and it didn't seem to go that way. The prime example been the call on Ryan after we forced a rare turnover from a kick out. The steps was marginal but there were Galway hands impeding him. Not much long after McGrath looked to take at least the same amount of steps compounded by a double hop not to mention the fisted effort from the excellent Dylan McHugh which looked the most obvious of the lot. Anyways like I said small margins and Galway despite some of their more lauded men not getting much change found a way. I thought Joyce was very gracious afterwards so I wish Galway nothing but the best in the final. We did look to run out of steam towards the end but the Gallen miss was a big one but what a talent he is. Ban going off certainly denied us one of our more effective players and the bench didn't really give us anything. NOD obviously picked up something and Jason despite giving it his all wasn't near his best. Apart from Gallen there were some terrific performances most notably Michael Langan, Shane O'Donnell and the excellent Brendan McCole. Hands up I didn't think he has it to make it at this level but he's an absolute baller. Obviously worked really really hard to become one of the best if not the best full back in the country. We've got a very strong spine including Patton who was very unfortunate for the goal due to Finnerty's smart quick reaction coming into his eyeline. Looking forward I don't see any retirements I'm not even sure why it's been mentioned. We need to take a leaf out of Armagh's book and really develop a strong 26. There will be a few lads looking on not involved really putting in the hard yards to get involved. It would be great if we could develop another forward or two but regardless we won't be far away with Jim around. There is nobody shrewder and as Joyce said afterwards that bit of experience stood to them and now we have that in the bag. Lots to look forward to.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 16/07/2024 22:01:34    2559628

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "No point in looking to the past at men who aren't playing football.

There's a tight defender sitting on the bench who kept his markers scoreless for fun this season, and didn't lose a match all year. Certain that we would have won if Curran took Finnerty meaning McColgan would have been fresh on the bench when EBG came off."
I agree with this. If Finnerty was carrying a knock or not at full fitness it's a man marker that you put on him and it frees up Mogan or Eoin Ban to attack more. Looking at McColgan he was gassed out on his feet in the first 15minutes.

There's players capable of joining the squad. If you told us Moore was going to be a starter and show what he had at the start of the year a few would roll their eyes, fair play to him. It's about them buying into Jim's plan and committing.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 16/07/2024 22:27:58    2559638

Hard luck Donegal
Ulster final how gracious and wonderful Jim spoke about Armagh made me like him even more.
He seems an absolute gent and what's he did with Donegal in 10 months is simply brilliant.
A game you could have won against Galway bar fine margins.
Look forward to more titanic tussles next year against youse. A great and wonderful county both inside and out of GAA

ArmaghMan02 (Armagh) - Posts: 3 - 16/07/2024 22:47:34    2559641

Replying To totalrecall:  "Immensely proud of this donegal team, everyone and everyone associated with same. Huge strides in less than 12 months.

Tactically I thought we didn't react to Galway sweeper moving up to 45 in second half when there was now space around d and we should have kicked a few in to keep them guessing, moore made some great runs into acres of space in second half and was largely ignored by our ball carriers. I thought we were outmanouvered by Galway tactically in second half, not a criticism just an observation. As jim said afterwards massive learnings will be taken from this experience for next year and hopefully we will be back in the last 4 again"
I think Moore's and certain other players off the ball runs are planned space making runs, him and others were not going to receive a pass inside opponents 40m radius, which I think highlighted that Donegal players like Moore need to improve their 1v1, getting past a opponent inside opponents 40m radius defensive line and into the scoring zone. We can't rely solely on Gallen and inside forwards to take on and get past their opponents, in the modern almost total football game corner backs have to be able to do it too.

Tirchonailabu56 (Donegal) - Posts: 23 - 16/07/2024 23:23:28    2559647

I would like to congratulate and thank the players, Jim and the back room staff for a brilliant journey this year. From that first cold wet December day in Ballyshannon with just over 1000 spectators to a sunny summers evening in Croke Park with over 67,000 spectators. What a year, what a journey. Sometimes week forget the journey is just as exciting as the where you're trying to get to.

And not forgetting the 2 Celtic Park thrillers with everyone packed in like sardines and walking miles to get back to their cars and culminating with the Carnival in Clones lifting the Anglo Celt. "Freed from Desire..Na-na-na-na-na" Brilliant memories, and that's all you can really hope for, a season filled with amazing memories for all the family, just like that sunny evening in Castlebar in 2003 against Galway.

Really looking forward to next year, now that Jim knows the players and the players know how close they came to reaching an all Ireland Final and only losing 2 games all season. Sunday reminded me of the 1990 semi final against that great Meath team, we seemed to run out of gas that day as well in the last 10mins, but look what happened 2 years later and not forgetting 2011.

It's much harder for managers & players now with the compact season and short turn around between all competitions and managing injuries, and Jim probably couldn't get the work or intensity he would of liked with a full squad at his disposal due to injuries and resting players between games.

I believe Jim will be able to manage the players energy levels better next season now we're in Div 1 (enough points to stay up) and with the players having a year of higher level conditioning under their belts.

We don't need to win every game in the McKenna cup or the league and that will give him the opportunity to blood in younger or newer players and hopefully peaking the established players for the business end of the season.

The_viewer (Donegal) - Posts: 10 - 17/07/2024 00:40:10    2559654

Try not to mistake my praise of Curran for any criticism of McCole. I have been singing McCole's praises for years. He's now found his position at inter-county level and will only benefit from stiff competition from his fellow Sigerson winning backline partner. My preferred formation would include both in a full back line.

Despite this, it's important to re-iterate that even All Stars can lose their jersey, and they often do in great teams.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 420 - 17/07/2024 08:36:43    2559669