Donegal GAA thread

Firstly, I'm devastated with the result yesterday. But saying that, we had a great year, and I'm very thankful for that. Thankful to those behind the scenes, thankful to Jim, his backroom team, and especially the players. They all put their lives on hold for our enjoyment. This time last year we were staring into the abyss.

I suppose Galway were very good, (as were we), very patient, and despite their much heralded forward players, they were a mean defence. We didn't create a genuine goal scoring chance. But neither did Galway. We kicked some incredible scores yesterday, but in the end the burden fell to heavily on the shoulders of a couple of players. Michael Langan and Oisin Gallen gave an exhibition in the first half, but fatigue certainly had an effect. I really couldn't say that any of our men had a poor game, they all tried gallantly, but in a game of fine margins we just fell short.

Maybe Galway showed up weaknesses in our game plan that we didn't expect. By that I mean we were too heavily reliant on long range scores. Did our tactic of flooding the D in fact decrease our chances of opening Galway up for a goal? Another of our strengths, Shaun Pattons long kick outs were nullified yesterday. Did Galways surrendering of Shaun Pattons kick out actually slow down our attacking instinct. Did it also tire us out? Was there a case for maybe going long on occasion, just to plant question marks in the minds of the opposition.

I felt Conor O'Donnell was a big loss yesterday. He has a little spark about him. Also, I felt Jamie Brennan could have contributed yesterday. Anyway, we can't change anything now.

Until Victory, Always.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 15/07/2024 12:49:47    2559268

Replying To Rebel2020:  "As a neutral I agree regardingthe referee, I counted poor decisions against Donegal and none v Galway. Moving a free in for dissent so late in the game shows a shocking lack of empathy for the adrenaline rushing at that stage. Donegal ever so slightly the better team I felt but the soft goal, and Gallan miss the key moments"
The 'better team' iyo scored 1 point in the last 28mins of play.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 15/07/2024 12:58:12    2559271

Replying To benjyyy:  "It was a game of fine margins and we didn't get the breaks on the day. Just felt like things were going against us. From a few ref decisions to bounces of the ball to things not quite coming off for us at key moments, just felt like we were constantly swimming against the tide. But credit to Galway, to continue the analogy, they surfed the wave nicely and played an efficient game. It's always hard to come from nowhere and go all the way and Galway had that extra bit of experience from being there or thereabouts for a few years. As someone else mentioned, it all felt a bit 2011-ish in the last quarter. As the finish line approached we lacked a little bit of composure and the cogs in the wheel started to work independently of each other rather than together as the fatigue set in. It's disappointing because I think we were as good as Galway and on another day with a couple of the breaks going our way it might have been enough."
Well summed up

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 166 - 15/07/2024 12:59:00    2559272

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Well you do sound sour, you posted this comment twice in two hours. We have to acknowledge that Galway team are very good and had to play without their captain yesterday. Their hunger on broken ball was unbelievable (which is something we are known for), they look like a very driven team and are laser focused on bringing Sam Maguire over the Shannon. They've a panel of multiple All Ireland winners, Corofin (4 Senior titles) Ougherard (Intermediate), U20 All Ireland winners and large number of players who've won a Sigerson with UCG. They have multiple layers of recent success and they look like All Ireland Champions and I hope they win it out. Their fans were very gracious yesterday after the match. Sometimes you've just got to admit we got beat by the better team."
Well il start with the posting the comment twice that certainly wasn't intended and may have been an admin error so that's that one put to bed.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I stick by mine tbh.
Just because they have recent success in multiple areas around the pitch in club / County doesn't mean they have a God given right to win the All Ireland or to have win yesterday.
I definitely cannot agree with the hunger on the breaking ball , you can be hungry yes but alot of breaks fell kindly for galway yest. Sometimes this happens and its not all about hunger...
I agree about the Galway fans the were very gracious but something other people have a different view , were galway a better team yesterday? Imo possibly ever so slightly the last 1/4

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 166 - 15/07/2024 13:14:57    2559275

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Galway might be defensive but if you were at the game yesterday you would have seen (off camera) Galway kept Comer and Walsh (sometimes even Finnerty) up for our attacks. Where as we pulled everyone back, including Gallen and Paddy which probably tired them both out. Added to that Galway went longer with more kickouts than us."
That's only partially true. Yep, in the first half they kept forwards up the field but into the second half they pulled everyone back. In addition to Donegal fatiguing it's another reason we struggled to break them down near the end.
When they do that they are the best defence about.

Galway went longer in kickouts in the first half because we pushed up and they had too and it worked pretty well for them. In the second half Donegal gave them the kickouts so they didn't go long then.
Galway pretty much gave Patton the short kickout for the whole game. You really can't go long when a team gives you the kickouts.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 15/07/2024 13:18:58    2559276

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Good post..if anything happened Gallan we in big bother. We need a fully fit squad next year. A big ask. We nearly had it this year! How many players will walk away next year to travel etc ? Hopefully none. Don't know what club players are worth looking at apart from Finbar."
There was a young Murphy cub scored 3.6 for glenswilly. Mcguinness might want to keep an eye on him come championship.
Minors is just too removed now and they need to get it back to under 18. Mcguinness did seem to want to give roarty this year but rules didn't allow it. I guess he'll have be getting a run next year.
The under 20s were pretty respectable this year, only losing to Derry by a point. Derry really should have beaten Tyrone and then Tyrone walked the all Ireland.
Though you'd guess that it would caulfield and Luke mcglynn would see some more game time next year based on them being in the panel.

Even if Donegal won yesterday they'd be down ban, probably jason McGee for the final. I'm not sure niall O'Donnell is fully fit. He was walking gingerly enough across the pitch at ht against louth when he was subbed. I hope Conor O'Donnell is not too bad and will get back to club for championship. Donegal just can't afford too many injuries

Mcguinness did pick up moore from championship last year. He was on the 20s two years ago and didn't see much game time. Maybe he was injured then. He is a player who should improve. Though the likes of Ryan mchugh and mcbrearty won't be getting better. Mcbrearty had a fine first half yesterday mind you.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 15/07/2024 13:37:41    2559280

One other thing I'd add is that while although our shooting was outstanding in the first half, it is very difficult to sustain that standard of kicking throughout an entire game. Would it have been worthwhile putting a tiring Jason McGee on the edge of the square, and lauching a few diagonals in on top of him? Although Gleeson was pretty solid yesterday he has shown in the past that he has a mistake in him. Ifs and buts I know. It was interesting to see Galway try the odd direct ball in. It doesn't always work, but it keeps opposition defences guessing.

As it was we continued our tactic of playing around the margins and looking for shooters to get into positions/look for gaps for runners to exploit. But Galway were so disciplined the gaps didn't appear, and we uncharacteristically started kicking from poor positions.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 15/07/2024 13:44:06    2559284

Replying To benjyyy:  "It was a game of fine margins and we didn't get the breaks on the day. Just felt like things were going against us. From a few ref decisions to bounces of the ball to things not quite coming off for us at key moments, just felt like we were constantly swimming against the tide. But credit to Galway, to continue the analogy, they surfed the wave nicely and played an efficient game. It's always hard to come from nowhere and go all the way and Galway had that extra bit of experience from being there or thereabouts for a few years. As someone else mentioned, it all felt a bit 2011-ish in the last quarter. As the finish line approached we lacked a little bit of composure and the cogs in the wheel started to work independently of each other rather than together as the fatigue set in. It's disappointing because I think we were as good as Galway and on another day with a couple of the breaks going our way it might have been enough."
Excellent post.
Oisin had a great match but his missed free came at a crutial time as the sides were level.
The ref penalising Thompson for touching the ball on the ground was a big moment as well.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 15/07/2024 13:45:38    2559286

In regards to the goal, I honestly would want my club keeper coming out of his line and commanding that area knowing that there's a forward to your left.

I know Paddy didn't have a great game yesterday but you keep him on as he takes a man marker with him and another watching his run. A few times Mogan was over on the Cusack side running in onto his right foot and he couldn't get the shot away. Little things you look back on. 5 dropped short and majority of Galway's scores inside the 40 compared to ours. Galway set up well.

Hopefully Jim has a good look at Championship now with the clubs.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 15/07/2024 14:16:39    2559291

I know there are differing opinions on whether the goal was bad luck or a goalkeeping mistake. Watching Patton yesterday, he looked very sluggish, not sharp, slow to react to some things, like he was nervous. For a couple high balls, he's jumping a split second too late. He looked slow getting back on his line when Galway were coming up the field many times. Even some of his short kick outs were dropping in front of the player instead of going to his chest. I think he needs a good goalkeeping coach to work with him and sharpen him up. For all the good things he does, he has too many lapses of concentration.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 15/07/2024 14:44:54    2559304

Wasn't to be for us this year, we fell away a bit in the 2nd half, a few injuries and few points missed on other days we'd nail but that's football as Jim said. Some days a bounce or a decision goes your way, other days not.
The team and management can be very proud of what they have achieved in 2024, massive turnaround and a lot of pride restored.
Best of luck to Galway in the final, it should be an enthralling affair with the bit of recent niggle between the two teams plus they are both excellent footballing teams so it has all the ingredients of a great final.
Club Championship to come now and maybe Jim can unearth a few new stars to add something extra to the panel for next season.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2934 - 15/07/2024 15:20:36    2559318

Very disappointed afterwards it was a game we could have win. But reflecting back today it has been a good year. Was lovely getting back to croker yesterday. Looking back on the game we just seem to run out of steam towards the end ,wonder was all our kick outs going short have anything to do with it. Galway varied there kickout to good effect. I felt all year that our squad wasn't good enough especially if we had a few injuries and it came to fruition yesterday I felt. We couldn't afford to be losing ban and mc gee at that late stage yesterday . When you look at Galway and Armagh they just seem to have a stronger bench which I have no doubt we will next year after all it was only mc Guinness first year. So anyway it's back to the clubs and hopefully mc Guinness will come across a few jems. .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2536 - 15/07/2024 15:30:04    2559321

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Have to laugh by the poster saying not a soft goal lol some eejits believe themselves these days... the Galway player didn't even celebrate it...
Well done Galway but boy they are extremely negative and defensive..Donegal beat themselves yesterday, possibly the occasion got to them a little , conceded at least 3 very questionable frees which Galway scored from. An accumulation of all this added to the result.
I don't want this to sound sour but imo Galway are a very ordinary team who got the rub of the green yesterday regarding decisions and got all the breaking balls etc, Donegal are just not there yet but yesterday will stand to us..."
You do sound bitter.We have earned our place in final and have beaten good teams along the way.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 15/07/2024 15:38:03    2559325

Special Mention for Brendan McCole yesterday and all season.
He is always tasked with the biggest names in the forward line and I thought he was excellent yesterday and al season.

Jim definitely needs to unearth a few more players that can be an impact of the bench.
In his last spell he had David Walsh and Christy Toye who came of the bench and always cause the opposition trouble.

Anyways what a Season and congrats to Galway and please do it in the final now.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 489 - 15/07/2024 15:50:35    2559326

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Special Mention for Brendan McCole yesterday and all season.
He is always tasked with the biggest names in the forward line and I thought he was excellent yesterday and al season.

Jim definitely needs to unearth a few more players that can be an impact of the bench.
In his last spell he had David Walsh and Christy Toye who came of the bench and always cause the opposition trouble.

Anyways what a Season and congrats to Galway and please do it in the final now."
Yeah McCole was brilliant. OK Comer maybe isn't moving at his absolute best, but he's still a handful. McCole did a superb job.

We're not too far away, a few tweaks and a bit better luck with injuries. Improve bench options and we'll compete well again in 2025.

The club championship isn't far away now. It would be fantastic if some new players really stood out.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 15/07/2024 16:03:23    2559332

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Well il start with the posting the comment twice that certainly wasn't intended and may have been an admin error so that's that one put to bed.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I stick by mine tbh.
Just because they have recent success in multiple areas around the pitch in club / County doesn't mean they have a God given right to win the All Ireland or to have win yesterday.
I definitely cannot agree with the hunger on the breaking ball , you can be hungry yes but alot of breaks fell kindly for galway yest. Sometimes this happens and its not all about hunger...
I agree about the Galway fans the were very gracious but something other people have a different view , were galway a better team yesterday? Imo possibly ever so slightly the last 1/4"
Jim McGuinness said after the match, Galway won all the breaks after major defensive stops by us and then cliped over scores. I also forgot they won a minor in 2022 also. They've had major successful teams at all levels and they are also 3 in a row Connacht champions. This summer they've beaten the current league champions, Leinster and current All Ireland Champions and now the division 2 and Ulster champions. I just cannot see them getting beat. They are the best team in the country.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 98 - 15/07/2024 16:28:41    2559339

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Ah, I didn't know that. What year was the other semi final?

Jim:

Other:
1990"

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 15/07/2024 16:53:04    2559348

None of us expected the year we would have, however as Jim pretty much said, this was a massive opportunity.
These dont come around too often for Donegal, Ulster is the toughest it has ever been in my life time, so who knows, do we even make a final next year? That remains to be seen.
We should be good enough to be a consistent Quarter final team under Jim and then its the luck of the draw, flip of a switch etc on making a Semi or Final.

The gallen free miss was for sure a turning point.
Not sure why he didnt ask someone to run beside him so he could lay it off, guess he trusted himself from that angle.
Have no idea why Paddy was taken off and he look really annoyed with this.
He is the ONLY player in that team I would want taking a shot to level the game, instead we had 4 or 5 woeful efforts.

The best squad will win all irelands, we dont have a good enough bench.
None of the players on the bench made any impact, Aaron Doherty is much better from the bench too (Conor O'D will take his spot back next year hopefully)
Really surprised Jamie didnt come on either.

Patton is serious dodgy under the high ball, and its been like that since day one, however he still is, in my opinion the second best keeper in the country after morgan but again in a big game, 2 mistakes of his gave the opposition 4 points.

Need to improve the physicality of our midfield, we have big men but we didnt win one kickout in the entire game.

Under Jim, I fancy us against anyone in Ulster but its going to be tough as hell to win it again next year.
We have Tyrones number under him, we should hope to avoid the same tough route we had this year.

However, all the other big counties will be back next year and now after a year of this newish brand of football for Donegal, there is a chance teams next year will know how to beat us , also, the new rules coming in might dictate certain games for us and it might go against us considering out current style of play.

Normally I would be optimistic here and I am for the most part but this for sure may have been our opportunity to win another all ireland.
I hope I am wrong and we go one step further next year, but its going to be a long off season to mull.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 15/07/2024 17:06:15    2559353

Replying To greenfan:  "I know there are differing opinions on whether the goal was bad luck or a goalkeeping mistake. Watching Patton yesterday, he looked very sluggish, not sharp, slow to react to some things, like he was nervous. For a couple high balls, he's jumping a split second too late. He looked slow getting back on his line when Galway were coming up the field many times. Even some of his short kick outs were dropping in front of the player instead of going to his chest. I think he needs a good goalkeeping coach to work with him and sharpen him up. For all the good things he does, he has too many lapses of concentration."
Probably an unpopular one but Patton isn't a great keeper. Fantastic distribution but poor as a shot stopper and commanding his area

thebronze14 (Donegal) - Posts: 45 - 15/07/2024 17:17:13    2559359

Commiserations on the loss yesterday, but well done on a fine season overall. Hope my 'bye-bye Jim' comments from a few weeks ago are forgiven. It was all in jest, and actually seemed to unite a few of you who are always at loggerheads with each other, against the dissident stranger.

On any given day when Donegal play that counter-attacking football at speed which we have seen quite a lot of over this championship, you are probably the best team in Ireland and the best to watch too. But when you decide to go sidewards you are as boring as any team (incl. Kerry who have become so unwatchable).

Like, were you ever likely to score a goal yesterday? Was there even one goal chance created? It's different when the goalie doesn't think he's a mid-fielder and stays at home; harder to score goals.

But Jim is a shrewd operator. He'll consolidate the great foundation that's been laid this year and build on things like creating goal chances in the way forward.

Thanks for the year. Donegal brought a lot of enjoyment and good football as well.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2067 - 15/07/2024 17:50:57    2559366