Donegal GAA thread

Anyone who looked at the posts on this forum wouldn't think there was a quarter final to look forward to in 2 days. Instead of discussing that, people are arguing about how bad or good previous managers and squads were. The past is the past, leave it there.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 508 - 28/06/2024 09:21:23    2555323

Replying To greenfan:  "Anyone who looked at the posts on this forum wouldn't think there was a quarter final to look forward to in 2 days. Instead of discussing that, people are arguing about how bad or good previous managers and squads were. The past is the past, leave it there."
My old history teacher used to say to understand the present, you have to look at the past.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 838 - 28/06/2024 09:39:11    2555326

Replying To greenfan:  "Anyone who looked at the posts on this forum wouldn't think there was a quarter final to look forward to in 2 days. Instead of discussing that, people are arguing about how bad or good previous managers and squads were. The past is the past, leave it there."
Fair play Greenfan. I have posted twice this week trying to move the discussion onto the game that matters, this Sunday against Louth.

What is clear from the result, our game plan against Cork didn't work. Louth will try to implement the exact same game plan this Sunday. So the question will be, do we mirror Louth, and bank on us bring superior to them at breaking at speed. Or do we push all our resources forward like we did against Cork, hoping that Louth won't be able to break out? Decisions to be made.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 623 - 28/06/2024 09:47:58    2555328

100%. We should be enjoying the moment and what's hopefully ahead, and not squabbling over tired old debate all over again. History shows that Donegal go through spells of being at or near the top, and then slide back to the pack again. The trick for the future will be to ensure that we're more consistently involved in the mix. Jim won't be around forever so we need to have our house in order with everything in terms of structure, personnel, finances and youth development etc etc. Early days but things seem to be a bit more coherent on that front with the new executive. Getting the Academy up and running fully will be paramount.

As for this Sunday, I'm not going to play the poor mouth. If we were allowed to hand-pick our opponent I'd say Louth would have been first choice. We will treat them with the respect they deserve however. They have some quality footballers and they are certainly no mugs. Ger Brennan has really impressed me with the work he has done there after Mickey Harte and he has a steely resolve which comes across any time I've heard him interviewed. If he's not the next Dublin manager after Dessie Farrell I'd be surprised.

But in saying the above, I think we'll be just that bit too strong. We have had two weeks rest (perhaps longer when you think of it, given how the Clare match decended into a stroll). There is a great opportunity in front of us to reach an All-Ireland semi-final and I'm sure Jim will have the lads primed to take it. Lads like Mogan, Gallen, the O'Donnells, O'Baoíll etc should be chomping at the bit to get out there on that big stage and do what they do best. I'm predicting a 5 point win for us and hopefully no injuries.

All the best to Jim and the lads, and safe travels to all who are going.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9279 - 28/06/2024 09:49:40    2555330

All the best to Donegal on Sunday. Really excited about this team. Nice to get to croker. Early start Sunday but I wudnt have it any other way. Safe travelling to ye all. Only 3 steps to the holy grail. It can be done but won't be easy.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 28/06/2024 10:12:19    2555334

Will BMC start on Mulroy ?

hisir (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 28/06/2024 10:17:32    2555336

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Fair play Greenfan. I have posted twice this week trying to move the discussion onto the game that matters, this Sunday against Louth.

What is clear from the result, our game plan against Cork didn't work. Louth will try to implement the exact same game plan this Sunday. So the question will be, do we mirror Louth, and bank on us bring superior to them at breaking at speed. Or do we push all our resources forward like we did against Cork, hoping that Louth won't be able to break out? Decisions to be made."
What did Cork do well v us?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1157 - 28/06/2024 10:24:42    2555340

Replying To Lockjaw:  "100%. We should be enjoying the moment and what's hopefully ahead, and not squabbling over tired old debate all over again. History shows that Donegal go through spells of being at or near the top, and then slide back to the pack again. The trick for the future will be to ensure that we're more consistently involved in the mix. Jim won't be around forever so we need to have our house in order with everything in terms of structure, personnel, finances and youth development etc etc. Early days but things seem to be a bit more coherent on that front with the new executive. Getting the Academy up and running fully will be paramount.

As for this Sunday, I'm not going to play the poor mouth. If we were allowed to hand-pick our opponent I'd say Louth would have been first choice. We will treat them with the respect they deserve however. They have some quality footballers and they are certainly no mugs. Ger Brennan has really impressed me with the work he has done there after Mickey Harte and he has a steely resolve which comes across any time I've heard him interviewed. If he's not the next Dublin manager after Dessie Farrell I'd be surprised.

But in saying the above, I think we'll be just that bit too strong. We have had two weeks rest (perhaps longer when you think of it, given how the Clare match decended into a stroll). There is a great opportunity in front of us to reach an All-Ireland semi-final and I'm sure Jim will have the lads primed to take it. Lads like Mogan, Gallen, the O'Donnells, O'Baoíll etc should be chomping at the bit to get out there on that big stage and do what they do best. I'm predicting a 5 point win for us and hopefully no injuries.

All the best to Jim and the lads, and safe travels to all who are going."
The only advantage we have over Louth is an extra week preparing and resting. Louth are are a couple of years ahead of us in their development. Mickey Harte did good work there and Ger Brennan has them lit up now. They are a goal machine and should have had 2 against Kerry. I think we can win, but only if we get everything 100% right.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3840 - 28/06/2024 10:26:48    2555341

Replying To Lockjaw:  "100%. We should be enjoying the moment and what's hopefully ahead, and not squabbling over tired old debate all over again. History shows that Donegal go through spells of being at or near the top, and then slide back to the pack again. The trick for the future will be to ensure that we're more consistently involved in the mix. Jim won't be around forever so we need to have our house in order with everything in terms of structure, personnel, finances and youth development etc etc. Early days but things seem to be a bit more coherent on that front with the new executive. Getting the Academy up and running fully will be paramount.

All the best to Jim and the lads, and safe travels to all who are going."
Louth will probably look at sit in deep and counter attack. It was Donegals kryptonite under Jim first time around.

It will be telling how we cope with it on Sunday. I don't forsee a very exciting game. The hope is we don't concede turnovers like Cork will mean even with a defensive stand off, we have enough long range scorers to open the gap needed to win.

Handicap of 6 a tad high. Maybe we can exceed it late as Louth take more risks.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 252 - 28/06/2024 10:27:38    2555342

Replying To shaggykev:  "Louth will probably look at sit in deep and counter attack. It was Donegals kryptonite under Jim first time around.

It will be telling how we cope with it on Sunday. I don't forsee a very exciting game. The hope is we don't concede turnovers like Cork will mean even with a defensive stand off, we have enough long range scorers to open the gap needed to win.

Handicap of 6 a tad high. Maybe we can exceed it late as Louth take more risks."
Yeah I'd say you won't be far wrong there. If Louth go toe to toe with us then I think overall we have better footballers and would win. They'll have seen how Cork were able to hurt us on the counter attack so I'd expect them to sit in a low block, try to frustrate us, and punish us if we overturn ball. We need to be patient early on and be economical and clinical with scoring chances as they present themselves. Ideally you'd be wanting to be in a two or three point lead by say the 55th minute. At that stage they'd need to risk opening up a bit, and it might offer us an opportunity to exploit the additional spaces offered.

I think if we can avoid conceding any goals I can't see Louth out-pointing us. If the focus is right and everyone is tuned in then the lads will get the job done.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9279 - 28/06/2024 11:15:28    2555353

Can't wait for Sunday now and looking forward to the game after and Also taking in the double header Saturday - lucky enough to have booked a hotel ages ago as they are ridiculous prices now.

Excited to see how our speedsters and game plan works out in Croker.

Is this the first game all year we are at full strength ? Team named and it's an impressive looking bench to from 16 to 25…..

On a separate note - far be it from me to judge the messiah who I'm delighted to have back but does anyone know or see what no26 offers to the set up or how he merits keep making the panel.

Before the glenties/ fintown brigade get up in arms - it's a genuine question and leave the club bias out of it.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1604 - 28/06/2024 11:29:24    2555356

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What did Cork do well v us?"
They targeted turnovers higher up the pitch than most teams do. They surrendered our kick out, but didnt fall back into a deep defensive shape. They really went after our ball carriers at source, inside our half of the field. And when they got a sniff of a chance they went for the jugular.

We got disjointed, the gap between the ball carriers and those further up the pitch was too big.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 623 - 28/06/2024 11:46:47    2555359

McGee,McColgan,McFadden and Conor O'D all in the 26.Virtually full strength now.By the way is Caolan Ward still training with the squad and what about the O'Donnell boy from Milford.Did he feature this year at all.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1086 - 28/06/2024 12:59:24    2555374

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Can't wait for Sunday now and looking forward to the game after and Also taking in the double header Saturday - lucky enough to have booked a hotel ages ago as they are ridiculous prices now.

Is this the first game all year we are at full strength ? Team named and it's an impressive looking bench to from 16 to 25…..

On a separate note - far be it from me to judge the messiah who I'm delighted to have back but does anyone know or see what no26 offers to the set up or how he merits keep making the panel.

Before the glenties/ fintown brigade get up in arms - it's a genuine question and leave the club bias out of it."
Only you can praise Jim and have a dig at him in the same paragraph.
You are a bitter man. The current County Champions still annoying you.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 350 - 28/06/2024 13:26:54    2555383

Replying To gunman:  "McGee,McColgan,McFadden and Conor O'D all in the 26.Virtually full strength now.By the way is Caolan Ward still training with the squad and what about the O'Donnell boy from Milford.Did he feature this year at all."
Yeah we look to be at nearly full capacity just as the business end of things begins.
Hopefully an encouraging portent for the weeks ahead.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9279 - 28/06/2024 13:56:19    2555389

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Can't wait for Sunday now and looking forward to the game after and Also taking in the double header Saturday - lucky enough to have booked a hotel ages ago as they are ridiculous prices now.

Before the glenties/ fintown brigade get up in arms - it's a genuine question and leave the club bias out of it."
What forward should be in the panel instead.?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1157 - 28/06/2024 14:45:54    2555406

Great to see Jason named in the 26, I think this game will be harder fought than many here think, Louth have a strong goal threat.
We need a good start but I think as I said before that we have the shooters to take them out.
Fantastic to be back in Croker again. a massive well done to all involved, it is such a turnaround since the mess we were in last year,
safe travels to everyone and hopefully fingers crossed on Sunday night we are delighted about being in an All Ireland semi final again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2870 - 28/06/2024 14:55:19    2555410

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What forward should be in the panel instead.?"
Luke McGlynn, a very creative player and much more of a threat.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 875 - 28/06/2024 16:05:25    2555430

Not nice picking out players not to be in a squad. Doesn't surprise me but , the lad is obviously showing up in training or else he wudnt be there. When I'm at it you didn't answer my question yet..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 28/06/2024 16:37:28    2555435

Replying To shaggykev:  "Louth will probably look at sit in deep and counter attack. It was Donegals kryptonite under Jim first time around.

Handicap of 6 a tad high. Maybe we can exceed it late as Louth take more risks."
Donegal in a great position; full panel and Louth are bound to be both mentally and physically drained after their "chess" game with Cork; very hard to watch (reminded me of Donegal in 2011…played great football in 2012 though).

It's Donegal's to lose. I'd say a 5 point win!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2025 - 28/06/2024 17:54:46    2555444