Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Donegal-lad27:  "Upper tier of the Cusack stand now opened would expect around 40 - 50 thousand to be at the double header on Sunday.

Louth will bring a big support and the derry fans are probably back believing again so will travel in decent numbers. We should bring a good support down 1st time playing a knockout game in croke park since 2014 fact it's on a Sunday should help also"
2016 2 knockouts v Cork and Dublin
2015 2 knockouts v Galway and Mayo

NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 25/06/2024 14:06:49    2554760

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "He won't address how he got it so wrong a) about Jim coming back and b) about how we didn't supposedly have the players. You'll just be told you're a fair weather than."
You could go all the way to z) with this - absolute waffler.

Don't give it airtime.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1674 - 25/06/2024 15:00:23    2554781

Replying To Commodore:  "It would be interesting to list who thought we didn't have the players vs those of us (Including myself) who felt we didn't have the management/setup to take us to the next level."
I always knew that we had the players to give it a hell of a good rattle. Previously, when I spelled out where i saw the particular flaw in the game plan, with a specific example, our friend told me to change the record. Also, I didn't have knives out for the players involved, merely the role they were given.

And have we a chance? Absolutely we have. We have a lot of players who have huge experience, and who are very close to their prime. We have the man with a plan. We have had a bit of luck in winning Ulster on penalties, in losing to Cork but still topping our group. We have the benefit of an extra weeks rest, and if we get over this weekend, please God, it will be an even playing field from there on in.

Roll on Sunday, and hopefully roll on another 4 weeks. Remember folks, Until Victory Always ;-)

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 683 - 25/06/2024 15:08:56    2554786

Replying To eunans4ever:  "You could go all the way to z) with this - absolute waffler.

Don't give it airtime."
Stop talking about me. I don't mention you in other posts. I don't entertain fools, life's too short lad for that.. lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 25/06/2024 15:10:35    2554787

Replying To Green_Gold:  "How could I have forgotten that. I remember we won the Ulster final on a Monday night against Derry in Armagh, then had to play Dublin 5 days later in All Ireland semi-final in Cavan. the players were absolutely out on their feet. If I remember correctly Con O'Callaghan got black carded early in that game but we were out of gas."
That's it. The irony then they abandoned the under 21 the following year (as Comm pointed out) when we would've been very strong all in the name of player welfare. I know of a couple of players in the western parts of the county getting to bed around 3-4 am and up in the morning again.

We couldn't have asked for a better draw but Louth deserve our full respect and will make life difficult. However under Jim I don't expect anything other than being fully dialled in. Really looking forward to heading to Croke Park at the weekend and hopefully a well overdue AI semi final afterwards. It's no surprise to me we've turned it around. Management and coaching makes differences to any group as anyone who has played sport to a decent level can testify. Good management doesn't just bring good coaching but they can see things others might not necessarily with Ciaran Moore a prime example. I never doubted the talent it just needed the right man and I'm so grateful Jim has come back. Fair play to the players too as they not only made it happen but they've put in the work too. I would love if we had maybe another option to play in the full forward line but apart from that I think we're strong everywhere else with plenty of talent coming through. Realistically if you get 1-2 players breaking through every year you are doing well.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 25/06/2024 15:34:05    2554794

Wee bit of advice lads a lot of silly talk going on. We have win nothing yet that we haven't win before. Talk of unearthing players like ciaran Moore and having a strong squad sure a lot of good players who are playing this year were brought on by different managers but sure don't mention that it might gave praise to certain people.. forget the idle talk when you hit croke park and meet the dubs and Kerry then and only then do we know where's we stand.. a lot of posters coming out of the woodwork attacking rorysboys. Come back lad when we have the Sam Maguire and I'll be 100% happy to be proved wrong. Until then keep the powder dry . Most of yous wudnt really know what it's like following your county through thick and thin .. if we do win sam Thell be no happier man than myself .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 25/06/2024 16:21:47    2554809

Replying To eunans4ever:  "You could go all the way to z) with this - absolute waffler.

Don't give it airtime."
What about the question I asked you about Shaun Patton. It's a shame that it took bonner to realise how good a goal keeper he was. A so called big club letting him drift away to soccer wudnt happen in the south west clubs I promise you that.. we have a lot to be thankful to bonner for.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 25/06/2024 16:25:40    2554810

Replying To NORTHMEN:  "2016 2 knockouts v Cork and Dublin
2015 2 knockouts v Galway and Mayo"
Christ how did I forget about them games was at all 4 of them too, guess it's down to the fact media keep referring to 2014 that's down to the last 1/4 final we won

Sunday won't be an easy game either ger brenann has Louth set up well

Donegal-lad27 (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 25/06/2024 19:02:45    2554839

Replying To rorysboys:  "Beat a Kerry or Dublin in croke park and then il open up a debate. Roryboys seem to be on the minds of a lot of posters am I hitting a nerve with you fair weather supporters. I love it."
You don't know the first thing about me, you have no clue the loyalty of anyone on an anonymous forum, the holier than thou facade is pure and utter nonsense. What I do know is you said Jim wouldn't be back and we hadn't the players. You can't admit you were miles off in both regards. Now you're changing the goal posts again, this is our first 1/4 final since when? Go on.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1380 - 25/06/2024 21:39:50    2554854

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I always knew that we had the players to give it a hell of a good rattle. Previously, when I spelled out where i saw the particular flaw in the game plan, with a specific example, our friend told me to change the record. Also, I didn't have knives out for the players involved, merely the role they were given.

And have we a chance? Absolutely we have. We have a lot of players who have huge experience, and who are very close to their prime. We have the man with a plan. We have had a bit of luck in winning Ulster on penalties, in losing to Cork but still topping our group. We have the benefit of an extra weeks rest, and if we get over this weekend, please God, it will be an even playing field from there on in.

Roll on Sunday, and hopefully roll on another 4 weeks. Remember folks, Until Victory Always ;-)"
Yeah I believe we have sufficient talent in Donegal to certainly consistently rival the big guns, but I do think we are lacking top level managers, the likes of Jim McGuinness, who can adapt players for key positions which we are a bit light in and can be tactically rival anyone.

We also lack the funding that Dublin, Kerry and Mayo have, particularly if you look at Mayo as a County and the levels they consistently rise to despite having a smaller population to Donegal, its clear that their massive funding plays a role, but also good structures at all levels. They might fall short of winning an All Ireland, but they consistently reach their potential a lot.

I thought Rory Gallagher and Declan Bonner where both guilty of showing their hand in the National League a lot, we were too predictable and by the time we reached the All Ireland series the bigger or better funded sides had loads of analysis and could pick us off easily. McGuinness is a bit more savy in that regard, he doesn't like to show his hand in the league.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1185 - 25/06/2024 22:33:45    2554863

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I believe we have sufficient talent in Donegal to certainly consistently rival the big guns, but I do think we are lacking top level managers, the likes of Jim McGuinness, who can adapt players for key positions which we are a bit light in and can be tactically rival anyone.

We also lack the funding that Dublin, Kerry and Mayo have, particularly if you look at Mayo as a County and the levels they consistently rise to despite having a smaller population to Donegal, its clear that their massive funding plays a role, but also good structures at all levels. They might fall short of winning an All Ireland, but they consistently reach their potential a lot.

I thought Rory Gallagher and Declan Bonner where both guilty of showing their hand in the National League a lot, we were too predictable and by the time we reached the All Ireland series the bigger or better funded sides had loads of analysis and could pick us off easily. McGuinness is a bit more savy in that regard, he doesn't like to show his hand in the league."
Very good post. The same people saying we didn't have the players and we should have low expectations are the same people who staunchly defended a county executive clique who are now obliterated largely after the debacle after Lacey.

Totally agree about McGuinness and holding his aces until championship. The Derry game showed new levels for the year from the league and the second Tyrone hame I felt showed another level even from an impressive Ulster campaign. Like a switch had been flicked. The probing in attack, the pace, the sheer intensity, the last time I saw that was… 2011-2014.

Hopeful that within the county executive, funding initiatives, coaching mechanisms going forward that we are focused, driven and ambitious. There aren't too many Jims in any county but there is no excuse not to drive forward everything else with purpose and clarity so that when he's gone in time, we don't become uncompetitive. There needs to be serious synchronicity with all of the above elements but it can be done. Hopefully the days of slow and inept managerial appointments, vendetta driven behaviour in county boards and executives and incohesive coaching pathways are at an end.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1380 - 25/06/2024 23:11:30    2554870

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "You don't know the first thing about me, you have no clue the loyalty of anyone on an anonymous forum, the holier than thou facade is pure and utter nonsense. What I do know is you said Jim wouldn't be back and we hadn't the players. You can't admit you were miles off in both regards. Now you're changing the goal posts again, this is our first 1/4 final since when? Go on."
Calm down lad it's only my opinion. If you don't like it, it doesn't bother me but you must agree with me that it's a bit easier making a quarter final now than when bonner and Gallagher were involved. Come back to me when Sam's in the hills . Enjoy Sunday we're all Donegal fans whether you agree with me or not.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 25/06/2024 23:15:32    2554872

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I believe we have sufficient talent in Donegal to certainly consistently rival the big guns, but I do think we are lacking top level managers, the likes of Jim McGuinness, who can adapt players for key positions which we are a bit light in and can be tactically rival anyone.

I thought Rory Gallagher and Declan Bonner where both guilty of showing their hand in the National League a lot, we were too predictable and by the time we reached the All Ireland series the bigger or better funded sides had loads of analysis and could pick us off easily. McGuinness is a bit more savy in that regard, he doesn't like to show his hand in the league."
I often wonder who these top level managers are?
Many tyrone fans are calling for the head of brian dooher. He's not top quality seemingly. Who's the top quality manager who is going to replace him. I'm not sure.
Vinny Corey is not up to it according to to many monaghan fans. Who is the top quality manager going to replace him?
The Derry minor manager damien McErlain would now be fancied strongly to guide derry to back to back minor all irelands. He was hardly deemed top quality when he managed the derry seniors.
Who's the top quality next kerry manager after jack O'connor I wonder.
The armagh minor manager is aidan o'rourke who has guided them to the all ireland. Was anyone calling him top quality eventhough he was without peadar mogan, ryan mchugh, michael langan, Shane o'donnell, niall o'donnell and pretty much patrick mcbrearty.
A lot of people here seem to like to stick the knife into declan bonner. He's the only manger to guide donegal to an all ireland minor final and the only manger to win minor, under 21 and senior ulster title for donegal.

Jim mcguinness was exceptional in guiding donegal to win in 2012, it's unprecedented though in the gaa to turn a team around like that. It makes him unique though.
And hopefully he continue his success on Sunday.

For continued donegal success thd focus would to the focus on all levels as you mention and underage development inparticular.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 774 - 26/06/2024 00:49:41    2554880

This Donegal team didn't just appear overnight, it was through hard work at underage level . Bonner Barrett and Rory Gallagher were much involved in there progression. Would caolan mc gonagle. Caolan mc Colgan ,be where they are today only for there underage managers I could add Brendan mc Cole plus many more.. not forgetting Shaun Patton who nobody seem to know about..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 26/06/2024 08:53:01    2554893

I watched the Comortas Peile on TG4 over the June Bank Holiday,and Eoin McHugh was excellent for Kilcar. Would he not be still County standard?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2792 - 26/06/2024 10:23:16    2554907

Replying To FoolsGold:  "I watched the Comortas Peile on TG4 over the June Bank Holiday,and Eoin McHugh was excellent for Kilcar. Would he not be still County standard?"
Eoin was an important player in the years of 15/16/17 but seemed to drift away after that. I agree he looked go in the Comortas but yiu have to appreciate the standard at that is along way off intercounty.

His club mate Stephen McBrearty (Paddy's brother) also preformed very well down in Cork.

I can never understand how he never made a proper impact at senior inter County. Such a natural footballer.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 974 - 26/06/2024 10:59:59    2554914

Replying To FoolsGold:  "I watched the Comortas Peile on TG4 over the June Bank Holiday,and Eoin McHugh was excellent for Kilcar. Would he not be still County standard?"
I would take a punt and say he never was in the first place. Bonner played him relentlessly despite him underperforming but knowing Bonner, he was probably just playing him out of position. Another difference I see with Jim is that he benches the inconsistent. He managers since he left seemed afraid to have that necessary ruthlessness and paid the price for it.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 133 - 26/06/2024 12:03:24    2554928

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I would take a punt and say he never was in the first place. Bonner played him relentlessly despite him underperforming but knowing Bonner, he was probably just playing him out of position. Another difference I see with Jim is that he benches the inconsistent. He managers since he left seemed afraid to have that necessary ruthlessness and paid the price for it."
He was quite effective at wing forward under RG. Then Bonner had the bright idea to play him corner back.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 974 - 26/06/2024 12:40:38    2554941

Declan brought so much to Donegal after the negativity under RG and he deserves huge credit for his work in bringing through so many of the young lads. I felt he was incredibly unlucky with the COVID years and how championship format changed, and those stupid Super8s. However things definitely went stale and it was the right time for him to go.

A legend of Donegal football and that's that. We move on and we should all be happy with what Declan brought to the county and that Jim is now bringing us on to the next step (hopefully).

looking forward to the weekend.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 127 - 26/06/2024 12:41:20    2554942

Finally someone with a bit of sense. Too many bitter fools on this forum to take them serious.. even Pauric mc Shea mentioning bonner and how Donegal People should be grateful to him for persuading Patton to play for Donegal that won't go down well with eunans forever lol he wudnt answer my question it took a ballyshannon man too.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 26/06/2024 12:56:09    2554949