Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Where's all these great players who you mentioned were being held back by bonner this last few years. Yesterday was the proof in the pudding. I don't blame the players it's the club managers who persist with this muck football that are turning our players into robots instead of letting them express themselves. You don't admit that because your club is one of the main culprits.. you asked for change you got change so stop your waffling."
Yes, because this is the change everyone asked for…

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/04/2023 13:33:29    2473243

Replying To ballboy101:  "There is some merit in what you are saying regarding club tactics but the underage teams over the past ten years all play this passive, slow type if football.

Bonner changed things up when he took over and we were on the verge of breaking into the top teams and then we reverted back to this style again. I don't know why this happened but we became so predictable. Even last year with the game in the melting pot, we passed over and back and couldn't penetrate. We are producing the same type of players, tall, rangy players, good off both feet but we are seriouslt lacking in aggressive, direct players that the likes of Mayo have.

Thompson is a class player, capable of moments of magic but disappears for long spells. We have too many of these.

Bonner had his day and a great servant no doubt, but we were going nowhere. I don't think we'd be as bad as this if he was in charge but the rot certainly began under his watch.

A blank slate needed and a Downings type of restart required but anyone who thinks we have the same calibre of players who were in the room in 2011 is sadly mistaken."
I don't think we'd be as bad as this if bonner was in charge. Some statement to make in fairness. If bonner was in charge Murphy and Co wudnt be absent. We're getting what we deserve and nobody can argue with that. Only a few hundred up supporting the lads disgrace.. don't need any excuses.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 24/04/2023 14:35:17    2473287

Replying To greenfan:  "interesting statistic from yesterday. Oisin Gallen was the only player on our bench who had played championship football. Some of them had never even played in the league."
Donegal have fielded a severely weakened squad this season, if you list players who played in League and Championship for Donegal in the last 3-4 years who are still in the age group to play Inter-county, its quickly obvious why 2023 has been such a struggle.

Michael Murphy
Patrick McBrearty - injured
Ryan McHugh
Niall O'Donnell
Shane O'Donnell
Eoghan McGettigan
Ethan O'Donnell
Odhran MacNiallais
Stephen McBrearty
Eoin McHugh
Andrew McClean
Jack McKelvey
Paul Brennan - Injured
Tony McClenaghan
Eunan Doherty
Odhran McFadden Ferry
Conor Morrison
Aaron Deeney

Some of the above are out with Injury, but I would argue that some of the above are better that players who started against Down and that got relegated from Division 1.

That squad yesterday lacked depth from the bench and lacked strength on the pitch.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 24/04/2023 14:41:25    2473291

I don't think anyone realistically thinks that the current crop are capable of winning All-Irelands. But, can we honestly say that they've been given the support & resources they need to fully maximise their potential? I would say no.

For me, the rest of 2023 should be about the lads giving their best and hopefully getting a result or two in the group stage. Noone is expecting much more of them. It remains to be seen who will be available for selection. Injuries and offers from the US will undoubtedly be factors.

Of course in the background there is perhaps more important work to be done. I don't know the ins and outs of it. But it's clear that there is a divide and for the sake of the future of Donegal football it needs to be sorted out. The Academy needs to be fully functioning, and it's my opinion that we need a management team from Donegal appointed early. We'll need to have ourselves primed and ready to take the door off the hinges in 2024. Otherwise the nightmare scenario of Div 3 and Tailteann Cup football might become a reality

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 24/04/2023 14:47:34    2473297

Replying To rorysboys:  "I don't think we'd be as bad as this if bonner was in charge. Some statement to make in fairness. If bonner was in charge Murphy and Co wudnt be absent. We're getting what we deserve and nobody can argue with that. Only a few hundred up supporting the lads disgrace.. don't need any excuses."
Back to this rubbish. I can empthathise with people who do not want to support the current team through attendance at games as it might give the impression that they are happy with the calamitous nature of the county set up.

County board need to be sent a message. People are not going to put up with the status quo. Small clubs are forced to pay a fortune in county board fees at the beginning of each year. This money is being wasted and clubs are struggling. Fair play to those who went but people had legitimate reasons not to travel. It is when the money dries up that the board will realise the mess we are in.

And you cherry picked what I said. Yes we would not have been this bad, but there were no signs of improvement. This day of reckoning has been coming.

ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 24/04/2023 15:19:44    2473312

To think that Paddy Carr was more than good enough for multiple all-Ireland winners such as James Mc Carthy, Rory O'Carroll, Dean Rock, Paul Mannion, John Small , Philly Mc Mahon et. Al. He wasn't good enough for the Donegal players? Shortsighted??

Theblonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 1 - 24/04/2023 15:22:00    2473315

Replying To rorysboys:  "Takes a mayo man to say what I said all along. Bonner and rochford done a fantastic job with the resources we had. Yet we're hounded out of the job by people who know nothing about football. People who believed we should have been winning another few all irelands. On what basis you don't win an all Ireland without a strong defence and a few marquee forwards. Just look at the club scene in Donegal it's a shambles,"
What kind of beautiful breathtaking football does your own club play big man?

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 295 - 24/04/2023 15:48:21    2473324

Replying To Theblonde:  "To think that Paddy Carr was more than good enough for multiple all-Ireland winners such as James Mc Carthy, Rory O'Carroll, Dean Rock, Paul Mannion, John Small , Philly Mc Mahon et. Al. He wasn't good enough for the Donegal players? Shortsighted??"
you'd have to wonder how anyone what was going on and what the motives were. I find it strange that we have a player who can't get himself fit enough to finish a game (for a few years now) , yet he's one of the players involved in getting rid of a manager who's won a club all ireland, and replacing him with 2 men who clearly aren't up to the task.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 24/04/2023 15:56:20    2473333

Replying To greenfan:  "you'd have to wonder how anyone what was going on and what the motives were. I find it strange that we have a player who can't get himself fit enough to finish a game (for a few years now) , yet he's one of the players involved in getting rid of a manager who's won a club all ireland, and replacing him with 2 men who clearly aren't up to the task."
I would say the senior players who spoke with Paddy are only relaying the squad sentiment. obviously they are the leaders of the group and carry a lot of sway but I wouldn't pin the whole thing on the three names that went to see him.

I would also guess that this whole scenario suits a few around the county that wanted O'Rourke in as the main coach down to the ground

There's a lot of dúirt bean liom gur dúirt bean léi in the county at the minute and that atmosphere comes from the top down

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 24/04/2023 16:15:51    2473346

Replying To greenfan:  "you'd have to wonder how anyone what was going on and what the motives were. I find it strange that we have a player who can't get himself fit enough to finish a game (for a few years now) , yet he's one of the players involved in getting rid of a manager who's won a club all ireland, and replacing him with 2 men who clearly aren't up to the task."
He normally has himself tired out from talking constantly during the game. If he could keep his behalf closed for five minutes he might reserve a bit more energy for his legs.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 24/04/2023 16:34:11    2473361

Replying To tidytownman:  "What kind of beautiful breathtaking football does your own club play big man?"
Surely you're not standing up for club football in Donegal lad .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 24/04/2023 16:38:30    2473368

Replying To CCFabu:  "I would say the senior players who spoke with Paddy are only relaying the squad sentiment. obviously they are the leaders of the group and carry a lot of sway but I wouldn't pin the whole thing on the three names that went to see him.

I would also guess that this whole scenario suits a few around the county that wanted O'Rourke in as the main coach down to the ground

There's a lot of dúirt bean liom gur dúirt bean léi in the county at the minute and that atmosphere comes from the top down"
Who in the county wanted O'Rourke as Head Coach? Not one person wanted that, not one. As far as I know it was Paddy Carr who insisted on it after he was ousted by the players. That in itself is a joke.
The county board made a mess of the initial recruitment process and lets call a spade a spade, the only 2 men left standing were Paddy Carr and Aidan O'Rourke and in a moment of mad panic they were appointed by incompetent administrators. Anyone with half a brain knew that neither Carr or O'Rourke were up to the job and now the chickens have come home to roost. I thought we had hit rock bottom but each week we seem to sink further.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 24/04/2023 16:43:31    2473374

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Who in the county wanted O'Rourke as Head Coach? Not one person wanted that, not one. As far as I know it was Paddy Carr who insisted on it after he was ousted by the players. That in itself is a joke.
The county board made a mess of the initial recruitment process and lets call a spade a spade, the only 2 men left standing were Paddy Carr and Aidan O'Rourke and in a moment of mad panic they were appointed by incompetent administrators. Anyone with half a brain knew that neither Carr or O'Rourke were up to the job and now the chickens have come home to roost. I thought we had hit rock bottom but each week we seem to sink further."
What in your opinion is O'Rourke lacking as a coach.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 24/04/2023 17:08:24    2473390

Replying To rorysboys:  "Surely you're not standing up for club football in Donegal lad ."
Answer the question, what type of beautiful football does your club play. And stop waffling about Bonner.

The fact is the county board could learn a few things from the great club that is Naomh conail.
We concentrated on underage teams and worked hard as a club to develop our club, and for the last 18 years + are benefiting from that hard work.

We developed great players like the thomson's, Leo, brick, mcguinness, gildea......... the list goes on.

One of them great players became manager and brought us to the top.

Have a bit of respect for the county champions

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 24/04/2023 17:36:42    2473402

Replying To gunman:  "What in your opinion is O'Rourke lacking as a coach."
The ability to win games.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 24/04/2023 18:01:10    2473418

Replying To Commodore:  "Donegal have fielded a severely weakened squad this season, if you list players who played in League and Championship for Donegal in the last 3-4 years who are still in the age group to play Inter-county, its quickly obvious why 2023 has been such a struggle.

Michael Murphy
Patrick McBrearty - injured
Ryan McHugh
Niall O'Donnell
Shane O'Donnell
Eoghan McGettigan
Ethan O'Donnell
Odhran MacNiallais
Stephen McBrearty
Eoin McHugh
Andrew McClean
Jack McKelvey
Paul Brennan - Injured
Tony McClenaghan
Eunan Doherty
Odhran McFadden Ferry
Conor Morrison
Aaron Deeney

Some of the above are out with Injury, but I would argue that some of the above are better that players who started against Down and that got relegated from Division 1.

That squad yesterday lacked depth from the bench and lacked strength on the pitch."
How many of that list will be back next year? Obviously Murphy retired and a lot won't probably make themselves available until upgrade on Aidan O'Rourke is brought in.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 24/04/2023 19:58:01    2473459

Replying To rorysboys:  "I don't think we'd be as bad as this if bonner was in charge. Some statement to make in fairness. If bonner was in charge Murphy and Co wudnt be absent. We're getting what we deserve and nobody can argue with that. Only a few hundred up supporting the lads disgrace.. don't need any excuses."
Your talking nonsense. Murphy said he made up his mind to retire in June after Donegal's last match of 2022?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 24/04/2023 22:47:01    2473517

Replying To rorysboys:  "Takes a mayo man to say what I said all along. Bonner and rochford done a fantastic job with the resources we had. Yet we're hounded out of the job by people who know nothing about football. People who believed we should have been winning another few all irelands. On what basis you don't win an all Ireland without a strong defence and a few marquee forwards. Just look at the club scene in Donegal it's a shambles,"
What's wrong with the club scene in Donegal?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 25/04/2023 08:06:31    2473531

Replying To Scenicparish:  "What's wrong with the club scene in Donegal?"
have you watched a club game lately?

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 25/04/2023 09:22:27    2473562

Replying To greenfan:  "have you watched a club game lately?"
I watch my club team playing every weekend. Open attacking football, high scoring. Dont see a problem!!!

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 25/04/2023 09:43:52    2473567