Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm not a statistician but from the last few games, Ben o Carroll got 3 last Sunday and Ryan o donoghoe got 1.2 for mayo game. Mark Curran is a fine player I don't question that he deserves his place probably will get the man marking role in the championship. Listen I'd be delighted if Curran goes on and makes the corner back position his own. Do I think he should have played in Ulster final last year I don't think so."
All true. Curran really struggled in the last two games but this has to be expected coming straight into a team..our plus one is all over the place of late which doesn't help either. Curran had a good game on MC Curry in Omagh and a decent second half against Kerry. He did very well against Burke from Galway only giving away a free to him.

I like Curran on the ball. He'll look for that forward pass and runs straight and hard unlike some other defenders/players who go diagonal with ball in hand.

Could we possibly turn some club players into defenders? It's come to this stage as we don't have quality defenders. Forker for Armagh being an example and Hampsey for Tyrone. Both play out the field for their clubs. Just trying to think who could suit this role? Someone strong , athletic, quick. Moore from Eunans is a prospect, as stated not a natural corner back by any means but worth a shot.

Players need to be coached also think this starts with club coaching first.The quality of our tackling is laughable. Close lining lads. We need to be smart.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 29/03/2023 15:59:54    2467627

Mark Curran for a horrid time in the last two weeks, with both O'Donoghue and O'Carroll. But he got absolutely no protection from others. Roscommon especially, but isolated the space in front of him, and in what was a terrible day for Donegal football, I actually enjoyed watching that duel. And yes O'Carroll scored points, but Curran done well to limit him to points. As for Ryan O'Donoghue, he scored 2-23 in the National League himself, and missed a game and a half. It's more than Mark Curran that had their hands full.

Surely there has to be room in the squad for tough man marking defenders like Conor Morrison or Tony McClenaghan.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 29/03/2023 16:24:11    2467635

Replying To TheRock2121:  "All true. Curran really struggled in the last two games but this has to be expected coming straight into a team..our plus one is all over the place of late which doesn't help either. Curran had a good game on MC Curry in Omagh and a decent second half against Kerry. He did very well against Burke from Galway only giving away a free to him.

I like Curran on the ball. He'll look for that forward pass and runs straight and hard unlike some other defenders/players who go diagonal with ball in hand.

Could we possibly turn some club players into defenders? It's come to this stage as we don't have quality defenders. Forker for Armagh being an example and Hampsey for Tyrone. Both play out the field for their clubs. Just trying to think who could suit this role? Someone strong , athletic, quick. Moore from Eunans is a prospect, as stated not a natural corner back by any means but worth a shot.

Players need to be coached also think this starts with club coaching first.The quality of our tackling is laughable. Close lining lads. We need to be smart."
You are 100% right.In most club teams corner backs and corner forwards are not going be great players.What we need to do as you say convert good players in to these positions.For example I think Conor O'Donnell who is quick. two footed and able to take a score could be a good option in the full forward line.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 29/03/2023 16:42:47    2467644

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm not a statistician but from the last few games, Ben o Carroll got 3 last Sunday and Ryan o donoghoe got 1.2 for mayo game. Mark Curran is a fine player I don't question that he deserves his place probably will get the man marking role in the championship. Listen I'd be delighted if Curran goes on and makes the corner back position his own. Do I think he should have played in Ulster final last year I don't think so."
Rorysboys I actually do think Curran should have started against Armagh last year but that's just my opinion tbh. What I was trying to refer in that post was marks been a peripheral player this past few years under declan and never got a real go, but stuck at it and has taken his chance this year unlike mccleanaghan that left before ulster final last Yr. He's learning He's trade at county level this year and will make mistakes but I believe he's our best corner back to come through this past while. Give the lad a season under him and then we'll see.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 29/03/2023 17:12:33    2467655

Meanwhile, our u20s are starting their championship tonight against Antrim. These young men have put in a massive effort over the last while. People should forget the other nonsense for a while and get behind them.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 29/03/2023 17:32:57    2467658

Replying To rorysboys:  "I don't think fergus Mc gee is the problem. You know and we all know who the problem is."
In no way did Fergus create the mess - that lies firmly at your door as former chairman

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 29/03/2023 17:34:11    2467660

Replying To Mid Don:  "Our club football from underage up to Senior prohibits inside forwards and man markers. The whole coaching ethos has to change within the county or it will be the same old for years to come. Our biggest issue imo is that we have coaches still running around clubs from the Jim Mac era sticking to blanket defending. The issue is 2 fold then - no out and out man markers as they have load's of bodies around them at club level and therefore don't need to be strong in the art of defending and a shortage of good inside forwards as there is no space. Good inside forward now find themselves constantly drifting out the field to get on the ball. Lets be honest would many of the contributors here who have played football want to line out as an inside forward in the modern game. The academy may help but remember the coaches in any/all our development squads are always trying to win games - Rightly or wrongly."
Yes 100% - our game has been destroyed and it originated over in glenties/Fintown in 2005 - the blue brigade won't like hearing that but it's the sad reality of it.

It's not a slate on them - it has brought them great success on the field of play at times - would I care if donegal played the same way and were successful more often than not - I don't think so

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 29/03/2023 17:37:35    2467661

I think you're spot on there unless someone wishes to correct (may have been 1 more score in a third match). I'm just trying to probe at the assertion you've made. Conceding 8-or-so scores, and 4 shut-outs in 7 games is not to be sniffed at. I would argue that this shows that man-marking capabilities of the first team aren't currently lacking, at least when Curran is on the pitch. As other posters have noted, and as you've alluded to, there's a distinct lack of defensive resilience in the half-back line, and now that McFadden, Murphy, and even Paul Brennan, have been removed from the 2nd quarter of the pitch it has left glaring weaknesses and opportunities for opponents to isolate.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 373 - 29/03/2023 17:56:28    2467665

Good luck to Leo and his under 20s tonight. Hopefully they can give us a chink of light after a testing few weeks.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 797 - 29/03/2023 18:27:28    2467673

For those on here questioning whether our players are good enough, at the moment we haven't a clue really because we have had very poor succession planning after Bonner, our underage structures are in flux and we have an inept county board underpinning all of these flawed issues.

All of those factors are weighing on the county team currently in my view, in particular the poor management appointment process and inability to install a really serious management team which would have prepared them properly for this season.

Tactically, physically and physiologically we look all over the place. No wonder players heads are down and some here want to say 'we simply don't have the players.' I've always found this statement lazy and lethargic. Truth is, we spent the past 7/8 years playing the best forward of a generation around midfield. Last year we played with fear, when the Ulster final was there to be won we couldn't play beyond this deeply conservative tactical approach. Under Bonner I felt we looked lateral, cautious but at least fit and well conditioned. Now we don't even have that.

It's a shame really but until we get a proper set up who can get everyone to commit to the jersey and then aim high, we will never know what the group is capable of.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 29/03/2023 18:45:15    2467680

Fair play to the u20s last night. They probably didn't play well, looked a bit nervous but they showed great determination and courage to come back from losing positions at the end of the main game and also extra time. Some of our senior players who have thrown in the towel in recently during games would do well to match their courage and commitment

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 30/03/2023 10:10:12    2467718

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "For those on here questioning whether our players are good enough, at the moment we haven't a clue really because we have had very poor succession planning after Bonner, our underage structures are in flux and we have an inept county board underpinning all of these flawed issues.

All of those factors are weighing on the county team currently in my view, in particular the poor management appointment process and inability to install a really serious management team which would have prepared them properly for this season.

Tactically, physically and physiologically we look all over the place. No wonder players heads are down and some here want to say 'we simply don't have the players.' I've always found this statement lazy and lethargic. Truth is, we spent the past 7/8 years playing the best forward of a generation around midfield. Last year we played with fear, when the Ulster final was there to be won we couldn't play beyond this deeply conservative tactical approach. Under Bonner I felt we looked lateral, cautious but at least fit and well conditioned. Now we don't even have that.

It's a shame really but until we get a proper set up who can get everyone to commit to the jersey and then aim high, we will never know what the group is capable of."
This is it. Your playing days don't last forever. Some of these lads like Ban, Langan, Thompson etc should be just hitting their peak and it looks, for now at least, that 2023 will be a wasted year which is a shame. No team has a divine right to win anything of course, but like you say, if the right structures aren't in place for our best players to fully exploit their potential then you're left with a lot of 'what ifs'.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 30/03/2023 10:28:43    2467732

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yes 100% - our game has been destroyed and it originated over in glenties/Fintown in 2005 - the blue brigade won't like hearing that but it's the sad reality of it.

It's not a slate on them - it has brought them great success on the field of play at times - would I care if donegal played the same way and were successful more often than not - I don't think so"
Lazy analysis but no surprise coming from a Eunans man.
Tryone and armagh all played ultra defensive football, trying to suffocate the opposition, and were successful, long before Naomh conail. So it was on its way whether we like it or not. Jim mcguinness then took it to another level in regards to defensive counter attacking football, which required fitness levels never seen.
The reason I call it lazy analysis is the exact same stuff is said about mcguinness, the usual he destroyed football cliche.
Is it mcguinness fault that coaches with less capabilities try and copy that, and fall short. The answer is No.
I am a naomh conail man that played the game long before this type of football and i hate it.
But i believe every coach has to take responsibility for how there own team plays, and stop the lazy analysis that it was mcguinness or Naomh conail started it. Its lazy and uneducated

The way donegal played in 12 and 14 was aggressive counter attacking football that required physical strength and fitness that only a select few top quality coaches can bring. They were also mentally strong
Sadly we have not been as physical strong, or mentally strong or even physical fit as them teams.
And thats down to management and preparation of teams the last few years.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 30/03/2023 11:12:03    2467740

Replying To eunans4ever:  "In no way did Fergus create the mess - that lies firmly at your door as former chairman"
Never said Fergus created the mess if you took the time to read my post you might understand this. He's not the only eunans man there you know. Or maybe you don't want to know.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 30/03/2023 11:12:27    2467741

Replying To greenfan:  "Fair play to the u20s last night. They probably didn't play well, looked a bit nervous but they showed great determination and courage to come back from losing positions at the end of the main game and also extra time. Some of our senior players who have thrown in the towel in recently during games would do well to match their courage and commitment"
Yea fair play to the u 20s. A real enjoyable game against a very good Antrim team. They showed great spirit to come back from 3 down in extra time. Tough game next in Derry hopefully we get everyone back and rattle them. A lot of talk about inside forwards. Did we see our next inside forward last night I know it's a big step up to senior but I seen enough last to think that young Blake Mc Garvey looks the real deal. Always looking to take his man on. Players like this should be taken in to the senior set up and built up for down the line. . Another interesting stat about last night was I think but maybe wrong that there was only one player from the so called big 4. What is wrong with the these clubs that are not regularly producing top players. Nice to see aodh rua with 3 starting.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 30/03/2023 12:00:27    2467759

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yes 100% - our game has been destroyed and it originated over in glenties/Fintown in 2005 - the blue brigade won't like hearing that but it's the sad reality of it.

It's not a slate on them - it has brought them great success on the field of play at times - would I care if donegal played the same way and were successful more often than not - I don't think so"
My God. Like a broken record, back he comes. Still can't swallow the County final beating. Would have most likely been the 1st man trying to get through the crowd to get his photo taken with Jim few years back. If your club is not able to compete with the smaller clubs with the finance, facilities and let's be fair, the pick of Ireland almost, well it's hardly our fault.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 295 - 30/03/2023 13:28:30    2467794

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea fair play to the u 20s. A real enjoyable game against a very good Antrim team. They showed great spirit to come back from 3 down in extra time. Tough game next in Derry hopefully we get everyone back and rattle them. A lot of talk about inside forwards. Did we see our next inside forward last night I know it's a big step up to senior but I seen enough last to think that young Blake Mc Garvey looks the real deal. Always looking to take his man on. Players like this should be taken in to the senior set up and built up for down the line. . Another interesting stat about last night was I think but maybe wrong that there was only one player from the so called big 4. What is wrong with the these clubs that are not regularly producing top players. Nice to see aodh rua with 3 starting."
Definitely looked like a proper inside forward, always thinking about taking the man on and heading for goal. Just needs a bit more composure , but that will come with age. The number 9 looks to have a serious left foot, nice to see a player looking to kick the ball to the inside men from distance, thought they lost a bit of direction when he went off. I think the lack of players from some clubs is down to the type of coaching going on all over the county. Clubs are coaching teams to win games using systems etc instead of coaching players.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 30/03/2023 13:59:45    2467808

Replying To The keeper:  "Lazy analysis but no surprise coming from a Eunans man.
Tryone and armagh all played ultra defensive football, trying to suffocate the opposition, and were successful, long before Naomh conail. So it was on its way whether we like it or not. Jim mcguinness then took it to another level in regards to defensive counter attacking football, which required fitness levels never seen.
The reason I call it lazy analysis is the exact same stuff is said about mcguinness, the usual he destroyed football cliche.
Is it mcguinness fault that coaches with less capabilities try and copy that, and fall short. The answer is No.
I am a naomh conail man that played the game long before this type of football and i hate it.
But i believe every coach has to take responsibility for how there own team plays, and stop the lazy analysis that it was mcguinness or Naomh conail started it. Its lazy and uneducated

The way donegal played in 12 and 14 was aggressive counter attacking football that required physical strength and fitness that only a select few top quality coaches can bring. They were also mentally strong
Sadly we have not been as physical strong, or mentally strong or even physical fit as them teams.
And thats down to management and preparation of teams the last few years."
Time to move on lad. Mc Guinness was 10 years ago football has moved on. Mc Guinness was a good manager with above average players and a superstar. People are fed up of the st eunans n Conal Arguing it's pretty tedious. Time to look forward now lad.. time stands for no man. Hopefully the style of football moves forward too il be taking in a few games this weekend.. might even be talking to you.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 30/03/2023 16:42:04    2467855

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea fair play to the u 20s. A real enjoyable game against a very good Antrim team. They showed great spirit to come back from 3 down in extra time. Tough game next in Derry hopefully we get everyone back and rattle them. A lot of talk about inside forwards. Did we see our next inside forward last night I know it's a big step up to senior but I seen enough last to think that young Blake Mc Garvey looks the real deal. Always looking to take his man on. Players like this should be taken in to the senior set up and built up for down the line. . Another interesting stat about last night was I think but maybe wrong that there was only one player from the so called big 4. What is wrong with the these clubs that are not regularly producing top players. Nice to see aodh rua with 3 starting."
Ah, out spotting talent, tat makes a change for you. Dont forget where the manager is from?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 267 - 30/03/2023 18:13:06    2467879

Replying To Lockjaw:  "This is it. Your playing days don't last forever. Some of these lads like Ban, Langan, Thompson etc should be just hitting their peak and it looks, for now at least, that 2023 will be a wasted year which is a shame. No team has a divine right to win anything of course, but like you say, if the right structures aren't in place for our best players to fully exploit their potential then you're left with a lot of 'what ifs'."
Langan aint anywhere near the level i thought he be at

10DLSAM (Derry) - Posts: 264 - 30/03/2023 20:02:57    2467888