Donegal GAA thread

Replying To papa_pump:  "The irony is that Jim, who you have a vendetta against, did exactly what you demand in his first year. Got an Ulster and an All Ireland semi out of a team that hadn't won an Ulster match in years. No Semi for Declan in 5 years. I'm looking forward to seeing what an ambitious coach can do next year."
Have absolutely nothing against Mc Guinness . A brilliant manager . What I'm saying is the keeper mention's him in every post, so get him on board now. If he doesn't want it no point in mentioning his name. You don't need to respond to every post I put up. Your only one of bonners critics from day one. Sad really .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 20/07/2022 17:07:38    2433217

Replying To peiledoir20:  ""We'll see what he is made of" would that be a dual AI winner John? He's the only one we have in that regard so I don't he needs to prove anything to anyone, least of all you.

No shouldn't you be concentrating on your Division 3 play off on Saturday??"
What are you on about. Please explain. Am I not allowed to ask Jim to put his name in the hat. They'll be fools on here crying the keeper ha if he doesn't get it even though he doesn't want it. We'll not realise how big a miss bonner is till he's gone. Trophy wise with Donegal he has the most. That might sicken the anti bonner fools. This division 3 play off is playing on your mind are you a n rossa or a n mhuire man.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 20/07/2022 17:14:17    2433219

Replying To totalrecall:  "So the search for a new manager begins, can't really think of anyone within the county who has put their hand up, looking like an outside appointment"
Yea I hear Shane ward is in pole position.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 20/07/2022 17:15:06    2433220

There is always one class clown, and we all know who it is.
I mentioned mcguinness in a few posts, as i was comparing what a great manager can do, versus what an average manager did the last 5 years.
Try and keep up,

Absolutely nothing against Declan Bonner, i just simply believe he is not a top quality manager, and i believe the last 5 years have proven me correct.
And it has been a wasted few years with the talent we have.
Is there any guarantee the next man will be better, No, but its better to take a chance and who knows.
Thanks Declan for you efforts and i wish you and your family health and happiness.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 20/07/2022 20:16:18    2433251

Thanks Declan for the great days you give this county, it was a pleasure seeing you score the insurance point in 1992. Probably the greatest day following the green and gold. Thanks then for continuing to giving something back when you retired. Your record at underage level was outstanding. Then onto to your managerial career winning them two Ulster titles being one of only 3 men to achieve it.. great days. Delighted in your final speech tonight you thanked the genuine Donegal supporters, this will rule out a lot of the keyboard warriors on here. Thanks again Declan this county didn't deserve you.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 20/07/2022 21:43:29    2433256

Replying To panamasam:  "
Replying To greenfan:  "[quote=Lockjaw:  "[quote=Commodore:  "Tyrone might have more clubs, but I would say there isn't really much in it between the pool size of players they have to pick from when we examine the population of each County.

Tyrone population is ~178,000 of which, of which at least 40% are from Unionist community which does not engage in GAA sports generally. So Tyrone probably has a potential playing population of ~110,000 to pull from.

Donegal population is ~160,000, which when you whittle it down from Soccer etc, Donegal probably have a slight edge in terms of size of player pool of ~130,000.

A big problem we have is young players dropping away from Gaelic games or becoming less committed around the 16-20 age group, it happens everywhere. I think greater work needs to go into keeping good players playing the game."
Yeah there's a lot going on for youngsters in that age group. They'll have important exams, college choices etc. Then when college is finished a lot of them move away for job oppontuntities or travel. I know in a good few clubs the player pool will often consist of a group of young lads 17-21 or so, then at the other end of the scale you'll have your experienced lads 30+. It's that gap in the middle that can have a hugely detrimental affect, particularly on smaller clubs. Lads in their physical prime who would be huge assets to their clubs if they were based at home.

That's life I suppose. People will have priorities other than football. Work may dicate that they can't live at home or many will choose to go off and explore the world."
A problem I see now for picking county teams is we are overlooking players who don't go to college. It's great to see the county board having links with ATU(LYIT) in Letterkenny but I think good players who don't go to college are getting overlooked and slipping through the net, if you look at the u20's most of them were college players who have an advantage over players who aren't at college when the squads are being assembled because they are playing college football when the club season is over. There are definitely good players out there not getting a chance. Examples like lads who do apprenticeships or who work in construction or farming or just want to get a job after leaving secondary school. Some families just can't afford college, it feels like the inter county game is getting a bit elitist and the less well off have less chance of making it. Down through the years, some of our best players have been men who did physical work for a living."]I'm a bit sceptical about the link. While its good to keep players in the county its just as beneficial to play with players from other counties. What I seen from LYIT was a caricature of the underage teams and the senior side. Any decent management set up wouldn't be so short sighted to ignore players not in college."]I seen a Michael Murphy managed lyit team in the sigerson cup that got the semi final a few years ago that was made up entirely of players taken from the club scene, many of whom were students in name only. Lyit were only replicating what alot of the big colleges have been doing for years. So attending college is not necessarily a given.

Personally I think the lyit link up is a good idea, but the problem is the way the GAA have pushed the once great sigerson cup competition to one side is shameful.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 21/07/2022 08:28:12    2433261

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea I hear Shane ward is in pole position."
Shane ward would be a superb appointment. He was Leitrim manager and did a sterling job.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 21/07/2022 10:25:05    2433281

Replying To rorysboys:  "Thanks Declan for the great days you give this county, it was a pleasure seeing you score the insurance point in 1992. Probably the greatest day following the green and gold. Thanks then for continuing to giving something back when you retired. Your record at underage level was outstanding. Then onto to your managerial career winning them two Ulster titles being one of only 3 men to achieve it.. great days. Delighted in your final speech tonight you thanked the genuine Donegal supporters, this will rule out a lot of the keyboard warriors on here. Thanks again Declan this county didn't deserve you."
This county didn't deserve him? Would you ever tune into reality. He got 5 years, 7 in total over two stints. The county senior manager's job is a privileged position and an honour for whoever gets it. Not the other way around. Declan did a good job and can hold his head high after a lengthy stint. Enough violin playing for him.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 21/07/2022 10:40:00    2433290

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "This county didn't deserve him? Would you ever tune into reality. He got 5 years, 7 in total over two stints. The county senior manager's job is a privileged position and an honour for whoever gets it. Not the other way around. Declan did a good job and can hold his head high after a lengthy stint. Enough violin playing for him."
He's a blatant troll

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 21/07/2022 10:52:54    2433296

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea I hear Shane ward is in pole position."
I understood that his Donegal career trajectory took a very severe turn for the worst when Gary Duffy threw him under the bus to accomodate the return of Clerkin.

But I sincerely have to agree with you regarding The Keeper suggesting McEntee, I personally believe he shouldn't even be considered, not the route I would like to go down at all.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 586 - 21/07/2022 11:02:31    2433301

The political campaigning will begin now in earnest. These are my first thoughts!

The highest flying candidate at the moment with a Donegal connection would be Jack Cooney, what are the chances of the Kilcar Mafia putting a team together with Cooney at the helm?

I'm sure the wheels will be turning behind the scenes down in Gaoth Dobhar as well, trying to put a package together containing Kevin Cassidy. Will Michael Boyle be part of that equation?

Will the sponsors come with their own proposal? Will they be able to deliver the ultimate package; The Ascension, the raising of McGuinness into Heaven?

I'm sure the different plots and sub plots will thicken over the next few weeks.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 586 - 21/07/2022 11:17:08    2433308

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The political campaigning will begin now in earnest. These are my first thoughts!

The highest flying candidate at the moment with a Donegal connection would be Jack Cooney, what are the chances of the Kilcar Mafia putting a team together with Cooney at the helm?

I'm sure the wheels will be turning behind the scenes down in Gaoth Dobhar as well, trying to put a package together containing Kevin Cassidy. Will Michael Boyle be part of that equation?

Will the sponsors come with their own proposal? Will they be able to deliver the ultimate package; The Ascension, the raising of McGuinness into Heaven?

I'm sure the different plots and sub plots will thicken over the next few weeks."
Cooney could be a curveball.

Cassidy's record in his own club last year wouldn't inspire confidence. He strikes as a media man anyway, too fond of the limelight.

I think McGuinness will rule himself out on Sky this weekend. His focus is purely on progressing his coaching career in soccer at the moment.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 808 - 21/07/2022 11:29:47    2433313

I want say a big thank you to Declan Bonner for all he done for Donegal as player and manager and I want to wish him well in the future with whatever he does and it's sad to see how things ended up,
he started off so well really this term and had us playing good football and the buzz was back for the county team but then that after the shock defeat to Cavan in 2020 things never got back on the same track.
Hopefully now we get the right management team that have the ambition and drive to rebuild and refocus the county team and get that buzz and excitement for the county team back that has waned badly this year in particular.
It will be interesting to see who is interested, it's a big job with big expectations, I believe we have the players, and maybe some new faces will be unearthed and will get a chance to prove themselves at county level.
As Jim reportedly said to the boys at that famous meeting in Downings as he looked out the window
'that's Donegal out there, the hills and the homes and the people and the lakes and the mountains, they are waiting for a team to give them something to cheer about and to follow' we are going to be the team to do that.' and by God Jim and that team delivered for us.

Not sure if there's any chance of the Messiah returning to lead us and maybe he is as well off out of it when you hear the waffling that's coming from the county chairman this morning on the radio, I'm sure he's just annoyed many people with his 'real Donegal supporters' quip, he sounds a bit like our own declansboy here with a similar level of coherence,
we'll see anyway and live in hope that we get the correct manger in place that will change things up and get the team playing good football and give all Donegal fans something to get excited about again.
Onwards and upwards.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 21/07/2022 11:32:33    2433314

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I understood that his Donegal career trajectory took a very severe turn for the worst when Gary Duffy threw him under the bus to accomodate the return of Clerkin.

But I sincerely have to agree with you regarding The Keeper suggesting McEntee, I personally believe he shouldn't even be considered, not the route I would like to go down at all."
And what route would you go down?
I put Tony McEntee in as a candidate, i also stated that a panel of recent ex players who know what is needed to compete at the top should be in that panel.
There is a 3 man panel now going to search for managers that would be interested.
But who are these 3 men?
Is it board members that have very little knowledge like rorysboys.
I hope not, otherwise we will be going back to john joe and offering him the job.
How about having 1 member of the board, and two members from the winning 2012 team that have retired.
That way the officer of the board is there to explain the financial side of things and its limits, and you also have two former players who reached the top to help choose the best man for the job.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 21/07/2022 11:35:14    2433316

Replying To papa_pump:  "He's a blatant troll"
Think what ever you want. Bonner said on radio this morning that it's time for ex players to put there name forward. Not too hard to know who that is.. interesting times ahead.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 21/07/2022 11:49:28    2433323

The discourse towards the end of Bonners reign got toxic and in fairness posts from the likes of me wouldn't have helped that. Credit where it's due to Declan he has a great pedigree at under age, and throughout his time as senior manager he blooded dozens of players who have gone on to perform well in the Donegal jersey. He has a great brain for underage football and he's right about what needs to be done in terms of underage structures within the county for us to sustain this golden decade we've had. I just don't think he had what it takes for the very top level of intercounty management anymore.

I would liken it to this. If you go for a golf lesson, you'll be taught by a teaching pro. Someone with a wealth of knowledge about the sport, who can help in developing talent. That same teaching pro wouldn't be able to keep pace with McIlroy or Scheffler going around Augusta. Declan has a gift for developing young players.

Unfortunately I think psychologically within the panel and the management ticket, defeats like that in Castlebar or in the Athletic grounds took a lot out of them. From the 2020 final onwards it felt like management were trying to diagnose on the fly and didn't really have that same conviction they had in 2018 and 2019 when self belief was high.

I think Cahair O Kane put it well in today's Irish News. Declan leaves the team in better health than it was post-Gallagher, but it is still the right time now to move on. Fair play to Declan for making that call and may he enjoy his time now with his family.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 21/07/2022 12:25:34    2433337

Replying To rorysboys:  "What are you on about. Please explain. Am I not allowed to ask Jim to put his name in the hat. They'll be fools on here crying the keeper ha if he doesn't get it even though he doesn't want it. We'll not realise how big a miss bonner is till he's gone. Trophy wise with Donegal he has the most. That might sicken the anti bonner fools. This division 3 play off is playing on your mind are you a n rossa or a n mhuire man."
I'll be there to watch you, don't forget your brush.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 808 - 21/07/2022 12:42:21    2433346

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The political campaigning will begin now in earnest. These are my first thoughts!

I'm sure the different plots and sub plots will thicken over the next few weeks."
Go away out of that. Cooney is going nowhere. Seriously though, ye could do worse. He is a very astute man manager and has a great football brain. He didn't become our first home grown Westmeath manager in over 20 years for nothing. Out of interest, would there be any negative feeling towards him as he was part of Gallagher's management team?

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 21/07/2022 12:57:55    2433351

Whoever takes over now, they'll have some interesting calls to make around some of the older players. How many more years can Michael Murphy give us, even Paddy McBrearty after all his injuries and miles on the clock, can they be considered starters in championship going forward. Players will naturally want to play as long as possible. The manager needs to be strong enough to make those calls for them, and he needs to be strong enough to take players out of the team if they aren't playing well, no matter what their reputation. It felt in the last few years like some players were too comfortable in the team, would never get left out or substituted no matter what they did.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 21/07/2022 13:06:08    2433359

Replying To mintyfresh:  "Go away out of that. Cooney is going nowhere. Seriously though, ye could do worse. He is a very astute man manager and has a great football brain. He didn't become our first home grown Westmeath manager in over 20 years for nothing. Out of interest, would there be any negative feeling towards him as he was part of Gallagher's management team?"
Absolutely no bad feelings as far as I'm aware of. Indeed if he was able to tolerate Rory, which I can't imagine was an easy task, he should be nominated for Sainthood.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 586 - 21/07/2022 13:34:39    2433362