Longford GAA thread

I see we have pivoted from misquotes from 20 years ago, to one county board official performing his job to a club official getting carried away, to our club redrawing parish, county and provincial boundaries. If only Clonguish were consulted by the Boundary Commission 100 years ago we could have solved this island a lot of trouble given how powerful we seemingly are!
Nothing has been won in 14 years and already knives are out. I shudder to think of what nonsense will be spewed on here should we go on to be successful

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 21/09/2023 14:19:11    2505069

Replying To Spinx:  "I'll even add a few more to your list....Ballymahon, Colmcille, Dromard and even my own club.
The way these things are normally settled in Longford is on where they went to national school.
Every club is has these border players in their squads!"
Exactly this!
When Fr. Manning Gaels were on their hot streak they had 5 Clonguish parishioners playing in their starting 15.
You never heard us going on about how those lads should have been playing for Clonguish!!
Gerry Moore, Matthew Carey, Ronan Sweeney and Peter Hanley all went to national school in Newtown and they themselves want to play for Clonguish.
I want to clear this up before there is further allegations....these lads were never held hostage by Clonguish GAA!!

And just a point on Revo going on about our players, you are some boy to talk with the history of Longford Slashers.
Longford Slashers made a young lad have to sit out a full year of football because of an objection they submitted which was eventually thrown out.
Even this year their ladies side have been appealing against 2 Clonguish players playing for their team.

Anyway as Lios Breac said, nothing has been won so why all the crying????

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 21/09/2023 15:11:18    2505079

*text missing from previous message

or Melview School.

Replying to a message board off the phone is never straight forward!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 21/09/2023 15:22:18    2505082

Is the parish thing a big deal in Longford football?
From what I have seen you can go by parish you live in or the club where you went to school.
Either of those things didn't stop our Frankie plying his trade for a few seasons with Ballymahon!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 21/09/2023 15:25:43    2505084

Replying To Oddball:  "Is the parish thing a big deal in Longford football?
From what I have seen you can go by parish you live in or the club where you went to school.
Either of those things didn't stop our Frankie plying his trade for a few seasons with Ballymahon!!"
The storage cupboard Frankie was living in in 2002 was unquestionably in Ballymahon.

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 21/09/2023 16:02:38    2505094

Replying To Frank74:  "Exactly this!
When Fr. Manning Gaels were on their hot streak they had 5 Clonguish parishioners playing in their starting 15.
You never heard us going on about how those lads should have been playing for Clonguish!!
Gerry Moore, Matthew Carey, Ronan Sweeney and Peter Hanley all went to national school in Newtown and they themselves want to play for Clonguish.
I want to clear this up before there is further allegations....these lads were never held hostage by Clonguish GAA!!

And just a point on Revo going on about our players, you are some boy to talk with the history of Longford Slashers.
Longford Slashers made a young lad have to sit out a full year of football because of an objection they submitted which was eventually thrown out.
Even this year their ladies side have been appealing against 2 Clonguish players playing for their team.

Anyway as Lios Breac said, nothing has been won so why all the crying????"
I'm Mullinalaghta. Slashers are of no concern to me. Try again. Now back to Clonguish poaching players and why your club club official tried to get clubs banned ? I'll tell you why because he thought it would benefit Clonguish.

Revo (Longford) - Posts: 13 - 21/09/2023 19:30:28    2505115

Just saw the scoreline in the u14 Champshp final....... are Clonguish so far ahead in that category??

I knew their minors and juveniles were strong but winning an u14 Championship Final by 26 points seems surprising as I thought that would be a close competition. Maybe Slashers just had an off day.

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 21/09/2023 20:03:34    2505117

Replying To Revo:  "I'm Mullinalaghta. Slashers are of no concern to me. Try again. Now back to Clonguish poaching players and why your club club official tried to get clubs banned ? I'll tell you why because he thought it would benefit Clonguish."
You might want to pipe down there if you are indeed Mullinalaghta. You must be forgetting the former Cavan star you got to join your ranks not to mention Northern Gaels history of drafting in players from over the border. I can recall some very strong accents calling for the ball at U14 matches back in the day

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 22/09/2023 10:54:20    2505154

Replying To Revo:  "I'm Mullinalaghta. Slashers are of no concern to me. Try again. Now back to Clonguish poaching players and why your club club official tried to get clubs banned ? I'll tell you why because he thought it would benefit Clonguish."
Ah that makes sense, you're sour after Sunday.
I don't know why when ye have had a great 10 years at the top.
Poaching players?
Who exactly did we poach?
All our players have played from schoolboy up.......Mullinalaghta cannot say the same!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 22/09/2023 10:59:50    2505159

Replying To backtoback2:  "Just saw the scoreline in the u14 Champshp final....... are Clonguish so far ahead in that category??

I knew their minors and juveniles were strong but winning an u14 Championship Final by 26 points seems surprising as I thought that would be a close competition. Maybe Slashers just had an off day."
I can assure you Slashers did not have an off day!
Clonguish were also missing 2 starters from their team.
It could have been a bigger margin if not for the Slashers keeper, who pulled off some great saves.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 22/09/2023 11:01:32    2505160

Replying To backtoback2:  "Just saw the scoreline in the u14 Champshp final....... are Clonguish so far ahead in that category??

I knew their minors and juveniles were strong but winning an u14 Championship Final by 26 points seems surprising as I thought that would be a close competition. Maybe Slashers just had an off day."
This u14 crop is not at the level of the juveniles or minors but are still a bit ahead of the rest. The semi final with Drumlish was the real final and at that we were still a good bit better by all accounts. The way the draw worked out was favourable for Slashers reaching the final. It's early days but after this bunch it looks like we will come back to the pack, it would be very disappointing not to take the next two or three minor titles with what we have available

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 22/09/2023 11:02:59    2505161

That's the clubs 4th title in 5 years. Looking at the results, they beat St. Vincents in the semi by 11 points and in the group stage beat St. Francis by 21, Grattans by 27 and Slashers by 14. Mind you, Slashers beat St. Francis by 36 in that group, so some wild scoring going on, but seem to be well ahead of the pack.

Heading for 4 in a row in juvenile, which has never been done before. Heading for 3 in a row in Minor - Only Slashers in 80's, Granard in 90's and Northern Gaels in 2010's done that and you wouldn't bet against Clonguish getting 5. As i've written on here before, Clonguish will run the table this year in underage. Will be hot favourites to retain u21 in a few months too. That combo of u14, juvenile, minor and u21 titles all in the same year has only ever been done once.... last year.... by Clonguish!

Serious young talent in the club, not easy to keep lads together and not easy to translate underage success to senior, but they seem to be on track to do it. If not this year for senior breakthrough, it will be soon.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 22/09/2023 11:23:24    2505165

Replying To Frank74:  "Ah that makes sense, you're sour after Sunday.
I don't know why when ye have had a great 10 years at the top.
Poaching players?
Who exactly did we poach?
All our players have played from schoolboy up.......Mullinalaghta cannot say the same!!"
Clonguish have a lot of players living in the parish of slashers. Slashers ourselves are guilty of bringing in players and taking from Grattans however. There used to be a huge crop 10 years ago or so playing underage in Clonguish but living in Slashers boundaries.

honda15 (Longford) - Posts: 94 - 22/09/2023 11:33:21    2505169

Now lads, I thinks it's time we stop fighting with each other and get back to talking about football!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 22/09/2023 12:06:33    2505179

Replying To Frank74:  "I can assure you Slashers did not have an off day!
Clonguish were also missing 2 starters from their team.
It could have been a bigger margin if not for the Slashers keeper, who pulled off some great saves."
Gloating at winning an u14 final? Disgusting. Understandable why so many people dislike Clonguish.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 22/09/2023 12:20:45    2505184

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Gloating at winning an u14 final? Disgusting. Understandable why so many people dislike Clonguish."
Where exactly was I gloating?? LOL
A previous poster said Slashers might have had an off day and are Clonguish that good!!!
Clonguish were that good and Slashers are probably the 3rd or 4th best Under 14 team in Longford.
As LIos Breac said the draw fell kindly for them.
Jaysus, there are some very touchy people on here LOL

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 22/09/2023 12:52:04    2505193

Let me get some popcorn.
A Cavan person now joined by a Leitrim person to vent their fury at the people of Clonguish !

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 22/09/2023 13:10:24    2505203

Replying To honda15:  "Clonguish have a lot of players living in the parish of slashers. Slashers ourselves are guilty of bringing in players and taking from Grattans however. There used to be a huge crop 10 years ago or so playing underage in Clonguish but living in Slashers boundaries."
The parish rule doesn't exist anymore, it's all about where they go to school now.
Slashers could be badly hit for the foreseeable future as a result of the Cathedral fire.
A lot of kids baptised outside Town in the likes of Ardagh, Newtown and Killoe possibly would mean those kids end up going to school in those areas.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 22/09/2023 13:17:28    2505204

Mostrim v Ballymahon in relegation final on Sunday.
Hard to see anything other than Ballymahon struggling and making the drop.

They played 18 games across senior championship and div 2 league this year, won only 4. Hopefully structural changes coming next year to address the gap.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 22/09/2023 13:19:48    2505205

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Gloating at winning an u14 final? Disgusting. Understandable why so many people dislike Clonguish."
You sound like a drumlish man that played for gortletteragh

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 258 - 22/09/2023 13:30:16    2505207