Leitrim GAA thread

I thought the journey home from Wicklow and Wexford was long this year.

Coming through JFK and the journey back home has left me with so many thoughts.
Sorrow for the Leitrim players, embarrassment, anger at some of the coverage that the game/result has received and thoughts of where this leaves Leitrim football.

Firstly, congrats to New York. But anyone saying this is a shock is so far off the mark. That New York Panel was stacked with Players who have played at far higher levels than most of our boys.
Add in the travel, the pitch etc and it was a perfect ambush.

The reality is Leitrim won't win many (tight) games when missing the amount/calibre of players that we have been missing. O'Rourke, D.Rooney, Casey, McGloin, Jordan Reynolds off the top of my head. Then think about the players who didn't commit or emigrated this year and you can see why we have struggled with most half decent teams this year.

However, and it hasn't been said and won't be said in the media but our coaching has to be questioned. We had the second lowest conversion rate of shots at goal in a senior championship game since records were taken.

Some of our defending was pathetic at times and our kickouts were once again like something from 20 years ago. We hoofed long Kickouts into Gavin O'Brien, Mark Ellis and Johnny Glynn - all men who are over 6.3. Crazy stuff.
For ex. They brought on a sub at half time who kicked 4 points and we didn't react on the line or make a switch.

We have no defined style if play or structures in what we are trying to do apart from hoping that Keith Beirne does the business. But there's now a vast amount of games for both club and county where Keith can be marked out of a game. He's still immense but we won't win many matches when we expect him to do it on his own.

I thought Plunkett, Maguire and Dolan all played really well and Sweebey did well when introduced but out from that we really struggled. Our half back line (as has been the case all year) were destroyed.

There will be knee jerk reactions as it's NY we lost to. But it must be remembered that they have some tremendous players. It was a perfect storm.

We really need to see an upturn in our performances come the Tailteann Cup otherwise hard questions are going to have to be asked. Especially as there's talk numerous players from the other day will not be commiting for various reasons next year.

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 11/04/2023 13:38:35    2470248

When are ye coming home?

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 11/04/2023 15:35:10    2470307

I just want to say to Leitrim supporters to keep the head up. New york have been knocking on the door for years, nearly beat Galway a couple of times...ran sligo close last year And to be honest ye should have won on Saturday. Really hope ye give the Tailteann a rattle and i will be rooting for ye. K Beirne is a top top player and its great that GAA loyalty still prevails or he would be snapped up by the top counties.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 11/04/2023 19:06:41    2470372

Obviously people are fuming now but it would probably be best to reserve judgement on Moran until after the TC or at least after the next game and see how the response is. NY/Sligo now will receive a beating in the Connacht final, then they will receive at least two, if not three, hammerings in the AI group stage. The Connacht runners up could potentially be in a group with Kerry, Mayo and Kildare. Is that really a better position to be in?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 12/04/2023 08:34:03    2470403

Replying To anotheralias:  "I just want to say to Leitrim supporters to keep the head up. New york have been knocking on the door for years, nearly beat Galway a couple of times...ran sligo close last year And to be honest ye should have won on Saturday. Really hope ye give the Tailteann a rattle and i will be rooting for ye. K Beirne is a top top player and its great that GAA loyalty still prevails or he would be snapped up by the top counties."
Cheers for that

Hopefully youse do the business in the next game!

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 12/04/2023 09:01:04    2470411

Just looking at the team photo before the NY game and it's obvious one member of the team wasn't taking the game serious, as could be seen by his performance in the game. Same every game to be honest. Not good enough.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 12/04/2023 09:47:06    2470421

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Obviously people are fuming now but it would probably be best to reserve judgement on Moran until after the TC or at least after the next game and see how the response is. NY/Sligo now will receive a beating in the Connacht final, then they will receive at least two, if not three, hammerings in the AI group stage. The Connacht runners up could potentially be in a group with Kerry, Mayo and Kildare. Is that really a better position to be in?"
that Sligo team might just suprise you Machaire. On firm ground, they will get no hammerings. They are well organised and have serious finishers all over the pitch.

thedreamer (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 12/04/2023 09:55:03    2470425

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Just looking at the team photo before the NY game and it's obvious one member of the team wasn't taking the game serious, as could be seen by his performance in the game. Same every game to be honest. Not good enough."
Who is that?

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 12/04/2023 09:57:28    2470428

Look at the team photo again. First round of the championship, the attitude was not right.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 12/04/2023 10:20:51    2470438

Leitrim Gaa have issued a statement. It is laughable at this stage!!!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 12/04/2023 11:09:16    2470454

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Look at the team photo again. First round of the championship, the attitude was not right."
FFS will ye get over it. Like an eejit I actually looked at the photo. It's fine. It's a typical photo before a match. It's not a picture for the Eurovision or Britain's got talent

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 12/04/2023 11:11:58    2470455

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Obviously people are fuming now but it would probably be best to reserve judgement on Moran until after the TC or at least after the next game and see how the response is. NY/Sligo now will receive a beating in the Connacht final, then they will receive at least two, if not three, hammerings in the AI group stage. The Connacht runners up could potentially be in a group with Kerry, Mayo and Kildare. Is that really a better position to be in?"
If you could replace Mayo with another team I would relish the challenge. Imagine Kerry in Markievicz Park , the buzz, excitement how we could get 18 thousand people there. All the school kids. Even if we had to travel to Kerry what a weekend it would be.Bring it on I would say. It certainly beats Dr Cullen Park or Fraher Field.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 12/04/2023 11:15:36    2470461

Replying To eoinog:  "FFS will ye get over it. Like an eejit I actually looked at the photo. It's fine. It's a typical photo before a match. It's not a picture for the Eurovision or Britain's got talent"
The Eurovison or Britain's got talent??? What are you on about? It's a senior player a so called leader of the team, joking and messing around in a team photo before one of the most important games of the year? You don't see serious teams behave this way. The attitude was not right and a poor performing followed.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 12/04/2023 11:35:29    2470469

Hard to make out what the Co board mean by that statement...name calling or abuse etc of course shouldn't be tolerated, but how do they define 'positive criticism'? Seems contradictory.

It is when the fans stop caring will be the issue, because then the fundraising and attendance at games will stop.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 12/04/2023 11:49:53    2470478

The statement and the overwhelming response encapsulates where we are and where we'll remain. Happy to fail.
If there's a need to issue a statement then it proves that they're being dishonest with themselves or not used to being told some hard truths. Was their performance poor? Yes it was. That includes shot selection and shot execution. Are they going to be told this at training or are they going to be told they're all great lads like a bunch of 9 year olds at a blitz? Was it the first game where they were lazy and complacent? No it wasn't. That's what angers me. In my opinion it's the laziness and complacency that has us stuck in division 4.

That can't all be down to Andy Moran. They're old enough to have rectified these issues at this stage. Now we're a laughing stock. If you believe otherwise then you're kidding yourself. There are few shrinking violets playing at that level and it applies to our lads as well. So now they've a choice. Whinge, look for sympathy and walk away or react the right way and prove you're worthy of the jersey. Is there talent? Absolutely there is but its pointless having it if you're not going to fulfill it. Like any person involved in sport I've no doubt they follow other sports. Think of a few leaders in other sports and Gaa and ask yourselves whether this continuous complacency would be acceptable. You know the answer.

At this stage I can nearly tell you where people stand or sit in Pairc Sean for every match. We have loyal supporters that keep coming back and not just to Pairc Sean. There's plenty of money put into this team and they're well looked after. We're told that we dont have big businesses to fund it so where does it come from? From us. Therefore, we expect that, on and off, the pitch there's honesty of effort. By all accounts they wanted for nothing before and after the match. We expect a positive reaction.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 12/04/2023 11:58:27    2470482

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Just looking at the team photo before the NY game and it's obvious one member of the team wasn't taking the game serious, as could be seen by his performance in the game. Same every game to be honest. Not good enough."
What rubbish are you talking about, you're fairly grasping at straws now.Enough about Saturday it's over,we need to focus on the TC now.We're in luck that we actually have a few weeks to prepare because I'd be worried we were out this weekend as it would be hard enough to pick the lads up.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 12/04/2023 12:15:39    2470493

Replying To eoinog:  "If you could replace Mayo with another team I would relish the challenge. Imagine Kerry in Markievicz Park , the buzz, excitement how we could get 18 thousand people there. All the school kids. Even if we had to travel to Kerry what a weekend it would be.Bring it on I would say. It certainly beats Dr Cullen Park or Fraher Field."
In fairness to Sligo ye are probably better set up for playing some of the bigger teams than Leitrim or NY and ye also have the shrewder manager. With the underage ye have coming through ye have the potential to follow in Louth's or Cavan's footsteps. Preparing for a top 10 team by playing Div 4 opposition is not ideal and there will be a huge gulf in standard. That will be the tester for the management team.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 12/04/2023 12:19:59    2470495

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "In fairness to Sligo ye are probably better set up for playing some of the bigger teams than Leitrim or NY and ye also have the shrewder manager. With the underage ye have coming through ye have the potential to follow in Louth's or Cavan's footsteps. Preparing for a top 10 team by playing Div 4 opposition is not ideal and there will be a huge gulf in standard. That will be the tester for the management team."
There was a sight of Sligo bucks calling for their managers head not so long ago.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 12/04/2023 12:27:24    2470499

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Leitrim Gaa have issued a statement. It is laughable at this stage!!!"
Remember only "Positive criticism" is allowed...

Much of the criticism here is hardly abusive... there was other stuff on other social channels which was a bit OTT and in the minority. Doesn't make it right but it exists. The best thing management & players can do now is to go out and prove everyone wrong and give the Tailteann Cup a good rattle. The main goal of the season was to be promoted which has ended in failure so what's there to loose in fairness?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 12/04/2023 12:48:28    2470512

I posted a very sympathetic and balanced messaged last night but it didnt make the thread which surprised me seeing some of the stuff said, firstly Ime not Leitrim man, but follow all GAA. New York were going to beat some Connaught county some day and unfortunately for Leitrim it was them and it happened this year, other counties were almost caught in previous years so the "shock" of it outside Leitrim is being played up by the media and GAA in general. Thats said, I did expect Leitrim to win. Just an obervation, but the New York pitch was very hard on the eye on the television anyway, whatever it was like to play on with all the various colour lines criss crossing it was very hard on the eye, it cant have been easy on both teams either, in particular Leitrim whom such criss cross of lines, red, blue, yellow to name some I think might psychologically get in on the mindset of some players and say "ah here, are we supposed to play on this"...secondly, the size of the goals drew my attention during the game, and stood out in the penalty shoot out, either both goal keepers are big burly tall men, or the goal posts were not as wide as standard and the crossbar was a few inches lower. Keeper staying on the line was non existent for almost all penalty kicks.

Well done to NY on a great win, Sligo i think next and that will be interesting game. Hard luck on Leitrim, its tough now, championships being run so early and so piled one on top of the other I dont agree with, not even mid April and many lower division teams gone out of their provincial championships already??..what is the answer, I dont know, but I dont think the current system is right at all, both All Irelands played by mid July and we have to put faith in TG4 then to put on a decent club game to keep us entertained until next January...gone down a different road here so I will leave it at that.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 12/04/2023 12:52:23    2470515