Leitrim GAA thread

Great 2nd half today. Jack heslin at centre half forward was an inspired decision. Everything good went through him.. Delighted we kept a clean sheet too!! Very easy to drop focus when ur 10 points up and seemingly home and dry!!

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 29/01/2023 16:33:01    2454986

Good win today, cut loose second half and put up a big score after a very poor first half. Two injuries a big concern especially Aidan Flynn . Very tricky game next Sunday need another win, let's take it one match at a time. Separately is Shane Moran involved this year?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 29/01/2023 17:58:43    2455022

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "I see Wexford had 2 lads sent off. I wonder if that had any impact on game or was it all in the final minutes."
Last minutes. And it seems like London made a lot of mistakes rather than Wexford being good. Their goalkeeper handed them a goal and two points. LDN were much better in the second half.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 29/01/2023 18:25:21    2455041

So my view on yesterdays game

Poor first half missing chances that we won't get away with against any other team. I would think Waterford are the weakest team in Div 4 however they may take points off some teams but I doubt it. Like I said I thought leitrim actually were poor but yet won by 16 points and should have won by more. London will be a big step up this weekend. The 2 injuries yesterday are a concern we don't have many defensive options to replace Casey and the role aidan flynn plays you have to be ultra fit and he never stopped running yesterday. Yes we might have players on the squad with more natural ability but to play his role will be very difficult. Obviously speedy recovery to the lad it looked nasty.

A win this weekend is a must. The result went our way for once this weekend with 2 draws and Sligo now travelling to Wicklow with huge pressure on to get a result. With a weeks break after this round of fixtures and hopefully a few injuries clear we would be in good shape

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 30/01/2023 13:46:04    2455273

Only heading into Rd 2 but already the trip to Ruislip seems likely to be season defining (from a league perspective). A win in Ruislip will see us sitting pretty at the top of the division heading into the break. I would agree that results went our way over the weekend and if we are to win on Sunday i would hope that Wicklow beat Sligo (or even better a draw!). That will put us in a good position before we make the trip to Wexford. London struck a fatal blow to our promotion charge last year and will fancy their chances on Sunday again.

We will need to improve a lot for Ruislip. Waterford will finish rock bottom of the division and will struggle to pick up any points i would think. Yesterday was far from good from us but the 2 points are on the board and always nice to put up a big score. It is a pity Ryan O Rourke won't be ready for Ruislip and it looks like Casey may miss out and Flynn will definitely be out. Not ideal at all but we can hopefully come away from Ruislip with another 2 points.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 30/01/2023 14:42:39    2455291

What was the tragedy that affected the Waterford team, did anyone know? Andy Moran mentioned it after the game on RTE Radio 1.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 30/01/2023 20:12:53    2455407

Few thoughts on the game on Sunday.

Firstly, best wishes to Aidan Flynn a sickening injury but no doubt he'll be back to his best before long he's a standard setter in that group if all is to be believed.

Secondly, Andy Morans treatment/management (or lack off) with regards to Donal Casey is astonishing in 2023. If it was any other county he would be admonished for stupidity and a lack of care to one of the counties best young talents in years. Hopefully Caseys injury isn't as bad as it looked but over playing him was the exact cause of it. Casey flat out playing in Sigerson and then started + left on in a hammering until he pulls his hamstring. Crazy.

Thirdly, Leitrim have come a long way that we can win by 16 points whilst playing poorly. While without a few starters in Ryan O'Rourke, Cillian McGloin and Shane Moran and still be in such comfort. Now Waterford were appalling but we still could have won by easily 10 more.

Fourthly, I would guess that we're the only county that allows a player to go on holiday while the first league game is on and still name him as a sub and him not even in the country? Standards?

Fifthly: Our handpassing and kicking the ball into the sweeper in the first half was inept.

Sixthly:, Darragh Rooney is blooming into a leader. He has bulked up and is really taking the bull by the horns.

Seventhly: I understand we are missing a few starters. But the team selection and subs were very strange. Both wingbacks could have been hooked at half time. Felt sorry for Riordain O'Rourke as he is clearly not a wingback and was played there while Aidan Flynn would have been comfortable there and O'Rourke in his position.
To compound this by putting Jordan Reynolds as our sweeper/wing back in the second have was hard to figure out.
Then introducing James Rooney as a wing forward? Continues the trend of strange selections and substitutions from last year.

Eightly: if Jack Heslin could be effective with either his finishing or his final ball he would be frightening at any level. He is so inconsistent that he could have been Man of the Match or taken off at half time on Sunday.

Finally, it may seem like I am a not happy but I do like what Andy Moran is doing. However, he shouldn't be free from criticism. Was a great win and some lovely scores taken along with the other results in the division it was a fantastic result for us.
We can't let it slip in London now when we will be down a further two starting players.

Leitrim Abu

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 31/01/2023 08:45:10    2455428

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "What was the tragedy that affected the Waterford team, did anyone know? Andy Moran mentioned it after the game on RTE Radio 1."
The full forward for Waterford mother passed away the week before the game.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 31/01/2023 14:26:48    2455560

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "The full forward for Waterford mother passed away the week before the game."
Ah jaysus. That's a tough one alright. Thanks

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 31/01/2023 17:12:04    2455620

Replying To GreenMan94:  "Few thoughts on the game on Sunday.

Firstly, best wishes to Aidan Flynn a sickening injury but no doubt he'll be back to his best before long he's a standard setter in that group if all is to be believed.

Secondly, Andy Morans treatment/management (or lack off) with regards to Donal Casey is astonishing in 2023. If it was any other county he would be admonished for stupidity and a lack of care to one of the counties best young talents in years. Hopefully Caseys injury isn't as bad as it looked but over playing him was the exact cause of it. Casey flat out playing in Sigerson and then started + left on in a hammering until he pulls his hamstring. Crazy.

Thirdly, Leitrim have come a long way that we can win by 16 points whilst playing poorly. While without a few starters in Ryan O'Rourke, Cillian McGloin and Shane Moran and still be in such comfort. Now Waterford were appalling but we still could have won by easily 10 more.

Fourthly, I would guess that we're the only county that allows a player to go on holiday while the first league game is on and still name him as a sub and him not even in the country? Standards?

Fifthly: Our handpassing and kicking the ball into the sweeper in the first half was inept.

Sixthly:, Darragh Rooney is blooming into a leader. He has bulked up and is really taking the bull by the horns.

Seventhly: I understand we are missing a few starters. But the team selection and subs were very strange. Both wingbacks could have been hooked at half time. Felt sorry for Riordain O'Rourke as he is clearly not a wingback and was played there while Aidan Flynn would have been comfortable there and O'Rourke in his position.
To compound this by putting Jordan Reynolds as our sweeper/wing back in the second have was hard to figure out.
Then introducing James Rooney as a wing forward? Continues the trend of strange selections and substitutions from last year.

Eightly: if Jack Heslin could be effective with either his finishing or his final ball he would be frightening at any level. He is so inconsistent that he could have been Man of the Match or taken off at half time on Sunday.

Finally, it may seem like I am a not happy but I do like what Andy Moran is doing. However, he shouldn't be free from criticism. Was a great win and some lovely scores taken along with the other results in the division it was a fantastic result for us.
We can't let it slip in London now when we will be down a further two starting players.

Leitrim Abu"
Agree with most of your points but to harsh to blame Moran for Casey's injury. The game was last Wednesday and then he played again on Sunday. 4 days should be lots to recover and as far as I'm aware he was about to be taking off anyways. Hopefully it's not too bad because we badly need him.
This weekend is huge if we get the result we are bang in this but any other outcome and its backs to the wall.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 31/01/2023 19:04:22    2455661

Replying To GreenMan94:  "Few thoughts on the game on Sunday.

Leitrim Abu"
I see Casey was named to start by UL twitter team tonight against NUIG.. Anyone know if he actually played. I'd find it hard to believe after Sunday

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 31/01/2023 22:02:12    2455699

Free into the game on Sunday for anyone going... fair play to London GAA for doing this. Looking forward to a big game from Leitrim.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 01/02/2023 09:13:21    2455710

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "I see Casey was named to start by UL twitter team tonight against NUIG.. Anyone know if he actually played. I'd find it hard to believe after Sunday"
He didn't play according to the report in the42. Keaney scored seven from frees. I hope these players are rested adequately until the Sigerson is completed. Hopefully it is seen as an opportunity to build squad depth. Very surprised he started Sunday. But these lads take great pride in representing Leitrim and I am sure hard to convince to take a higher number jersey in the chats leading up to competive games.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 01/02/2023 10:49:17    2455736

Replying To Backheel:  "He didn't play according to the report in the42. Keaney scored seven from frees. I hope these players are rested adequately until the Sigerson is completed. Hopefully it is seen as an opportunity to build squad depth. Very surprised he started Sunday. But these lads take great pride in representing Leitrim and I am sure hard to convince to take a higher number jersey in the chats leading up to competive games."
Yea just seen that report myself. Keaney playing well for UL so hopefully he can carry that into Leitrim games. I would agree/disagree on resting players who are playing in Sigerson. Young players should be capable of playing through these block of games. Matthew Tierney played for both NUIG and Galway last couple of weeks, but yea ideally against Waterford we could have rested Casey for the first half or taken him off early in the second half and look at building strength and depth in defense.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 01/02/2023 11:43:36    2455747

Looking ahead to Sunday. It's imperative that we win. With the experience and talent that we have we shouldn't be expecting anything else. That's not underselling London or anything but that is where we are at.

We will have to make two forced changes with Casey and Aidan Flynn being injured. I would assume Paul Keaney might not be risked with a Sigerson Semi-Final on Tuesday. In the long term that would be the correct call for the young player.
Personally I would also make changes to our two wing backs. It was apparent that they were struggling throughout the game and that was against a poor Waterford team. If Cillian McGloin was fit I would have him starting in one of those positions but their was no mention of him at the weekend and he was not named. I would then also take a gamble on Adam Reynolds from St Marys but seeing as he seen no game time last weekend it would be a big call to put him straight in.

Not sure if Mark Plunkett will be fit as he seemed to pick up a knock after coming on against Waterford as well. So we really are down to our bare bones.

Is Shane Moran a part of the panel?

Does anyone know if the game will be streamed anywhere?

Here is what I'd go with.

Darren Maxwell

Paddy Maguire Mark Diffley Conor Reynolds

Shane Quinn Tom Quinn Fergal Mctague

Pearce Dolan
Donal Wrynn

Darragh Rooney Mark Plunkett Jack Heslin

Jordan Reynolds Keith Beirne Evan Sweeney

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 02/02/2023 12:28:56    2455994

My team for the weekend would be

Darren Maxwell

Paddy Maguire Mark Diffley Conor Reynolds

Shane Quinn mark plunkett Riordan O Rourke

Pearce Dolan
Donal Wrynn

Darragh Rooney Jack Heslin Jordan Renoylds

Tom prior Keith Beirne Evan Sweeney

If Cillian McGlion is fit he starts Instead of Shane Quinn
I'd start Paul keaney instead of Evan Sweeney but with Sigerson it prob won't happen
Don't know enough about Tom Quinn to start him

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 02/02/2023 16:18:47    2456051

What do we think we're achieving by naming dummy teams against London in a Division Four match in February. County board really need to have a word with the management. Quite embarrassing.

Don't think anyone on planet earth believes Domhnail Flynn will start, let alone play at number 6. A position he has never played at at any level before.

From what I hear there'll be 3 or 4 changes to that team. It will be one of our youngest back lines in a long time. But it should be more then good enough to beat London. No excuses.

Best of luck to the lads

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 04/02/2023 09:22:52    2456274

Best of luck today lads. Nothing but a win will do. Big test today.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 05/02/2023 10:04:28    2456500

Good win today but we need to improve a lot before wexford away. Nearly let a game we had under control badly slip our defence is still a big issue. Hope our injuries clear up before Wexford anyone know if Tom Priors injury is bad?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 05/02/2023 17:30:33    2456632

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Good win today but we need to improve a lot before wexford away. Nearly let a game we had under control badly slip our defence is still a big issue. Hope our injuries clear up before Wexford anyone know if Tom Priors injury is bad?"
Was at the game today and the big issue was our goalkeeper. London got the red card and sometimes strangely enough that can give a team a boost. Straight after the red card London scored 5 points in a row and nearly all came from poor kick outs. The London goal was a dribbly ball that broke between goalkeeper and full back which our keeper should've claimed in my opinion led to a tap in for the London is player. The defence blocked and tackled very well today. Forwards played well apart from missing a few easy scores. But 3-12 this week and 3-18 last week is great scoring. We struggled in the second half at times breaking out from our own defence which led to turnovers. First half we put great pressure on the London kickout that led to great reward but this pressure did wain in the second period. Paul Keanys performance was a bit disappointing considering the rave reviews he's been receiving from his sigurson performances in recent weeks. It was a massively physical game referee let a lot of stuff go but led to a very entertaining game. But I think Andy's main concern should be finding another goalkeeper before the end of this league campaign.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 05/02/2023 18:52:39    2456693