Leitrim GAA thread

The ability to exceed 12 points in a championship outing is becoming a hoodoo on our backs.
We need to draft in some form of witchdoctor to exorcise this demon and we'll be grand.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 10/05/2022 11:54:50    2416199

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Monaghan are the team to emulate, not Roscommon. Pointing out a team getting constantly relegated after promotion is a pretty valid point and not an 'absolute clown' point of view. Maybe you don't like it but there it is."
The same Roscommon who won the Connacht title twice in three seasons? You really live in a world of your own...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 10/05/2022 12:16:08    2416206

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Some posters on here are living in cloud cuckoo lad. Yesterday's result was no shock and not in isolation.

2016 Roscommon 1-21
Leitrim 0-11

2017 Roscommon 2-23
Leitrim 1-9

2018 leitrim 0-10
Roscommon 0-24

2019 Roscommon 3-17
Leitrim 0-12

2020 Leitrim 0-10
Mayo 2-15

2021 Mayo 5-20
Leitrim 0-11

And we have people on here having a pop at Andy Moran and his management team. Realistically what can Andy Moran do in 8 or 9 months? The problems in Leitrim football run deep, the results at underage have been atrocious for over 20 years, our clubs have done nothing in the connacht club championship at any grade. We have posters on here slagging Roscommon about yo yoing between div 1 and 2 absolute clowns. We should be looking closely at what counties like Roscommon, Monaghan etc are doing and try to emulate what they are doing."
Very sensible post. Looking at the first 20 mins last Sunday live there was no evident gap between the two teams. I think we got about 20% of the breaking ball in the first 30 mins. Leitrim mopped up a lot. There is no way strategically counties like Leitrim, Longford etc cannot use the Monaghan template. Tbh it is not all about numbers. Yes Galway, Mayo etc have major advantages on that front but in the hurling areas of Galway there is little football played (dual clubs minimum number her at adult level) and the City is hit and miss. That is why I don't buy the notion Galway should be always doing better. No they shouldn't and unlike Kerry and Mayo football is not king in Galway. It essentially comes down to good organisation (we are reasonable at underage level) and transitioning underage to senior football (has been iffy here if I am being honest). I would think if refined structures are put in place in Leitrim it will bear fruit over time.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/05/2022 12:42:41    2416215

Replying To oneoff:  "The same Roscommon who won the Connacht title twice in three seasons? You really live in a world of your own..."
How did they get on after that in the championship?
Don't we all live in worlds of our own dear?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 10/05/2022 12:43:12    2416216

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Lots of talk about Andy Moran, give him more time I say but an experienced manager like Highlands on Sunday would not have Leitrim playing man on man, we would have parked the bus from the get go and keep the score down and try and get our forwards into play as much as possible. I hate parking the bus tactics but when you are away from home against a division one side it is common sense.

Of course there is an elephant in the room here and that is our best player was on the sideline for the first half, for whatever reason. We could ill afford that also."
Absolute nonsense on the point about Hyland. Some lads have short memories. Hyland had 3 connacht championship games during his time in charge. We got beaten out the gate by Roscommon in '19 (14 points). 2020 we were beaten by 11 points in Carrick against Mayo and my memory of that game is that it was played in horrendous conditions which probably helped us keep the score down and then 2021 we again suffered a 24 point hammering.

The manner of the defeats have not changed and have been the same for the past 10-12 years. That is disappointing

I would love to know what people were realistically expecting out of Moran. It would appear some may have expected him to come in and have us running a Galway, Mayo or Roscommon close or challenging for a nestor cup. The man has been in the job for less than a year. We participated in what was probably the strongest division 4 since the league structure was revamped and were extremely competitive and i would say somewhat unlucky not to get out of it. We had some great results and a couple of poor ones. It was a mixed bag. We got out of Ruislip by the skin of our teeth (again) but our last 3/4 visits to London for championship encounters have been the same. Has progress been made? Hard to know, probably open to debate. He is very much a rookie manager and i am sure he accepts that but who will come in, replace him and improve us dramatically. We've been down this road so many times in the past 10 years and we haven't really gone anywhere bar a brief stint in Division 3.

The Division 1 and 2 teams are miles ahead of us in every single aspect. S&C is one thing but it is also the readiness for games and the experience of playing teams at a similar level to them. No quick fix i am afraid and setting a side up to be ultra defensive is as much use as setting a side up to go man to man. Is that how we want to see Leitrim play the game? Damage limitation from the outset. No doubt Moran would have been crucified if he had have done that also so it's lose-lose. The Connacht championship is broken beyond any kind of repair. That is not Andy Moran's or any Leitrim manage over the past 10-12 years fault. You wouldn't send a junior club team out against a top senior club team and expect them to go toe to toe.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 10/05/2022 13:11:30    2416231

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Absolute nonsense on the point about Hyland. Some lads have short memories. Hyland had 3 connacht championship games during his time in charge. We got beaten out the gate by Roscommon in '19 (14 points). 2020 we were beaten by 11 points in Carrick against Mayo and my memory of that game is that it was played in horrendous conditions which probably helped us keep the score down and then 2021 we again suffered a 24 point hammering.

The manner of the defeats have not changed and have been the same for the past 10-12 years. That is disappointing

I would love to know what people were realistically expecting out of Moran. It would appear some may have expected him to come in and have us running a Galway, Mayo or Roscommon close or challenging for a nestor cup. The man has been in the job for less than a year. We participated in what was probably the strongest division 4 since the league structure was revamped and were extremely competitive and i would say somewhat unlucky not to get out of it. We had some great results and a couple of poor ones. It was a mixed bag. We got out of Ruislip by the skin of our teeth (again) but our last 3/4 visits to London for championship encounters have been the same. Has progress been made? Hard to know, probably open to debate. He is very much a rookie manager and i am sure he accepts that but who will come in, replace him and improve us dramatically. We've been down this road so many times in the past 10 years and we haven't really gone anywhere bar a brief stint in Division 3.

The Division 1 and 2 teams are miles ahead of us in every single aspect. S&C is one thing but it is also the readiness for games and the experience of playing teams at a similar level to them. No quick fix i am afraid and setting a side up to be ultra defensive is as much use as setting a side up to go man to man. Is that how we want to see Leitrim play the game? Damage limitation from the outset. No doubt Moran would have been crucified if he had have done that also so it's lose-lose. The Connacht championship is broken beyond any kind of repair. That is not Andy Moran's or any Leitrim manage over the past 10-12 years fault. You wouldn't send a junior club team out against a top senior club team and expect them to go toe to toe."
So you are saying Highlands isn't an experienced manager?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 10/05/2022 13:57:39    2416247

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "How did they get on after that in the championship?
Don't we all live in worlds of our own dear?"
They almost beat Mayo and Tyrone. Something you consider to be a success do you not?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 10/05/2022 13:57:55    2416248

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "How did they get on after that in the championship?
Don't we all live in worlds of our own dear?"
Wouldn't ye love to be relegated from any division would be a sign of some improvement.
Ye are miles behind division 1 and 2 teams probably even 3 teams.
Sort yerselves out and don't be worried about who we lose last 8 matches to.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 10/05/2022 14:01:19    2416251

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Absolute nonsense on the point about Hyland. Some lads have short memories. Hyland had 3 connacht championship games during his time in charge. We got beaten out the gate by Roscommon in '19 (14 points). 2020 we were beaten by 11 points in Carrick against Mayo and my memory of that game is that it was played in horrendous conditions which probably helped us keep the score down and then 2021 we again suffered a 24 point hammering.

The Division 1 and 2 teams are miles ahead of us in every single aspect. S&C is one thing but it is also the readiness for games and the experience of playing teams at a similar level to them. No quick fix i am afraid and setting a side up to be ultra defensive is as much use as setting a side up to go man to man. Is that how we want to see Leitrim play the game? Damage limitation from the outset. No doubt Moran would have been crucified if he had have done that also so it's lose-lose. The Connacht championship is broken beyond any kind of repair. That is not Andy Moran's or any Leitrim manage over the past 10-12 years fault. You wouldn't send a junior club team out against a top senior club team and expect them to go toe to toe."
Now now you can't be talking sense on here..

Square_B will probably reply to your comment and blame covid/restriction for Leitrim not progressing under Hyland because covid/restrictions because covid/restrictions only happened to Leitrim and no other county haha..

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 10/05/2022 14:27:42    2416263

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Now now you can't be talking sense on here..

Square_B will probably reply to your comment and blame covid/restriction for Leitrim not progressing under Hyland because covid/restrictions because covid/restrictions only happened to Leitrim and no other county haha.."
Clearly you haven't read anything I've said, you don't know much about Hyland if you think he's not a good manager or didn't progress Leitrim. And yes he was unlucky... there were other teams that were clearly out breaking rules and doing collective training sessions whilst little old Leitrim were abiding by every rule going. Probably a measure of the man (honourable and so on) but as I've said before any momentum gained from 2019 was lost. I'll say it again, there's no reason why this team couldn't be promoted and work on maintaining a Division 3 position. Attempting to progress in the league and tailteann cup is where Leitrim will be for the foreseeable future.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 10/05/2022 15:05:49    2416281

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Wouldn't ye love to be relegated from any division would be a sign of some improvement.
Ye are miles behind division 1 and 2 teams probably even 3 teams.
Sort yerselves out and don't be worried about who we lose last 8 matches to."
I am not one bit worried about who you lose to, indeed youse might get a bit further than we do but defeat and usually a heavy one is the usual scenario for yourselves eventually alas.
Relegation is a sign of improvement? If that is the Roscommon way of seeing things then no wonder youse get beaten out the gate in championship games in Croke Park. Is that a sign of improvement too?
Perhaps a meaningful shot at the teacup is a better idea for yourselves also, it would be a national championship title, because youse will never win the All Ireland in all fairness? Something for your county board to consider maybe.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 10/05/2022 15:25:53    2416297

Excellent post. 100% agree.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 10/05/2022 15:27:11    2416299

Replying To oneoff:  "They almost beat Mayo and Tyrone. Something you consider to be a success do you not?"
Nearly never bulled the cow as the wise philosopher Socrates once said. Roscommon haven't a hope of winning an All Ireland, it is just a basic fact. You're all about the teacup competition, wouldn't you think it would benefit Roscommon more to be in that, same as ourselves as you keep on about in the thread devoted to it? I think it makes sense for them to be in it, give them a meaningful chance of a national trophy.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 10/05/2022 15:29:17    2416301

Replying To bananapublican:  "Their initial game plan was actually good yesterday so what are you talking about preparing. This is a top 10 team in Ireland playing a bottom 8 team so show us one team who have languished in the bottom 10 as long as Leitrim and have pulled off close encounters never mind wins against the top 8. We are where we are. Blaming a manager for this is crazy and typical of what we have done repeatedly."
Was no clear system or structure in place. Galway popped off points under zero pressure. The first goal highlighted the lack preparation on defending with 5 or 6 lads attracted to Comer on the the ball you offloaded to a completely unmarked Patrick Kelly who could have laid it off to another unmarked player.

Yes were never going to win but could have made the scoreline at a lot more respectable.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 10/05/2022 15:34:54    2416307

Methinks our USA friend is a WUM.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 10/05/2022 15:42:43    2416313

Replying To Square_B:  "Clearly you haven't read anything I've said, you don't know much about Hyland if you think he's not a good manager or didn't progress Leitrim. And yes he was unlucky... there were other teams that were clearly out breaking rules and doing collective training sessions whilst little old Leitrim were abiding by every rule going. Probably a measure of the man (honourable and so on) but as I've said before any momentum gained from 2019 was lost. I'll say it again, there's no reason why this team couldn't be promoted and work on maintaining a Division 3 position. Attempting to progress in the league and tailteann cup is where Leitrim will be for the foreseeable future."
I have read all your comment. You basically said you wanted Andy out because he didn't gain promotion in 6months, and talking up someone who's been with the county for 3 year, got rid of the S&C coach involved with Leitrim at the time and brought in his own.. If you were in castlebar in 2019, you wouldn't talk highly of Hyland, laying up against barrier laughing as Leitrim team were getting slathered..

Covid and restrictions isn't an excuse for Leitrim failures. Last 2 years was the best time for the squad to improve Fitness and S&C. Which they didn't so whos does that failure fall with only the manager over the senior team at the time. You said so yourself majority of the team has been together for 3/4 years now, what improvement have you seen when comes to S&C?

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 10/05/2022 16:36:51    2416334

Hard to know how many teams will take the T cup as a real chance to improve things at least a small bit. Offaly certainly will treat it with respect and could do well in it. I hope it works out for all teams because the only other option is going to be mergers, at least for the championship. I have been saying for years that Connacht are being punished in the Championship in having to travel to NY and London every few years. It would be much fairer if the DIV 4 NFL winners played NY and the DIV 3 winners played London. A trip to America would be a good incentive for DIV 4 teams and might also finally give NY a chance of winning a game. NY have never won a championship game and really it is a total Humbug to have Mayo, Galway and Ross having to go over there every few years. It will also make DIV 2 ultra competitive with every game crucial until relegation is avoided. It was a murmur in the terraces heard at every game this year, "points are crucial, or you could end up in the Tailteann Cup very quick". Really looking forward to the draws for the qualifiers and T cup, there will be some excitement as the jars are opened.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 10/05/2022 16:42:41    2416339

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "I am not one bit worried about who you lose to, indeed youse might get a bit further than we do but defeat and usually a heavy one is the usual scenario for yourselves eventually alas.
Relegation is a sign of improvement? If that is the Roscommon way of seeing things then no wonder youse get beaten out the gate in championship games in Croke Park. Is that a sign of improvement too?
Perhaps a meaningful shot at the teacup is a better idea for yourselves also, it would be a national championship title, because youse will never win the All Ireland in all fairness? Something for your county board to consider maybe."
Wow. Taking shots at others saying being promoted isn't progress when you consider almost winning games to be a success....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 10/05/2022 17:06:36    2416345

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Hard to know how many teams will take the T cup as a real chance to improve things at least a small bit. Offaly certainly will treat it with respect and could do well in it. I hope it works out for all teams because the only other option is going to be mergers, at least for the championship. I have been saying for years that Connacht are being punished in the Championship in having to travel to NY and London every few years. It would be much fairer if the DIV 4 NFL winners played NY and the DIV 3 winners played London. A trip to America would be a good incentive for DIV 4 teams and might also finally give NY a chance of winning a game. NY have never won a championship game and really it is a total Humbug to have Mayo, Galway and Ross having to go over there every few years. It will also make DIV 2 ultra competitive with every game crucial until relegation is avoided. It was a murmur in the terraces heard at every game this year, "points are crucial, or you could end up in the Tailteann Cup very quick". Really looking forward to the draws for the qualifiers and T cup, there will be some excitement as the jars are opened."
The county boards are not going to pass up a jolly up in NY every 5 years,plus they all come home with buckets of cash.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 10/05/2022 17:13:50    2416347

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "I have read all your comment. You basically said you wanted Andy out because he didn't gain promotion in 6months, and talking up someone who's been with the county for 3 year, got rid of the S&C coach involved with Leitrim at the time and brought in his own.. If you were in castlebar in 2019, you wouldn't talk highly of Hyland, laying up against barrier laughing as Leitrim team were getting slathered..

Covid and restrictions isn't an excuse for Leitrim failures. Last 2 years was the best time for the squad to improve Fitness and S&C. Which they didn't so whos does that failure fall with only the manager over the senior team at the time. You said so yourself majority of the team has been together for 3/4 years now, what improvement have you seen when comes to S&C?"
Spot on.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 10/05/2022 17:30:46    2416351