Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Square_B:  "It's not harsh. It's the truth. A large sum of money was spent getting Moran & Mgt team on board... results were expected on the back of that. That's part of the problem we have in Leitrim... we expect too little from our teams... our management setups... underage structures and so on. Maybe we don't 'hurt' enough with the lack of success... I don't know.

Look I'm prepared to give the man another chance but if promotion is not secured in 2023, he should go. And the county board need to take a good long look at themselves and the state of play after that. Hundreds of thousands of euro are being raised yearly for the love of football in Leitrim... those people deserve days out in the sun & much more."
Money doesn't guarantee success. Moran was the right appointment and I believe we will be out of Div 4 in 2023. There is a bit of a buzz back in the county. Don't forget we bet tipp in thurles this year that's improvement. We gave Cavan a real good game in carrick. Forget the London game it was a one off and the Sligo game was a dead rubber. We bet London in the championship which showed improvement also. We won't beat Galway this weekend but for Leitrim to become competitive the underage players have to be improving. Is that happening I'm not sure. Don't forget a senior manager is getting a group of players that are 80-90% finished devolving skill wise. Andy and his team have defiantly improved the set up. No doubt about it. What do you consider as improvement or acceptable I'd love to know?

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 05/05/2022 11:02:23    2415002

Replying To Champotime18:  "Money doesn't guarantee success. Moran was the right appointment and I believe we will be out of Div 4 in 2023. There is a bit of a buzz back in the county. Don't forget we bet tipp in thurles this year that's improvement. We gave Cavan a real good game in carrick. Forget the London game it was a one off and the Sligo game was a dead rubber. We bet London in the championship which showed improvement also. We won't beat Galway this weekend but for Leitrim to become competitive the underage players have to be improving. Is that happening I'm not sure. Don't forget a senior manager is getting a group of players that are 80-90% finished devolving skill wise. Andy and his team have defiantly improved the set up. No doubt about it. What do you consider as improvement or acceptable I'd love to know?"
How do you see the management have improved the senior set up?
The London league game showed a certain naivety in my opinion, sick of saying it but we should not have given up home advantage no matter what. It's little things like that that can swing a season, and it did. So whose fault was it?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 05/05/2022 13:22:10    2415049

Replying To Champotime18:  "Money doesn't guarantee success. Moran was the right appointment and I believe we will be out of Div 4 in 2023. There is a bit of a buzz back in the county. Don't forget we bet tipp in thurles this year that's improvement. We gave Cavan a real good game in carrick. Forget the London game it was a one off and the Sligo game was a dead rubber. We bet London in the championship which showed improvement also. We won't beat Galway this weekend but for Leitrim to become competitive the underage players have to be improving. Is that happening I'm not sure. Don't forget a senior manager is getting a group of players that are 80-90% finished devolving skill wise. Andy and his team have defiantly improved the set up. No doubt about it. What do you consider as improvement or acceptable I'd love to know?"
Look we're not going to agree. My views on this appointment are well known.... this was far from the right appointment. This majority of team we have now took us to Division 3 but obviously had some bad luck with Covid. Had Terry Hyland had a straight run at Division 3 he might have kept us up. The Tipp game wasnt that big of an upset... when in Div 3 we only lost by a couple of points. Obviously London was a disaster and completely showed the management team as quite nieve... couldn't adapt tactics to the weather, change of venue etc. The rest of the season momentum was lost after that. I firmly believe had we won that game we'd have been promoted. Anyhow, the pressure is now on Moran & his management team to deliver in 2023... Horan won't go on managing Mayo forever... success with Leitrim would probably see Moran jump the queue for the Mayo job so we'll see what happens.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 05/05/2022 21:47:39    2415154

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Wouldn't be so sure he'll be around for 2023. He jumped ship from his own club Ballaghaderreen after he failed to get them out of the group stage. A lot will depend on how the next few games will go. If he still potential he'll stay if not he'll jump to the next stepping stone."
A very stupid statement. A county job came calling so he took the chance. Any club manager would do the same. His club Ballaghaderreen has given him full backing. So as you say he'll jump ship next year. To who? Mayo? Dublin? Kerry? Why would he jump to the next stopping stone. He'll finish 2022 with an average season and build on it next year. What is the next stopping stone after Leitrim? A Div 3 or 2 county? What has he done for them to come looking for him?

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 06/05/2022 09:13:37    2415164

Replying To Square_B:  "Look we're not going to agree. My views on this appointment are well known.... this was far from the right appointment. This majority of team we have now took us to Division 3 but obviously had some bad luck with Covid. Had Terry Hyland had a straight run at Division 3 he might have kept us up. The Tipp game wasnt that big of an upset... when in Div 3 we only lost by a couple of points. Obviously London was a disaster and completely showed the management team as quite nieve... couldn't adapt tactics to the weather, change of venue etc. The rest of the season momentum was lost after that. I firmly believe had we won that game we'd have been promoted. Anyhow, the pressure is now on Moran & his management team to deliver in 2023... Horan won't go on managing Mayo forever... success with Leitrim would probably see Moran jump the queue for the Mayo job so we'll see what happens."
I've been reading replies here for a long time and it is actually ridiculous how people think about football in the county. This reply being an example of such nonsense.

1) The London match, the players were complacent, even though they nothing to be complacent about, end of story, nothing else to discuss.

2) Leitrim were not staying in division 3 last year, you'd swear covid only affected Leitrim, what is the other counties had a straight run at it too?

3) Andy Moran could not be further from the Mayo job if he tried, there is an absolute zero chance of him getting the Mayo job in the next 6-8 years, he has done nothing at management level, only Leitrim employ people like him or other previous managers, who I won't mention, with terrible club records, or no records at all.

4) Another poster reckons Galway have not dealt with the likes of Ryan before in their back line, really?

The problem with football in the county at the moment is the complete and total disillusion as to where we are at. Billy Lee talked last week about the Limerick having to get in shape over the last 3 years, not happening in Leitrim.

Our underage 'coaching' is a joke.

Unless there is a person to go in and overhaul the whole thing, this ponderous attitude of 'it may happen some day' will never end.

And yes, Leitrim could go out some day, such as Sunday, and take a huge scalp, but it would be worthless, and I would rather them be properly competitive than that. Complete with the likes of Clare and decent teams and build from there for a while instead of pipe dreaming constantly, it is the complete sign of a losing mentality.

Too long this county has accepted less than what we can give, it's time people actually just cop on and see that there is potential if it is nurtured properly.

BB

baggiosboys (Leitrim) - Posts: 1 - 06/05/2022 10:33:51    2415185

Replying To baggiosboys:  "I've been reading replies here for a long time and it is actually ridiculous how people think about football in the county. This reply being an example of such nonsense.

1) The London match, the players were complacent, even though they nothing to be complacent about, end of story, nothing else to discuss.

2) Leitrim were not staying in division 3 last year, you'd swear covid only affected Leitrim, what is the other counties had a straight run at it too?

3) Andy Moran could not be further from the Mayo job if he tried, there is an absolute zero chance of him getting the Mayo job in the next 6-8 years, he has done nothing at management level, only Leitrim employ people like him or other previous managers, who I won't mention, with terrible club records, or no records at all.

4) Another poster reckons Galway have not dealt with the likes of Ryan before in their back line, really?

The problem with football in the county at the moment is the complete and total disillusion as to where we are at. Billy Lee talked last week about the Limerick having to get in shape over the last 3 years, not happening in Leitrim.

Unless there is a person to go in and overhaul the whole thing, this ponderous attitude of 'it may happen some day' will never end.

And yes, Leitrim could go out some day, such as Sunday, and take a huge scalp, but it would be worthless, and I would rather them be properly competitive than that. Complete with the likes of Clare and decent teams and build from there for a while instead of pipe dreaming constantly, it is the complete sign of a losing mentality.

Too long this county has accepted less than what we can give, it's time people actually just cop on and see that there is potential if it is nurtured properly.

BB"
I agree with a lot of what you say but you are wrong about the London game. A potential win against Galway being worthless? You're talking about competing with Clare, so I assume you mean the league. You don't think a win against Galway would be a building block?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 06/05/2022 11:10:38    2415201

Replying To baggiosboys:  "I've been reading replies here for a long time and it is actually ridiculous how people think about football in the county. This reply being an example of such nonsense.

BB"
I posted before about the state of the underage setup. People will look at the recent u20 team losing to Mayo by a point. But that was possibly Mayo weakest ever u20 team and they took there best players off and let the foot off the gas. We actually need to make stand to the county board to get the underage academy run properly. There needs to be someone put in place to run the whole academy. Not someone who gets the job cause of what courses they've done or who they know an actual gaa person with experience. From my experience there's a massive disconnect between clubs and underage panel set ups. Leaving 13,14,15 year olds to go back to there clubs to tell them they cant play said game or train or whatever is unfair.... it shouldnt have to come from them it should be from the academy coach or director etc. Most young people don't want to be involved in these panels these days and there needs to be a serious amount of work and resources put into the academy to find out why and how to improve for the future.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 06/05/2022 14:24:58    2415276

BB"
What are you scuttering about. Have you read any of my posts about Moran or anything I've said this year about Leitrim this year. Clearly not. Leitrim are not going to win a Connacht anytime soon but there's absolutely no reason why we shouldn't be competitve in Division 3 or god forbid be aiming for Division 2.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 06/05/2022 14:29:39    2415280

He's right. A win against Galway on Sunday is unrealistic but if we do yes there would be a massive lift in the county to be in a connacht final etc. The county board would only use it to paint over the cracks. Give them excuse to say "ah sure were grand we beat Galway". I'd rather see leitrim get promoted next year then beat Galway on sunday. A win over Galway would be a fluke we need to see leitrim beating the teams at our own level and to progress through the league ranks. We need to look at Limerick see what they've done to turn around there fortunes not so long ago we'd beat them every year now they're in div 2 and just beat a strong Clare side.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 06/05/2022 14:32:04    2415281

BB"
And BTW... if you dont think that Moran hasnt got his eye on the Mayo job or wouldn't be in with a shout if he brings success to Leitrim, you're very nieve indeed.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 06/05/2022 14:32:47    2415283

Why did Andy Moran publish a team with Keith Beirne named on the bench when everyone knows he'll start.

Dean McGovern, Tom Prior also named on the bench. They didn't feature against London i presume back from injury?

Darren Maxwell, Darragh Rooney starters the last day and not on the 26 on Sunday so playing without a sub keeper?

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 06/05/2022 14:48:29    2415289

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "A very stupid statement. A county job came calling so he took the chance. Any club manager would do the same. His club Ballaghaderreen has given him full backing. So as you say he'll jump ship next year. To who? Mayo? Dublin? Kerry? Why would he jump to the next stopping stone. He'll finish 2022 with an average season and build on it next year. What is the next stopping stone after Leitrim? A Div 3 or 2 county? What has he done for them to come looking for him?"
Nothing stupid I said. You are are new here so I take it you aren't aware on management works.

Most are looking for stepping stones to build their own management careers. They aren't going to stick around long at any gig if they feel the potential isn't there and don't think he can bring them forward. So he may or may not stay with Leitrim in 2023. There is no guarantee.

Jumping ship from his own club after one year was striking and that was his first year in management also. His next stop will likely be another club team and plenty would love to have a former All Star and footballer of the year on board to raise their profile and have players committing to cause.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 06/05/2022 14:59:53    2415291

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Nothing stupid I said. You are are new here so I take it you aren't aware on management works.

Most are looking for stepping stones to build their own management careers. They aren't going to stick around long at any gig if they feel the potential isn't there and don't think he can bring them forward. So he may or may not stay with Leitrim in 2023. There is no guarantee.

Jumping ship from his own club after one year was striking and that was his first year in management also. His next stop will likely be another club team and plenty would love to have a former All Star and footballer of the year on board to raise their profile and have players committing to cause."
So your logic is that he may leave Leitrim next year for a club team?!? The only way Andy is managing a club team next year is if he gets the sack and I cant see that happening. How would leaving an intercounty set up to a club team be a "stepping stone to build his management career" as you phrase it.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 06/05/2022 15:36:35    2415299

Replying To Yondu:  "Why did Andy Moran publish a team with Keith Beirne named on the bench when everyone knows he'll start.

Dean McGovern, Tom Prior also named on the bench. They didn't feature against London i presume back from injury?

Darren Maxwell, Darragh Rooney starters the last day and not on the 26 on Sunday so playing without a sub keeper?"
KB left for a holiday in Italy after the London game without notifying management and missed an important session. Apparently there's a big falling out in squad. Many were saying he'd left the panel. I would still expect him to start Sunday. His ego has been a big problem down through the years tho.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 06/05/2022 15:40:03    2415303

Judging by performances it is good to see a progression and this weekend will be interesting.
It is great to have a manager who is so positive about his players.
Well worth a watch for Leitrim fans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OH6PEoTpGDY&list=PLksdrhgES2Hsh0D2HJoDYIT7zCDzWMAfc&index=1

LeitrimLover94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 06/05/2022 15:44:20    2415304

I hate it when everyone is at each other's throats here for me. Let us be united for Leitrim

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 06/05/2022 15:46:56    2415305

Replying To Yondu:  "Why did Andy Moran publish a team with Keith Beirne named on the bench when everyone knows he'll start.

Darren Maxwell, Darragh Rooney starters the last day and not on the 26 on Sunday so playing without a sub keeper?"
He won't be starting

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 340 - 06/05/2022 16:02:27    2415308

I couldn't agree more with this.

look we could have Mick O'Dwyer in his prime or Jim Garinin charge of us, but that still will not stop Galway winning this weekend. Also if either of them were in charge of us we would still be in division four. People looking for Leitrim to improve their fortunes and giving out that Andy Morin isn't getting the best out of them - they're in La La Land.

like this poster hinted to- A manager should be getting players into the county panel for them to take on that little bit further, but those players should be at a certain level. The level that Leitrim are giving their senior players to the manager it's far and away off the pace and standard that other managers receive their players into their county set ups. What I mean is Roscommon, Galway, mayo players are appearing to their county set ups at a higher standard and level than the Leitrim players go to theirs at. Now that is a fact.

Andy can do what he want but he cannot make those players into better footballers. Leitrim footballers are simply not at the level required to be is Galway Roscommon or mayo they are not capable of it.

For me this Boyle back down to the club is an underage training. Take Roscommon our near neighbours. For me there are players from a young age I've been exposed to a higher level of skills development, strength and conditioning, fitness, competitive games, disciple and a higher level of football overall from a young age up. And it shows on the county team.

Until our clubs are competing competitively in connacht at all levels, our underage teams are competitive in leagues and championship football, this will transform into our senior team moving up through the divisions in the national football league. Then we can be competitive. Forget about it until then.

Changing managers does nothing at senior intercounty level- players have to be there available and up to the required standard- our players simply are not there no matter how delusional we think they are. They are good in Leitrim circles and Leitrim eyes but not when we compare them to other counties. If they were our club teams would be competitive in coonnacht

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 06/05/2022 17:32:51    2415332

Looking at selection one would presume that
(A) Maxwell and D.Rooney are injured
(B) This team won't start.

A would disagree with previous posters in regards to Moran it will take him another few years to get where he wants to. London result aside I think he has done what could be expected with the squad available to him.
I think Sligo under McEntee further down the road and with better underage players coming through it will be difficult to get results against them over the coming years. I expect Sligo to be promoted next year with Leitrim Wicklow and Laois batting for second spot.

I hope for a good run in the T cup with steady building to a mid table Div 3 in 24/25 as the realistic target for where we are at.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 06/05/2022 18:26:08    2415341

Replying To Square_B:  "Look we're not going to agree. My views on this appointment are well known.... this was far from the right appointment. This majority of team we have now took us to Division 3 but obviously had some bad luck with Covid. Had Terry Hyland had a straight run at Division 3 he might have kept us up. The Tipp game wasnt that big of an upset... when in Div 3 we only lost by a couple of points. Obviously London was a disaster and completely showed the management team as quite nieve... couldn't adapt tactics to the weather, change of venue etc. The rest of the season momentum was lost after that. I firmly believe had we won that game we'd have been promoted. Anyhow, the pressure is now on Moran & his management team to deliver in 2023... Horan won't go on managing Mayo forever... success with Leitrim would probably see Moran jump the queue for the Mayo job so we'll see what happens."
It was more alot of luck when we got promoted in 2019. Anyone who was at most game that year would say that. One game spring to mind was down in Limerick. No progress was made under Terry Hyland and that was proven when we got hammered in Dr Hyde Park in championship. If we got within 10points then yea progress was made but we didn't. Yea division 3 campaign alot of games left behind us but again not a massive step up in quality between division 3 and 4.. One thing Andy has brought in this year is strength and conditioning, you can see it within some of the players and only another year will help..

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 06/05/2022 20:51:42    2415351