Another day and yet another interview from our manager. Can the CB just stop him doing interviews?
Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 22/03/2025 21:59:40
You know it might seem a bit personal- a bit narcissistic but what troubles me about Leitrim football now is comparing to when I was young.
When I was young some of my happiest memories is going to games in carrick for championship and away also with my Father. The early 90's we didn't win too many but by God we were close - the excitement we had was off the charts. In the national league we were division 1 and we played beat and lost to the best. I remember playing Kerry in Longford (for some reason) and more than holding our own. Again our club teams beat the best in Connacht. Aughawillan and Allen Gaels coulda/shoulda won a Connacht title- even kiltubrid bringing St Brigid's from Roscommon to a replay in million to be. Beat after extra time is a far cry from where we are now.
And '94 beating Roscommon with a late score, Galway a draw at home with a late 45 before beating them in Tuam before beating mayo in the final. Off to Croker!!
Next year losing narrowly to Galway in carrick. And the year that followed in my teens we lost to mayo by a point in Carrick, Meath beat us in extra time after a last minute Ollie Murphy sideline point to draw it, Donegal beat us but again after extra time after Glancys last minute goal from a volley to draw it!
Roscommon beat us by an injury time goal to win by a point in another qualifier.
We don't win too many either but by God it was close and exciting. And we were as good as any team.
So what happened between then and now??
Some of my happiest memories growing up were going to Leitrim games with my dad. Now as a father I cannot bring myself to son to games as it is year in year out hammering after hammering, again and again.
Where did it all go wrong
leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 22/03/2025 22:04:15
Replying To leitrim4sam: "You know it might seem a bit personal- a bit narcissistic but what troubles me about Leitrim football now is comparing to when I was young.
When I was young some of my happiest memories is going to games in carrick for championship and away also with my Father. The early 90's we didn't win too many but by God we were close - the excitement we had was off the charts. In the national league we were division 1 and we played beat and lost to the best. I remember playing Kerry in Longford (for some reason) and more than holding our own. Again our club teams beat the best in Connacht. Aughawillan and Allen Gaels coulda/shoulda won a Connacht title- even kiltubrid bringing St Brigid's from Roscommon to a replay in million to be. Beat after extra time is a far cry from where we are now.
And '94 beating Roscommon with a late score, Galway a draw at home with a late 45 before beating them in Tuam before beating mayo in the final. Off to Croker!!
Next year losing narrowly to Galway in carrick. And the year that followed in my teens we lost to mayo by a point in Carrick, Meath beat us in extra time after a last minute Ollie Murphy sideline point to draw it, Donegal beat us but again after extra time after Glancys last minute goal from a volley to draw it!
Roscommon beat us by an injury time goal to win by a point in another qualifier.
We don't win too many either but by God it was close and exciting. And we were as good as any team.
Some of my happiest memories growing up were going to Leitrim games with my dad. Now as a father I cannot bring myself to son to games as it is year in year out hammering after hammering, again and again.
Where did it all go wrong" Fair play they were the days ,I think the hole thing has changed with qualifiers, super 8s,etc etc ,it's like the fa cup in England, ya mite have a very little chance against the big boys ,but ya still had a chance
Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 327 - 22/03/2025 22:40:18
Replying To leitrim4sam: "You know it might seem a bit personal- a bit narcissistic but what troubles me about Leitrim football now is comparing to when I was young.
Where did it all go wrong" We stagnated. 10 years of incompetence would have been more than enough but we decided we'd give it 20 plus years. Like a lot of failing entities we have been in denial. We tried to trade our way out of it in the form of new managers.
Those in power convinced the naive amongst us that all we needed was a PJ Carroll or John O'Mahony to bring back the glory days. The state that we're in now was inevitable and people with a real knowledge of Leitrim football have foreseen this.
The lack of knowledge is epitomised by the annual speculation about our minors and under 20s. Without fail each years team is the best in a long time and we're going to win Connacht and then the inevitable happens. Like child birth, we forget the last experience and we go through it again.
Our club championships are the same. Far from prying eyes we convince ourselves each year that they're great and then the Connacht clubs happen and we get a slap in the face. We equate excitement with quality. Not necessarily the same thing. In our case, most definitely not the same thing.
It's difficult to admit when you've been conned. It's embarrassing and it's human nature to push back to save face. Attack the messenger. Those in power know that they'll always have the diehards to defend them. They've taken advantage of their blind loyalty. They've convinced them that ignoring the problems makes you a great supporter.
The events of the past few weeks might convince some of these people that there are problems. Maybe I'm being naive in thinking that they'll take their heads out of the sand. Regardless, if we don't use this as a catalyst for radical change then meaningful football will die out in the county.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 23/03/2025 00:55:29
Where did it all go wrong" You could have just wrote my experience there. It's a crying shame and I just don't know what can be done to fix it. It's the hope that kills you.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1231 - 23/03/2025 00:58:37
In fairness how many times in Leitrims history had we a team that could complete. Obviously in the 1920s when we won a title, 1950s when we got to so many finals and lost and then the 90s/early 2000s. These teams don't come around too often. If we went by the previous cycles we are due a similar team now but I don't see it happening. There could be a million excuses for it but one reason we won in the 90s and should have won more is that Connacht football was v poor and we were half decent.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 191 - 23/03/2025 08:47:06
Where did it all go wrong" Great days,same as that myself and my father travelled the country following Leitrim great memories some crushing disappointments too but we could hold our own with the best. Beating Galway in Tuam in 93 and 94 huge too, had the winning of connacht in 93 but Roscommon just had our number them years and we couldn't get over the line. Thankfully we finally got there in 94 and those of us lucky to remember that will never forget them day's. Beating Roscommon in 2000 after conceding 3 first half goals (could have been 6 or 7) and winning by a late Seamus Quinn point was a huge win too as we were massive underdogs that day . Paul Kiernan played the game of his life at midfield and kicked a magnificent point as did Gareth Foley and Dermot Reynolds fisted a vital goal. I remember it poured rain leaving the Hyde heading to the car but we didn't care we would have walked home in the rain we were on such a high. Hard to believe that is 25 years ago and it's hard to imagine seeing times like that again unfortunately. Finally best of luck to whatever 15 take to the field today in Sligo give it your best lads.
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 277 - 23/03/2025 10:21:02
Calling leitrim4sam…..
Early man wandered the planet gathering berries and small grubs and ate them raw. Then one of our early ancestors put the blade in his cross cut saw the wrong way round and invented fire. The rest in history!
Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 733 - 23/03/2025 13:25:51
Leitrim won the Connacht Junior championship a few years ago. Did many of that team move up to senior?
oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1546 - 23/03/2025 16:33:52
Leitrim - Relegated 7 0 0 7 -99 0
Must be the poorest show I ever rem from a team in the national league? if you hadn't forfeited that game score dif likely be far worse too, sad days for Leitrim.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3145 - 23/03/2025 17:11:27
Only positive was we fielded today. Another tough day in a nightmare campaign. Hard to think that championship or tailteann Cup will bring any joy.
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 277 - 23/03/2025 18:45:06
After losing nearly a full panel of players from last year you have to feel for current squad and management battling against the odds. Whilst I'll never understand a situation where U20 management are allowed to pull players from a senior NFL game I just hope you can get a few lads back for Tailteann and next year. Keep up the good fight.
PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 24/03/2025 10:32:45
Replying To PeterQ92: "After losing nearly a full panel of players from last year you have to feel for current squad and management battling against the odds. Whilst I'll never understand a situation where U20 management are allowed to pull players from a senior NFL game I just hope you can get a few lads back for Tailteann and next year. Keep up the good fight." Hopefully ye can put the league out of your minds now and prepare for the T Cup games. Few teams will have a better preparation for it, with a tough game v mayo surely advantageous for Leitrim. Division 4 looks very weak for 2026 and no reason, why you cannot come up again, under the guidance of an internal manager
Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 116 - 24/03/2025 11:01:55
Only 4 games left. Sooner this year is over the better.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 393 - 24/03/2025 11:03:40
https://www.shannonside.ie/sport/poacher-pours-cold-water-on-leitrim-tailteann-cup-campaign-261064?utm_campaign=web&utm_source=messenger&utm_medium=web
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 540 - 24/03/2025 12:47:57
So basically we had the worst league ever and not dont expect anything different in the Tailteann. Did this man say it was a 4 or 5 year project.
Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 45 - 24/03/2025 13:00:40
Replying To Willies24: "So basically we had the worst league ever and not dont expect anything different in the Tailteann. Did this man say it was a 4 or 5 year project." Did you read the article? - Poacher admitted attention has turned to the championship. "Our priority now is really giving the Tailteann a good rattle now" Poacher told Shannonside Sport's Darren Mulvey. He said it will be tough as there is a lot of good teams of a similar level to Leitrim in it. Don't always believe a headline when you read it.
Grey_Owl (Leitrim) - Posts: 42 - 24/03/2025 13:27:06
Replying To Willies24: "So basically we had the worst league ever and not dont expect anything different in the Tailteann. Did this man say it was a 4 or 5 year project." Martin McGowan was talking about a 5 year project on the radio yesterday. We have had a good few 5 year projects down the years.
We seem to be playing catch up on strength and conditioning for the last 10 years as well. Hyland, Moran and Poacher have all said it. I'm sick of listening to it.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 393 - 24/03/2025 13:31:12
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "Martin McGowan was talking about a 5 year project on the radio yesterday. We have had a good few 5 year projects down the years.
We seem to be playing catch up on strength and conditioning for the last 10 years as well. Hyland, Moran and Poacher have all said it. I'm sick of listening to it." We hear about these projects all the time but we never actually hear what the project is!
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 191 - 24/03/2025 14:14:44
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "Martin McGowan was talking about a 5 year project on the radio yesterday. We have had a good few 5 year projects down the years.
We seem to be playing catch up on strength and conditioning for the last 10 years as well. Hyland, Moran and Poacher have all said it. I'm sick of listening to it." That would take some joined up thinking and planning. The ideal scenario is that, regardless of who's in charge of our various teams, the S&C aspect remains a constant. The people with real knowledge of football in the county would be able to make a good stab of our minor team 5 years from now. I can guarantee you that none of that prospective team have ever been approached by anyone in our COE with regard to S&C or nutrition, never mind organising games or training for them. Like it or not, this is the age where it should start. One of the advantages of our small player base is that its not that difficult to identify the talent. Granted, the harsh reality is that some of those will be there to make up the numbers. Some of those will develop, some of them will plateau. At the very least we should be giving them the best chance to fulfill their potential. Undoubtedly there will be crys of elitism. So be it. If your son isn't good enough or doesn't put in the required work that's tough. That's life. Obviously the S&C would be age appropriate. As it stands our "academies" structure consist of lads being flogged for 2 or 3 months leading into an under 15, 16, 17 campaign. All under the guise of S&C. It takes years to build this up. As I said, this aspect should be a constant and shouldn't suffer or pause because there's a change in management or no management! We are light years behind in so many areas. This is an easy fix.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 24/03/2025 14:27:25