Leitrim GAA thread

Graham an ok appointment. Brought Cavan to Div 4 don't forget. Leitrim's year always is the league so that's a worry. Big thing is that he surrounds himself with quality coaching team. Plenty of good coaches about and they don't have to be the huge name but someone that commands respect from the panel is key.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 06/08/2024 17:17:22    2564061

Replying To lugdrum:  "Graham an ok appointment. Brought Cavan to Div 4 don't forget. Leitrim's year always is the league so that's a worry. Big thing is that he surrounds himself with quality coaching team. Plenty of good coaches about and they don't have to be the huge name but someone that commands respect from the panel is key."
He left Cavan in Div 2 and won them their first Ulster title since 1997. Doubtful would Leitrim have Div 3 league football to play in 2025 had they not brought in Graham as assistant manager this year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 06/08/2024 17:37:25    2564066

Replying To backtooldwall:  "I was delighted Ito see Leitrim win the ladies Intermediate championship on Sunday, and I wondered if their most famous hurler was there. I remember reading his book and was impressed by his wonderful portrayal of Leitrim and its people and could we hope to see one of their men climb these famous steps and in the not too distant future to accept the Tailteann Cup.I think they don't have the population base to attain the Sam Maguire. Is it reasonable to expect or am I setting the bar a little low?"
You must mean Zak Moradi? Gotta be their most famous hurler.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1104 - 06/08/2024 18:31:32    2564073

Replying To Redzer99:  "Round 2 Predictions:

Mohill vs Gortletteragh
Glencar vs Leitrim Gaels
Ballinamore SOH vs Fenagh
Annaduff vs St Pats Dromahair
St Mary's vs Aughawillan"
All home wins bar Soh Fenagh could be a draw

Redlad6 (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 07/08/2024 08:41:31    2564117

Replying To Redlad6:  "All home wins bar Soh Fenagh could be a draw"
Leitrim Gaels will fancy themselves here, they put it up to SOH for most of the game and Manor scraped a draw v Gortlettragh. Shouls be a straightforward win for Marys v Aughawillian who struggled to put away Annaduff, expect home advantage will swing it for them vs Dromahair but it will go down to the wire

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 538 - 07/08/2024 11:46:32    2564138

Like I said weeks ago when Moran jumped ship that it was Graham's job. Good luck to him, I think he keeps Leitrim in division 3

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 07/08/2024 13:06:46    2564153

Great news that Mickey Graham and Barry McWeeney are back in. Would have been back to square one if management had to start from scratch and didn't know the players and clubs they come from etc.

I'll be extremely interested to see who Graham brings in with him.

James Mannion who was practically over our U20s last year is held in extremely high regard in Galway and then Keven Stritch was coaching our Minor Team and is also highly regarded. He was also Galway's main football coach before and has had success with clubs in Dublin and Meath aswell. So either of those would be well known to the county board and Graham.

Personally I'd go for Alan Flynn. the St Marys manager. He has serious intercounty experience as well as coaching big club teams before his stint with Carrick. He has brought them on leaps and bounds. They seem highly organised and all know the system they are trying to play and of course he have an in-depth knowledge of the players within Leitrim. I would imagine St Marys would be keen to hold onto him however as they seem to be building a force their.

It doesn't happen on here often but credit to the County Board. The last three appointments of Hyland, Moran/Sloan (Moran/Graham) and Now Graham on his own have been excellent and many would have been thinking that they'd be out of reach of Leitrim to be fair.

Any word on any other players apart from Plunkett and Dolan stepping away for next year? That is the key to any success that we can continue to retain our top players.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 303 - 07/08/2024 14:17:25    2564167

Great news that Mickey Graham and Barry McWeeney are back in. Would have been back to square one if management had to start from scratch and didn't know the players and clubs they come from etc.

James Mannion who was practically over our U20s last year is held in extremely high regard in Galway and then Keven Stritch was coaching our Minor Team and is also highly regarded. He was also Galway's main football coach before and has had success with clubs in Dublin and Meath aswell. So either of those would be well known to the county board and Graham.

Personally I'd go for Alan Flynn. the St Marys manager. He has serious intercounty experience as well as coaching big club teams before his stint with Carrick. He has brought them on leaps and bounds. They seem highly organised and all know the system they are trying to play and of course he have an in-depth knowledge of the players within Leitrim. I would imagine St Marys would be keen to hold onto him however as they seem to be building a force their.

It doesn't happen on here often but credit to the County Board. The last three appointments of Hyland, Moran/Sloan (Moran/Graham) and Now Graham on his own have been excellent and many would have been thinking that they'd be out of reach of Leitrim to be fair.

Any word on any other players apart from Plunkett and Dolan stepping away for next year? That is the key to any success that we can continue to retain our top players.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 303 - 07/08/2024 14:21:04    2564169

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Great news that Mickey Graham and Barry McWeeney are back in. Would have been back to square one if management had to start from scratch and didn't know the players and clubs they come from etc.

Any word on any other players apart from Plunkett and Dolan stepping away for next year? That is the key to any success that we can continue to retain our top players."
Highly regarded……. Who's regarding these lads highly?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 528 - 07/08/2024 15:53:11    2564177

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Great news that Mickey Graham and Barry McWeeney are back in. Would have been back to square one if management had to start from scratch and didn't know the players and clubs they come from etc.

Any word on any other players apart from Plunkett and Dolan stepping away for next year? That is the key to any success that we can continue to retain our top players."
Stritch wasn't the main coach in Galway, he actually left because he wasn't doing anything in the end bar the odd warm up and what did he do with the minors?
Agree with Flynn been brought in as coach, it would be a good move.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 07/08/2024 17:59:13    2564186

Replying To veterngaa:  "Highly regarded……. Who's regarding these lads highly?"
They'd be higher regarded than anyone internal, sad to say. No internal manager got us anywhere bar Joe Reynolds to a connacht final in 00 (I think?) but that was a lifetime ago, and that team had lads from the 94 panel who had come through under John O'Mahony so different generation. Hopefully some good new local coaches will come through and be given the reins to change things

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 538 - 07/08/2024 18:49:00    2564190

Alan Flynn would be a good addition to the coaching team for sure.
Someone like Mark McHugh from Donegal currently with Galway club side and was with Roscommon previously. I think he'd be a great addition like wise someone like Rory Kavanagh who was heavily linked to the Donegal job himself before McGuinness came back. The back room teams needs freshing up but I am glad Barry McWeeney is staying on if that's true. He's a proper Leitrim man who cares about the betterment of Leitrim football and not skipping from one job to another.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 08/08/2024 00:59:10    2564208

Moran wasn't an 'excellent' appointment. Let's clear that one up straight away. We'd have secured promotion in 2022 had the right man been chosen.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 943 - 08/08/2024 09:19:24    2564220

Replying To Square_B:  "Moran wasn't an 'excellent' appointment. Let's clear that one up straight away. We'd have secured promotion in 2022 had the right man been chosen."
Moran has left Leitrim in better place than we were before the appointment. That is all any man can do. I am sure you have heard the saying "leave the jersey in a better place than you found it" that's what he done

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 08/08/2024 11:07:11    2564234

Replying To lugdrum:  "Moran has left Leitrim in better place than we were before the appointment. That is all any man can do. I am sure you have heard the saying "leave the jersey in a better place than you found it" that's what he done"
Totally agree.Leitrim football was in bad shape when he came in and he got buy in from players ,instilled a sense of belief in the players, got them to take strength and conditioning seriously and ofcourse brought sponsors on board.

In addition he got Mickey Graham to join him and now see how that has worked out.

Of course nothing I say is going to change the views of those who for whatever reason didn't like Andy Moran.Perhaps his positivity and ambition were too much for them.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 498 - 08/08/2024 11:40:13    2564239

Replying To lugdrum:  "Moran has left Leitrim in better place than we were before the appointment. That is all any man can do. I am sure you have heard the saying "leave the jersey in a better place than you found it" that's what he done"
in what way.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 97 - 08/08/2024 12:12:46    2564251

Replying To veterngaa:  "Highly regarded……. Who's regarding these lads highly?"
Came over here to wish yous luck with your appointment of Mickey Graham - you've a good coach who will serve you well - and I see this lad spewing bile. Why the angst against Leitrim, Tom?

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 145 - 08/08/2024 13:17:47    2564260

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Came over here to wish yous luck with your appointment of Mickey Graham - you've a good coach who will serve you well - and I see this lad spewing bile. Why the angst against Leitrim, Tom?"
He's always on here putting in unnecessary digs and comments.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 08/08/2024 13:45:43    2564265

Replying To Redzer99:  "Round 2 Predictions:

Mohill vs Gortletteragh
Glencar vs Leitrim Gaels
Ballinamore SOH vs Fenagh
Annaduff vs St Pats Dromahair
St Mary's vs Aughawillan"
Round 2 Predictions:

Mohill vs Gortletteragh - It will be a very tough game for a young Gortletteragh team Mohill by 5
Glencar vs Leitrim Gaels - Manor have two excellent forwards in McManus and Sweeney if they can tighten up at the back they should have enough. Manor by 2
Ballinamore SOH vs Fenagh - Tough to call if Fenagh don't get a result here they could be staring down the barrel at relegation. Fenagh by 2
Annaduff vs St Pats Dromahair - Dromahair are in poor form recently but Annaduffs over reliance on Darren Cox could cost them. Annaduff by 4
St Mary's vs Aughawillan - Aughawillan can cause Mary's trouble with big game players like the Plunketts, Dolan and Gilheanys. But I think St Mary's are going to win here. St Mary's by 7.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 08/08/2024 13:56:38    2564266

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "He's always on here putting in unnecessary digs and comments."
He must be connected somehow to Leitrim. He recently set up an account with a username almost identical to this one, which was a bit pathetic, I think. Seems to have more accounts than there are forums. Anyway, if you dont lose a load of players or something, Graham will keep you in division 3 next year.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 145 - 08/08/2024 14:42:40    2564272