Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "Fenagh have the most representatives on the county team so I wouldn't judge them on this. But in saying that, I don't think they are good enough to win the Senior Championship"
The Leitrim county team :L:L:L

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 14/06/2024 09:59:01    2551349

Always found Fenagh a strange one. They walk around with a certain aura and cockiness. I suppose you have to believe your the best to be the best. But for a team that haven't won a championship since 1932 it is very strange. I think a lot of it comes from the minor and u21 titles they won back when they were amalgamated with Gortletteragh.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 256 - 14/06/2024 13:50:35    2551427

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Always found Fenagh a strange one. They walk around with a certain aura and cockiness. I suppose you have to believe your the best to be the best. But for a team that haven't won a championship since 1932 it is very strange. I think a lot of it comes from the minor and u21 titles they won back when they were amalgamated with Gortletteragh."
Fenagh stole the 1932 championship from Drumreilly. Drumreilly won the final but Fenagh launched an objection.
I was only a gossan but I remember it well.

The Drumreilly Curse. Fenagh will never win another Senior Championship until all who attended the game are gone.

That's why I live in hiding, Fenagh are out to get me.

Leitrim2024 (Leitrim) - Posts: 36 - 14/06/2024 14:41:51    2551444

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Always found Fenagh a strange one. They walk around with a certain aura and cockiness. I suppose you have to believe your the best to be the best. But for a team that haven't won a championship since 1932 it is very strange. I think a lot of it comes from the minor and u21 titles they won back when they were amalgamated with Gortletteragh."
They've had great underage teams in the last 10 years no doubt even on their own and alot of them were young when they won intermediate but you'd imagine that the cockiness would wear off after having failed to even make a final. Good team no doubt but they have to nail down some sort of defensive system as all the other teams have. The last 3 winners mohill Mary's and ballinamore got it right.

Hatchetman76 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 14/06/2024 18:05:14    2551481

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "Fenagh have the most representatives on the county team so I wouldn't judge them on this. But in saying that, I don't think they are good enough to win the Senior Championship"
Crystal Palace have the most representatives in the England Euro squad. The won't be winning the premier league anytime soon though.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 648 - 15/06/2024 07:23:41    2551535

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Crystal Palace have the most representatives in the England Euro squad. The won't be winning the premier league anytime soon though."
They lost to penalties and extra time to the eventual winners with a unfit Orourke and won the league last year I'd chance 50 at those odds soh are my favourites this year young Honeyman is the missing link they were lacking up foward ,Mohill will be there as well if beirne and Reynolds come back fit ,there's nothing between top 4,just luck on the day

Redlad6 (Leitrim) - Posts: 17 - 15/06/2024 12:22:21    2551578

Replying To Redlad6:  "They lost to penalties and extra time to the eventual winners with a unfit Orourke and won the league last year I'd chance 50 at those odds soh are my favourites this year young Honeyman is the missing link they were lacking up foward ,Mohill will be there as well if beirne and Reynolds come back fit ,there's nothing between top 4,just luck on the day"
If you put a runner on McKeon to be on the end of his boot this will stifle Honeyman. He's a great young lad indeed but he wont do much if ball is stopped coming in.

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 17/06/2024 12:46:19    2552315

I see the U20 Championship is starting this weekend.

Any thoughts on likely winners?

St Mary's

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 17/06/2024 23:14:12    2552546

They had this aura to them in the 90's and early 00's too. So they have it a while and nothing to show for it.

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 18/06/2024 14:12:17    2552735

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "They had this aura to them in the 90's and early 00's too. So they have it a while and nothing to show for it."
Lads will ye wise up!

Fenagh is a very progressive club with a tiny population.

Obviously there has been great football men involved there and they continue to bring forward good young talent.

I wish other clubs would follow their example with underage coaching.

Leave these bar stool comments in the pub!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 18/06/2024 15:56:01    2552769

Be nice to see another name on the cup this year apart from Mohill and St Mary's anyway

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 19/06/2024 14:29:37    2553019

Replying To Redlad6:  "They lost to penalties and extra time to the eventual winners with a unfit Orourke and won the league last year I'd chance 50 at those odds soh are my favourites this year young Honeyman is the missing link they were lacking up foward ,Mohill will be there as well if beirne and Reynolds come back fit ,there's nothing between top 4,just luck on the day"
When is Beirne gone? J Reynolds game time has been few and far between since he came to senior. Good player but wouldn't put my clubs hopes of wining silverware on him

DontMindMe (Leitrim) - Posts: 1 - 19/06/2024 14:42:53    2553024

Replying To DontMindMe:  "When is Beirne gone? J Reynolds game time has been few and far between since he came to senior. Good player but wouldn't put my clubs hopes of wining silverware on him"
Where's he off too? Thought he was a bit old for a J1 visa unless they've changed the criteria.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 19/06/2024 23:27:02    2553100

Anybody watch the Donal Casey piece on YouTube? Very informative

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 51 - 20/06/2024 10:31:43    2553138

Replying To gaelsboy:  "Where's he off too? Thought he was a bit old for a J1 visa unless they've changed the criteria."
Both gone to US of A to play ball for the summer. They plan to be back for championship

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 256 - 20/06/2024 10:34:46    2553140

Every County Team should have a bit of a chance of getting a day in Croke Park. https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2024/0620/1455706-mcconville-wants-conversation-on-third-tier-football/

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 101 - 20/06/2024 10:41:55    2553147

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Every County Team should have a bit of a chance of getting a day in Croke Park. https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2024/0620/1455706-mcconville-wants-conversation-on-third-tier-football/"
Should show that on your own thread, best chance youse will get to win a national title

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 20/06/2024 10:58:45    2553153

Replying To Weaternpro:  "Anybody watch the Donal Casey piece on YouTube? Very informative"
Very informative and gives a big insight into the effort being put in by everyone involved. We'll done Paul.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 20/06/2024 22:15:54    2553278

3 shockingly one-sided games in Division 1 yesterday.
Does anyone know what's happening with Leitrim Gaels and Aughawillian?
I thought they would improve when their county players returned.
I hope it's a temporary blip. Otherwise, it will be a very lopsided senior championship.

Leitrim2024 (Leitrim) - Posts: 36 - 22/06/2024 12:46:05    2553591

Replying To Leitrim2024:  "3 shockingly one-sided games in Division 1 yesterday.
Does anyone know what's happening with Leitrim Gaels and Aughawillian?
I thought they would improve when their county players returned.
I hope it's a temporary blip. Otherwise, it will be a very lopsided senior championship."
Unfortunately there's only 4 teams of senior level in Leitrim this year ,immigration has played hell with Aughawillan and Leitrim Gaels,maybe manor might prove me wrong but i doubt it ,Mary's have a biggest squad to handle injuries ,the rest don't have enough depth ,the step from intermediate to senior is massive at the moment

Redlad6 (Leitrim) - Posts: 17 - 22/06/2024 13:56:50    2553599