Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To eoinog:  "Top team goes straight to the final. Second and third play a semi final to see who joins them. It could take 6 games to win the Connacht Championship which is a bit mad really."
It's a development grade the more matches the better however a group format suits Galway,Mayo more than Sligo,Roscommon and Leitrim.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 21/03/2024 18:44:04    2532550

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "It's a development grade the more matches the better however a group format suits Galway,Mayo more than Sligo,Roscommon and Leitrim."
It's too many games in a very condensed timeframe. Some lads may have to choose between playing a game or sitting an exam.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 21/03/2024 22:42:39    2532576

Replying To eoinog:  "It's too many games in a very condensed timeframe. Some lads may have to choose between playing a game or sitting an exam."
GAA HQ has has everything so condensed now with their so called split season. As for U20 Training for six months and knocked out after one or two games as it normally was for plenty of counties in others years I'm sure players involved then wondered was it worth the effort at all.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 21/03/2024 23:51:26    2532579

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "I went to Ballinasloe for the U21 game. Last night. Firstly, I'd be surprised if Galway aren't the best team we face all year at that age group. That's also a Galway pane; who only have 4/5 players on the panel that won the U19 a few years ago. A crazily impressive stat.

Firstly the make-up of the backroom team. Andy Moran, Barry McWeeney, Ryan Jones and James Mannion (who is extremely well regarded in Galway Gaa as a coach) So theres no doubt the team is getting top-class coaching. They don't get it often but credit to the county board for that.

Galway were excellent. Pace, Power and Top class forwards a long with an excellent goalkeeper. I think we will be hearing/seeing a lot about Mathhew Thompson and Colm Costello for Galway seniors in the next few years. Their S&C looked a fair few steps ahead of ours and it told. Its an area where Leitrim Gaa need to address and get into the secondary schools.
I think Galway were missing a few regulars through injury but that's why they are one of the favourites for the All Ireland.

Saying all this I was quite impressed with Leitrim. The scoreline flattered Galway. A 3 or 4 point difference would have been a real reflection of the game.

The team really picked itself - The only gripes I would have is: why play Michael McBrien who was one of the best Wing-Backs in the club championship last year at wing-forward? He looked a little lost and didn't impact the game.
Paul Moran was also used as a sub (he had a slight knock) If he was fit to play I find it a brave call that he wasn't starting seeing as he has already played for Leitrim seniors. I also would have liked to have seen more of Tom Plunkett.

Paul Honeyman really justified the hype. He was really excellent especially in the first half on limited ball. Up there as good as anything Galway had. The umpire getting involved needlessly and getting him a black card for nothing towards the end was a disgrace we missed him when he was off the field.

Darren Cox is a joy to watch as well. Reminds me of a Darragh Canavan type player. It takes real courage to play how he does (which will also lead to mistakes) but his vision and running with the ball caused Galway problems all night. His attempt at a goal from a quick free and a few other attempts at points just showed his lack of experience though and it'll be a good lesson for him. He's a throwback.

Barry McNulty really showed his class/leadership in what has been a hectic time for him. He really gave his all and drove the team on all night. I was really impressed with his workrate for such a big player he covered a serious amount of ground. Hopefully his injury isn't too bad and that he is fit for the Senior game on Sunday. He has been carrying a knock on that ankle for a while now.
I also think Eannagh McNamara and Brian Cull had great games and have big futures if they want it.

Galways first goal was a killer - We were just about keeping in touch with them and we lazily didn't track a runner and they punished us with a brilliant finish. This was then compounded by the penalty miss (which clipped the post). A question that no one at the ground could understand: The penalty award looked extremely soft - but if the Ref thought it was a penalty why was the Galway defender not black carded? Honeyman was destroying him at the time.

We then started slowly in the second half - poor turn-overs and poor shot selection let Galway extend the lead. But when we fought back in the 3rd quarter Galway were really on the ropes. There was 4 points in it with 8 minutes left. There was a fierce buzz in the crowd from our supporters - It looked like a shock was on.

They turned us over from a short kick-out and punished us with a goal - That was game over. Their subs made a huge impact and it sucked the life out of the game.

Theres no doubt a few players like Ben Guckian, Jack Casey McBrien and Moran can make a bigger impact in the upcoming games.

Serious talent and potential in that team. It's fantastic that its now league based and not just a knock out game. Hopefully they can shock a few teams in the next games."
Excellent post sums up the game to a tee but a missed penalty and concession of a soft goal at this level was a killer. Agree we won't meet a team as strong as Galway in the Competition so it's still all to play for.Well done to all and especially the back room team who can only build on what was an impressive performance the result which did not reflect the pattern of the game.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 22/03/2024 00:40:54    2532582

Replying To eoinog:  "It's too many games in a very condensed timeframe. Some lads may have to choose between playing a game or sitting an exam."
This is u20's I don't know many 19/20 year olds sitting leaving cert. You Sligo lads must take a few attempts at the leaving cert. Majority of u20 players would be in college or working. That being said Leitrim do have some fairly young players on the panel.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 22/03/2024 10:27:04    2532615

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "This is u20's I don't know many 19/20 year olds sitting leaving cert. You Sligo lads must take a few attempts at the leaving cert. Majority of u20 players would be in college or working. That being said Leitrim do have some fairly young players on the panel."
I am talking about college, not the Leaving Cert. That exam isn't until June in case you don't know. Last year we had U.20 lads sitting exams and playing U.20 football in the evening. One lad couldn't do the exam due to football so he had to repeat it in August. When you can't play U.20 and senior then surely these games can be played on a Fri evening. I'm all for round robin so lads get more games but these quick fire games isn't the answer

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 22/03/2024 13:53:22    2532644

Replying To eoinog:  "I am talking about college, not the Leaving Cert. That exam isn't until June in case you don't know. Last year we had U.20 lads sitting exams and playing U.20 football in the evening. One lad couldn't do the exam due to football so he had to repeat it in August. When you can't play U.20 and senior then surely these games can be played on a Fri evening. I'm all for round robin so lads get more games but these quick fire games isn't the answer"
I think if a lad is prioritising GAA over exams perhaps someone needs to have a chat with him. It might be tough love but the GAA will be there when he gets back. Most college exams that I'm aware of are in Dec / Jan and Apr / May / June. That's not really the fault of the GAA, you can't suit absolutely everyone.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 22/03/2024 15:53:39    2532678

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Excellent post sums up the game to a tee but a missed penalty and concession of a soft goal at this level was a killer. Agree we won't meet a team as strong as Galway in the Competition so it's still all to play for.Well done to all and especially the back room team who can only build on what was an impressive performance the result which did not reflect the pattern of the game."
Agree, an excellent post. I was reading through some of the Galway posts over on their thread and some seem to think that Galway will struggle to beat Mayo / Roscommon with their recent performance. You'd be hoping we'd finish 3rd perhaps and get a crack at a semi final and upset the domination of the bigger counties.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 22/03/2024 15:57:06    2532679

Replying To Square_B:  "Agree, an excellent post. I was reading through some of the Galway posts over on their thread and some seem to think that Galway will struggle to beat Mayo / Roscommon with their recent performance. You'd be hoping we'd finish 3rd perhaps and get a crack at a semi final and upset the domination of the bigger counties."
The domination of the bigger counties…in a competition Sligo won two in a row in!! The beauty of minor and u20 is that form often has little to do with it and ya can only take each game as it comes. Leitrim and indeed Sligo should do the same as round robin will only suit the likes of Mayo and Galway.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 23/03/2024 11:33:05    2532787

Replying To Square_B:  "I think if a lad is prioritising GAA over exams perhaps someone needs to have a chat with him. It might be tough love but the GAA will be there when he gets back. Most college exams that I'm aware of are in Dec / Jan and Apr / May / June. That's not really the fault of the GAA, you can't suit absolutely everyone."
"A chat" with a fella who has an exam in Dublin at 3 and a Connacht Final at 6 in Tuam.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 23/03/2024 13:06:38    2532809

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Excellent post sums up the game to a tee but a missed penalty and concession of a soft goal at this level was a killer. Agree we won't meet a team as strong as Galway in the Competition so it's still all to play for.Well done to all and especially the back room team who can only build on what was an impressive performance the result which did not reflect the pattern of the game."
It's a bold prediction to make that after just one game you think that you won't meet a stronger team in the competition.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 23/03/2024 13:09:11    2532812

Replying To eoinog:  ""A chat" with a fella who has an exam in Dublin at 3 and a Connacht Final at 6 in Tuam."
Yeah have a chat... any lad priorising a match over exams needs a good chat with. I'm sorry that's hard for you to understand.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 23/03/2024 14:00:01    2532821

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "The domination of the bigger counties…in a competition Sligo won two in a row in!! The beauty of minor and u20 is that form often has little to do with it and ya can only take each game as it comes. Leitrim and indeed Sligo should do the same as round robin will only suit the likes of Mayo and Galway."
Jeasus ye won 2 titles in a row and yer now considering yourselves as dominating... big shots altogether. Don't be so contrary fella... it will help you in the long run. Anyhow what are you doing here... not much going on on the Sligo thread is there?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 23/03/2024 14:04:52    2532823

Replying To Square_B:  "Yeah have a chat... any lad priorising a match over exams needs a good chat with. I'm sorry that's hard for you to understand."
Correct it is hard for me to understand. Why spend 6 months training and then you get to a final are you supposed to walk away from the biggest game that you have ever been involved in, letting down all your teammates in the process. He did what every lad in the country would do and that was play the game and repeat the exam in August.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 23/03/2024 14:19:51    2532827

Replying To Square_B:  "Jeasus ye won 2 titles in a row and yer now considering yourselves as dominating... big shots altogether. Don't be so contrary fella... it will help you in the long run. Anyhow what are you doing here... not much going on on the Sligo thread is there?"
Quite a while since Leitrim won two games in a row never mind two titles. Always like to have a look on the neighbouring counties in advance of games to see what the chatter is but sure look as well to pull out Mayo, Ros and Sligo from it because Leitrim will beat all of them.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 23/03/2024 14:21:12    2532828

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Quite a while since Leitrim won two games in a row never mind two titles. Always like to have a look on the neighbouring counties in advance of games to see what the chatter is but sure look as well to pull out Mayo, Ros and Sligo from it because Leitrim will beat all of them."
Have you actually anything useful to contribute? Good bye now.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 23/03/2024 14:36:23    2532833

Replying To eoinog:  "Correct it is hard for me to understand. Why spend 6 months training and then you get to a final are you supposed to walk away from the biggest game that you have ever been involved in, letting down all your teammates in the process. He did what every lad in the country would do and that was play the game and repeat the exam in August."
It's not really that hard. The GAA won't pay the bills if a lad has to repeat a year (after having one shot to pass an exam in August having decided to prioritise GAA). The GAA can't accommodate every person associated with a game because a lad has work or an exam or whatever. That's life and god knows it's tough sometimes. Life goes on.... it's GAA not life or death.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 23/03/2024 14:43:25    2532834

Replying To Square_B:  "It's not really that hard. The GAA won't pay the bills if a lad has to repeat a year (after having one shot to pass an exam in August having decided to prioritise GAA). The GAA can't accommodate every person associated with a game because a lad has work or an exam or whatever. That's life and god knows it's tough sometimes. Life goes on.... it's GAA not life or death."
By your rational no young lad should play co football so. Much easier for the GAA to move these games to the weekend. I don't see any reason why it can't be done.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 23/03/2024 16:48:04    2532864

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "I went to Ballinasloe for the U21 game. Last night. Firstly, I'd be surprised if Galway aren't the best team we face all year at that age group. That's also a Galway pane; who only have 4/5 players on the panel that won the U19 a few years ago. A crazily impressive stat.

Firstly the make-up of the backroom team. Andy Moran, Barry McWeeney, Ryan Jones and James Mannion (who is extremely well regarded in Galway Gaa as a coach) So theres no doubt the team is getting top-class coaching. They don't get it often but credit to the county board for that.

Galway were excellent. Pace, Power and Top class forwards a long with an excellent goalkeeper. I think we will be hearing/seeing a lot about Mathhew Thompson and Colm Costello for Galway seniors in the next few years. Their S&C looked a fair few steps ahead of ours and it told. Its an area where Leitrim Gaa need to address and get into the secondary schools.
I think Galway were missing a few regulars through injury but that's why they are one of the favourites for the All Ireland.

Saying all this I was quite impressed with Leitrim. The scoreline flattered Galway. A 3 or 4 point difference would have been a real reflection of the game.

The team really picked itself - The only gripes I would have is: why play Michael McBrien who was one of the best Wing-Backs in the club championship last year at wing-forward? He looked a little lost and didn't impact the game.
Paul Moran was also used as a sub (he had a slight knock) If he was fit to play I find it a brave call that he wasn't starting seeing as he has already played for Leitrim seniors. I also would have liked to have seen more of Tom Plunkett.

Paul Honeyman really justified the hype. He was really excellent especially in the first half on limited ball. Up there as good as anything Galway had. The umpire getting involved needlessly and getting him a black card for nothing towards the end was a disgrace we missed him when he was off the field.

Darren Cox is a joy to watch as well. Reminds me of a Darragh Canavan type player. It takes real courage to play how he does (which will also lead to mistakes) but his vision and running with the ball caused Galway problems all night. His attempt at a goal from a quick free and a few other attempts at points just showed his lack of experience though and it'll be a good lesson for him. He's a throwback.

Barry McNulty really showed his class/leadership in what has been a hectic time for him. He really gave his all and drove the team on all night. I was really impressed with his workrate for such a big player he covered a serious amount of ground. Hopefully his injury isn't too bad and that he is fit for the Senior game on Sunday. He has been carrying a knock on that ankle for a while now.
I also think Eannagh McNamara and Brian Cull had great games and have big futures if they want it.

Galways first goal was a killer - We were just about keeping in touch with them and we lazily didn't track a runner and they punished us with a brilliant finish. This was then compounded by the penalty miss (which clipped the post). A question that no one at the ground could understand: The penalty award looked extremely soft - but if the Ref thought it was a penalty why was the Galway defender not black carded? Honeyman was destroying him at the time.

We then started slowly in the second half - poor turn-overs and poor shot selection let Galway extend the lead. But when we fought back in the 3rd quarter Galway were really on the ropes. There was 4 points in it with 8 minutes left. There was a fierce buzz in the crowd from our supporters - It looked like a shock was on.

They turned us over from a short kick-out and punished us with a goal - That was game over. Their subs made a huge impact and it sucked the life out of the game.

Theres no doubt a few players like Ben Guckian, Jack Casey McBrien and Moran can make a bigger impact in the upcoming games.

Serious talent and potential in that team. It's fantastic that its now league based and not just a knock out game. Hopefully they can shock a few teams in the next games."
I'd agree with basically everything you've said here except the part on mcnulty . I thought he looked extremely tired and I wasn't impressed with him at all . He got on a bit of ball alright , but didn't play anywhere near the standards that are expected of him , maybe this was due to him having a knock or burnt out , but I cannot agree that "drove them on" . I was more impressed with Jake Tobin of Allen Gaels , he looked comfortable on the ball every time he got it and played his roll very well . They're a good team with a lot of potential, if that penalty goes in and foley doesn't drop the ball for that second goal , there's only 3 points in the difference… hopefully that loss can galvanise them and they learn from their mistakes, they're definitely capable of great things

leitrimman1994 (Leitrim) - Posts: 25 - 23/03/2024 16:58:46    2532865

Replying To eoinog:  "By your rational no young lad should play co football so. Much easier for the GAA to move these games to the weekend. I don't see any reason why it can't be done."
Easier for who? You do know there's other sports in the GAA also which need to be accommodated... other events that officals are needed for. In your head it's much easier, of course....

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 23/03/2024 19:29:32    2532909