Leitrim GAA thread

Just after reading about Allen Gaels and Ballingerla game been abandoned seconds into 2nd half, it'll be interesting to see what the outcome of it will be? Refs report won't be questioned I assume? Ballingerla could be in hot water now

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 64 - 01/07/2023 22:56:45    2491192

Strange enough ending to the Allen Gaels and ballinaglera game this evening as the match was abandoned after the referee threw in the ball to begin the second half without the ballinaglera lads on the field . The observer report says the ballinaglera boys stayed in the dressing room after the referee called for them to come out on two occasions so he just threw in the ball which led to an Allen Gaels goal . The glera lads ran onto the pitch then and surrounded the referee which led to him blowing the whistle and abandoning the game . Absolutely mental stuff . Is this in the rule book ? Was referee in the wrong ?

leitrimman1994 (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 23:34:51    2491199

Fair crack at the Allen Gaels and Ballinaglera game yesterday evening. Never heard the likes of it before. Anyone at it?

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 02/07/2023 09:04:16    2491228

I was in shane mcgettigan park last night. My club wasnt playing so took the chance to take in 2 teams my club might meet later in the year,
First half was intence, but ref from roscommon had a good handle.on it, dished out 3 quick yellows took no nonsence,
Then h/t happened and we will be hearing about this for a long time to come,
Not a great night for leitrim football

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 02/07/2023 09:45:12    2491232

From when ref blew for h/t till he blew to start 2nd half 18 mins, 10 is what allowed.
He blew whistle on 7 or 8 occasions and the lad doing linesman ran into glera dressing on 2 occasions.
He then blew with just allen gaels on pitch,
What happened after was shocking,
Ref and his umpire were both struck/hit/shoved by several players and officials from glera

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 02/07/2023 10:14:03    2491237

Was at it myself, farcical stuff, often seen teams take 15 plus in club football, Ballinaglera where in 12 minutes, the ref started without the umpires ........

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 02/07/2023 10:40:09    2491245

Ref wrong it seems according to rule book a game can't restart till both teams on the field. Ballingerla have grounds to feel wronged

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 64 - 02/07/2023 10:54:03    2491248

Replying To theroadtocroker:  "Was at it myself, farcical stuff, often seen teams take 15 plus in club football, Ballinaglera where in 12 minutes, the ref started without the umpires ........"
He had is own umpire 1 end, and 1 from each team at other end,
I clocked nearly 18 mins so dont know where your getting 12 from

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 02/07/2023 10:55:08    2491249

Replying To sparkie:  "He had is own umpire 1 end, and 1 from each team at other end,
I clocked nearly 18 mins so dont know where your getting 12 from"
The time on the scoreboard was 7.35 at half time and he started at 7.47.....

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 02/07/2023 11:04:04    2491252

Replying To sparkie:  "I was in shane mcgettigan park last night. My club wasnt playing so took the chance to take in 2 teams my club might meet later in the year,
First half was intence, but ref from roscommon had a good handle.on it, dished out 3 quick yellows took no nonsence,
Not a great night for leitrim football"
Would your club be stuck in junior by any chance....

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 02/07/2023 11:13:12    2491261

Replying To sparkie:  "I was in shane mcgettigan park last night. My club wasnt playing so took the chance to take in 2 teams my club might meet later in the year,
Not a great night for leitrim football"
Who was the ref from Roscommon? Was he assaulted? Hadn't heard about it

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 218 - 02/07/2023 11:24:39    2491267

Replying To sparkie:  "He had is own umpire 1 end, and 1 from each team at other end,
I clocked nearly 18 mins so dont know where your getting 12 from"
This is where we start muddying the water so the county board can brush it under the carpet. "Sure, we've always been doing it this way"
The reports suggest that they were given fair warning even after exceeding the allotted time. Its their own fault.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 146 - 02/07/2023 12:20:16    2491283

The goal shouldn't have stood anyway with the supporter on the pitch trying to intervene with play. Ref made it into a farcical event.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 440 - 02/07/2023 13:19:29    2491296

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "Strange enough ending to the Allen Gaels and ballinaglera game this evening as the match was abandoned after the referee threw in the ball to begin the second half without the ballinaglera lads on the field . The observer report says the ballinaglera boys stayed in the dressing room after the referee called for them to come out on two occasions so he just threw in the ball which led to an Allen Gaels goal . The glera lads ran onto the pitch then and surrounded the referee which led to him blowing the whistle and abandoning the game . Absolutely mental stuff . Is this in the rule book ? Was referee in the wrong ?"
What was the score at half time. Referee was correct. About 20 years ago Cork failed to appear for extra time against Dublin. Referee threw in the ball and Barney Rock scored a goal. Referee blew the final whistle. Cork objected but got no place

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1987 - 02/07/2023 18:28:55    2491443

After all the reports of this game being posted online and on TikTok , nobody has decided to report on the aftermath of the incident , so I will take this into my own hands . As seen from the video clip that has gone viral , several glera players surrounded the referee after the goal was awarded. They shouted abuse at him , pointed fingers at him and would not let him move . Not only did all 15 ballinaglera players surround him , the rest of the management team , substitutes and a few supporters all ran onto the pitch and surrounded the referee , shouting verbal abuse and threatening to hit him . I can only imagine that the referee was afraid of his life with nearly 25 odd men in a huddle around him !!! A few of the allen gaels players attempted to protect the referee as he was in danger of being assaulted!! The allen gaels players that tried to protect the referee were then struck on numerous occasions by the ballinaglera players . The Allen Gaels management then tried to come in to break things up , where they were then struck by the ballinaglera players !!! It was thuggery at its finest . Ballinaglera are known for playing on the edge around Leitrim , but this takes the Mickey . They should be absolutely ashamed of themselves for what went on , and they should be fined and removed from the competition!! SHAME ON YOU BALLINAGLERA YE ARE AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE

leitrimman1994 (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 03/07/2023 08:20:20    2491634

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "After all the reports of this game being posted online and on TikTok , nobody has decided to report on the aftermath of the incident , so I will take this into my own hands . As seen from the video clip that has gone viral , several glera players surrounded the referee after the goal was awarded. They shouted abuse at him , pointed fingers at him and would not let him move . Not only did all 15 ballinaglera players surround him , the rest of the management team , substitutes and a few supporters all ran onto the pitch and surrounded the referee , shouting verbal abuse and threatening to hit him . I can only imagine that the referee was afraid of his life with nearly 25 odd men in a huddle around him !!! A few of the allen gaels players attempted to protect the referee as he was in danger of being assaulted!! The allen gaels players that tried to protect the referee were then struck on numerous occasions by the ballinaglera players . The Allen Gaels management then tried to come in to break things up , where they were then struck by the ballinaglera players !!! It was thuggery at its finest . Ballinaglera are known for playing on the edge around Leitrim , but this takes the Mickey . They should be absolutely ashamed of themselves for what went on , and they should be fined and removed from the competition!! SHAME ON YOU BALLINAGLERA YE ARE AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE"
Well said, couldnt have said it better,
There should be a garda investigation into aftermath,
I believe a allen gaels player spent the night in hospital after the game

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 03/07/2023 09:38:37    2491659

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "After all the reports of this game being posted online and on TikTok , nobody has decided to report on the aftermath of the incident , so I will take this into my own hands . As seen from the video clip that has gone viral , several glera players surrounded the referee after the goal was awarded. They shouted abuse at him , pointed fingers at him and would not let him move . Not only did all 15 ballinaglera players surround him , the rest of the management team , substitutes and a few supporters all ran onto the pitch and surrounded the referee , shouting verbal abuse and threatening to hit him . I can only imagine that the referee was afraid of his life with nearly 25 odd men in a huddle around him !!! A few of the allen gaels players attempted to protect the referee as he was in danger of being assaulted!! The allen gaels players that tried to protect the referee were then struck on numerous occasions by the ballinaglera players . The Allen Gaels management then tried to come in to break things up , where they were then struck by the ballinaglera players !!! It was thuggery at its finest . Ballinaglera are known for playing on the edge around Leitrim , but this takes the Mickey . They should be absolutely ashamed of themselves for what went on , and they should be fined and removed from the competition!! SHAME ON YOU BALLINAGLERA YE ARE AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE"
Inaccurate a couple of ballinagleragh players also tried to protect the ref by stopping their own players,also the man who ran onto the field was a ballinagleragh supporter but he was also umpiring no other ballinagleragh supporters entered the pitch, keep your lies to yourself...

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 03/07/2023 09:43:29    2491664

Good few of the comments on this are from a group of drumkeeran supporters, so take it with a pinch of salt, last year when the drumkeeran supporters followed the referee to the car after the drumreilly game it was fairly quiet on here. Worry about ending your intermediate famine, GLERA ABU

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 03/07/2023 09:50:06    2491668

Replying To sparkie:  "Well said, couldnt have said it better,
There should be a garda investigation into aftermath,
I believe a allen gaels player spent the night in hospital after the game"
In hospital from a separate incident in the game

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 27 - 03/07/2023 09:53:09    2491671

Replying To theroadtocroker:  "In hospital from a separate incident in the game"
Thats right an off the ball sucker punch

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 03/07/2023 10:01:58    2491675