Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "I agree and hope we are right. I think after the Tipp win a 1 pt win in Parnell Park and we are through."
Am I right in saying that a draw will do us then?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11732 - 03/06/2023 17:18:35    2483750

Think a draw will do ye as you'd be on 2 points with Tipperary and much better scoring difference. Hoping for a good game tomorrow.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 03/06/2023 18:25:40    2483771

No. A draw will mean we're still in 4th place in the group behind Wexford. (And we'd still have only one point, one fewer than Tipperary.)

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 03/06/2023 19:17:18    2483794

Any kind of win for us and we go through. Any kind of a win for Wexford and they go through. A draw and Wexford go through

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 03/06/2023 19:55:15    2483804

Replying To Viking66:  "Am I right in saying that a draw will do us then?"
Yes a draw and ye are in the next round.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 03/06/2023 20:43:02    2483819

Yes a draw and ye are in the next round.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 03/06/2023 20:43:11    2483821

Replying To joeman123:  "Agree the Supporters are crying out for success .

We all are but your solution is guaranteed to collapse everything.

Is that what you want ?

If you are interested in real change go and get motions to implement the changes recommended by John Connolly in his frank but challenging article recently."
My solution will be guaranteed to collapse everything... are you seriously joking me? How lower can we go? Are you seriously suggesting that Andy Moran is the only & best option going forward... a man who up until his appointment had the grand sum of 3 months management experience with his own club (whilst playing himself) and a small bit of coaching experience with county underage in Mayo? That we must stick with this supposed 'project' that's happening? I'd love to know what 'project' is being implemented... someone tell us please. And while they're at it, can they tell us what exactly are we getting for it in return as I'd like to know and how much has it cost to date? I seem to keep putting my hand in my pocket for tickets and what not so it would be nice to know. Maybe I should be giving it to my club instead? John Connolly's article repeated a lot of what we already know... it was hardly earth shattering stuff now in fairness. It avoided any great discussion about the current management setup & the role of the county board in it, strangely enough. Ah sure we can't be having that conversation... pointless of course. Let's just spead the blame around so no one can be accountable. There's lots to be positive about for the future but these conversations need to be had, there isn't endless resources in Leitrim to give to GAA.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/06/2023 21:03:55    2483827

Sorry, I didn't see who was asking the question. Yes, a draw will do ye guys.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 04/06/2023 00:03:01    2483856

Best of luck today lads. Hopefully we put in a good performance and get a win. Can't see anything but a Wexford win to be honest, our confidence seems to be shot but hoping for the best .

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 04/06/2023 09:54:32    2483868

Has the outcome of the Limerick game any bearing of Leitrim's prospects of going through to the knock out stage?

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 04/06/2023 11:53:13    2483887

Replying To giveitlong:  "Has the outcome of the Limerick game any bearing of Leitrim's prospects of going through to the knock out stage?"
Nope, zero influence

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 04/06/2023 14:01:01    2483903

Absolute disaster of a year all round. Think it's time for a change and I don't think I'm harsh saying that. There hasn't been any improved at all and that's the main concern I have. Don't be coming at me with the usual nonsense of who would I give the job too etc but someone else should be given the chance

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 340 - 04/06/2023 16:36:34    2483947

Much better today, the 3 games will stand to Leitrim. Running out of steam again hard to understand

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 04/06/2023 16:37:35    2483950

Replying To martinjoe:  "Much better today, the 3 games will stand to Leitrim. Running out of steam again hard to understand"
It's 4 defeats in a row for Andy Moran. Against division 3 and 4 teams..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 04/06/2023 16:49:18    2483957

Hugely disappointing year all round. Failed to reach any of our targets. Game was there for the taking today but we were ran ragged in the closing stages, and missed too many goal chances, same old depressing story. A year that promised a lot delivered absolutely nothing only frustration and Disappointment. Think this squad will probably break up now

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 04/06/2023 17:03:14    2483967

Replying To williesboy:  "Absolute disaster of a year all round. Think it's time for a change and I don't think I'm harsh saying that. There hasn't been any improved at all and that's the main concern I have. Don't be coming at me with the usual nonsense of who would I give the job too etc but someone else should be given the chance"
Apparantley it's all part of the project.
Any second now we'll have the various pearl clutchers coming along defending this. They'll be horrified at any criticism of the "project". We have gone backwards.
I'd venture that a lot of the enablers haven't been to a club game in a long time and certainly not an under age game. Fix the club scene for a start. From under age all the way up. It's not working. Improvements at club level will be by accident rather than design on the part of the County Board. They should be driving this but there's too much cute whorism and reluctance to cause offence.
We're a mild mannered bunch of people. Ordinarily that's a wonderful trait but in this instance it's our downfall. We cannot be happy with how things are. Of course that's not all Andy Morans fault. He's learning the hard way that our problems run deep. Lots of talent but it's diluted at club level. Fellas think they're world beaters at club level because they're given plenty of time and space. Fix it or it's going to get a hell of a lot worse.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 104 - 04/06/2023 17:28:33    2483973

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Apparantley it's all part of the project.
Any second now we'll have the various pearl clutchers coming along defending this. They'll be horrified at any criticism of the "project". We have gone backwards.
I'd venture that a lot of the enablers haven't been to a club game in a long time and certainly not an under age game. Fix the club scene for a start. From under age all the way up. It's not working. Improvements at club level will be by accident rather than design on the part of the County Board. They should be driving this but there's too much cute whorism and reluctance to cause offence.
We're a mild mannered bunch of people. Ordinarily that's a wonderful trait but in this instance it's our downfall. We cannot be happy with how things are. Of course that's not all Andy Morans fault. He's learning the hard way that our problems run deep. Lots of talent but it's diluted at club level. Fellas think they're world beaters at club level because they're given plenty of time and space. Fix it or it's going to get a hell of a lot worse."
Great Post. We are not serious about our football in Leitrim, we are too quick to make excuses, I could list our lads that are good quality footballers, Darragh Rooney, Pierce Dolan, Keith Beirne, Donal Casey, Ryan O'rourke, Paddy Maguire, Jack Heslin, Mark Plunkett, Cillian McGloin, Jordan Reynolds, Barry McNulty off the top of my head.... We have plenty of talent if it's used correctly and fit. Andy needs help in an experienced head coach if he is staying but I've seen nothing from the last two years to suggest he should stay. The club game needs to be fixed that should be an easy fix.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 04/06/2023 18:04:59    2483987

Although an outsider, I watched your last few years of results with interest. Andy Moran appears to be well willing but struggling to get yous moving forward. Perhaps it is your club scene but I wonder were you hasty in moving on from Terry Hyland. In my own county, most would agree that he managed to bring us from a very low base to a stable position where we were a match for anyone in Ulster. Towards the end, he was even beginning to develop a more attacking game. Maybe Moran needs more time also. However, Hyland was, until the train wreck that was covid, moving you in the right direction. Don't give up, though. Success isn't an easy thing to achieve in sport.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 04/06/2023 20:01:02    2484015

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Great Post. We are not serious about our football in Leitrim, we are too quick to make excuses, I could list our lads that are good quality footballers, Darragh Rooney, Pierce Dolan, Keith Beirne, Donal Casey, Ryan O'rourke, Paddy Maguire, Jack Heslin, Mark Plunkett, Cillian McGloin, Jordan Reynolds, Barry McNulty off the top of my head.... We have plenty of talent if it's used correctly and fit. Andy needs help in an experienced head coach if he is staying but I've seen nothing from the last two years to suggest he should stay. The club game needs to be fixed that should be an easy fix."
That's great news will we leave you to "the easy fix " of a poor quality in our club game?
Give me the first three things that you would do, that would sort out the standard of club football in the Leitrim. Looking forward to the answers.Fair play to you a great future awaits.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 04/06/2023 20:46:29    2484032

Replying To Backheel:  "That's great news will we leave you to "the easy fix " of a poor quality in our club game?
Give me the first three things that you would do, that would sort out the standard of club football in the Leitrim. Looking forward to the answers.Fair play to you a great future awaits."
1. Reduce the amount of senior teams in the championship that's one easy fix. More competitive matches
2.Club players need more games Cavan have 9 rounds of the league played already that's another easy fix.
3.Quality coaching workshops to develop coaches in clubs.

There is three off the top of my head. Might not see improvement straight away but over time should improve things.

It's easy to makes excuses.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 04/06/2023 21:57:57    2484056