Roscommon GAA thread

Would love to be positive but......
Now no candidate for Senior from what I'm hearing. Players getting restless as Clubs start to be eliminated from Chsmpionships.
No word of an outcome of u20 interviews.
No sign of a Minor manager
Not to mention no moves on getting land for a future Training Centre
No sign of any improvement works to the Hyde.

Ah sure it'll all work out grand.....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 24/09/2022 14:34:06    2441708

Replying To dave1988:  "I totally agree that a center of excellence should be number 1 priority but are you surprised we are in the situation we are in with the county board we have. Of course they will come out and try give reasons why we don't have proper training facilities but it's just not good enough when you see teams in division 4 with better facilities than we do."
Imagine the CÓÉ we could have if we ran a few fundraising draws for the likes of a house in Dublin or an apartment in London, possibly 2million could be raised. Could even have change left over to make sure there are 4 dressing rooms available in the Hyde for a double header.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 24/09/2022 14:42:51    2441711

Replying To reffingmad:  "Imagine the CÓÉ we could have if we ran a few fundraising draws for the likes of a house in Dublin or an apartment in London, possibly 2million could be raised. Could even have change left over to make sure there are 4 dressing rooms available in the Hyde for a double header."
You said it all right there

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 24/09/2022 15:01:56    2441713

Replying To reffingmad:  "Imagine the CÓÉ we could have if we ran a few fundraising draws for the likes of a house in Dublin or an apartment in London, possibly 2million could be raised. Could even have change left over to make sure there are 4 dressing rooms available in the Hyde for a double header."
Yes I always paid into the Club Rossie Draw and was delighted to do so. Hasn't happened for a couple of years maybe because of Covid. Times are hard but still a serious fundraising effort would be supported by Roscommon people. I have no doubt of that. I 'd like to see Roscommon teams with as good as facilities as any other county. Our County Board seems to be slow to move to say the least.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 24/09/2022 15:39:47    2441715

Nothing between Faithleachs Glaveys separated by the final scored (a goal) in extra time time.

Glaveys current and past county lads stood up especially Andy Glennon and Fitzmaurice. Diarmuid Murtagh didn't deserve to be on the losing he could have done no

Some very interesting semi finals ahead.

Boyle v Glaveys
Brigids v Clann
Oran v Strokestown
Pearses v Ros Gaels

In hurling we have the expected final Pearses v Four Roads

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 25/09/2022 17:08:25    2441805

Replying To The_analyser:  "Nothing between Faithleachs Glaveys separated by the final scored (a goal) in extra time time.

Glaveys current and past county lads stood up especially Andy Glennon and Fitzmaurice. Diarmuid Murtagh didn't deserve to be on the losing he could have done no

Some very interesting semi finals ahead.

Boyle v Glaveys
Brigids v Clann
Oran v Strokestown
Pearses v Ros Gaels

In hurling we have the expected final Pearses v Four Roads"
Dramatic win for the Glaveys right enough.
Pity about the radio commentary and we didn't cover ourselves in glory doing the draws live on radio.
Interesting draw.
Be great if the winners of Boyle and Oran games draw each ithwr in the Semis.s

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 25/09/2022 17:38:32    2441811

Exciting match it appeared in Ballintubber but you'd had to fear for either of them whoever got through given the scoring concessions. I'd imagine Glaveys will be at a disadvantage v Boyle now after that battle and probably had knocks coming into this one as it.

Yes the draw was a real killnascully effort it appeared by the comments on twitter. This county board just can't get a break at moment but I suppose you reap what you sow!!

Couple of tasty ¼ finals next weekend. You'd have to fancy Boyle to beat Glaveys, Bridgids to beat Clan. Other two more evenly matched. I'd fancy Oran to shade Strokestown just. However the Town came out of a much harder group and were within a kick of the ball of both Pearses and Bridgids so it could be game of weekend. Not convinced yet of Roscommon Gaels and a lot of local media hype on the basis of a facile win over Glaveys who had targeted the play-off match with their injured players. I think it's a match that could really light the fire under Pearses buoyed by their Div u20 title win.

Did anyone hear if Pat Flanagan had withdrawn his name for the county job. Any word on u20 job.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 25/09/2022 20:15:00    2441839

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Exciting match it appeared in Ballintubber but you'd had to fear for either of them whoever got through given the scoring concessions. I'd imagine Glaveys will be at a disadvantage v Boyle now after that battle and probably had knocks coming into this one as it.

Yes the draw was a real killnascully effort it appeared by the comments on twitter. This county board just can't get a break at moment but I suppose you reap what you sow!!

Couple of tasty ¼ finals next weekend. You'd have to fancy Boyle to beat Glaveys, Bridgids to beat Clan. Other two more evenly matched. I'd fancy Oran to shade Strokestown just. However the Town came out of a much harder group and were within a kick of the ball of both Pearses and Bridgids so it could be game of weekend. Not convinced yet of Roscommon Gaels and a lot of local media hype on the basis of a facile win over Glaveys who had targeted the play-off match with their injured players. I think it's a match that could really light the fire under Pearses buoyed by their Div u20 title win.

Did anyone hear if Pat Flanagan had withdrawn his name for the county job. Any word on u20 job."
Yes, Noel Dunning for the u-20 job, and Flanagan likely to be announced as senior manager over the next day or two! Two good appointments for Roscommon.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 27/09/2022 15:46:49    2442056

So Noel Dunning of Aidans and this years senior selector will be the official U20 manager next week.

Semi final draws in the club championships done

Junior A

St Michaels/Padraig Pearses B V Kilglass/Strokestown B
St Ronans/Roscommon Gaels B V St Dominic's B/Ballinameen

Could be looking at another B team final. Hopefully one of the A teams at least reach the final

Intermediate

St Dominic's/Creggs V Fuerty/Castlerea
Eire Og/St Brigids B V St Croans/St Aidans

Winner of first semi final the likely winner of this county title but a great chance for Eire og or Croans to reach the final

Senior

Strokestown/Oran V Roscommon Gaels/Padraig Pearses
St Brigids/Clann na nGael V Boyle/Michael Glaveys

A repeat of the 2020 final with a repeat result?

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 27/09/2022 16:25:14    2442062

Some good games to look forward too this weekend

Intermediate quater finals

Dominic's vs creggs - Dominic's by 7
St croans vs st aidans - Croans by 8
Eire og vs st brigids - brigids by 1
Fuerty vs castlerea - fuerty by 6

Ros4sam1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 27/09/2022 16:25:45    2442063

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yes, Noel Dunning for the u-20 job, and Flanagan likely to be announced as senior manager over the next day or two! Two good appointments for Roscommon."
Why has Kieran Donaghy, Kevin Johnson been approached if Pat Flanagan is to appointed in the next day or two?

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 27/09/2022 19:44:52    2442080

Replying To The_analyser:  "So Noel Dunning of Aidans and this years senior selector will be the official U20 manager next week.

Junior A

Could be looking at another B team final. Hopefully one of the A teams at least reach the final

Intermediate

Winner of first semi final the likely winner of this county title but a great chance for Eire og or Croans to reach the final

Senior

A repeat of the 2020 final with a repeat result?"
With manager distractions and maybe a bit of fatigue from last year, could there be a surprise on the Pearses side of the draw?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 27/09/2022 21:00:26    2442089

12th of June we exited the championship a delay in Cunningham in leaving and we are still waiting on an appointment and even a definite candidate. Don't envy the county board when counties like Donegal are struggle we are under serious pressure. Terrible prep for division 1.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 28/09/2022 08:57:17    2442099

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "
Replying To The_analyser:  "So Noel Dunning of Aidans and this years senior selector will be the official U20 manager next week.

Junior A

Intermediate

Senior

With manager distractions and maybe a bit of fatigue from last year, could there be a surprise on the Pearses side of the draw?"
The thing about the Pearses side of draw is they are the only ones who have the know how to win tight big games. Look at strokestown no win in championship and they are in ¼ final and relegated also in league. Oran blew it last year v Gaels kicking it away ,are they a better team thei year?. Gaels probably best placed to cause an upset and ¼ final place to get Pearses.

Dominics v Feurty will be the perceived final in intermediate but its a huge opportunity for the other side now and a one off game against what will be red hot favourites in the final.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 28/09/2022 09:53:39    2442105

With the U20 job all sorted I heard it mentioned today that Liam Tully, who withdrew from the U20 race, is being talked about for the senior job. As we seen in Mayo a lot would depend on who he is bringing in his backroom/coaching team!!

TakeYourPointsAndTheGoalsWillCome (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 28/09/2022 16:08:21    2442151

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "

Junior A

Intermediate

Senior

With manager distractions and maybe a bit of fatigue from last year, could there be a surprise on the Pearses side of the draw?"
Always a possibility. The distractions can't be helpful, don't think fatigue will be issue but perhaps hunger? Roscommon Gaels have had a number of competitive battles with Pearses over the last few years including knocking them out of the championship at the Quarter final stage 4 years ago.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 28/09/2022 17:09:38    2442164

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "12th of June we exited the championship a delay in Cunningham in leaving and we are still waiting on an appointment and even a definite candidate. Don't envy the county board when counties like Donegal are struggle we are under serious pressure. Terrible prep for division 1."
Its getting precarious alright. Pre season training commencing in November and nothing finalised. Is Flanagan interested. He was quick to distance himself when he was mentioned for the Longford job.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 28/09/2022 19:57:28    2442181

Replying To The_analyser:  "
Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "[quote=The_analyser:  "So Noel Dunning of Aidans and this years senior selector will be the official U20 manager next week.

Junior A

Intermediate

Senior

Always a possibility. The distractions can't be helpful, don't think fatigue will be issue but perhaps hunger? Roscommon Gaels have had a number of competitive battles with Pearses over the last few years including knocking them out of the championship at the Quarter final stage 4 years ago."]That was Pearses with the bottlers tag. Bit more steel to them now and all depends on if they have the hunger to go for the two in a row connacht.

No disrespect to other posters tag about Liam Tully for senior position and the work he has done at underage getting to two all Irelands has certainly not been recognised by a lot of people including sections of the county board. That said I feel Pat Flanagan would be a better bet at senior level.

As already indicated on here by several posters it's the backroom team who will be crucial.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 28/09/2022 20:38:43    2442184

I'd say Frankie Dolan would love to get one over on Pearse's. It's set up for a very interesting quarter final.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 29/09/2022 09:30:49    2442197

Replying To Square_B:  "Oh really now? Tell the audience about it we'd like to know.... some verified information woule be helpful... good lad."
https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/924178/donegal-footballer-handed-36-week-ban.html

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 29/09/2022 10:01:34    2442201