Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To reffingmad:  "And may I add, Roscommon appeals committee stated in a meeting with referees that the video was inconclusive and that's why he got off, giving no respect to the referees report"
But wait now, were you in the meeting? "The Roscommon Appeals committee stated...", nobody is allowed to speak out remember!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 04/09/2022 20:44:09    2439678

I'm warming to the Don Connellan idea for Roscommon. As Eamon Fitzmaurice said a few weeks back, when managing your own county, you always give that extra bit that you wouldn't if you were managing outside. He is not high profile and so shouldn't break the bank, which would leave money for a good external defensive coach. And why the likes of Liam Tully is not in the conversation I can't get my head around. The only person to bring Roscommon to All-Ireland finals (plural) at underage recently. Could himself and Connellan be in the same ticket?

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 19 - 04/09/2022 21:31:41    2439689

Replying To Sindar:  "But wait now, were you in the meeting? "The Roscommon Appeals committee stated...", nobody is allowed to speak out remember!"
Yes I was at the referees meeting where 3 members of the appeals committee spoke in an open forum.
20+ other referees were there.
I'll try find a link to where it states that in an appeals hearing everything is private, if its not why are nobody outside the case allowed attend, even the referee

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 04/09/2022 21:41:08    2439691

Replying To reffingmad:  "Yes I was at the referees meeting where 3 members of the appeals committee spoke in an open forum.
20+ other referees were there.
I'll try find a link to where it states that in an appeals hearing everything is private, if its not why are nobody outside the case allowed attend, even the referee"
Reffing mad, it's good to read informed, sensible posts on here. While there are many fine posters on this Roscommon thread, there are a few real latchicoes as well.

No wording can dilute/mitigate what happened to that poor ref last week. And no wording should try to undermine the stance that the Roscommon refs have taken. All reasonable GAA people and refs in other counties most likely are supporting their stance.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 05/09/2022 11:22:44    2439726

The U20 club football semi finals take centre stage this weekend

Div 1 is looking like a repeat of last years final (Brigids v Pearses) but Boyle should give a good competitive showing and its perhaps a year too soon to expect Roscommon Gaels to topple Brigids

Some potential good semi finals in the other divisions

Div 3
Tulsk v Western Gales
Kilbride v St Michael's

Div 2
Michael Glaveys/Éire Óg v Oran/St. Croan's
Elphin/Ballinameen v Kilmore/Shannon Gaels

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 06/09/2022 16:56:59    2439857

Replying To The_analyser:  "The U20 club football semi finals take centre stage this weekend

Div 1 is looking like a repeat of last years final (Brigids v Pearses) but Boyle should give a good competitive showing and its perhaps a year too soon to expect Roscommon Gaels to topple Brigids

Some potential good semi finals in the other divisions

Div 3
Tulsk v Western Gales
Kilbride v St Michael's

Div 2
Michael Glaveys/Éire Óg v Oran/St. Croan's
Elphin/Ballinameen v Kilmore/Shannon Gaels"
Any new on a manager yet? I feel like we are really struggling to find anyone which is very worrying

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 06/09/2022 19:48:33    2439878

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Reffing mad, it's good to read informed, sensible posts on here. While there are many fine posters on this Roscommon thread, there are a few real latchicoes as well.

No wording can dilute/mitigate what happened to that poor ref last week. And no wording should try to undermine the stance that the Roscommon refs have taken. All reasonable GAA people and refs in other counties most likely are supporting their stance."
I think the problem is the wording "Roscommon referee", when it should simply be "GAA referee". Some posters jumping at the chance to make the whole referee/respect thing a Roscommon problem when everyone in the country who attends matches know it is a problem nationwide. Maybe it's time for the Croke Park top brass to take control of a situation that has been festering for years. Easy to see from this thread that expecting a few volunteer county board lads in a single county to take the lead is grossly unfair. They'll be damned if they do and damned if they don't. Time for GAA leaders to lead!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 07/09/2022 07:23:11    2439888

Replying To dave1988:  "Any new on a manager yet? I feel like we are really struggling to find anyone which is very worrying"
If we were to believe a conversation on Twitter between a local journalist and our PRO, then this we should have an announcement Tomorrow, Thursday...

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 144 - 07/09/2022 11:31:23    2439910

Replying To ponga:  "I think the problem is the wording "Roscommon referee", when it should simply be "GAA referee". Some posters jumping at the chance to make the whole referee/respect thing a Roscommon problem when everyone in the country who attends matches know it is a problem nationwide. Maybe it's time for the Croke Park top brass to take control of a situation that has been festering for years. Easy to see from this thread that expecting a few volunteer county board lads in a single county to take the lead is grossly unfair. They'll be damned if they do and damned if they don't. Time for GAA leaders to lead!"
One of the most sensible posts on the whole topic!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 07/09/2022 11:32:49    2439911

Replying To ponga:  "I think the problem is the wording "Roscommon referee", when it should simply be "GAA referee". Some posters jumping at the chance to make the whole referee/respect thing a Roscommon problem when everyone in the country who attends matches know it is a problem nationwide. Maybe it's time for the Croke Park top brass to take control of a situation that has been festering for years. Easy to see from this thread that expecting a few volunteer county board lads in a single county to take the lead is grossly unfair. They'll be damned if they do and damned if they don't. Time for GAA leaders to lead!"
Time for the Roscommon CB to stand up and stop hiding behind Croke Park with watery statements. Croke Park doesn't need to direct Roscommon CB on the course of action to take, they are free to impose bans / fines as they see fit. How long does it take to 'investigate'?! A few phone calls would sort it out and a meeting to discuss / agree action.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 07/09/2022 11:52:35    2439918

From what is going around the it looks like Don Connellan will be named as manager tomorrow i have not heard of any of his back room team as of yet.

On the whole referee it really showed that not all refs agreed with the action when there was a number of challenge matches taking place last weekend.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 07/09/2022 13:10:09    2439924

Very well said. This is a GAA wide issue and not solely a Roscommon problem. Unfortunately there are some unfortuntes who just used the topic to spew bile about Roscommon football and supporters etc. I was amazed (not) how my Leitrim friends took such an interest in this particular story and never heard a peep from them when similar problems arose in other parts of the country. I hope that referee is doing well now and hopefully he might have the strength and courage to go back on the field in the near future even though it would not be expected of him. I also hope the individual involved and his club are dealt with accordingly. Such conduct is not acceptable anywhere never mind on the Gaa field. On another important matter hopefully we'll hear news of a successor for Anthony Cunningham very soon. I would also like the thank Anthony Cunningham for all he did for Roscommon football. An absolute gentleman and a loss to us no doubt. Hopefully his successor will bring the same appetite, hunger and success to the job. Comain Ros

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 07/09/2022 13:57:02    2439929

Replying To ComainRos:  "Very well said. This is a GAA wide issue and not solely a Roscommon problem. Unfortunately there are some unfortuntes who just used the topic to spew bile about Roscommon football and supporters etc. I was amazed (not) how my Leitrim friends took such an interest in this particular story and never heard a peep from them when similar problems arose in other parts of the country. I hope that referee is doing well now and hopefully he might have the strength and courage to go back on the field in the near future even though it would not be expected of him. I also hope the individual involved and his club are dealt with accordingly. Such conduct is not acceptable anywhere never mind on the Gaa field. On another important matter hopefully we'll hear news of a successor for Anthony Cunningham very soon. I would also like the thank Anthony Cunningham for all he did for Roscommon football. An absolute gentleman and a loss to us no doubt. Hopefully his successor will bring the same appetite, hunger and success to the job. Comain Ros"
Well said. It absolutely is not a Roscommon problem and trying to make it so is ridiculous. Roscommon gaa folk aren't saying nothing happened and agree the individual should be punished. Posters from other counties need to realise this is a gaa problem and stop trying to score cheap points at Roscommon's expense. This can and does happen up and down the country and it needs a countrywide solution.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 07/09/2022 19:12:15    2439968

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "From what is going around the it looks like Don Connellan will be named as manager tomorrow i have not heard of any of his back room team as of yet.

On the whole referee it really showed that not all refs agreed with the action when there was a number of challenge matches taking place last weekend."
Big task for Don Connellan if he gets the job. Let's hope he gets a really strong backroom team with hopefully a top coach from outside Roscommon.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 07/09/2022 19:35:05    2439970

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "From what is going around the it looks like Don Connellan will be named as manager tomorrow i have not heard of any of his back room team as of yet.

On the whole referee it really showed that not all refs agreed with the action when there was a number of challenge matches taking place last weekend."
There was at least one challenge match which had a ref from Galway. I'm not sure if the others had refs from Roscommon or outside the county.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 07/09/2022 21:17:20    2439980

Replying To ComainRos:  "Very well said. This is a GAA wide issue and not solely a Roscommon problem. Unfortunately there are some unfortuntes who just used the topic to spew bile about Roscommon football and supporters etc. I was amazed (not) how my Leitrim friends took such an interest in this particular story and never heard a peep from them when similar problems arose in other parts of the country. I hope that referee is doing well now and hopefully he might have the strength and courage to go back on the field in the near future even though it would not be expected of him. I also hope the individual involved and his club are dealt with accordingly. Such conduct is not acceptable anywhere never mind on the Gaa field. On another important matter hopefully we'll hear news of a successor for Anthony Cunningham very soon. I would also like the thank Anthony Cunningham for all he did for Roscommon football. An absolute gentleman and a loss to us no doubt. Hopefully his successor will bring the same appetite, hunger and success to the job. Comain Ros"
Ye should get your own house in order before expecting others to do the same. Typical Roscommon, running off to Croke Park to solve their problems. Wouldn't be the first time in fairness.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 08/09/2022 17:53:28    2440064

Replying To Square_B:  "Ye should get your own house in order before expecting others to do the same. Typical Roscommon, running off to Croke Park to solve their problems. Wouldn't be the first time in fairness."
The obsession continues.....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 08/09/2022 20:22:21    2440074

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "The obsession continues....."
Pathetic.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 09/09/2022 11:15:40    2440111

That old Laytrum muck. Too much time on their idle hands.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 09/09/2022 15:11:02    2440148

Any update on the management team all gone very quiet?

Hopefully resolved before the quarter final

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 09/09/2022 16:00:57    2440153